Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shokugeki no Souma: San no Sara


Alternative Titles

English: Food Wars! The Third Plate
Synonyms: Shokugeki no Soma 3rd Season, Shokugeki no Soma 3
Japanese: 食戟のソーマ 餐ノ皿

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2017 to Dec 20, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: Ecchi, School, Shounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.461 (scored by 164,744 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #241
Members: 300,546
Favorites: 1,984

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2017
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Foodgasmic Review*
If you did not watch S1 or S2 then go watch them ASAP before reading this!
TL;DR: This show has hype, humour, fan service, stakes getting crazy high and unexpected twists and turns all in 20 minutes. What more do you want? Oagariyo!
[Story: 5/10 , Characters: 7/10, Art: 3/10, Sound: 6/10, Enjoyment: 8/10]

"I mean a new wave is coming, you know? Riding it is way more exciting" - Rindo Kobayashi

If there is one genre that can always hype people up time after time, it's the classic shounen genre in anime. It's like scrambled eggs. The recipe is very simple yet the execution read more
Dec 19, 2017
Tiemuuu (All reviews)
The 3rd season of Shokugeki leaves something to be desired in every way.

J.C.Staff's adaption of this manga series has never been masterful. For the most part it has been just phoned in. The spottiness of the animation, ugly CGI and off-model characters have always been somewhat present in this series, but the 3rd season marks a turn for the worse even when compared to the previous 2nd season.

Using manga panels directly as a storyboard and making sure the female characters' boobs look like they are about to burst from their uniforms worked fine for the first season, because that's when the writing and the read more
Dec 19, 2017
Wurzelsepp (All reviews)
I just finished the series and i was amazed. In my opinion this is the best season so far and i think that it is my favourite show now. The story in this season was pretty unpredictable yet i would call it amazing. The Shokugekis were extremely intense and i was always excited how it turns out because as i mentioned before it is pretty unpredictable although the outcome is guessable. I love that the elite ten were intrduced and even a bit of their characters has been mentioned. I dont want to spoiler anything so i wont tell much but the ending where erina read more
Feb 22, 2018
Shiraishiku (All reviews)
So what's the big premise of this show? ... to just watch the same happen over and over again? Souma has been winning so many matches lately, and yet it's almost like nothing happens. 3 seasons in, and yet they keep introducing all kinds of
tournaments, where the winner, gets nothing in exchange. The fanservice keeps being the same, every reaction keeps being the same. To be honest, the food gets more development than the actual characters, it's strange. As far as this goes, this one cour has the be the worst of them all, with no progress in the story, and rather, it's filled read more
Oct 30, 2017
joschmo11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shokugeki is... A cooking battle shonen. For me some shows will always be defined by their premise, and this is certainly one of them. Gintama is historical science fiction comedy. Mushishi is supernatural hiking. And this is Chopped ramped alllll the way up to 11. The best part about this, is that the show knows it is, and consequently pours its all into being exactly what it is: a carousel of mouth watering food, excessive dinner-induced fanservice, and quirky, plucky characters.

To be honest there's not much more to say about this next installment in the series. The plot is advancing closer to the point we've read more
Nov 25, 2017
Mythicism (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story wise, there is one main story, subdivided into arcs (seasons), subdivided into events. Events can be 1 episode or a couple.
With some anime you feel like wanting to skip to the end of the story just to know how it finishes, however, Shokugeki no Souma keeps me fixated to the screen the entire time. When the episode is finished, I am thinking 'already finished?' that was like 5 minutes max'. It just sucks you in.

I personally like cooking, but this anime is so much more than that. It is like Hyaku (I expect) or Diamond no Ace. The story is about a subject, read more
Dec 4, 2017
rdeyoung8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The problem with shows like this one is they inspire such blind devotion that people overlook its glaring flaws. I'll admit right now that I love this show, and although I'm enjoying this season, there are quite a few things that bother me.

The plot this season is definitely uping the stakes compared to previous seasons. It is quite enthralling but is also frustratingly flawed. There are of course all of the instances of the main character being unnaturally successful at everything he does, but like whatever. What bothers me is all the moments where I'm just awestruck as things that shouldn't and can't happen in read more
Nov 29, 2017
Panda_Bates (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review will be short and simple.

Story: 10/10
Art: 10/10
Sound: 8/10
Character: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10

I love nearly everything about this anime, the character development, the humor, art-style and plot.
The anime overall is just simply amazing, it has everything you need in an anime.

In season one there was a problem with character development and that there basically wasn't any but since then the stories are interesting from every character and how they intertwine on how they met or how they came to be where they are now.

My one problem with the anime is the music and sound, I'm not a fan of it.
I didn't notice at first but after read more
Dec 21, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Another Shokugeki no Souma season has ended, so my review with no more adieu:


Mediocre 5, Story:

So far nothing has change from its plot it's same old same old master chef or a Hell's Kitchen kind of thing regardless as to whom the protagonist faces, so let's be honest here, this ain't about them Tostsuki competitors, this just all about food porn with lots of exaggerated pizzazz's and nothing else. I'll have a spicy steam bun pls......

Art 7, Good:

Ok so there were some changes in the art, but then again, it's good cu'z there some good fanservices that has just been added in this 3rd sequel, read more
Dec 20, 2017
ChaosMeat (All reviews)
"Shokugeki no Souma looks stupid, it's just a story about a guy that likes to cook food"

Good god, this anime series....
The anime that made me start cooking good food other than eggs and burgers.
Shokugeki no Souma San no Sara showed me so much about what it takes and what is like to cook.
It's unbelievable the way they can put out such an intresting and joyful story, and combine it with the so well done music and sounds.
The time that we have waited for this season was not too long, but it was kind of painful, at least for me, in a way that I wanted read more
Dec 19, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
For those who are familliar with the manga this 3 season of Shokugeki no Souma wasn't disappointing at all and Jc Staff did a great job at adapting the source material. The main focus in this season is presenting The Elite Ten members to its audience and how their power and status influence the lives of students and hierarchy of Totsuki Academy. You will see the real meaning behind the "Food Wars" title in this season, a clash of ambitions, ideals and cooking styles between Totsuki and the Elite Ten members.

This season starts off great with our usual fearless Souma who takes anyone's cooking read more
Jan 12, 2018
OVERPOWERED99 (All reviews)
STORY - 9
ART - 9
SOUND - 9
CHARACTER - 10
ENJOYMENT - 10

Take the lid off the pot and a steam of emanating enjoyment comes out yet again in the third season of Shokugeki no Souma. The Third Plate is a cooking anime of high-stakes that delivered the same qualities that its predecessors had already achieved, bringing in more entertainment to the plates.

What was the key difference compared to the previous seasons that this season cooked for us? It was the heavy hitters of the prodigious culinary school. The very best of the best. The biggest players. After all, the majority of the story had only focused read more
Dec 28, 2017
Luca_Graziani (All reviews)
First of all i would like to say that i´m not a native english speaker o i might have some mistekes.

Story: Food wars didn´t really had a plot in the last tw seasons, it was just the clasic shonen formula of becoming the strongest in something, in this case the best cheff. It was not a problem for the show, it could with it´s great art and animation, the epic soundtrack and the funny characters become an interesting anime to watch. Anyway, this "formula" was already a bit repetitive, so t was necessary to include some neew staff, the problem starts when this new read more
Nov 5, 2017
anand891996 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here we are with the Third Plate.
Shokugeki no Souma is probably the epitome of the cooking anime genre. The first two seasons were groundbreaking, with the amount of research (accurate research at that) going into it being truly phenomenal. It is a cooking anime with a true focus on cooking as an artform, and following Yukihira Souma as he grows as a chef and a person.
Switching over to the third season, at this point, in compairison to the first two seasons, it is slightly lacking. The selling point of seasons one and two were the brilliantly and comically exaggerated foodgasms that people would experience upon read more
Feb 5, 2018
Mikasabestowaifu (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This is a spoiler-free review on the anime "Shokugeki no Souma: San no Sara". Please excuse me if I make a mistake or you don't understand a part, as English is not my first language. Thank you.

Shokugeki no Souma: San No Sara leaves a good taste, despite its flaws


I said when I evaluated the second season that Shokugeki no Souma is a franchise of pure fun, that although it is not perfect, achieves its mission: entertain and make you hungry.

In Ni no Sara the biggest problem was that a large part of the manga was summarized, giving the sensation of haste. In addition, the read more
Dec 20, 2017
xEternalSnowx (All reviews)
“You’re out of my league, first seat” – Yukihira Souma



Shokugek No Souma: San No Sara, simply put is, pure hype. You wait in anticipation every week for that 25 minute time slot where Souma takes on the elite chefs at Tohtsuki Academy with all the crazy foodgasms and each episode leaves you wanting more of this. Shokugeki No Souma, in general, makes great use of the Ecchi scenes by using them effectively and not going over the top. It’s a great combination of Shounen and Ecchi. I did like the first season the most and the second season was satisfying at the read more
Dec 17, 2017
Jeanna_Asher (All reviews)
Preliminary
Good god, this anime series....
The anime that made me start cooking good food other than eggs and burgers.
Shokugeki no souma is just so amazing, it's only been 4 episodes and they look so good, that all of them made me smile of enjoyment like it was nothing.
It's unbelievable the way they can put out such an intresting and joyful story, and combine it with the so well done music and sounds.
The time that we have waited for this season was not too long, but it was kind of painful, at least for me, in a way that I wanted so bad to continue watching and read more
Nov 15, 2018
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Onions taste delectable.

I didn’t always believe so, though. For a long time, I avoided their presence, viewing them as a white blight upon the meals they complemented. But now? I try to get them on everything (where it makes sense). Burgers. Pizza. Tacos. Onions no longer go unwelcome but instead have won me over, earning a seat at my table any day of the week.

Just as taste buds change, anime can do the same. For Shokugeki no Souma: San no Sara, some of its own changes both help and hurt what once was.

STORY

Three seasons in, read more
Apr 23, 2018
JayJ017 (All reviews)
I believe no one needs an intro to this anime anymore since this is the 3rd season. And with the sequel for season 3 on air now, i believe everyone is SUPER HYPED WATCHING IT because i know i do! In order to commemorate the airing second course, let's continue reviewing season 3! The Prequel to a Storm

For those who have read my previous reviews on the series, you all should know i am a HUGE fan of this show and i have explained why that is in those reviews. For season 3, the hype is no less than the previous season, if not more. read more
Feb 22, 2018
DHawth13 (All reviews)
This show brings a whole new meaning to Food Porn.
As a chef, it is inspiring and as a former student of Johnson & Wales University, it takes me back to the cutthroat grading of my chef instructors and watching classmates drop out left and right.

If you hate Ecchi anime, I can still recommend it. The adult themes are very tame for the genre.
If you love cooking or food, I would recommend 100%.

I don't know how to pad this out any more. It is a show well worth watching unless you are a super prudish anorexic with an aversion to comedy.