FLCL Alternative

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: FLCL Alternative
Synonyms: FLCL 3, Fooly Cooly Alternative, Furi Kuri Alternative
Japanese: フリクリ オルタナ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 7, 2018
Licensors: NYAV Post
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, DementiaDementia, MechaMecha, ParodyParody, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 2 hr. 15 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.571 (scored by 1826918,269 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #55492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1804
Members: 74,877
Favorites: 107
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 14, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
FLCL Alternative is an interesting show. Accidentally brought early for April Fool’s day, FLCL’s lax cousin was forced to bear the burden Progressive was supposed to have, that being the weight of being the sequel to a legendary piece of animated passion. It was stuck with that again after Progressive turned out the way it did and paid the piper for it in terms of reception. For bearing such a Herculean task, this show was oddly calm, even nostalgic in some ways. It’s a miracle it worked at all given its approach.

One obvious point in this show’s favor is that it actually tries to tackle read more
Oct 17, 2018
Shrabster (All reviews)
*Potential Spoilers

You know the one thing I wanted in an FLCL sequel? A Kardashian reference because that will surely age well.

FLCL Progressive and Alternative tell the familiar story of being a teen and the all the troubles that come along with it… except without any of the subtly or charm of the original.

Sequels are usually a bad idea to begin with, but sometimes they are tragedies with both Progressive and Alternative unsurprisingly falling head first into the latter. It is not so much because they are outright terrible, but how heartless they and mediocre they are as they go through the motions. I know it read more
Oct 14, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
"One of the hardest things in life is to be average."
- The MC who blushes a lot

Conveniently - or was it ironically - the easiest thing in the anime industry is to be average, but that is not what FLCL Alternative is. After the disaster that Progressive was, no one could have expected this, but Alternative manages to leave the common mediocrity level and surprise with its quality positively. As an FLCL sequel, this series is still a shameful and embarrassing piece, but when viewed as a franchise reboot / spinoff starred by Haruhara Haruko's downgraded clone, we can't complain too much. In fact, we read more
Oct 14, 2018
hiltonhead (All reviews)
This latest incarnation in the FLCL franchise is a significant improvement over its immediate predecessor, Progressive, in virtually all aspects, with vastly superior writing, art, animation, editing and even sound mixing. It also manages to deliver on its "Alternative" namesake, taking a significant departure from the stylistic choices hitherto established by the franchise. Make no mistake, this is not "Furi Kuri", and fans expecting to see more of the wildly experimental animation and frenetic pacing of the legendary Gainax OVA are bound to be disappointed. Instead, Uemura Yutaka and his team at Production IG have created a solid, slow-burn, slice-of-life melodrama featuring read more
Sep 20, 2018
Ivan_42 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Two out of six episodes are aired on Adult Swim, I'm going to review mostly my feeling on Alternative compared to Original and Progressive

Unlike Original, Alternative drives the story with four teenage girls. Even if Naota supposed to be easier to associate with, I have no problem with following girls' story. I think, mostly because show catches teenage life aspects very well. Girls aren't trying to avoid adults' life, they try to fit in and live a happy life. Unlike FLCL (2000), Alternative isn't about making sense of the world for an individual person, it brings you the image of how you can enjoy your read more
Dec 2, 2018
jknightkt22 (All reviews)
God damn this season was so fucking generic. It decided to take the unexpectable factor about the original show and just get rid of it. It was nothing like the other two seasons at all. The characters were generic, the plot was generic, the season had shit emotion, the art style was generic, and It was cringey as hell. The only good part is that they stuck with music that was very similar to the original. FLCL has been butchered. Btw I watched the adult swim version that aired in the US, and yes I did see all the episodes.
Oct 16, 2018
GodOfWolves (All reviews)
I'll review briefly starting rant, and then move into the story, art, sound, character and overall enjoyment in brief but worthy paragraphs. I reference the ending but don't go into detail, so nothing I say about the ending should worry you, at most it should prepare you, to not be as disappointed.

OPENING RANT; I'll keep it short & Sweet...
Both were dog shit honestly.
Alternative had better characters and the first 5 episodes were pretty good. - But progressive had a better ending. And a somewhat better story. Defiantly better action.
Both main characters were lame and progressive she was emotionless, in this one kana is an very read more
Aug 7, 2019
bymiddlechild (All reviews)
Turning fooly cooly into a slice of life disney channel movie is baffling to me. This one missed every mark of flcl more than progressive did. everything inventive or creative about the original was lost on the people working on this. And the themes in this movie, they are the most dumbed down, milk toast, spoonfed morals ive ever been subjected to.

the story is basically non existent when its not ripping off the original. it basically takes all of the major plot points from flcl but forgets all of the good character writing and development of the original, even thinking about this movie is aggravating read more
Oct 13, 2018
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Being the third installment of FLCL, FLCL Alternative attempts to bring its coming-of-age comedy elements in exploring high schoolers with its focus on Kana and her group of friends being entangled in Haruko's conflict with Medical Mechanica. As the first two titles worked well enough in exploring growing up from different points of adolescence with Naota and Hidomi's characters, Alternative could have worked just as well with exploring a teen approaching adulthood given the proper execution. But compared to its earlier entries, Alternative carries some rather major issues.

The first major issue is the means in which FLCL Alternative chooses to explore its characters. Alternative devotes read more
May 1, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
*This is a joint review for FLCL Alternative and Progressive. No spoilers for either.*

The idea of making a sequel for FLCL is something that strikes me as a risky proposition right off the bat. Don’t get me wrong, FLCL was a damn great little show that’s earned its long and enduring legacy, but the way in which it operated made the idea of successfully telling another story in the same world seem, it not outright impossible, at least dangerous and uncertain. It was a show that operated on a thematic and emotional level, a chaotic whirlwind of unchained animation, batshit symbolism, and raw emotional sexuality read more
May 27, 2019
Sasori_Nagashi (All reviews)
When FLCL Alternative and FLCL Progressive were announced a few thoughts ran through my head, first of all I was determined to watch it with the Japanese voice over, as my initial experience with FLCL was in Japanese and I felt attached to the voices I was more used to.

Secondly, I felt concern. FLCL was an extremely unique series with a certain... Magic to it. It also was made a number of years ago. Top it all off with Adult Swim's involvement and I was very concerned FLCL Alternative and FLCL Progressive would be, at best, lacklustre and lacking in the same magic or, read more
Nov 4, 2018
Eoussama (All reviews)
What made the original FLCL so good, that is the question. It's been 17 years since that one series impacted its fans, and after what looked like an eternity, out of nowhere struck the news of getting two new adaptations. The first episode of FLCL Alternative was aired on April the 1st making a pleasant intro to remember. However, all the hype started dying after the disappointment FLCL Progressive was badly received by the fans of the original, and thus making the next upcoming entry (FLCL Alternative) in the same expectancy as well. Surprise surprise, it did better, no, I did amazingly better that I read more
Apr 11, 2020
Blazeisachicken (All reviews)
I like all the FLCL shows. Personally, Alternate is my least favorite. Still very good, but my least favorite. It's very tame While the first two grow stuff at you to no end, Alternate is slower. It's allows it's story to be clearer. It seems to have a similar story and message to the first one, but I prefer the crazy stuff. I still like Alternate. The characters are fun and the story is still good. It's just not my favorite. I would think that FLCL fans would like it, but they just don't for some reason. It was good enough for me to watch read more
Mar 28, 2020
WhiteWolfKiba (All reviews)
I should've said this in my Progressive review, but FLCL fans, if you want a TRUE FLCL follow-up, please check out an anime called Gunbuster 2/Diebuster! It's by the same director as FLCL and has very similar character designs and visual style. You will love it! Sadly, what I'm here to talk about is the *actual* sequel we got, the third season known as FLCL Alternative. I didn't like it very much. It's funny, on MAL I see people calling Progressive a travesty but saying Alternative was "good for what it was," when I feel the exact opposite. Progressive wasn't very original, sure, but I read more
Oct 28, 2018
MyLifeWthLucario (All reviews)
I still really love Production IG’s attempt at the Trigger esque sakuga scenes of Gainax’s original, but I think what Progressive and Alternative truly lacked was depth and heart. FLCL original felt like it started off as an incredibly well animated joke for a bunch of talented voice actors and artists to relax on, but quickly proved all of us wrong with amazing depth and characters that are memorable FOREVER. Nothing captures this better than the Pillows music, which captures the show’s tone perfectly.
Meanwhile these new seasons mostly reuse music from the old show (no matter how great the new stuff is) just like the read more