Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Satsuriku no Tenshi


Alternative Titles

English: Angels of Death
Synonyms: Angel of Massacre, Angel of Slaughter
Japanese: 殺戮の天使

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2018 to Sep 21, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 20:30 (JST)
Producers: Lantis, Kadokawa
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Game
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.901 (scored by 77,424 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41802
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #477
Members: 218,722
Favorites: 2,733

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 21, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
For over a decade now, the anime industry has been producing one series a season that deserves the highly appreciated title of ironic masterpiece. This time around it's a show about suicidal loli and a massmurderer who refuses to kill her. And it has everything. When I say everything, what I really mean is e v e r y t h i n g, and I have been laughing my butt sore since episode 1.

Our story starts off in a spooky hospital where security cameras garnish the walls every 3 inches, doors close behind people's back like it is Ghost Hunt, and possessed typewriters read more
Sep 21, 2018
kchan13 (All reviews)
*I have only watched the anime, not the manga or game. Thus, this review will be based on the anime alone*

After having completely finished the anime, I can safely say that Satsuriku no Tenshi is one of the most frustrating horror animes I’ve ever watched. From the very start of the show, there have been a myriad of flaws involving plot, dialogue, and character development, all resulting in a trainwreck of a show, which is really a shame because it had such an interesting premise.

Plot (1/10): The plot to this anime is one of the worst I have ever seen and most of its issues read more
Jul 27, 2018
PhoenixKola (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've watched a whole let's play of the original Indie game. I already know the whole story and what to expect. To those who say the characters are two-dimensional... I can see why you'd think that. I disagree because there is a degree of character development that will become apparent if you stick around long enough. Know too that the story IS that predictable. However you think the story is going to turn out, you're probably going to be correct in at least one regarded aspect. Despite that, it's still fun. There's a certain level of early 2000's edginess in here. It's dark, bloody, gritty, read more
Jul 30, 2018
lemoclemo (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Don't take story ideas from 12 yr olds, or at least those who have the mental capacity of a 12 yr old."

The synopsis itself is promising, and in the hand of another writer there could've been a great story. But sadly, it just wasn't to be. Unlikable characters, predictable plot, lack of gore for something that's supposed to be scary, horrible dialogue and the worst jokes I've ever seen in an anime all contribute towards making this piece of shit the piece of shit it is.

These reasons all contribute towards my hate for this anime, but for me the most infuriating part about this read more
Sep 21, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Satsuriku no Tensei (Angels of Death) gave me perhaps one of the strangest impressions of this year. Set in a mysterious building, we immediately meet main female protagonist Rachel Gardner as she is confused about her whereabouts. It doesn’t help that she has no memories except for her name. The show immediately drops viewers into this sort of storytelling out of nowhere and it’s hard to take everything in from the start. Make no mistake. Satsuriku no Tensei is one of those shows where I lost count how many times I rolled my eyes and asked myself just exactly what the hell is going read more
Sep 21, 2018
Zerity (All reviews)
So Angels of death used to say it had 16 episodes but they changed it to 12 and the rest are being released as videos. (is what I heard)

Anyways beside that Angels of Death was really just okay. Doesn't really do anything special so it's just kinda average. Although I have my score as an 8 because really I did enjoy it.

The show has revolves around Rachel and Zack trying to get out of this building they're in and leave. They start at the bottom floor and just work their way up battling floor masters along the way. Each floor master having their own read more
Jul 27, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Satsuriku no Tenshi, or Angels of Death, was one of my most hyped and anticipated shows of the Summer season, because I have heard good things about the game that it originates from and its manga adaptation which replicates the game quite nicely. And now, the arrival of the anime adaptation of both the game and the manga...and its overall quality couldn't be more justified than just following the narratives of the game, so much so that I went to play the game and it certainly holds that into regard.

The story may just be your standard horror-adventure genre narration, but it has more substance than read more
Jul 27, 2018
tidoesstuff (All reviews)
Preliminary
I gotta say, four episodes in and I am enthralled by the story... Heck, it's pilot even created a compelling storyline that I'd hate to miss.

Character: 7
It sets the scene whereby the MC (I guess she's the MC) follows a progressive plot through, what I'd refer to as levels -I say levels since her "spawn point" is a basement from which she must navigate to go up a floor.
-
This is affirmed by it's most recent episode.
-
Furthermore, it is a level because she has to escape what could potentially be her cause of death...
But that's not what got me into it, rather -straight off the bar- read more
Jul 27, 2018
ttcchen (All reviews)
Preliminary
As someone who'd played the game and read the manga version of this series, I only have one advice for you: treat this anime like a love story. And also, it will get a lot better and those of you who're complaining about the lack of characterization... well, the amount of character development later on will overwhelm you to the point of suffocation.

Story 8: The only reason I gave it a 8 is that the production team didn't include Eddie and Danny's backstory. If they did, I don't think so many people would be shitting on this anime at the moment. Also I feel that read more
Aug 9, 2018
Cenizeee (All reviews)
Preliminary
* An analysis of the plot and characters until the first five episodes. *

Satsuriku no Tenshi is one of the animes managed to have more relevance this season for two reasons: for its duo of protagonists and because the season is loose, a season that only offers two sequels and more reasons to reaffirm how bad the modern anime is, for less innovative than to say it.
Although the synopsis is already screaming at my ear that it is not going to be something specifically innovative to be of the genre and that starts strong using mediocre resources like misfortunes that happen because if or read more
Sep 22, 2018
Yautja (All reviews)
My mother always said if you don't anything nice to say about someone, don't say anything at all. Thankfully, this nightmare (and not the scarey kind, ironically) isn't a person.

The summary is a cookie cutout of a typical mystery archetype / story setting. The amnesiac in a strange place. Then there's the weird anime twists with a murder with a scythe who laughs like a popcorn machine with a fork in it. Anyways, nothing overtly special or any red flags in the summary. Except for maybe that stupid little bit about fate. Doubt fate locked you in a building. Moving on. Why it's bad.

The mystery read more
Aug 21, 2018
afkchaos (All reviews)
Preliminary
Jesus Christ, how do these guys make money?

I, much like you read the bio, and expected a GENIUS plotline.
Once again, Japanese films fail at what American filmworks and animation studios NAIL everytime. Character development and pacing. I....I watched three episodes of a none mystery anime and have ZERO idea of what it's even about.

Pro tip? Don't just SCREAM OUT A CHARACTERS ENTIRE ARC, BACKSTORY, AND PERSONALITY IN ONE EPISODE; IN ONE SCENE. Film is nothing more than an interesting way to convey information. Thats IT!!!! The rest is just extra stuff on the salad. If you need fried chicken strips to enjoy read more
Aug 2, 2018
ervee (All reviews)
Preliminary
The premise of this anime is dreadful so far. The protagonist goes from being a regular person to a 2006 emo kid requesting to "be killed because I want to die" very quickly. This is incompatible with the telling of the story, given that every other character so far would jump at the opportunity to kill her and she really doesn't need the help of her buddy Zack just to die. I have little faith that at some point the story will justify this paradoxical behaviour later and will probably shoehorn something that will be lapped up regardless.

Characters are very flat without much development, the read more
Sep 14, 2018
Koloshow (All reviews)
Preliminary
Blandness all around. Angels of Death started off strong, and then just went downhill from there. The show gets edgier by the episode, to the point of being unbearable. The plot moves at an incredibly slow pace. Nothing seems to ever happen. Elevator scenes take minutes, and the main characters spend a good chunk of the episode time just repeating the same things over and over. The show attempts to create a compelling mystery, but fails miserably and ends up giving birth to a bloody mess. And just so you know, a certain character in this show has limitless amounts of blood stored in them. read more
Aug 21, 2018
Hiimlara (All reviews)
Preliminary
So this is my first review so sorry if its kinda bad. Also sorry for my crappy english

But this anime was a very big disappointment for me. I expected so much more but it ended up being an edgy "humorous" mess I can only imagine 13 year olds can enjoy.

So lets start of with our main character rachel gardner who just loves to remind the audience that she really wants to die BUT it can only be done by isaac becouse "he swore it to god" or some crap like that. This gets annoying very fast and I just couldnt help but think "yeah read more
Jul 27, 2018
mmchan (All reviews)
Preliminary
What should you be expecting from Satsuriku no Tenshi? A promise between a pure murderer and a mysterious girl and their journey together, mixed with some self-discovery.

I first took notice of this series in the Summer 2018 lineup. The synopsis intrigued me so much, I read the manga and watched a complete playthrough of the game. The anime adaption, so far, is faithful to the source. It draws primarily from the manga but the released episodes have taught me they’re ready to adapt little things to fit a big screen.

Episode 1 was fast-paced and edgy while later episodes settle into a more relaxed read more
Jan 27, 2019
TheThirstyOne (All reviews)
Watching "Angels of Death" was quite a tumultuous journey, and I don't mean emotionally. Now, I won't go into massive detail about the plot, since the synopsis is right on the page; it would be redundant of me to make you read it twice. However, I will discuss the things I liked and the things I disliked about this anime.


First, the things I disliked. For starters, the animation in the opening wasn't as fluid as I'm used to. It was kind of snappy and abrupt, rather than flowy and smooth. However, I did get used to this rather quickly. Another thing that I didn't read more
Sep 20, 2018
_Karinha (All reviews)
Preliminary
No, I do not think this is a masterpiece, but I think its a bit unfair that the most helpfull reviwes are from people who 've seen 4 episodes. The story is very cool and makes you wait paciently for what comes next. Also the OST is fantastic, that creeppy tone makes ALL the diference on the horror atmosphere. But, not everything smells like roses, the protagonist is the big deal here, does she really have the to say the same sentence every 5 seconds?. No1 likes you Rachel, just die pls.

Story: 7/10. The whole thing is very provocative, but the person we need to read more
Sep 14, 2018
cokaffeine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Not a thing that's redeeming about this piece of garbage. I don't throw the word "cringe" often, but I couldn't even watch some parts without skipping through. It takes itself too seriously, all the "horror" and "drama" are rendered useless because of the stupidity of the rest of the anime.
The animation is cheap, they were obviously cutting corners where they could.
Music and sound is just "generic anime sound/music". Voice acting was pretty poor too, often not syncronised with the characters.
The characters were downright boring. Emotionless mc and an obnoxious sidekick. Very original. The creators of the original indie game obviously were into creepypasta. Nice read more
Dec 11, 2018
halbeats (All reviews)
one word: underdeveloped.

huge potential but the story is premature. with 16 episodes and two main characters we should know them through and through and evolve with them. this happens but really only in the last four episodes do we see substantial growth.

loved zack, okamoto was great as his voice actor. he recieved the most backstory. ray isn't as developed and suffers for it as she felt lukewarm. dr. danny was consistently a nemesis, no backstory. the priest was unbuyable, he constructs this psychopathic lair of psychological experimentation and then grows a sliver of a heart toward the end. idk.
eddie was a cute character. read more