Wotaku ni Koi wa Muzukashii


Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: It's Difficult to Love an Otaku
Japanese: ヲタクに恋は難しい
English: Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2018 to Jun 22, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Web manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 387892387,892 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #169
Members: 755,263
Favorites: 8,693

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 21, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Growing up from a kid to adulthood, I’m sure all of us has our own favorite hobbies, interests, or dirty little secret. Not many people like to admit it but it’s part of our society and how we live in. For a show about the otaku culture and exploring the lifestyle of the nerd norm, Wotake ni Koi wa Muzukashii really set the bar high. Welcome to a world where office romance, otakuism, and gaming culture become an experience you won’t forget.

The English translation title is “It’s Difficult to Love an Otaku” and “Love is Hard of Otaku”. Literally, those words mushed up together already read more
Jun 21, 2018
AbnerA (All reviews)
Wotaku ni Koi wa Muzukashii (Wotakoi for short) is a romance comedy which characters are Otakus (Anime or Game Otakus). It is set in an office setting, featuring 4 main characters (2 couples) that are dating each other. Here in there, you would see direct references to manga, anime, games, and the likes. However, this anime fails to deliver well in both comedy and romance. I think it is important for you to treat this more as a slice of life show featuring otaku couples, as to not give any unmet expectations.

The romance in this anime is more of just a setting as it is read more
Jul 16, 2021
Ezekiel_01 (All reviews)
Do you ever felt that you are getting tired of Romance Comedy Set in Highschool? When the troupe of this kind of slice of life romance comedies is starting to get boring? And as time passes, it starting to get very jarring to watch. When the idea is getting stale when nothing new is introduced on the table.

If you feel that way? You’re not the only one. Because I am also growing kind of tired of this kind of show as I hit my late 20’s. The problem I see with this kind of show is that we get an ample amount of it every read more
Jun 21, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Welcome to the latest "what if a bunch of generic teenagers were adults" anime. Let’s see what Japan has served up this time… Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku. Well, at least it has an interesting name, it’d be even more interesting if the show had stayed true to it for at least a single episode. It didn’t, and by the end of the first episode, the main characters are already dating.

Okay, that one misgiving aside, Wotakoi is a decent workplace romantic comedy with plenty of good qualities but is ultimately weighed down by poor comedic timing. Let’s first discuss what the show does well read more
Jun 21, 2018
Yas- (All reviews)
I picked up Wotaku ni koi wa Muzukashii along with 3D Kanojo together back when the show first aired and expected both to be about the same, I gave the former an 8 and the latter a 7 originally if my memory doesn't fail me, and from then on even though both featured otaku (now it's obvious that 3D Kanojo only has one while Wotakoi has it's entire casts as the same but I picked it up together for the same reason) it became clear as day which was fresh garbage and which was the anime that made me dance. Looking at the rating I read more
May 3, 2018
kiintokii (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’m honestly enjoying this anime so much, I look forward to the next episode every week.

‘Love is hard for otaku’ to me, is a simple, funny and cute series with some references here and there, displaying the struggles and benefits of relationships between otaku, whether it’s just a friendly relationship or something more.

The main characters all have their own characteristics and interests and lets be real, Hirotaka is hella cute I am shaking. Anyways! The relationships between the mc’s are developing as they get to know each other more and more and I am truly enjoying that journey, especially the little fights between Hanako and read more
May 6, 2018
IAintAllBad (All reviews)
Preliminary
Who had enough of looking for a fulfilling romance in anime? Who got tired of the school-setting romance with dense characters that don't acknowledge their feelings until the last minute of the anime and they don't even hug or share a kiss? I don't know about you, but I have had enough!

I tried a lot of romance anime in search of one that has the characters confess in the beginning and then the remaining of the series is them developing their relationship. But I was always disappointed. That is until I came across Wotaku ni Koi wa Muzukashii.

In the beginning, I tried watching the first read more
May 3, 2018
Rylston (All reviews)
Preliminary
Are u sick of all those high school setting romance show? Did u just finish ur job feeling tired trying to find some refreshment? Look no further as Wotaku ni Koi wa Muzukashii (Wotakoi) has got u covered. This is a very laid back show, if youre already have enough of the action shows this season provides with us, heres one that ill highly recommend for anyone who is up for their time.

Wotakoi is a very well done rom-com series set in modern day Japan, covering our fellow otaku MCs, and otaku side characters. As aforementioned, our MCs are otakus, they like anime, read more
May 6, 2018
jshap70 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm surprised there aren't more people disappointed by this show. And while I am in no way someone who thinks that a faithful adaptation is required to make a good show (see: maid dragon), I think this anime really misses the mark.

Starting with the basics, the animation is distractingly bad. This show definitely probably wouldn't require the large animation budget a lot of other shows need (except possibly some of the in game shots later), they definitely cut it back to the bare minimum: lots of still reaction shots, background art that seems disconnected from the foreground characters, and oh my god the faces. read more
Jun 29, 2018
TakaTempest (All reviews)
What makes a good romcom anime?

Characters

Comedy

Narrative

Relationships

Drama

Romance

Theses are the things that usually make a romcom anime better not always good though. In the Spring 18 anime season there were two romcom that were strangely competing with each other. 3D Kanojo Real Girl and WotaKoi Love is Hard for Otaku. Both of these show uses all of these elements that I just listed to make theses respective shows better but yet only one of them was good though.

3D Kanojo Real Girl is a badly written romcom where only it had characters would talk over with each other without letting the other person finish but at various times the show hardly feels like a read more
Jun 8, 2021
cryyptt_ (All reviews)
Honestly, I'm sure If I should do a full review on this anime, just because it feels like there is more to come. It ended on such a weird note and it made you feel like there was another episode to watch after 11.

However, considering that this was a fairly recent anime and the world as we all know is going through a pandemic, it can be fairly difficult to release more episodes since it takes a considerable amount of time to draw and animate adaptations from a manga.

With that out of the way lemme break down why I have given "Wotakoi: Love is Hard read more
May 3, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wotakoi is a romance between young adults. Gamer guy who wears glasses and yaoi fangirl who acts like a tomboy. Apparently they aren't very confident about their own hobbies so naturally they go and announce their otaku lifestyle in a manner similar to "yes, I am a vegan" meme. Pretty cool.


There are few things I quite like. Wotakoi has very direct dialogue, People say what they think and don't hide inside their shells. These characters are honest and don't spend 15 episodes pondering over how to convey. The comedy -especially after the first 2 episodes- is genius. The series is full of gamer memes read more
Jun 21, 2018
Zaber_san (All reviews)
Wotaku ni Koi wa Muzukashii (or simply Wotakoi), have two genres. Comedy and romance. That's it. Romcoms nowadays in the anime community has been popular in the late 2010's sparking a big genre called ''School''.
Yet Im not talking about the ''School'' genre here. Im talking about how Wotakoi done an excellent job on progressing and making unique attempts on a Romantic-comedy segment that is surprisingly not taking place in a high school. Instead it follows the workplace of four unique characters. Unique as in every single one of this four have unique attributes that you can say ''How in the world does this four have read more
Nov 10, 2018
FugiLogic (All reviews)
Looking for a true romance, one with suspense, fluff, and drama? Then I will make this incredibly clear that this anime is not for you! I feel like I have to make this clear because I went into this anime based on description, genre, and rating expecting a romance and it really did not deliver.

It has a lot of good qualities however. Anime and game lovers will find themselves identifying with the characters, and you’ll find yourself laughing at the exaggerated, but still relatable content. The art is also really cute, all the characters are distinct and different despite all being categorized as otaku’s. read more
May 21, 2020
rotanrotan1 (All reviews)
Wotakoi is light romantic comedy of responsible adults connected by the threads of their hobby--otaku culture. The cast are adults in the workplace that were able to come together because of their common interests: games, anime, manga, and cosplay. The series draws us to the feeling of making friends that we can share our interests (ones that we do not readily share to most our friends.)
The animation is adequately pleasant. The opening theme is very catchy, it had me look up on sumika--and now they are a staple on my music playlist.

The characters and their interactions are enjoyable. Particularly, Narumi and Hirotaka's relationship and read more
May 5, 2018
JackYagami (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is simply put a fine piece of soul-soothing.

This is no CGDCT and for that I'm honestly thankful, being able to create relatable situations and hilarious jokes and references to otaku culture.

The emphasis it puts on corporal environment, the overall anxiety of fitting in and the enjoyment of our hobbies it's simply amazing and present in every episode so far without outshining the romance of our characters which I absolutely adore.

Every character has their unique traits and the amazing choice of voice actors helps them in that regard giving that punchline neccesary to make the humor of the series get to you.

It's a read more
Dec 31, 2020
zoes1 (All reviews)
This anime was honestly kinda boring and disappointing. I started this anime because they said it was a funny romance anime so I had pretty high expectations for this. But it was everything but romance. So if you like romance I wouldn't recommend this.

The first episodes were good and enjoyable, but it went down real quick. There is actually no story and it felt very repetitive. The only thing they do is go to work and go drinking. The characters were all shallow and they needed more characterization. The first couple was almost always fighting and I get that that's the joke, but it became read more
Jun 21, 2018
ADelicateOrange (All reviews)
TL;DR It's a 7/10 show that is not meant for everyone. If romcoms are not your genre or want a romance that heavily focuses on development like Tsuki ga Kirei, then I wouldn't recommend it. The humor is good. The Opening is probably the best this season. However, I don't think the 3 episode rule applies here, if you don't like Romantic-Comedies.

Wotakoi is a romantic-comedy that steps into the light of adulthood, and basks in the glory of being an Otaku? I'm just kidding. Being an otaku in society is still seen as a overall negative from all the weird things like Hentai and Cosplay read more
Aug 25, 2020
Smores360 (All reviews)
This show is very true to the manga it is based on. It is a genuine slice of life anime that showcases the romantic relationship of two couples (maybe three if it gets another season). It doesn't have any petty jealousy that most romance shows have and focuses on the developing relationship of two childhood friends instead (with a ton of otaku references). I agree with Kabakura that Ranka is the best! (Macross F reference). Because it was fairly mature and not childish, I really enjoyed it. The studio also did a great job on their game graphics whenever they were shown! It made it read more
Apr 29, 2019
Mass40k (All reviews)
I'll preface this by saying that I have not read any of the manga for this series.

You don't necessarily expect much to happen in a slice of life type show, but with Wotakoi, there is very little payoff. It all ends up feeling incredibly flat; each episode follows its own structure and there isn’t much of an overarching story being built. Everything is just enjoyable enough to keep you strung along hoping that something will eventually happen. And, it’s not to say that the characters don’t sometimes have their moments. There are cute interactions or jokes that land here and there, but the frequency read more