Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Comic Girls


Alternative Titles

Japanese: こみっくがーるず

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2018 to Jun 21, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Nexus
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.541 (scored by 33,851 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1205
Members: 85,704
Favorites: 453

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 21, 2018
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note that this review is intended to be read by those that have finished watching Comic Girls and while care has been taken to minimize story related spoilers there may still be spoilers within character analysis. You have been warned.

Cute Girls learning to overcome their problems and flourish as true manga artists by bonding, having fun and living the life of a high school girl as they confront their struggles together as friends and fellow professionals.

Based off a popular 4 panel manga of the same name Comic Girls is a comedy and slice of life anime that gives us the rare opportunity read more
Jun 21, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
A few years ago, I asked myself if we’ll ever get another series about characters making manga. Series like Bakuman and Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun are among some of the most entertaining anime I’ve seen that explored such ideas. In recent years, we had series about cute girls making games like New Game! or even characters working in the anime industry like Shirobako. Now it’s 2018 and we got Comic Girls.

I’ll say right off the bat that the series is about as simple as it sounds. It’s an anime that explores the daily life misadventures of a group of female mangaka. For a series that read more
Jun 21, 2018
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
The cute girls genre recieves a fantastic addition with Comic Girls, an anime I definitely didn't expect to be as good as it ended up being.

This story is focused on a group of girls who love manga and either draw one professionally, or are trying to get a series published. This proves to be difficult for our lovable protagonist, Kaos, who honestly is just awful at it, and goes to live in a dormitory for female manga artists where she meets the other main characters of the series, hopefully getting inspiration from them.

Comic Girls uses the setting really well to provide a fantastic comedy both read more
Jun 21, 2018
Fircoal (All reviews)
Comic Girls fits in an interesting spot for CGDCT shows. While there is an abundance of CGDCT that manage to have nice light fluffy interactions but with little depth, it s rare to see a show like Comic Girls where the depth of the show is the highlight. With Comic Girls there is a lot of depth given to the characters, who they are, what they're aiming for, and the growth that they have as comic artists. While the characters do have their gimmicks and can seem a bit cliche at the start. There is much more to them than that. One thing I appreciate read more
Apr 30, 2018
MelodyFire (All reviews)
Preliminary
Comic Girls was a pleasant surprise. I was a bit worried at the beginning of episode one when the show cut between a manga author and editor. I assumed it would be similar to Bakuman, a show I wasn't very fond of. Luckily, the show takes a unique turn in showing the daily lives of well-known manga author roommates instead of aspiring manga authors still living with their parents. The show is well designed, with care put into the backgrounds as well as the character designs. Each girl has a unique and rounded personality, separating them from tropes associated with the slice of life genre. read more
Apr 27, 2018
NFL1945 (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest, I really enjoy Shoujo manga/anime. And yes this anime very enjoyable. The story is telling us about shoujo mangakas (girls making manga) daily live. For someone loves shoujo manga can already imagine core of this anime, girl's life.

Story 7/10
I know shoujo manga/anime sometime can be so bored cuz many of them only focus on 'moe-moe' and do any plot to make character more 'moe-moe'. In this anime, yes still moe is important dishes, but the story, shoujo mangaka is a good one. Not so tasteless, but there's some crisp on it.

Art 8/10
Yes, this about moe. Shoujo anime must be moe! Definitely! And read more
May 8, 2018
LSSJ_Gaming (All reviews)
Preliminary
I feel this anime really appeals to me as an artist. As an artist in high school myself, I feel I have some girls to relate to. I've wanted to try making my own manga, and now this anime seems to be teaching me some techniques that I will use.

Story 6/10:
The story overall isn't fantastic, but that kind of is the point! Kaoroku Moeta (or Kaos-chan) is a high school student who is a struggling artist. She moves into a dormitory for other female mangaka to get inspiration and learn new techniques and get a serialized manga. The anime follows Kaos and her new read more
Jul 2, 2018
pluvia33 (All reviews)
Comic Girls is one of the most overlooked shows of the Spring 2018 season. At the time of this writing, it ranks in as the #16 new TV series of the season on MAL based on the number of members attached to it. I’m sure that a large part of this is due to many “serious” anime fans dismissing moe, slice of life, cute girls doing cute things (CGDCT) shows on reflex. But I feel that this show deserves much more recognition than its getting, not just from slice of life fans, but from anime fans in general.

Comic Girls is part of the “cute girls read more
Jun 21, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Remember the archetype forms that we have come to know and love or hate all these years? More recently, the "Cute Girls Doing Cute Things" genre has set off recent classics such as Madhouse's amazing "A Place Further Than The Universe" last season and much earlier, to Passione's "Hinako Note" in the same season last year. This season introduces us to Comic Girls, which tells us the tales of 4 mangaka girls, each with their own aspirations to make it big in the comic zone (and potentially get their hard work paid out in the process).

The series core is as simple as it can come read more
Apr 14, 2019
FukaseKun (All reviews)
Usually, I don't watch shows with cute girls doing cute stuff but this one was an exception. Comic Girls is my absolute favourite of Slice of Life cute girls.

Story 9/10:
The story revolves around Kaoruko Moeta - a mangaka who has just begun her manga creator life. Sadly, all of her storyboards are rejected and she can't get her chapter into a magazine. Then, she got to know about the dorm for female manga artists, who wants to work together. Moeta decides to go there, and then she meets her dorm friends - Tsu-chan, Rukki, Koyume and later, Fuura-san. All of the girls work together read more
Jul 9, 2018
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
I started watching this from the very first episode. But due to me starting to read LN, I got more interested in reading than watching. Now that I've mostly caught up. I've come back and finished this gem.

This is honestly, My favorite show of the season. With only one other show I found interest in. It's not that surprising.

The characters in this I really like. I ended up associating their hair-color more to their names than their actual names. For example.
I call characters
Purple-Hair-Girl > Ruki
Blonde-Hair-Girl ( Also could be Yellow-Hair-Girl )> Koyume
Blue-Hair-Girl > Katsuki
Black-Hair-girl > Fuura
Pink-Hair-Girl < Kaos
The names besides Kaos's read more
Jun 21, 2018
RuanSwanepoel (All reviews)
Is this the best Anime ever? Is it the best Anime of the season? Does it have the best characters and the best story?

The answer to all the above questions will most probably be No, but don't let that hold you back.

It might not thick the boxes that any other Anime does of this season, but somehow this was still my favourite Anime of this season. The story is simple and easy to follow. The characters are loveable and well designed, even has one of my favourite supporting characters of all time. The art is beautiful and pretty cute at times. Sound is also pretty read more
Sep 5, 2018
Komodogatari (All reviews)
I genuinely enjoyed watching this slice of life, comedic anime, which follows the life of four manga aspiring artists in their high school years. I found myself enveloped in the anime and it's world filled with colourful characters and scenery as it enabled me to sit down and relax, absorbing the cheerful, light-hearted atmosphere of it's medium.

The storyline wasn't boring in any sense, although, a bit cliche at times perhaps, but interesting to the level that i'd stayed hooked to the anime's various characters, all with their different niches and internal struggles. After a while, I had found myself subconsciously becoming attached to the read more
Nov 30, 2018
OverEarth (All reviews)
*Sorry for my bad english
I doubt why this anime's reviews have people give so much score? My personal opinions I think this anime overrated.
Story is simple, about four girl in manga's dormitory. If you expect this anime will be like bakuman or about manga's industry, I said nope. This anime will be like generic cute girl do cute things with content there can find in other that in same genres. For short this anime is only about 4 girls manga writer's life in dormitory.
Art and Music is good. I'm enjoy with them.
Every characters in this anime will be different stereotype live together, If this read more
Jul 19, 2018
Swordarc (All reviews)
Adapted from a manga series,Comic Girls surely tries to bring the pain and struggle of the manga Industry into an anime,together with its own style.Although keeping its own style is important,they should also consider whether it'd be a great idea from a general anime perspective.By now,it somehow shows its uniqueness,but doesn't feature Comic Girls really well.

+good opening and ending song
+diversified characters' personalities
+Hilarious and crazy characters' actions
+nice character reactions
+Ending summed up the story

-it feels episodic
-Bad story premise
-story feels shattered because characters work on their own
-repetitive or overused ideas
-undeveloped characters
-poor transitions

At my first glance,I was really excited about Comic Girls,I saw cute girls,beautiful visuals read more
Jun 23, 2018
AnimeSpaceBR2 (All reviews)
- Finally my review on Comic Girls, starting with the story that as you might expect, the story is extremely simple but very interesting and fun to follow thanks to the direction that knew how to create extremely fun and relaxed moments throughout the anime; in general there is not much to say about the story, it's a simple but fun story to follow.

- About the technical parté, it is simply magnificent, the Nexus studio did an excellent job in Comic Girls, even being a comedy anime with slice of life; the animation and visual are simply magnificent, the scenery is beautiful, colorful and detailed; read more
Jun 21, 2018
EXStephen (All reviews)
Now this was a surprising anime. I went in expecting your typical “cute girls doing cute things” moe slice of life comedy that we seem to get at least every season. And it was in fact a “cute girls doing cute things” moe slice of life comedy. I’m already extremely partial to these type of shows and it’s really hard to make them not enjoyable (With the exception Hinako Note. I’m falling asleep just thinking about that one.) Comic Girls follows 4 manga artists who all move into a dormitory to work on their original stories and attend school. Surprisingly, the whole school aspect of read more
Jan 8, 2019
nonameacquired (All reviews)
I might spoil the show when analyzing the characters. So don't read if you haven't watched the show! Unless you don't care...


I am an artist. It may seem like I'm bragging, sorry if it does, but it is pretty important to my enjoyment for this show. Cause even though every artist doesn't have the same experiences, there are things that many artists do feel.
Being ashamed of oneself work, not feeling deserving of food and other self-destructive thoughts.
I have never really seen an anime about art that shows this side of how artists feel. There are probably other shows that do this. Maybe even read more
Dec 14, 2018
szir (All reviews)
Moe gold.

Drawing quality is great, I like the art style. Images are colorful, pretty, characters are cute.
Haven’t noticed any animation issues, movement seemed realistic (expect of course when intentionally tried to be funny). (It’s hard to do a good job, people can easily notice when something is out of place, just don’t feel right. So, this is a great sign.)
Sound effects and music are on point. (dramatic/ominous sound drops)
Story/characters are funny and sweet. (I laughed a lot and my eyes got teary from time to time.)
Pacing was consistent. (Spoiler: Aliens don’t just unexpectedly show up in the last 20% of the show. …well, maybe read more
Jun 26, 2018
CalamityGod27 (All reviews)
**** SHORT REVIEW (Kind of)****

As an casual anime watcher who usually despises Moe based anime , I didn't really expect anything good from this series when i started watching but this series proved me wrong and completely surprised me !!
Comic girls is a light-hearted comedy/ slice of life anime where the story revolves around the daily lives of female mangakas and tries to explains the effort behind creating a successful manga/comic series.
Feel free to scroll down to the "overall " and "pros and cons" section.

Now, lets cut right to chase shall we?

Story: 9/10
A simple yet interesting story which revolves around a girl named read more