Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Persona 5 the Animation


Alternative Titles

Japanese: PERSONA5 the Animation

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2018 to Sep 30, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.771 (scored by 19,979 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #45522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #870
Members: 108,763
Favorites: 388

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 12, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far, this adaptation has been a massive disappointment.

A-1 pictures are known for their generic character designs and cutting corners when it comes to animation, so when adapting a game as stylistically brilliant Persona 5 it was obvious they wouldn't live up to the game’s highs. I never expected it to excel or even match the game’s quality, but with a director as talented as Masashi Ishihama (Shinsekai Yori) expectations were raised and this adaptation’s first six episodes have flown far below them.

Story: 5/10
A 100+ hour game stuffed into 24 episodes will inevitably have pacing issues, and this has its fair share. The read more
May 12, 2018
Danpmss (All reviews)
Preliminary
(This review contains some minor spoilers for the first couple of episodes)

Contrary to what some people are saying, I'll say that this anime is doing justice to the espectacular source material in its own way, with some flaws. Don't believe anyone saying that this is a bad adaptation of the game. In fact, this is a very good one, all things considered.

In fact, play the game yourself and see how many things they are "supposedly" rushing through according to these people, if you don't believe me, even side by side.

They didn't skip anything special at all thus far, and the only actually rushed part was read more
Sep 29, 2018
dotta (All reviews)
Unfortunately for game anime adaptations, they have a steep hill to climb to recapture the magic you get from playing through them.

Persona 5, another addition to the long time SMT/Persona series was a huge success in both the west and in Japan. It won 2017 Game Awards “RPG of the Year” And was ranked at was of the top games of the year by many gaming outlets. Even with that, the anime was considered a disappointment from the start. With its cheap animation, off-pacing at times, and generally its lack of what made the game special.

However, my expectations played a part in the viewing experience. read more
Sep 29, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Persona 5 is the newest addition to the Shin Megami Tensei franchise. Its source material had around 5 hours worth of actual content like is implied in its name, yet playing the whole thing takes around 140 hours because it's a classic J-RPG game that relies on repeating the same thing 18500 times.

Unfortunate for the fans of the game, the anime end up being 26 episodes long when it should have been 500, and unfortunate for anime fans, the anime end up being 26 episodes long when it should have been 13.

As far as fillers go, filler is canon content I mean, Persona 5 read more
May 20, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Preliminary
I immediately say that, I have not played the game, because I have only a PC and no consoles, but in good time back I already heard the sea a good comment about this game, most said that the game is worth it and the time went so fast that an animation about this game was already appearing and I decided to start watching this piece of work..... ok lets start with>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>-OP intro- 9/10- impressive and interesting created, I really liked it.

Story 7/10- For the moment everything is fine except for the main storyline- he has not yet appeared (although it was shown whose one read more
Sep 29, 2018
ggesus (All reviews)
LOOK HOW FAR WE'VE COMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEE

Hoy lads, I was quite excited to see my first review make it front page so thanks for that but now that the anime is done I guess I have to write this again. Most of my opinions haven't really changed so bits and pieces will remain the same. Swearing to Brahman didn't really help save this anime and P5A only slightly picked itself up towards later episodes. Atlus still should not be tolerating this kind of quality and I do sincerely hope they get out of whatever sort of contract they're in before they decide to ruin another property.

Let's read more
Sep 29, 2018
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
It's no secret that adaptations from video games tend to suck. Which is understandable due to it being difficult to cram so much storytelling into another form of media and condense it. There is also the fact that they bring the problems of the video game and try to adapt it into another form of media with those problems. Some examples include the adaptation of characters, their backstories, personalities and glossing over key plot points, believing that the viewer or reader already knows the details.

Now I've always admired the Persona games as an outsider since I have never played the games. So this was read more
Sep 30, 2018
GianisSenpai (All reviews)
Persona 5 was one of the best RPGS I've ever played in my life, sensational gameplay the story is very good, have very few holes and plot twists sensational.
The characters are great super well developed, as long as the player has an interest in socializing with a certain character.
Already in the adaptation made by CloverWorks was different, first of all in the adaptation they decided to adapt 26 episodes until near the end of the game, which would be about 80 hours of history inside the game, of course it was very rushado, the problem is that Person 5 is a slow game that has read more
Sep 29, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
For a game that's about "stealing your heart", Persona 5: The Animation on the other hand was nowhere close to capture LA's heart...

LA only recently gotten into Persona 4: The Animation LA was hyped about Persona 5 as LA didn't play the game, so the anime was a good look into Persona 5, however...

Persona 5: The Animation on the basis tries to relive the events of the game, truncating any of the minor events, and with that LA will at least say that trying to cram in a 90 to 120 hour game into a 26 episode anime IS gonna have these kind of limitations, read more
Jun 20, 2018
LSSJ_Gaming (All reviews)
Preliminary
"I am thou... Thou art I ... From the sea of thy soul I come ... Call upon my name, and release thy rage! Show the strength of thy will to ascertain all on thine own, though thou be chained to Hell itself! I am the pillager of twilight, Arséne!"

So I recently got into the Megami Tensei multiverse. I knew it existed for a couple years, heck I even played Persona 2 (Innocent Sin) for the original Playstation. Back then I really had no idea wtf half the demons and spells were, how to pronounce character names, or why Hitler was in the fucking game, read more
Sep 30, 2018
OtakuOne (All reviews)
(Please note this review is from someone who played the RPG before so it might be a little bit biased)

This anime is good...

Well, it should've been.

But no, they had to just to ruin a wonderful piece of work into an average adaptation
Let me tell you why, all of the cons cover up all the pros!

Let us start with the plot, if you compare it with 280+ hours of gameplay to this anime, the thing they did is actually good, but it still confuses anime-only viewers, such as why Joker get the other personas without even us seeing him getting that persona. The problem is that read more
Jul 30, 2018
genjimainFhanzo (All reviews)
Preliminary
just play persona 5 its a 10/10 game
they somehow managed to ruin everything good about p5
story 4/10: the story fells rushed wierd pacing and they somehow ruined the main storyline of the game cause off course a 100+ hours game wont fit in a 24 ep show so they cut alot of corners
character 4/10: well they decided to cut almost all of the characters personality and development so they are all deep like the dead sea
sound 7/10: the game sound truck is good but used incorrectly in a way that makes the scene fell weird and the new trucks read more
Jul 9, 2018
for_soren (All reviews)
Preliminary
This adaptation is riddled with issues, ranging from fairly minor to really irksome, but my biggest problem with it is the direction.

Seiji Kishi did P4: The Animation a hell of a lot of justice. It may not have had the biggest budget or the highest-quality art, but the slice-of-life episodes were hilarious, and there were several really memorable (and emotional) action scenes. One need only recall the remarkably well-handled summer episodes, which retold several social link arcs in a really entertaining and satisfying manner, to realize the core strengths of the show. The anime ended up capturing the tone of the game perfectly and, for read more
May 13, 2018
jimmyedagawa78 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I went into this anime expecting the worst as I had nightmares with the god-awful animation of the OVA but it was a pleasant surprise to see the animation was actually halfway decent (compared to the OVA) for what its worth. It's nothing groundbreaking but it works. The animation is a bit stiff to my liking but it must be because I'm coming straight off the heals of binging Violet Evergarden (I highly doubt it) but the aesthetics are right on point (I am in love with the look of the velvet room.). You won't get most of the character development as the story has read more
Oct 26, 2018
akirakishitani (All reviews)
I wonder if i am justifying the 8 rating i gave but please there be a season 2.

This review is coming from someone who has never played the game before or pretty much any game using the console. If i see this purely from an anime POV with no source material to fall back on, i would say its a fairly decent story with some average CG for action scenes The story is also well paced and it has some interesting premise. The ending was also unexpected.

Story: If i compare P5A with P4A, the former has at least a semblance of a plot while read more
Oct 11, 2018
ShadowStealer7 (All reviews)
TL;DR: Works better as a companion to the game, anime original scenes or changes from the game are generally pretty good but the rest can be seen as average in terms of writing. Art is mediocre overall but gets better too late. Enjoyable if a Persona fan, just don't expect P4A 2.0

Persona 5 the Animation has been the subject of ridicule with the quality of the art and animation along with the rushing of a 100+ hour game into 26 episodes plus an unspecified amount of OVAs later on, and from this you would think that CloverWorks has somehow managed to make the worst anime read more
Oct 9, 2018
GetBlitzed (All reviews)
Incredible game for any who haven't played it. I'd give it a 9.5/10 at the bare minimum.

The anime adaptation? Not so much... (Though it did get my to buy the game and I am grateful for that)

I did enjoy this anime for what it was worth, but compacting 100+ hours of gameplay and story into a 26 episode block is far from easy. Personally I noticed a lot of the story was skimmed or summarized. For someone who has played the game several times, I didn't really struggle to keep up, but people who have only seen the anime must be completely baffled sometimes as read more
Oct 1, 2018
keizee107 (All reviews)
This is an updated review from ~episode 16

No, I didn't play the game, but I have watched a playthrough of the source material before. While I know what will happen in the main story I don't remember a lot of the finer details of the source material.

Story:
The main story is kind of simple as of episode 12, 3 palaces in. World building is finally complete, and the real plot is set in motion in episode 15. If there's a thing the anime does much better than the game itself it would be the confidant stories. The team does go out of their way read more
Oct 1, 2018
Ceeneon (All reviews)
What happens when you take one of the best JRPGs to date and try and make a 26 episode anime out of it? You get a rushed and highly watered down disappointment.

If you've never played Persona 5 for the PS3/PS4, you might find yourself intrigued, and then totally lost in the first few minutes of the first episode. With only 20-something minutes in each episode to tell the same story that a 100+ hour game did, the plot-points and scene transitions are thrown at you so fast you'll probably get whiplash. The ever-lurking and ultimately important plot points that involve the Velvet Room (where the read more
Sep 30, 2018
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
I love Persona franchise so much as I have both of my main waifu and my main husbando in this franchise. And now I really don't know where should I point my disappointment to. Yes. In short, I am very much disappointed by how Persona 5 : The Animation turns out. Rushy execution, very bad animation, destroyed a story that is already awesome, and made itself a huge disappointment for the fan that is already there. The only thing that holding this anime is the great soundtrack. That's it! That's the only thing that made me stay and giving this anime a chance.

Maybe the worst read more