Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ryuuou no Oshigoto!


Alternative Titles

English: The Ryuo's Work is Never Done!
Japanese: りゅうおうのおしごと!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2018 to Mar 26, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Project No.9
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.071 (scored by 30,236 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #33642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1193
Members: 75,042
Favorites: 159

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
This anime. Or rather, this copy-paste formulaic anime adaptation of the light novel that apparently was voted #1 in the Japan’s Kono Light Novel ga Sugoi! for 2017 made me wonder if the anime industry even tries anymore. It’s 2018 and here we are, an anime adaptation based on shogi with a cast filled with questionable characters and content. I was cautiously optimistic about this show at first but upon finishing this anime, I can say that without a shadow of a doubt, Ryuunou no Oshigoto left little more than desired.

Sometimes, people say don’t judge a book by its cover. Unfortunately, that statement is hard read more
Jan 26, 2018
ViskMusic (All reviews)
Preliminary
The official shogi anime is here boys.

You might be confused as a fellow sangatsu watcher but I assure you that show is fake shogi which this show sheds the truth to. Everyone knows before a shogi match you must court an underage girl and make her shower in your shower. If you do this you will be able to take all of her generals and put her into checkmate.

The artwork this series has is simply exquisite. I love looking at the clean bodies of the younger cast juxtaposed odd looking older men of the series. Seeing animation talents such as Hironori Tanaka animate amazing scenes read more
Mar 26, 2018
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review assumes that you have finished watching Ryuuou no Oshigoto and while care has been taken to minimise story related spoilers there may still be spoilers within character analysis. You have been warned.

Learning to value the bonds that a master and disciple make while playing Shogi with Ai and friends

Based off a well-known light novel series of the same name Ryuuou no Oshigoto or its English title which is the Ryuo’s work is never done gives us the opportunity to look into the world of Shogi from not just a player’s perspective but also from a master’s perspective as they train read more
Jan 29, 2018
ZA_WURDO (All reviews)
Preliminary
this is like black bullet but with shogi instead of an apocalyptic earth. atleast black bullet had some interesting characters. I would have enjoyed this show a lot more but they showed the loli naked in the first episode itself, which threw me off. so i could tell that this is an anime that most lolicons would enjoy.
I'm guessing more characters are on the way. i did enjoy the show in a way. the art and the animation style is pretty cool, so that is a plus.
4 episodes in and they showed us more cliche stuff that happens in the show. shogi is just read more
Mar 26, 2018
Haaselh0ff (All reviews)
The Lolicon's Work is Never Done!

A story about a Shogi master (Yaichi) who begins apprenticing a young girl(Ai-chan) who is a little too fond of him. Along the way we meet a few too many other little girl characters who all seem to have some weird magnetization towards our protagonist and a couple of actual high school/adult aged characters who you'd like to imagine will be actual love interests for Yaichi over the plethora of little girls he has to choose from.

The show, at its core, is about Shogi... and lolis. But supposedly it's mainly about shogi. Yaichi's struggle to figure out how to read more
Jan 29, 2018
Draconix814 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, I was disappointed by Ryuuou no Oshigoto, or The Ryou's work is Never Done.

Perhaps it was because Joey The Anime Man interviewed the creator a while back? At the time, I found both Joey's views and the Author's expression of his story to be particularly fascinating, not to mention how high it made in the Kono Light Novel ga Sugoi contest a year or so ago.

Bottom line, I heard a lot of things about it and I was excited, and even when the first two episodes aired, I was convinced that there had to be at least something that made it popular enough read more
Mar 15, 2018
Minteee (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll be honest, I'm probably older than most people here on this site. There comes a time in ones life where fast-paced activities and hobbies either aren't as viable or aren't as gratifying as ones that require thought and concentration. "Ah, shogi!" I thought after spotting Ryuuou no Oshigoto while scrolling through a list of currently-airing anime series. "I've always wanted to learn how to play! Maybe I should give this show a chance."

After a single episode, it became apparent that I had made a very, VERY grave mistake. This wasn't a shogi show at all... it was a loli show.

My therapist had warned me read more
Feb 18, 2018
Heikor (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime he does not want to be remembered for anything other than sexualization of "lolis"

Story: 1
The anime has an extremely pig script treating you like an animal by using various expository dialogues to explain obvious things, even if you do not know "shogi" it is not here that you will learn

Art: 6
The character design is well generic but well functional, the setting is nothing to much

Sound: 5
In the part of sound not to nothing too the soundtracks are generic but functional and the sonoplasty decays a few times but until it is functional

Character: 1
Generic, stereotyped (a lot of "lolis" who get extremely strange attitudes read more
May 5, 2018
Hatesu (All reviews)
Not good on reviews or writing so I'll keep it short and simple. First let me start off by saying: Who the hell watches an anime featuring lolis and then cries about it having a bit of loli fan service and comedy. You are watching a show straight out of Japanese culture. As such, you have to expect this kind of thing as it's (sorta) tolerated over there and a well established part of anime culture. I don't like THICC (I hate this term, they are just fat) chicks with big sloppy hooters, fat thighs and bulging bellies, but you don't see me watching every read more
Mar 27, 2018
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
I feel like i shouldn't need to explain it but Shogi is not this intense or interesting !

I've seen two old people playing Shogi before and it's one of the most boring things i'v ever scene. It's more boring then being in a Hospital room by yourself without anything to entertain yourself with while you wait for the Doctor. Hell, I've even played Shogi once and i was bored to tear.

While i didn't really enjoy myself when they were actually playing Shogi ( That's a pretty big negative for a show based around it) I did find myself liking the world and the characters read more
Jul 24, 2018
Yip9090 (All reviews)
“Ah Mr.Officer its not what it looks like! I’m not a lolicon” To sum up this anime I only have a few words, lolis! Lolis everywhere! Ahem, back to the review, contains minor spoilers.

So the anime starts off with the Mc in a intense “Ryuo” match(this is basicully a tournament to earn the title of “Ryuo” which is a prestigous title in the shogi world) there he meets a yumm- I mean cute loli called “Hinatsuru, Ai”. Major spoiler he wins the “Ryuo” match, nah jk it is called “The Ryuo’s work is never done for a reason”. After winning and becomming the youngest Ryuo read more
May 5, 2018
Sistine-Fibel (All reviews)
I would first like to state this review contains some spoilers as I needed to discuss the final arc and certain scenes with characters.


Story: 5
The story is certainly not the strong point of this series. It follows a young shogi prodigy and his daily antics of being a professional shogi player and a Loli harem king.

While some arcs are seemingly pointless some are rather good. For example, Keika attempting to be a professional player after so many years of trying. And the final Ryuo match where Yaichi overcomes his slump after turning away his friends. Both were rather heartwarming but still had their respective faults.

However, read more
Mar 29, 2018
EvanLoh (All reviews)
"It can be better, but it chose not to."

<SHORT REVIEW>
Pros
1. Cute characters
2. Great details on Shogi

Cons
1. Boring art style
2. Rushed adaptation

<LONG REVIEW>
I heard about this series through it's winning in the Kono Light Novel Ga Sugoi Contest 2 years in a row, beating series like Snafu and Sword Art Online. It was shocking to see a light novel about shogi with lolis can beat series like SAO in a popularity contest, so I waited for the anime to see how this series handles its loli characters and also the Shogi element.

After finishing the series, I have to say that it's quite disappointing, but I read more
Mar 26, 2018
Terkhev (All reviews)
Ryuuou no Oshigoto is a controversial anime. One one hand it can be accused of being a lolicon bait and a harem (not that I mind either of those). On the other, shogi games are well made and can get really exciting.

First question that comes to mind: do you need to know shogi rules to enjoy it? Not really. I assume a person with deeper understanding of game could find something more in this anime, but as someone who barely knows basics of shogi, I didn't feel too limited by it. Show mentions many moves and strategies, but parts important to follow the story are read more
Mar 26, 2018
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
We've had series about edgy card games where everything is on the line, mechas to save the planet, battles of magic and technology for the sake of domination or peace....and then, we get the lighthearted series where the japanese "chess" game known as shogi means everything in the world in this story. And yes, I know, it's lolicon bait, but honestly, that's not what's really important here. It's a shame that people are probably sleeping on this series, cause it's quite enjoyable in its own right.

STORY: It's a fairly good setting where shogi means everything like Duel Monsters are with all the yugioh series. I read more
Mar 8, 2018
ricerocket_ej6 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Enjoyable in a vacuum. I don't know Shogi (Japanese chess) from performing an emergency tracheotomy, however I find the cute characters pretty aesthetic and tone welcoming and pleasing. If you have ever seen... any anime ever and liked it, you're probably not going to be out of your comfort zone. It's generic in the aspect that it really doesn't push the boundaries for anything but what the anime community can tolerate as far as lolicon humor goes. Again, if you're put off by the humor you might not like this. If you like loli's though, you'll like it. If you like cute/moe/kawaii stuff, you'll like read more
Mar 3, 2018
Marchearth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly I was very skeptical when getting into this anime, I was like "what is this ? Sangatsu no Lion for lolicon middle schoolers ? "

Truth be told Sangatsu is one of my favorite anime series I love the realistic drama, deep characters, interesting story progression I love everything about it. This anime didn't seem to have that kind of vibe so I really underestimated it. But here comes the weird part:
IT DOES NOT HAVE THOSE THINGS BUT IT STILL MADE ME LOVE IT !
I don't even know why !
First episode was like "Okay I got a good chuckle but whats with the huge read more
Feb 12, 2018
Sku_Te (All reviews)
Preliminary
No doubt geared towards Shogi players (as it occasionally goes into technical details), but even if you don't play it, this is a fun series. It's not high on the comedy scale, being more drama than anything, especially how characters deal with losing games, as well as winning. Some also have to cope with the possibility of never being able to compete professionally.

Matches are shown sparingly or in a highly dramatic form, which whilst not accurate (hopefully), it does make things interesting.

The characters are nice but flawed - the protagonist especially so, who is essentially being forced to mentor two girls with the read more
Aug 11, 2018
BrightColorLover (All reviews)
First of all, gotta say I don't usually write reviews. I like being critical but it's something I don't do out in "public" because of how outrageously agressive the anime community is lately. Furthermore, this isn't a technical review, it's an opinionated speech about why i think you should watch "Ryuuou no Oshigoto!".

However, with this show i felt like i had to do something. You know, this show may be as trashy as you want, and it is probably true. And even though it is, it managed to be fun, heartwarming, dramatic and even emotional (at least to me). And yes, it's filled to the read more
May 23, 2018
astralkill00 (All reviews)
Another review for my fans. Wait, I don't really have any. So anyway here I go.

Dear Author, you suck at adapting your story, please die, and beg for forgiveness!!!

I wanted it to be rated by me to 8 or 9 but the story was ACHING fast paced and those background characters doesn't even have a single backstory line/scene in the series, then the most crucial of all is the love story or relationship between Ginko and Yaichi didn't bloom enough to the point that they should at least kiss, ACHE you author!!!
And now the original plot for chess in japan called shogi, shogi is not read more