Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens


Alternative Titles

English: Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens
Japanese: 博多豚骨ラーメンズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2018 to Mar 30, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Satelight
Source: Novel
Genres: ActionAction
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 3814638,146 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1114
Members: 99,838
Favorites: 439

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2018
loancruz (All reviews)
the only baseball anime i will ever watch!!

i only started watching this because of yuki kaji, but i ended up falling in love with it. for people who enjoy character-driven stories like me, this is a great anime to watch. it's very satisfying to see how all of the characters come together and become some sort of found family.

the arcs aren't drawn out, but instead of feeling rushed, they just make me feel more satisfied. they spend a bit of time in each arc introducing and fleshing out a character, which is to be expected with how many there are in the group. it doesn't read more
Mar 30, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
(Spoiler Warning)

Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens was one of the Winter 2018 anime I've anticipated for quite a while, and it truly delivered the punch that it deserves.

Story:
The city of Fukuoka (or Hakata City as always mentioned) is not your usual city, while it thrives on the outside world, its citizens are literally another story. Basically, the thing is, one in every three citizens is are revenge-job-seeking hitmen, killers (whether hired or not) and detectives, all laying low in the lurch.

Zenji Banba is one of those private detectives in the Hakata area, trying to seek out hitmen companies so that he could interfere with their hitmen jobs, read more
Mar 30, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
The night sky is vibrantly illuminated by the mellow glow of colorful lights, emanating from each building throughout the city. More lively during the night than day, the city of Hakata radiates a deceptively alluring glow covering it entirely; masking the dangers that lurk around every corner.

Hakata is infamously known for 3% of its population being comprised of hitmen, torturers, yakuza, and worse. This percentile is further divided into agencies, gangs, and websites for freelancers; a few of them are hilariously named “Murder Inc”, “Shadeyjobs.com”, and “RedRum Inc”. A sly snap at other action crime anime that strive to be realistic with overwrought edginess. Darkly read more
Mar 30, 2018
Tomm01p (All reviews)
Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens is like an action movie made in todays Holywood. It doesn't make sense, it's overflowing with clichés and one could ask why the hell does it even exist. Yet, it does and I have to bear with the fact that it'll continue to exist. Because there is one reason why it does still make a lot of money. And that reason is the action, because action equals entertainment. But entertainment, like Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens perfectly shows, doesn't equal quality.

The story takes place in a city Fukuoka, which, in this fictional version, is overflowing with killers and assasins. So much infact that read more
Mar 5, 2018
SerebiSenpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd like to share my thoughts on this Show, as I think it doesnt get the Attention it deserves. [EDITED]

Story : 7
Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens is the Story of a Group of Killers. You'll see who they are, and follow them while they struggle through life. There are a few Story arcs that will develop each characters, nothing complicated. Some stories like the first one could have been developped more and some may seem unnecessary but it doesnt Keep you from enjoying the Show.
Even though the world the caracters live in is really violent, the fact that it is normalized and that noone in the Anime read more
Feb 9, 2018
ShotgunXShogun (All reviews)
Preliminary
An Interesting Mystery With an Excellent Soundtrack

This show has the potential to become a slightly more comedic, but also grounded Psycho Pass in my eyes. The setting, while more than a bit ridiculous in concept, is still a pretty cool world with endless possibilities for big action and twisted crime capers that refreshingly have no sci-fi tech or magic involved for once. It also has the foundation of some potentially great sociopolitical satire as it essentially turns modern day corruption in the regular political process up to eleven a its entire premise and I'm excited to see how the main conflict will unfold over the read more
Feb 9, 2018
TacitCandor (All reviews)
Preliminary
(NOTE: When writing this review I had watched the first 5 episodes of this title each week upon release. I tried to avoid spoilers. There may be some very mild spoilers by context, but definitely nothing plot related.)

Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens is the most surprisingly entertaining and enthralling anime of the current season, in my opinion. It feels almost like a slice-of-life anime as you watch it, filled with colorful, interesting characters and goofy situations. However, these are interspersed with moments of intense action, drama, energy, and tension. Though it may start off a bit soft and slow, the story and its diverse cast of quirky read more
Feb 17, 2018
Casual_Anime_Fan (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to give this anime a try after 6 episodes had been released because the reviews were pretty good. I was skeptical at first because the story didn't interest me. Hence, the reason I just started watching now. I'm already caught up and I'm glad I decided to give it a chance. I normally would watch shows with two or more of the following genres: fantasy, adventure, superpowers, supernatural, and comedy. That being said, this show is entertaining even for me someone who prefers shows like One Punch Man, Hunter X Hunter, Overlord, etc.. I would recommend giving it a try.
Mar 30, 2018
SoraSenpai (All reviews)
The story was promising at first. But what I thought was going to be our main character ended up panning out to be someone who was only relevant on certain occasions. I'm okay with an anime having certain arcs to it, but unless the arcs lead to a final conclusion, story line wise I lose interest...luckily the action was so well done in this anime that I never lost interest and the story basically took a back seat to the amount of kick ass moments there were. Plus BASEBALL!!!

The art and animation were not anything special. With guts, bloods, and brains spilling, along with heads read more
Feb 22, 2018
ramalammy (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR: It's Durarara!!, but stupider, and it's fantastic. Watch at least the first two episodes, since episode 1 doesn't sell the show as well as episode 2 does.

Do not expect great plot or lore from this show. The plot is purely an excuse for characters to bounce off of eachother in fun and interesting ways. The highlights of this show are its action scenes, its characters and their designs, and the sound.

The action scenes, at least as far as has released at time of writing, are pretty fantastic. Solid animation, plenty of blood, and a god number of stupid cool moments. Stupid is the read more
Mar 31, 2018
jRad522 (All reviews)
This show is worth your time. It is a dumb-fun action romp, but it is also more than that. It is a portrayal of queer people in a way that is fun, humanizing, sympathetic, and, almost miraculously, in an way that is not in the slightest bit preachy. If you like stupid action and also like gay characters and stories, you could do a hell of a lot worse than Hakata Tonkasu Ramens.

I will be completely forthright and admit that I went in Hakata Tonkatsu Ramens (hereafter HTR) both expecting and wanting to hate-watch it. Even starting to watch this show with a clear bias read more
Mar 31, 2018
rhiannon_carter (All reviews)
When I went through the reviews of this anime I noticed an all or none phenomenon. People either loved it or despised it and that made me super curious. And man am I glad that I watched it.

The setting is very idiosyncratic. I mean a world where hitmen casually hung out and discussed their jobs and the people they murdered in public and had baseball teams...uhmm ...weird. But at the same time its pretty interesting if you just ignore the improbability if it. It had a bit of bebop feel to it at times(maybe thats just me though)

The art is good when its good but read more
Apr 8, 2018
futsuu03 (All reviews)
Please watch if you like Durarara!!

Story 9-10/10 (I really love this kind of story)
Not that complicated (Drrr is far more confusing than this), will give you many surprised and voila! Usually I'm pretty good at guessing where the story will bring me but I failed several time from this series. Please watch if you like to be deceived (w).

Art 7-8/10
The design is pretty good. Everyone has their own characteristic. The animation is so-so though. Several fighting scenes are good but some are not. The animation seems unstable. My eyes can tolerate it though. Not mentioning the story, enjoyment, and curiousity fill the lack of read more
Apr 3, 2018
LeviAckermanChan (All reviews)
Best anime of the season hands down!

Plus more importantly best ending of the season!

Story is uniquely interesting and well paced, although you probably need a matured mindset to wrap the entire concept around your head... cos it may be seen as a little controversial, which of course is one of the reasons why i love it. I give this a 10.

Art & background is top-notch, no complaints there. Infact I wish i could visit Hakata with the vibrant way it was depicted here. I also give this a 10.

Sounds, also a 10. I personally love the opening & ending songs...it fits so well with the read more
Mar 30, 2018
momo9 (All reviews)
When I think of this anime, the words that come to my mind include: killers, mentaiko, Hakata, hacking, crime, baseball, black market, justice, corrupt, etc. Killers are basically killing each other, and there's a hitman killing other hitmen.

Set in Fukuoka, where 3% if the population are killers, this show is quite thrilling with a lot of action, but it's definitely not for someone under 18. It focuses on a corrupt society with murder, human trafficking, revenge, etc. Some places might look nice on the outside, but inside is way darker than expected. Unfortunately stuff like this actually happens in the real world. There are hitman read more
Mar 30, 2018
DainBramaged (All reviews)
This show isn't a mature, dark, or edgy look at the criminal underworld like some of the people who praise it would have you think. Nor is it a stupid premise that went nowhere, like the haters would say. It's just fun. It's also a breath of fresh air from the usual high school setting and moe girls.

I'll have a lot of negatives to say about the show in this review, but don't get me wrong. I enjoyed it a lot, and I recommend that you try it.

A city where 3% of the people are assassins? Absurd. All the people relevant to the plot happen read more
Nov 18, 2019
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Hakata Tonkatsu Ramens follows in the same vain as titles like Black Lagoon and Jormungand in that it offers a gritty look into the world of crime, with a solid mix of black comedy and dark drama exploring characters with morally questionable professions. The series focuses on a crossdressing assassin named Lin Xianming who partners up with a detective named Zenji Banba to dispatch rival assassins and crime syndicates within the city of Hakata.

Before I dabble into this anime's more serious material, I should bring up the fun comical timing this series offers up. The title of the series in question is actually the name read more
Apr 7, 2018
wjs066 (All reviews)
Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens, an anime about assassins in a city, dealing with other assassins and corrupt groups / organizations, came out of nowhere during the Winter 2018 season and surprised me. I would even go as far as to say this was the dark horse anime of the season and possibly year. I did not expect much from this show but was pleasantly surprised with what I got. Basically, the show is comprised of arcs each comprising 2 to 3 episodes. The arcs focus on a particular characters problems with other characters of the protagonist's group involved.

[Story]
This element was the biggest surprise for me. read more
Mar 30, 2018
s1mthi (All reviews)
(Sorry ahead of time for my terribly awful organization of this review) Writing this after finishing the very last episode, and boy will I say, what a roller coaster. It started off very intriguing, yet confusing. But a few episodes in I was able to understand everything. They kept everything fast-paced, yet always slowly inching toward a massive, unexpected ending. There were multiple flashbacks for the main characters, and each and every one was VERY likable, diverse, unique, entertaining, funny, etc. I thought this was a solid show until up to the last few episodes, where I thought it was an AMAZING show, the last read more
Feb 1, 2019
CandyPool (All reviews)
It's been a long time since I enjoy an anime this much. It's about hitmen, they just do the job, not trying to do something for justice like one of the popular review said, the target just happen to be a bad person, nothing heroic here. (In the Light Novel they mentioned that the hitmen does take requests from police, to 'dispose' criminals they can't arrest by law.)

The characters' stories are interesting, art and sound are good and fit very well with the theme. They didn't make the best decision in some cases imo, but I enjoy watching this anime so much. My only complaint read more