Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ryuuou no Oshigoto!


Alternative Titles

English: The Ryuo's Work is Never Done!
Japanese: りゅうおうのおしごと!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Project No.9
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.981 (scored by 6,315 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #36262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1732
Members: 39,210
Favorites: 80

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 26, 2018
ViskMusic (All reviews)
The official shogi anime is here boys.

You might be confused as a fellow sangatsu watcher but I assure you that show is fake shogi which this show sheds the truth to. Everyone knows before a shogi match you must court an underage girl and make her shower in your shower. If you do this you will be able to take all of her generals and put her into checkmate.

The artwork this series has is simply exquisite. I love looking at the clean bodies of the younger cast juxtaposed odd looking older men of the series. Seeing animation talents such as Hironori Tanaka animate amazing scenes read more
Jan 30, 2018
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
We've had series about edgy card games where everything is on the line, mechas to save the planet, battles of magic and technology for the sake of domination or peace....and then, we get the lighthearted series where the japanese "chess" game known as shogi means everything in the world in this story. And yes, I know, it's lolicon bait, but honestly, that's not what's really important here. It's a shame that people are probably sleeping on this series, cause it's quite enjoyable in its own right.

STORY: It's a fairly good setting where shogi means everything like Duel Monsters are with all the yugioh series. I read more
Jan 29, 2018
ZA_WURDO (All reviews)
this is like black bullet but with shogi instead of an apocalyptic earth. atleast black bullet had some interesting characters. I would have enjoyed this show a lot more but they showed the loli naked in the first episode itself, which threw me off. so i could tell that this is an anime that most lolicons would enjoy.
I'm guessing more characters are on the way. i did enjoy the show in a way. the art and the animation style is pretty cool, so that is a plus.
4 episodes in and they showed us more cliche stuff that happens in the show. shogi is just read more
Jan 29, 2018
Draconix814 (All reviews)
Honestly, I was disappointed by Ryuuou no Oshigoto, or The Ryou's work is Never Done.

Perhaps it was because Joey The Anime Man interviewed the creator a while back? At the time, I found both Joey's views and the Author's expression of his story to be particularly fascinating, not to mention how high it made in the Kono Light Novel ga Sugoi contest a year or so ago.

Bottom line, I heard a lot of things about it and I was excited, and even when the first two episodes aired, I was convinced that there had to be at least something that made it popular enough read more
Feb 12, 2018
TheGameplayer (All reviews)
No doubt geared towards Shogi players (as it occasionally goes into technical details), but even if you don't play it, this is a fun series. It's not high on the comedy scale, being more drama than anything, especially how characters deal with losing games, as well as winning. Some also have to cope with the possibility of never being able to compete professionally.

Matches are shown sparingly or in a highly dramatic form, which whilst not accurate (hopefully), it does make things interesting.

The characters are nice but flawed - the protagonist especially so, who is essentially being forced to mentor two girls with the read more
Feb 6, 2018
muslem_Zainuddin (All reviews)
he show is funny, lolicon, if you have watched the following recent anime:

- Tenshi no 3P! (Angel's 3Piece!)
- Eromanga-sensei
- Imouto sae Ireba Ii. (A Sister's All You Need)

then, its similar type of thrill but in different setting where each story you will find similar age main character , lolicon angel (innocence), same harem life approach (Lucky Pervert), same love madness (love with lot jealousy), and similar rival you dont want to loss to.

while the anime is about shogi which i don't know, it not sporty show which show full game of shogi move like puzzle solving, its based of lucky way of read more
Jan 30, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Welp, why must every season have a loli character that always tries to appeal with the less-than-stellar story and plot? See what happened to Eromanga-sensei last year and how that turned out.

Well, well, Ryuuou no Oshigoto! (or The Ryuo's Work Is Never Done!) is one of those game-centric anime that reminds me so much of the ongoing Sangatsu no Lion, or Hikaru no Go (for even older fans). Personally, I've never been into games such as Shogi, but for a show that uses that as a plot device, hmms...

So we have the youngest champion, the Ryuo himself Yaichi Kuzuryuu (wad kinda name is that LOLs) read more
Jan 29, 2018
EmmemTTC (All reviews)
Story:A 16 year old guy who became a ryuo,the highest title a shogi player can get and a 9 year old girl came to him and ask him to be her master,decent story,feel kinda generic for my taste but since it is a LN adaptation i'll let it slide

Art:Really good art,i mean,most LN adaptation anime have really good art and animation,aside from some scences

Character:There is only one good character who is the MC's so called sister and the MC is alright i guess but other then some decent or generic side character,we have the othe MC,the loli,who i really,really hate(Lolicon,don't hate me,i'm ok with most read more