Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hibike! Euphonium Movie 3: Chikai no Finale


Alternative Titles

English: Sound! Euphonium: Our Promise: A Brand New Day
Synonyms: Gekijouban Hibike! Euphonium: Chikai no Finale, Sound! Euphonium: Oath's Finale
Japanese: 劇場版 響け!ユーフォニアム~誓いのフィナーレ~

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 19, 2019
Producers: Lantis, Shochiku
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Novel
Genres: DramaDrama, MusicMusic, SchoolSchool
Duration: 1 hr. 41 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.931 (scored by 15951,595 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6712
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2994
Members: 23,614
Favorites: 48

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 8, 2019
Yuki (All reviews)
To start off, for anyone who have watched the previous installments of Hibike! Euphonium, both season 1 and 2, you'll find that this new sequel doesn't deviate much, if at all, from the seasons in terms or storytelling or theme. It's pretty much a speedrun of Hibike! Euphonium condensed into 1 movie with new characters added in. There is nothing added in the movie that truly breaks from the mold already established by both previous seasons. The movie is centered around certain 1st years who enter the high school and join band. Each of them have their own unique problems relating to band drama and read more
Jul 11, 2019
StevenSenpaiRawr (All reviews)
(no spoilers)

Thanks to Fathom Events, this Hibike! Euphonium fan was able to see the latest installment of the series on the big screen, and I enjoyed it a lot. Hibike! Euphonium Movie 3: Chikai no Finale follows Kumiko and her friends on her second year of high school, directly after Hibike! Euphonium 2. If you're just reading for my general opinion: Overall, the movie suffers from the issues you would expect from condensing a season's worth of story into roughly 2 hours and may not be great as a standalone film, but is definitely worth a watch for anyone who liked the first two seasons.

As read more
Jul 11, 2019
Snoopy25 (All reviews)
I just watched the film in theaters and it was great! All Sound! Euphonium fans should watch it, as it is indeed a continuation of the series.

Like all movies, material is condensed, and there's quite literally nothing we can do about it except show our support for the makers in hopes of getting more content. The film starts by giving a 10 minute review of what happened in the first 2 seasons, and then kicks off. One should definitely watch "Liz and the Blue Bird" before watching this, because there are quite a few connections to that movie (don't wanna spoil anything).

I agree, this could read more
Jul 12, 2019
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Honestly, I didn't really think we needed this movie, but...eh, I'm not against it.  Could it have been better?  Oh definitely.  Story probably could've used a proofread.

Story:

With the new school year incoming, Kumiko Oumae and the previous veterans of the Kitauji High School Band come back with new members, new drama, and a new goal in mind for the school year.  Now with the bronze reward in Nationals under their belt, it was finally time to try again and get the coveted gold they weren't able to get in the year prior.

Given that the entirety of the movie is centered around Kumiko's entire second year read more
Jul 11, 2019
MightyDankNut (All reviews)
Story:

I don't have to much to say here. The story felt rushed. I have followed the Hibike series for the past couple of years and have always liked their portrayal of the students navigating through school and the drama of dealing with that is a big draw for the series in general. To me the movie needed to tell a smaller story to rectify this problem, as a less than 2 hour movie is hardly enough time to develop 5 new characters, provide growth for the returning cast, and propel the plot.

Art:

Visually the movie looked great, It only had one scene that I remember being read more
Jan 14, 2020
DNGlist (All reviews)
Actually, I was more hopeful about this "Hibike Euphonium movie", because it was made in the form of a movie, Kyoto Animation made a beautiful TV series, especially if it's a movie, I said. but it turns out my expectations are too high. this movie is not bad, I like it a lot, but in my opinion the conflict is still less climax than what happened in season 2 hibike euphonium, orchestral music in season 2 can make me cry emotion because it's really cool, but in this film I think " good "but not special. The ending that is presented in my opinion is read more
Jul 15, 2019
sugiesan (All reviews)
Although a 12-episode series would have been a more satisfying treatment of the material, Chikai no Finale is an entirely worthy addition to the Hibike! Euphonium franchise, successfully carrying through the warmth and kindness of its characters, the focus on growing personally and building sustaining, healthy relationships in the face of adversity, and stunning animation, music and voice acting in a welcome two-hour return to Kitauji High School. (9 / 10)

(very mild thematic spoilers for the movie possible ahead, movie plot spoilers hopefully scrubbed. SPOILERS FOR THE TV SERIES, WHICH YOU SHOULD HAVE WATCHED ALREADY ANYWAY!)

Chikai no Finale is asked to serve a somewhat strange read more
Jul 12, 2019
Asasphinx (All reviews)
(I'll keep this spoiler-free for those who haven't seen it yet)

The experience I had with this movie was more or less the same as what I got through the first 2 seasons, with the main difference being that the original characters have moved up a grade level, new first years have been introduced, and with those new students come new pillars for the story to pick up on and use for it's plot. I think watching the Liz and the Blue Bird movie before this would be helpful as the theme presented in that one carries over to parts of this one, and additionally read more
Jul 15, 2019
JJR1971 (All reviews)
Just back from the Dubbed screening of this new Sound! Euphonium movie; Before the feature itself starts, there's a quick sub-only 10 minute series recap that honestly I could've done without, the memory of Season 1&2 still fresh in my mind. It was also a little unsettling as I needed to be reassured by theater management this was indeed the dubbed screening that I paid for.

Anyway, it took a little getting used to hearing Erica Mendez's voice coming out of Kumiko Omae but her performance grew on me quickly. I was sad not hearing Cristina Valenzuela reprise Reina but Laura Post did an read more
Jul 11, 2019
ethmro (All reviews)
Despite being similar to previous seasons of Hibike Euphonium, the movie does not really stand very well on its own and mostly serves to move along the plot of the series.

The presentation of the movie is very good. The animation is great, the voice acting is still very impressive and the music is very satisfying. It gets handicapped by the rapid pacing and unclear direction of the movie, which results in very short and disjointed scenes.

The plot of the movie feels very condensed and rushed, resulting in a very flat and unsatisfying viewing experience. It doesn't have the time to build up the characters read more