Sayonara no Asa ni Yakusoku no Hana wo Kazarou


Maquia: When the Promised Flower Blooms

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Let's Decorate the Promised Flowers in the Morning of Farewells, SayoAsa
Japanese: さよならの朝に約束の花をかざろう
English: Maquia: When the Promised Flower Blooms
German: Maquia: Eine Unsterbliche Liebesgeschichte
Spanish: Maquia: Una Historia de Amor Inmortal
French: Maquia: When the Promised Flower Blooms
More titles

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 24, 2018
Licensors: Eleven Arts
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Genres: DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 55 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.431 (scored by 137929137,929 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #534
Members: 322,852
Favorites: 5,580

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 8, 2018
lunark (All reviews)
Let's start with the obvious: Yes I did give this movie a bold 10/10.

I wasn't sure how to feel about it so I watched it twice in cinemas in Japan with a one week cool-off period in between both viewing.

Honestly, the first time it simply blew me away and stayed in my head non stop for like 3-4 days. This is a heavy statement but it is indeed one of the best animated movies I've ever watched. The second watching was in order to try to find flaws and to focus a bit more on small details of the plot and the music.

Let's structure read more
Aug 1, 2018
Sistine-Fibel (All reviews)
Seeing many of these 10/10 reviews and people saying they cried shocked me. I wondered if we had even seen the same movie. I, and seemly many who left the theatre did not leave angry; but we certainly were not raving about it being a masterpiece either. And in the whole theatre, only a single person cried. I overheard many conversations after the movie of it being "okay" and "a lot of stuff didn't make sense" and a few more criticisms. And I agree with them, this movie is no masterpiece. However, it is not bad either. So, here is my review

Story:5/10
Firstly, I find the read more
Nov 4, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
I saw this movie already few weeks ago, but I am posting my review for it delayed because for the first time in several years, I was lost in what to say.

*might contain light spoilers*

Let me start by giving some backstory information: I am huge fan of drama series, but unlike most people who consider themselves a fan of drama: I hate almost every drama that is being made today. No matter how highly praised the series and movies I watch are, they always end up disappointing me. Shallow teenagers cry in them for no reason whatsoever. Emotional depth is at near 0% if read more
Mar 5, 2018
kitbikyuu (All reviews)
To start, I watched this in theaters in Japan.

The art for this series is fantastic. Backgrounds, buildings, and landscapes are all works of art. The characters, on the other hand, are not so great. I hope they improve them for the Blu-ray release.

The voice acting was pretty good, but there were a couple places that had me wondering how it passed pre-screening.

The story starts out kinda slow, kinda jumps to a bit of action, then slows again. There is a lot of character growth, and you do get attached to them.

Finally, this movie is an emotional rollercoaster. I usually don’t cry in movies, but this read more
Sep 13, 2020
GauravPandey919 (All reviews)
This movie made me feel ashamed of the things humans do to others out of greed and lust and justify it with thinly veiled excuses. maquia and leila suffered because this greed. their suffering ultimately brought them to the same lesson. they loved their children therefore could not stay with them and cause them endless suffering (try explaining to the children why their grandma is a loli) people would have just kept pursuing them for the desire for immortality!
I am not sure what happened after maquia got kidnapped but somehow I suspect krim just went crazy after failing the rescue mission and decided to do read more
Nov 2, 2018
The-Observer95 (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

So far I have only seen positive reviews about this movie and everyone is liking it, but it seems everyone have overlooked its bad character writing and not so good character development and character interaction. The only good thing about this movie is that P.A works has done a fantastic job on the animation but unfortunately there is not much good in this movie beside that animation. One would expect a story to develop its characters in a way that it makes sense and feel like real people would behave in story like this one but our two main characters here are not given read more
Dec 14, 2018
Sabaisms (All reviews)
I haven’t watched anime in over a year and I wanted to revisit its form through a good entry point. There was a lot of social media buzz surrounding this movie. People on this site were giving it 9’s and 10’s and even one of my favorite musicians, Porter Robinson, tweeted about this movie and how good it was. And so, I selected this movie on a cozy Friday night with a bowl of soup and high expectations.

Wow. It is disappointing in countless aspects over the course of its two hour runtime. I am writing this review so that you can save yourself the read more
Jan 6, 2019
Kamikarina (All reviews)
This is the single-handed, worst anime movie I've ever watched. It would've done a whole lot better as a 12 episode anime vs. a 2 hour movie. 3? 4? Time skips? In two hours? I don't even think One Piece has had that many time skips and it's at 900+ episodes.

There's like 900 plot holes. So many unanswered questions. So many things happening at once with no explanation. It was visually stunning, the music was amazing, the Iorphians were an interesting concept, but so many things went unanswered. What is Hibiol? What makes Hibiol so special and valuable? Why are Iorphians able to turn it read more
Jun 23, 2019
Pelsfaknfe (All reviews)
This will be a very in-depth review.

This is the greatest movie that I've ever watched. More objectively speaking, based purely on critical reasoning, there is much to discuss, but the beauty of this movie trumped all of that. I will begin a more critical review of all of its strengths and flaws, but first, let me give my experience.

I watched this movie alone, without anyone around me, without a worry for the time. Without this, I imagine my experience could have been different, as it's difficult for me and many to make themselves vulnerable outside of the safety and comfort of privacy. I cried. I, read more
Apr 29, 2018
Renko_Mladich (All reviews)
Maybe I wrote for you obviously thing - but crisis of ideas was come.
In our time, when existing pop-culture become part of our life, and where all 36 dramatic situations were used more than once, where have already used all possible settings. Create something new, unrepeatable, something that never made before very difficult, more of then - impossible. But all time possible to show one or another story to another angle, bring something individual, and eventually good play to story.
But it were only some solid facts, lets for review about movie.

"When the Promised Flower read more
Nov 22, 2018
SMGJohn (All reviews)
Review 22.11.2018: Sayonara no Asa ni Yakusoku no Hana wo Kazarou
Written by SMGJohn
"Every review is subjective, art is subjective your opinion may differ, never trust reviews to make the opinion for you, use them as a guide and make your own journey."

Maquia was one of the movies I wanted to watch after it was announced in 2017 because from the few PV’s and promotional videos we got it looked promising being an original work of P.A Works that have done many great works in the past.
However P.A Works are very often hit and miss, they either make something brilliant, or something very mediocre and read more
May 7, 2019
Love_Story (All reviews)
[Warming Spoilers]

I went into this movie with high expectations, after all, it has incredibly high reviews and as of this review is the 21st highest ranked movie on MAL. While others seem to think this movie was incredible I for one was unable to be moved. I want to focus this review on the three main parts of the movie I found to be its downfall; characters, story, and pacing.

Characters:
This movie is at its heart a character drama dealing with the feelings of love and loss. Because of this it is incredibly important to write your characters in a way that makes them worthy of read more
Jun 15, 2019
Sainel (All reviews)
I'll keep this short -- this movie was a huge let-down. The first quarter/half or so was at least fairly interesting and quickly took a downturn in the second act. If you want, you can stop reading here.

The characters pretty much all sucked, with motivations/thought processes that remained as uncompelling as they were transient -- meaning that not only did they not make sense, but they weren't consistent either.

The only truly interesting character was Krim, a side character who functions only as a punching bag for the story to push it's weird theme. Which is namely that...

The story seems to have no other theme read more
Jul 23, 2018
camacusjamacus (All reviews)
It's world building is done very well and very naturally and feels so legit and lived in. It's done in a way that's very show and don't tell which makes it so easy to fall into. It's a light fantasy setting, which is neat since you don't see that in anime very often. The CG is sparse but does kind of stand out, but still isn't the worst I've seen. There's some very nice animation on display here at times. The premise and some of the ideas I think that hey were going for are interesting, but the way it's presented is disjointed and some read more
Jan 29, 2019
thejonion (All reviews)
(Full disclosure: I did watch Maquia on an in-flight entertainment system. I strongly believe it had no impact on my overall impression of the movie, but who knows, maybe if I had gotten to see it in theaters I would feel differently about it than I do.)

Maquia is a disappointment. If you enjoyed the movie, by all means go ahead and enjoy it - but to me it lacks the space to really drive its narrative and themes home, and as a result characters who should be interesting and compelling come off one dimensional and occasionally annoying as the thematic resolution falls flat. First things read more
Nov 5, 2018
Barasmin (All reviews)
Back when the first trailers dropped, I was pumped to watch this movie. The artwork looked so stunning, the premise felt original and full of potential. After waiting for half a year until it finally became available to watch, I have to say it didn’t live up to my hopes.
This review will contain marked sections with minor spoilers, mainly to illustrate certain points that contributed to the overall stale taste that the movie left in my mouth.

The story itself is pretty interesting. A clan of near immortal beings, weaving history into pieces of cloth. A neighboring empire that, when their power fades, tries to obtain read more
Nov 12, 2020
Lixy (All reviews)
So let's get the obvious things out of the way. Yoshida's art was as gorgeous as ever, so was Kazuhiro's music direction. These two could turn even the worst story into a marvel to behold.

However, when you get used to the great animation, you start noticing the problems with this movie.

It started off decently, the setting was interesting, I was excited to learn more about the world. The coming-of-age and motherhood aspect of it all was compelling and well written. But at about midway through the movie, the actions of the characters stop making any sense and are basically written/taken to get the story going read more
Jul 22, 2018
Ranigad (All reviews)
Too often are we limited in our perspective to our current circumstances. It's truly a challenge to be able to step out of our shoes and view the world from a different perspective because, quite frankly, our perspective is the one we are most familiar with and the one we own. Our relationship with others are oftentimes influenced by this limited perspective as well. As a child, oftentimes you may be blind to the world at large, to the troubles and responsibilities of adulthood. Growing up, you may be blinded by your personal problems and challenges to see the efforts of and problems faced by read more
Oct 30, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Mari Okada is back and back with one of her best works she has ever done.

Sayonara no Asa ni Yakusoku no Hana wo Kazarou or Maquia: When the Promised Flower Blooms is a tapestry of the titular character Maquia voiced by Manaka Iwami, being a Iorph, a secret race of humans able to have longer lives than regular humans, when her village is found out by the forces of Mezarte and she flees, she encounters a baby and promises to protect the baby now named Ariel voiced by Miyu Irino. It's a tale of motherhood in all shapes and situations, a tale of what "immortality" read more
Nov 10, 2018
nanatshi (All reviews)
this story is about the real meaning of the "hebeol" its the connector between the humans and its more than love it self if i see amazing thing in this movie its how he show the feelings between humans , in every death we know how they feel and after watching this movie it's feel like being reborn in another life with clear soul and lets start :)

story :- 10 /10

this story is amazing i have never seen something like it before it's between the slice of life and the fantasy and when you see how its so balanced between read more