Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Miira no Kaikata


Alternative Titles

English: How to Keep a Mummy
Synonyms: How to keep a mummy
Japanese: ミイラの飼い方

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2018 to Mar 30, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:58 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: 8bit
Source: Web manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.521 (scored by 20,074 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1654
Members: 56,154
Favorites: 250

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 29, 2018
Fircoal (All reviews)
A mummy, an oni, a dragon, and a baku. Sounds like a recipe for a mess doesn't it? But rather it's the opposite. Despite the supernatural beasts that make up the main creatures of the show, the center of the show is down to earth, a love story between pet and owner.

Each of the pet and owner pairs are helped by coming together and being with each other. In many cases the humans are able to grow by being with the pets and caring for them, and the same can be said about the animals. Whether they need someone to care for them or someone read more
Mar 29, 2018
momo9 (All reviews)
Super adorable anime!!!!! I'm so glad there is finally an anime adaption after waiting for two years since I started reading the manga on comico. All of the little creatures are so cute and it makes your heart melt, espeically Mii-kun and Isao. This anime is basically mini adventures of Sora and his friends. The plot is simple and starts with main character Sora receiving a package from his father. Inside is Mii-Kun!!! From there more characters are introduced with their partner creatures. The bonds between creature and their human companion is illustrated in this anime. We do get to see other unique creatures who read more
Mar 29, 2018
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
The season passed and this anime sadly got no hype whatsoever at any point, but damn I would be lying if I said I didn't love it! The easiest way to describe Miira no Kaikata is “diabetes bomb” and it's definitely one of the shows that made me smile the most of just how freaking adorable it can get.

This anime starts with Sora, a boy who already got used to get dangerous things from his adventurer dad, and the shock that his next surprise is not a mortal monster that should have been kept sealed instead of sent as a present to his read more
Mar 29, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
SoL-genre themed anime are the hottest trend in Winter 2018, and Miira no Kaikata is no exception: a sight of humans with critters as their individual and respective companions that fit well with them.

What happens when your parents send you something from overseas that's an oddity? Well, prepare your hearts for Mii-kun the mummy that's cute and adorable as well as the other critters!

The show does what is done best: cuteness overload bearing to the point that it's nice and smiles around to see the critters (Conny, Isao, Mukumuku) relating to Mii-kun, and not forgetting their owners too.

It begins with Sora Kashiwagi, with his "adventurer" read more
Mar 19, 2018
Tirta_Firdaus (All reviews)
Preliminary
In short, this anime is very thin even for a SoL anime. That thin characteristic can be felt almost in all aspects, but for the story and characterization aspects will get better in the latter part of this anime. This anime, for sure, has its own strong point to please the viewers : pets that are cute. This is the breakdown for the review :

Story 3/10

The story part is very simplistic. As SoL anime, usually simplistic story gives relaxing feels to the viewer. But at the earlier part, this anime’s story is overly simplistic and can be said as “narrow” and “shallow”. And those read more
Aug 10, 2018
LeaOotori (All reviews)
There's honestly nothing extremely remarkable about this, yet it's pretty good. If you're here after watching Gakuen Babysitters (believe me, I was in the same boat) then stick around for this.

To begin with, the story is nothing special. It's about a boy in a world with magical creatures and him and his friends have them as pets. That's literally it. There's tons of plot holes and unexplained phenomena and strange shit going on, but I tried by best to ignore all of that because of the sole reason that it's cute enough at times for me to enjoy that instead of complain. But sadly, read more
Mar 29, 2018
Sweetsinger9 (All reviews)
Story: 7/10
The main protagonist, Sora, always receives dangerous things from his father in Egypt, but this time, it's the opposite? I might be biased, because this anime is so adorable, so you might wanna keep the ambulance on dial. It's a new concept and I don't think I've heard of any anime like this.

Art: 7/10
I guess everything is adorable, even the things you should find scary is suddenly cute.

Character: 8/10
Unique and adorable characters. But of course, the main character is always that person who is so selfless and does everything by himself. Sora is adorable and so kind but it annoys me.

Enjoyment/Overall: 8/10
How read more
Apr 14, 2019
holmeskudo (All reviews)
It's about a little mummy that is super cute and his adventures. The story is relaxing and constantly brings a smile to your face or a laugh at certain moments. It's kinda slow but is just barely enough to keep up your interest in it.

In each of the episodes the protagonist makes new friends and their guardians discover new things. Fantasy creatures are abound which makes for a good watch specially for kids. There is an underlying threat that is constantly looming above them which is revealed towards the last few episodes. Other hidden themes are of losing someone, understanding relationships and the cruelty of read more
Apr 8, 2018
Prof_Telperion (All reviews)
To begin this review I want to point out that this show show be watched purely for the sake of enjoyment. No real over-analyzing or absurd theories, just watch it and enjoy.

Story - 8: I wanted to give the story a 10 because of how much I thoroughly enjoyed the show, but here's the thing, this show has no real story in terms of beginning, middle, end, so I gave it an 8. The story is that Sora was sent a living mummy child (Mii) by his father who is a self-proclaimed adventurer and the series follows around their life together as Sora raises Mii read more
Mar 30, 2018
SoraSenpai (All reviews)
The story seemed very simple in the beginning. A young boy receives a Mummy from his traveling father and he tried to understand him. However the more we progress through the series the more knowledge we gain about what kind of world they live in. Where some people are aware of the existence of super natural beings (Mummy's, Oni's, Dragons, Gods, etc) and some people are not aware. Add in the relationship building between these creatures and their human partners we learn about each characters backstory, both the good and the bad
finally there are some ominous moments throughout this anime which made me question read more
Apr 9, 2018
Mattios (All reviews)
I'll start saying that Miira no Kaikata (translated to "How to Keep a Mummy") was easily the biggest surprise of the winter season.

It follows Sora, a high school student who is always gifted with weird supernatural stuff (that usually hurts or curses him) from his father. Nonetheless, one day, he is sent a tiny mummy, whom he starts raising both as a pet and a son.

This mummy is the main reason I absolutely loved this anime. It doesn't talk, it thinks like a 4-year old... But it's one of the most cute and funny creatures that had appeared in an anime. It's hard not read more
Apr 8, 2018
savsparkle (All reviews)
I started watching this anime for how cute and sweet it looked and I wasn't disappointed but I certainly stayed for the characters and story especially towards the end. The first few episodes are definitely what I expected going into it. They were simple, one-off style episodes that makes the anime feel like you could stop and pick it back up at any time but by episode 6 I found myself more invested in the characters and their stories. Each of the pets have a certain personality and relationship with their owners. Tazuki and Sora have a backstory that keeps you interested and the hints read more
Apr 6, 2018
ShySorcerer (All reviews)
Hey folks, this will be a review for Miira no Kaikata. Have you ever heard someone say something was so sweet that it gave them diabetes? Well this show might actually be sweet enough to do that.

The story revolves around a group of kids from high school who have this ability to see special creatures. Each character has their own creature that they take care of and they spend their days living their lives with them.

The art was fitting and the soundtrack and VA was great.

The characters are a great part of the show. Each one has their own personality but they have a read more
Apr 6, 2018
Netbug (All reviews)
How to Keep a Mummy is a hard anime to rate because, when you think hard enough about the show, not much happens during its 12 episode run. The show's main pull is just how adorable Mii-kun and the rest of the fantasy creatures that appear in the series are doing totally mundane things. The only plot the show has is a handful of mystery-themed episodes where the main cast stumbles upon some element of Japanese mythology with its cuteness factor dialed up to 11.

That said, while you could argue that the story doesn't have much going for it, the show is a constant onslaught read more
Apr 5, 2018
xisue (All reviews)
How to Keep a Mummy is a pleasant surprise that captures your heart with adorableness as a mostly slice of life meets supernatural pets.

Overall I find the story pleasant because of the genre, so each episode is kind of a day to day life scenario. There are some moments that end up a little wacky and sudden because there are some serious moments that show up and near the end characters suddenly receive a bunch of quirky traits to progress the plot. And you can definitely feel emotional from them because you grow quite attached to everyone. But I can kind of roll with read more
Mar 30, 2018
DomDomDraka (All reviews)
SO
This anime was probably one of those that had less hype going on, which is kinda sad to be honest..... It was definitely in my Top 3 this season and i loved it! I've seen a lot of people saying that it was adorable and stuff, but for me it had a rather heart-warming effect. It brought a warmth to my heart every damn episode, which i loved too.

Story: 9
Filled with adorable creatures, that aren't really noticed by people in the modern world/society, with most based off Japanese culture; gods, yokai, kemono etc. (i dont really know how many are there) + those like the read more
Mar 30, 2018
Mike-Wrecked (All reviews)
Yes, this anime is cute, but it’s more than that. I know being cute is enough to pull people in by itself, but I’ll try to convey how pleasantly surprised I was when I started watching this small show that almost nobody is talking about.


Story:
Miira no Kaikata is best described as a Slice-of-Life, although the circumstances aren’t very close to normal life, at least at first. Kashiwagi Sora, our protagonist, gets sent a miniature mummy in the mail by his father, and after some thought, decides to care for it. And the anime is just this concept, although expanding by adding more characters, both human read more
Apr 3, 2018
DarkRavie (All reviews)
High school student Sora Kashiwagi is apprehensive due to previous bad experiences with his father's "gifts" when he receives a mysterious oversized package by his self-proclaimed "adventurer" father. With his imagination going wild, the last thing Sora expects is for it to be opened from the inside... by a little mummy so small it can fit in the palm of his hand!

My Thoughts:
Also called How To Keep a Mummy, this anime is funny, lighthearted and endearing. Mii-kun is such a lovable little mummy. I love the way the 'oni" can communicate without having to actually speak with words. Gestures and sound like read more