Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shingeki no Kyojin Season 3


Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan Season 3
Japanese: 進撃の巨人 Season3

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 23, 2018 to Oct 15, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.551 (scored by 102,060 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #194
Members: 339,847
Favorites: 3,100

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 14, 2018
OvOAllen (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

Coming into Attack on Titan season 3 I was slightly nervous because I heard that this season was going to be more focused on Human vs Human, but by the second episode all my doubts had been relieved and thought It was the greatest shit ever.

Visuals and Animation - 10+
Out of nowhere Studio Wit upped the quality of the production values to a point I didn’t was possible in a TV anime. The Levi vs Kenny Squad sequence in episode 2 had some of the best Sakuga and animation I had ever seen All of anime, let alone TV anime. The amount of read more
Oct 14, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Other than the male x male shipping, I am not finding many reasons to like this show anymore.

Half of the season is practically a collection of cliche action scenes. People teleport from the sky to save the day, others swing in the sky with spider-man gears, evil people sit on the face of someone just to prove that they indeed evil, Levi declares he is an insane badass by committing an act that distantly resembles the twisting of an arm. So fucked up! I am scared, literally how can man be this insane. Please, no, not the arm.

The other half is practically a parody read more
Oct 14, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
In a desolate world where corruption, power, and control rules all, Attack on Titan feels like a story that goes far deeper than just survival. As someone who has been following the series for several years, this franchise has really made a reputation. I’m not even talking about the commercial sales revenue or fan base. I’m talking about how this show evolved from a war between Humans and Titans.

After only a year, Attack on Titan made its grand return. Given the popularity of the franchise, this was inevitable but the big surprise was how soon it got announced. The first season ran for 2-cour in read more
Oct 14, 2018
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Review*
TL;DR: If every weird conspiracy theory you had for SnK suddenly started becoming true... Well that's this season of SnK for you. From Titans dying like Titanic to Internal Gov'ts crashing like US Stock exchange on day two, this first cour of SnK will leave you screaming... KENNEEYYYYYYY!
If you didn't watch S1 & S2, don't even bother reading or watching this anime.
[Story: 7/10 , Characters: 8/10, Art: 9/10, Sound: 8/10, Enjoyment: 8/10]

"You Levi. You grown any yet" - Kenny Ackerman

This season of Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack on Titan should really be called Attack on Internal Government. From military coups read more
Aug 26, 2018
Heumers (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Inhales* KEEENYYYYAAAH !!!

(PS: I’m not good in writing reviews and I edited this one during my online physics lesson. So pardon me if my review isn't good enough lol)

"Attack on Titan" is a well-known franchise that has acquired its fame from the unique atmosphere, tragedy deaths and hype. And now we have the third season of this astonishing franchise.

Plot :
The 3rd season starts on fire with the “Uprising Arc”, which alter the plan of killing Titans into killing Humans. The plot of this sequel (or Arc) mostly focuses on politics and corruption. Some people would dislike this, since it’s called “Attack on Titan” not read more
Aug 27, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime was my first show (when I realized what exactly is anime) and I will be honest: (about season 3).

OP intro 8/10- I did not expect anything like this but... but you know? it touched my soul and it more looks like Attack on slice of life not TITAN :D.

Story 9/10- unexpectedly moments and it will be interesting what will happen next? I know and I/we saw that the author somehow removed some backstories like whats wrong with Eren's titan form? and other thinks but I am satisfied with everything atm.

Art 9/10- in the previous seasons was much better but it does not interfere read more
Aug 26, 2018
MaiqTheLiarIsGod (All reviews)
Preliminary
After a little bit more than a year of wait fan favorite Attack on Titan is back with it's 3rd season and as always we are eager to see what's in store for us this time.

Story 10/10

It continunes few days after where we left off last season and it focuses more on political drama and dilemmas inside the walls. This season gets straight to the point and introduces new villain named Kenny that turns out to be somehow related to Levi. There are many parties trying to get Eren and Historia. For what reason? It is yet to be reveald. Mystery we all feel in read more
Aug 26, 2018
PhoenixKola (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know what you're thinking. This will be another cliche anime. It's just about killing these weird titans. It's just another "edgy, shock value" show with no depth. I'm here to tell you...this show is deeper than what it seems. I discovered this anime a year ago. One boring night i decided to give it a try and I binged the first 9 episodes. But why was I so in to it?

The surprises. The complexity. The mysteries. The emotions. The music. The animation/art. The lore. The tone. The maturity. The execution. The struggles. It all caught me off guard. What ended up happening was me read more
Aug 27, 2018
Thevsamovies (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm so happy this turned out well. Season 3 is exactly what SnK should be.

I didn't think things would necessarily turn out this way, either. In my humble opinion, SnK season TWO was a mess. During the first 6 episodes, the plot, pacing, etc. was completely off and it completely killed the show for me. I wrote a long review about it before but I don't wanna spend too much time talking about SnK s2 when this is about season 3. As season 2 approached the ending, however, it seemed the writing was coming back and I began to enjoy it like I enjoyed read more
Aug 30, 2018
Levi-se (All reviews)
Preliminary

AHHH! Though how amazing Shingeki no Kyojin season 1 and 2 are the story is taking a different path. I'm sure we all loved the humans vs. titans but season 3 introduces us to humans vs humans.

Story: 10
Titans aren't the main focus yet the story anymore, the main plot for this season is focussed on governmental and politic issues, we get to explore the world inside the walls. We adventure and see more into how everything is organised inside the walls and what keeps everything at peace. The world of Shinkegi no Kyojin is changing and as the viewers of this show we get read more
Aug 26, 2018
MoodMojo (All reviews)
Preliminary
The third installment to the series excluding the OVAs and it continues getting better by the second. First let me state that AoT is what got me into the anime medium in the first place which may lead to my opinion being biased a little bit, but I probably won’t need to exaggerate on its quality for it already speaks for itself.

Second, this season was being criticized by many manga readers even before its release for it takes a different directive being mostly about the political situation within the walls and fights among humans themselves instead of against naked titans. This is honestly upsetting because read more
Oct 14, 2018
Koroginzu (All reviews)
So, they decided to make a second cour apart. To be honest this is very annoying, we have to wait, but it's okay. It's better than wait for four years.

In this season 3 they focus on human vs. human battles, and show a less titan scene. Those who only watch anime without reading manga, many think it's very boring to watch and they want to see the fight against the titan, for me this arc is the most amazing.

This shows creativity in the story and shows that Hajime Isayama didn't run out of ideas to make stories, and it proved to be a great read more
Sep 12, 2018
Whyred (All reviews)
Preliminary
Season 2 was alright, but now it´s starting to become pretty goddamn average, and this is coming from someone who loved season 1, I even rewatched it several times... I feel that season 3 builds up to a climax but then just says fuck it, and goes back to where they began. It looks like a really bad version of Christopher Vogler´s narrative structure known as "The Hero´s Journey". I feel that the character development is weak as well, Historia just suddenly decides to switch sides without any "real" reason to do so. Yea sure, she has issues when it comes to a parental figures, read more
Oct 14, 2018
kchan13 (All reviews)
There are few anime these years that are as bloody and brutal as Attack on Titan is, yet don’t use gore in an overly immature way. Although the series itself has generated much hate and criticism, I still believe it has more depth than most people give credit for. From the very first season, we get to see gruesome events of shock and horror, as well as the point of views of numerous soldiers who had to make sacrifices. It sends a message that shows humanity’s determination and resilience even in hopeless situations. It shows that, even though humans have the capacity for selfishness and read more
Oct 15, 2018
NarutardPunk (All reviews)
As always this incredible anime has overcome any expectations that people have set for it. The first part of season 3 was amazing, well executed, the sped up pacing (compared to the manga), the visuals and the music were top notch.
Animation changed, since season 2 but it changed for the better, the action scenes look much more clear and crisper.
The overall tone of episode 12 to describe in one word was "HYPE'.
I think the second cour of season 3 will leave a HUGE impact on anime only fans, as for us manga readers it'll be a dream come true.
Oct 14, 2018
Bozumi (All reviews)
This season does not have an anchor, what was to be the protagonist in short is a piece of meat gagged and thrown from side to side, this leaves a giant vacuum in the direction that history walks.

What always made history happen is the attacks of the Titas, but there has always been a religious, mysterious and social inequality background. In this season of nowhere the anime creates a story about a true royal family, and the story and the blood are important, this is completely sudden.

A curious thing every time someone says that Shingeki no Kyojin is the people saying that whoever complains about read more
Oct 9, 2018
kian1234 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*


In my opinion the second season of AOT was mediocre, the first one was mostly empty shock value and sensless action. This season has been boring me to death. It abandons everything form the last season and starts a new subplot that I just don't think is interesting.

Story:

As I mentioned before the story has shifted into a new direction, now the government is bad and they want to kill Eren. He get's kidnapped for the third time and Historia becomes an edgy brat. It becomes so complicated that the show needs 3 flashbacks per episode just to explain what the hell read more
Sep 8, 2018
alqz (All reviews)
Preliminary
(This is a spoiler-free review.)

Season 1 of Attack on Titan didn't really impress me. The story seemed lacking, and the little story that it did tell did not make me optimistic. (I am not a reader of the manga.)

Season 2 was actually really good and, wow, season 3 is amazing. The story is fast paced, and the anime clearly has the budget and effort to back up its storytelling. It's thrilling around every corner. Every episode is solid, having either brilliantly animated action or interesting plot reveal. (Sometimes an episode has both.)

I'd say the dialogue is a little cringe-inducing and sometimes it relies on cheaper read more
Oct 14, 2018
kirei93 (All reviews)
There are no spoilers in this review.

Season 3 truly shines in its ability to present us with some progress towards the answers we've waited for while fleshing out its cast and lore in an organic way. With its great handle on production quality, characterization and story development, I believe Season 3 elevates AoT from something that could be considered a decent popcorn-flick to something truly memorable in its execution.


Before I get into the story and characters, I think right off the bat this anime has to be praised for its STELLAR animation and soundtrack. I think WIT's work here rivals that of Ufotable's in some read more
Oct 7, 2018
_Star_Platinum_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
As of the writing of this review, only the Uprising Arc has been shown. I have read the manga, and to be honest this arc was my least favorite, since it was very stretched out and kinda boring. But to my surprise, the anime is the exact opposite! WIT Studio has done an incredible job at translating this slow-paced arc into an amazing, interesting and incredible anime.

Story (8): Even though they sped up this arc, the beginning was still a bit slow. But many great anime suffer from the same problem, so you should never judge an entire anime just on the first few episodes. read more