Persona 5 the Animation

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Persona 5 The Animation
Synonyms: P5A, Persona 5 the Anime
Japanese: TVアニメ「ペルソナ5」

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2018 to Sep 30, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Game
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.451 (scored by 5812258,122 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #61572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #835
Members: 189,312
Favorites: 748
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 29, 2018
dotta (All reviews)
Unfortunately for game anime adaptations, they have a steep hill to climb to recapture the magic you get from playing through them.

Persona 5, another addition to the long time SMT/Persona series was a huge success in both the west and in Japan. It won 2017 Game Awards “RPG of the Year” And was ranked at was of the top games of the year by many gaming outlets. Even with that, the anime was considered a disappointment from the start. With its cheap animation, off-pacing at times, and generally its lack of what made the game special.

However, my expectations played a part in the viewing experience. read more
Sep 29, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Persona 5 is the newest addition to the Shin Megami Tensei franchise. Its source material had around 5 hours worth of actual content like is implied in its name, yet playing the whole thing takes around 140 hours because it's a classic J-RPG game that relies on repeating the same thing 18500 times.

Unfortunate for the fans of the game, the anime end up being 26 episodes long when it should have been 500, and unfortunate for anime fans, the anime end up being 26 episodes long when it should have been 13.

As far as fillers go, filler is canon content I mean, Persona 5 read more
May 12, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far, this adaptation has been a massive disappointment.

A-1 pictures are known for their generic character designs and cutting corners when it comes to animation, so when adapting a game as stylistically brilliant Persona 5 it was obvious they wouldn't live up to the game’s highs. I never expected it to surpass or even match the game’s quality, but with a director as talented as Masashi Ishihama (Shinsekai Yori) expectations were raised and this adaptation’s first six episodes have flown far below them.

Story: 5/10
A 100+ hour game stuffed into 24 episodes will inevitably have pacing issues, and this has its fair share. The read more
Sep 29, 2018
ggesus (All reviews)
LOOK HOW FAR WE'VE COMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEE

Hoy lads, I was quite excited to see my first review make it front page so thanks for that but now that the anime is done I guess I have to write this again. Most of my opinions haven't really changed so bits and pieces will remain the same. Swearing to Brahman didn't really help save this anime and P5A only slightly picked itself up towards later episodes. Atlus still should not be tolerating this kind of quality and I do sincerely hope they get out of whatever sort of contract they're in before they decide to ruin another property.

Let's read more
Sep 29, 2018
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
It's no secret that adaptations from video games tend to suck. Which is understandable due to it being difficult to cram so much storytelling into another form of media and condense it. There is also the fact that they bring the problems of the video game and try to adapt it into another form of media with those problems. Some examples include the adaptation of characters, their backstories, personalities and glossing over key plot points, believing that the viewer or reader already knows the details.

Now I've always admired the Persona games as an outsider since I have never played the games. So this was read more
May 20, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Preliminary
I immediately say that, I have not played the game, because I have only a PC and no consoles, but in good time back I already heard the sea a good comment about this game, most said that the game is worth it and the time went so fast that an animation about this game was already appearing and I decided to start watching this piece of work..... ok lets start with>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>-OP intro- 9/10- impressive and interesting created, I really liked it.

Story 7/10- For the moment everything is fine except for the main storyline- he has not yet appeared (although it was shown whose one read more
Feb 8, 2019
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
I'm not going to waste my time with the introduction piece of the review so I'm just going to start with the review.

The story follows Ren Amamiya who is sent to Tokyo to stay with family associate Sojiro Sakura and attend Shujin Academy during his year-long probation. After his arrival, he is drawn into the Velvet Room, where Igor warns him that he must "rehabilitate" to avoid forthcoming ruin, and grants him access to a supernatural mobile app that leads the protagonist into the Metaverse and from there him along with his group of friends that he recruits must now steal corruption from the hearts of adults read more
Sep 30, 2018
Gianis (All reviews)
Persona 5 was one of the best RPGS I've ever played in my life, sensational gameplay the story is very good, have very few holes and plot twists sensational.
The characters are great super well developed, as long as the player has an interest in socializing with a certain character.
Already in the adaptation made by CloverWorks was different, first of all in the adaptation they decided to adapt 26 episodes until near the end of the game, which would be about 80 hours of history inside the game, of course it was very rushado, the problem is that Person 5 is a slow game that has read more
Apr 19, 2020
SSXXIII (All reviews)
Persona 5 is probably my favourite game of all time. Over 100 hours it tells a story about rebellion, corruption, suicide and a talking cat magically turning into a bus. It truly is a one of a kind experience. And that’s the entire problem with this anime. It truly has no purpose for existence. Besides people who are too lazy to spend 100 hours on a game.

The story follows main character Ren Amamiya, a teenager forced to move to Tokyo after he was wrongfully convicted of assault. Who discovers the cognitive world, where distorted desires materialise. And must team up with fellow outcasts to read more
Sep 29, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
For a game that's about "stealing your heart", Persona 5: The Animation on the other hand was nowhere close to capture LA's heart...

LA only recently gotten into Persona 4: The Animation LA was hyped about Persona 5 as LA didn't play the game, so the anime was a good look into Persona 5, however...

Persona 5: The Animation on the basis tries to relive the events of the game, truncating any of the minor events, and with that LA will at least say that trying to cram in a 90 to 120 hour game into a 26 episode anime IS gonna have these kind of limitations, read more
Dec 17, 2018
Cyxnnn (All reviews)
{Spoilers}
I had higher hopes. I played the game so I know the storyline already, but when I watched the anime it was boring and messy. If you want a better story, you should just watch the gameplay.

{Story 8/10}
I gave story 8/10 not because of the anime but because of the idea. Sadly the anime didn't portray it well and had many scenes were I just got bored and stopped.

{Art 4/10}
Horrible art, messy and bad, and in each episode there are probably 20 pictures were the characters look stupid and deformed. I hoped they would use the anime scenes from the game and use them read more
Apr 16, 2021
Sae_is_Bae (All reviews)
Persona 5 the Animation stole my heart!

Adaptions of video games to other mediums always present problems, and Persona 5 the Animation is no different. Taking inspiration from such an expansive game and condensing it makes the pacing of the show a little wonky, but overall it does a good job covering what transpires over the game.

The weakest point of this series is the art itself and frankly, it's just shite. Nothing looks good in motion, along with a lack of overall detail. The voice acting is the complete opposite, with the game VA's giving great performances that really add to the show.

Overall this is a read more
Mar 4, 2021
maintainrain (All reviews)
This anime is just disappointing, the only redeeming features are its dub and the score. Aside from that do not waste your time with it. Anything good you could possibly take from this is probably on a p5a funny moments complimation on youtube.

The portrayal of the story is rushed in many ways and the ending is just disgusting, setting everything up of the for the true ending and it just ends with ketchup walking away.

Character writing is sometimes amazing but mostly just bad. The best being Ryuji saying yeet while throwing morgana.

The sound track is good but like, its persona how bad can it be?

Overall, read more
Oct 21, 2020
rattylul (All reviews)
Preliminary
Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu gosta, nós não gostamos.Se o ryu read more
Aug 20, 2020
GleamMaikeru2005 (All reviews)
Now to start this off, Persona 5 is a video game and everyone should know this. A 100+ hour video game. Persona 5 is actually my third favorite video game of all time and I have over 200+ hours in it. Anyway, a game like this CAN'T be condensed into anime that is a total of 8.6 hours. It's impossible to even try to do that. This will probably be one of the first and only reviews I ever do but I think it just needs to be said that this anime isn't good, but the game is amazing so definitely go play that. Ok read more
Oct 11, 2018
ShadowStealer7 (All reviews)
TL;DR: Works better as a companion to the game, anime original scenes or changes from the game are generally pretty good but the rest can be seen as average in terms of writing. Art is mediocre overall but gets better too late. Enjoyable if a Persona fan, just don't expect P4A 2.0

Persona 5 the Animation has been the subject of ridicule with the quality of the art and animation along with the rushing of a 100+ hour game into 26 episodes plus an unspecified amount of OVAs later on, and from this you would think that CloverWorks has somehow managed to make the worst anime read more
Jun 25, 2020
SenhorJooJ (All reviews)
(First of all, I'm brazillian then sorry about any grammar mistakes)Persona 5 the animation is a anime series based on a game with the same name, first released in 2018 and finishing airing in 2019. I've got to say with all my sincerity that Persona 5 is one of the worst and most disappointing anime shows that I ever witnessed with my bare eyes. I had some friends who enjoyed this... thing and I couldn't understand why. On this review I'll be mostly talking about why this series is so disappointing in my eyes.

Story(7/10):The story is the major quality of the animation. Not gonna lie, read more
Sep 30, 2018
OtakuOne (All reviews)
(Please note this review is from someone who played the RPG before so it might be a little bit biased)

This anime is good...

Well, it should've been.

But no, they had to just to ruin a wonderful piece of work into an average adaptation
Let me tell you why, all of the cons cover up all the pros!

Let us start with the plot, if you compare it with 280+ hours of gameplay to this anime, the thing they did is actually good, but it still confuses anime-only viewers, such as why Joker get the other personas without even us seeing him getting that persona. The problem is that read more
Apr 21, 2019
GrimmusReaperino (All reviews)
Persona 5 was one of the best games that I have ever played, and was a hit both in Japan and in the West upon its release, and continues to gather attention with spin offs and possible sequels based upon the loveable characters the game presents you with, along with the fantastic music crafted by Shoji Meguro (which luckily makes its way into this animated adaption).

It was a hard job to handle, cramming a 90-100 hour game into only 26 episodes, but as we have seen with Persona 4 the Animation (also handled by A1 Pictures), it can be done well.

But wherever the previous read more
Jul 30, 2018
danmmdaniel_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
just play persona 5 its a 10/10 game
they somehow managed to ruin everything good about p5
story 4/10: the story fells rushed wierd pacing and they somehow ruined the main storyline of the game cause off course a 100+ hours game wont fit in a 24 ep show so they cut alot of corners
character 4/10: well they decided to cut almost all of the characters personality and development so they are all deep like the dead sea
sound 7/10: the game sound truck is good but used incorrectly in a way that makes the scene fell weird and the new trucks read more