Houseki no Kuni (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Land of the Lustrous
Synonyms: Country of Jewels
Japanese: 宝石の国

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2017 to Dec 23, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Orange
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.471 (scored by 57,356 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1182
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #611
Members: 139,986
Favorites: 3,301

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 23, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
“Constantly, I think to myself that I would like to be reborn…”
-Phosphophyllite

Do you ever wish you could change and transcend the limitations of the body you were given? Phos' journey in Land of the Lustrous (Houseki no Kuni) is a compelling exploration of a person who desires to change themselves, both physically and mentally. Studio Orange's adaptation of Haruko Ichikawa's manga is unlike any anime you've ever seen. Stunning CGI, visceral yet graceful nature to which it portrays bodies, and a bold analysis of human emotions make it an unforgettable experience.

In the distant future, Earth has been ravaged by six meteors. The meteors broke read more
Dec 23, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Absolutely beautiful, Houseki no Kuni sadly flew under the radar of a lot of people due to the lack of initial hype, but I hope this changes over time because this anime really deserves a lot of love.

The setting is so interesting and full of mysteries and unknowns to discover, what happened to the world to become like this? Who are the gems, or the moon people that seem to be after them? Houseki knows how to make the events ocurring hooking to watch and it's such an enjoyable experience from start to end.

Along with the intriguing story we also have a fantastic cast read more
Dec 23, 2017
Eanki (All reviews)
The GRRM Reaper once posited the Furniture Rule: that at its core, literature is an exploration of the human condition; the rest is fluff, furniture.

Houseki no Kuni begins as a simple story of immortal, genderless life forms, the Gems, with each individual based around a gemstone from which they take their physical characteristics. They are being hunted down by Lunarians for what seems to be collector’s fancy. Slowly, the story moves on, teasing the layers of mystery of its world and a more intriguing aspect of the entire dynamic unravels, one more conducive to philosophical discourse. The introduction of a third faction, the Admirabilis, elevates read more
Dec 23, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Over the last few years or so, it seems that the discussion regarding the use of CGI in anime has grown all the more prominent, and for perfectly good reason too. It appears that more and more shows are using CGI to greater affect, which is generally brought with much disdain with anime fans. For shows that use CGI in accordance with the use of traditional 2-D animation, the end result is usually one that comes across as jarring, as the two modes of animation juxtaposes awkwardly with one another, with scenes that end up feeling clunky or strange. It usually ends up dragging me read more
Oct 28, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
It’s unfortunate that many people overlook and under rate CGI based series, me included. But after reading the synopsis and watching 4 episodes, I’m glad I made the decision to watch Land of the Lustrous. I guess you can say this is the…Hidden gem of the season \(\~_~)

Out of all the anime that aired this Fall, Houseki no Kuni caught my attention the most. With its oddly intriguing story along with the setting and characters. The characters of this series are gems. You know, Diamond, Jade, Alexandrite, and the other ones. Each gem has a certain hardness, how easy they can break. One of the read more
Oct 28, 2017
Pizco (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the time of writing this review, four episodes have aired.

I've finished catching up to the manga (60 chapters) and will be purchasing them shortly.

STORY: Gems in humanoid form fight unknown entities known as the "Moon-People", their hardness and gem type dictating their overall strength and ability to fight. The story has a very distinct feel to it, but I'm not surprised only about 20k people have this show currently listed. Although great in my opinion, it's rather niche. If you're into sci-fi type stories, this is for you. Don’t just write it off as some “Steven Universe” rip off, because 1) it was read more
Nov 3, 2017
neopest (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have to say... As of writing this review only 4 episodes have aired, but I'm confident enough to say that watching this anime is a very uncomfortable experience.

If you don't already know (like I did at first) this is a CGI based anime (think RWBY and the like). Now, I have no problem watching anime or shows created in this style, but there were a lot of issues with how this was executed, which really detracted from the show. But more on that later.

Story - 4

The main premise of this show is that there are these humanoid gems that are assigned specific jobs read more
Feb 16, 2018
psuedonymph (All reviews)
I am writing this review because I believe I hold an uncommon opinion. Don’t worry, it’s spoiler free. Allow me the time to tell you a story.

Once upon a time, a little boy was shopping at a mall with his mother, when he passed by a brightly lit shop window sporting an inviting neon sign at the entrance, labelled simply “Candy.” The display case under the sign had a large, swirly lollipop in it, each swirl being a different color. Eager to satisfy his taste buds with the sweetness of a candy he has never ever seen before, the boy tugged on his mother’s coat read more
Nov 26, 2017
Carlingenea (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now I have finished the series, and it has brought me great enjoyment. There are moments that I laugh, I cried a bit and cursing Phos for being so useless or so annoying. But slowly, I realised Phos character is so relatable.

It is very common for us youngsters to dream an ambitious dream, while not realizing how much effort and pain one have to go through before one can achieve that dream, and eventually hit hard by the reality. It usually starts off as "it's so cool, I want to be like that." to "I am not good enough." "I wish I could be read more
Nov 12, 2017
Appelsin (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will only say that as a "veteran" anime viewer I look for things that feel original and a departure from stories and devices that I have seen many times already. This is why I decided to check this and boy, I enjoyed it so much.
Take into account: this story is darker than it seems and based on an ongoing manga. The anime does not provide a final closure for the story. Anyway, I enjoyed it a lot and certaily recommend it.

Story: 9
Intriguing. There is a central mystery to be solved and many other things we don't know. But the story so far is progressing read more
Dec 23, 2017
Andy_Yang (All reviews)
Note: I have not read the source material (manga), so this review will be based on the anime alone.

The only word I could use to describe the world of Houseki no Kuni (Land of the Lustrous) is “bizarre”. It certainly takes an amazing amount of imagination and a dose of craziness to come up with an unique world like this, but I can’t help but feel that this is also exposed as the anime’s weakest point. It took a lot of time and effort to explain even the basics of how the world works, and even then the world feels difficult to understand. This is read more
Nov 4, 2017
I_Died_Yesterday (All reviews)
Preliminary
Like most people, I was at first skeptical about this anime because of it's art style, but I'm not the type of person who doesn't give things a chance, so I decided to try it. I'm on episode 5 now and I've gotta say, the art only compliments the characters more.

It's extremely interesting and has many twists revolving around Phos and his/her friends. Sadly I'm still confused by Phos's gender, so I'm referring to him/her both ways. I always feel connected to Phos and the people he/she approaches, everything about it beams creativity and uniqueness.

In all, you should definitely watch this brilliant anime, look past read more
Dec 23, 2017
Estheliel (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW WILL BE SPOILER FREE

Outstanding anime, this is my absolute favorite of this year along with Made in Abyss.


Story :

The premise of the story makes it sound like something you wouldn't expect at all after you're done watching this. It's really misleading, making people think this would be another "cute" anime centered around girly characters. Oh it's everything I just described and so much more.

It starts slowly, developing the main character takes a good chunk of episodes and initially I felt unsure as to why were we supposed to get attached to her. You understand why very soon.

Throughout the story read more
Dec 2, 2017
lowatre (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's extremely beautiful.

Time and time again, I could feel strong emotions on nearly every moment they made. It's not like story is getting unexpected, it's like you are having ripples in your tranquil heart. The world is exquisite, but also full of mystery.

For me, the most interesting plot I love to watch is the interaction between Cinnabar and Phos. Their conversation didn't tell much story, but their facial expressions and behaviors did. That's some great ways to make plots attractive.

The sea shore scene in episode 5 is epic.

This is an underrated anime that someone who likes world of beauty should watch.
Feb 25, 2018
Echinodermata (All reviews)
So Houseki no Kuni. Wow.

I managed to miss this one last season and just caught up with it over this weekend; I had nothing better to do last night, so I thought I’d investigate the first episode of the weird CGI mineralgirl show.

…and then marathon-ed the whole thing from start to finish. Literally sat there without getting up for anything like it was a five hour movie. It’s brilliant; I had no idea there was something out there that could so easily topple Made in Abyss from my AOTY spot for 2017, but there it was (and I really liked Made in Abyss).

If you’re read more
Jan 9, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Gems are regarded as precious things. There are a plethora of these beautiful, varied jewels, each with distinct colors to catch the eye. Out of this shimmering rouges-gallery, the most popular one may be the diamond.

Diamonds are overvalued. They may shine bright but aren't as uncommon as some like to feel they are. However, they are special for some reason or another, above most other gems. Houseki no Kuni, or Land of the Lustrous, really is a diamond in such a sense, fittingly enough. Not the hardest gem or material ever conceived, and more like the character of Diamond in the show, where despite read more
Nov 9, 2017
paperdarkfish (All reviews)
Preliminary
Houseki no Kuni is a story set on an island in a post-apocalyptic world, where a collection of immortal gemstone-based people cluster around the mysterious Adamant-sensei, who keeps them occupied with jobs tailored to their interests and abilities - all except Phosphophyllite, a spoiled child who is too delicate to do the job he REALLY wants to do; fighting the celestial spirit-like Lunarians that are constantly trying to shatter the gems and use them as jewelry. Tasked with creating an encyclopedia to distract him, Phos meets the secluded Cinnabar for the first time, and begins to question what it means to have value.

The story, despite read more
Nov 19, 2017
monochrom3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, and English isn't my primary language, so excuse some of the grammar mistakes.

To be honest, I feel like this anime's a bit underappreciated. While some of the things presented in this anime might not be suited for everyone's taste(such as the concept behind the gems and the 3DCG animation, which I'll discuss later on their respective parts), this anime has adapted the manga quite well and faithfully. The manga itself was quite good, and I'd recommend reading it after the anime finishes airing as it shows other things that might not be shown on the anime due to the limited read more
Nov 4, 2017
Sorvesteon (All reviews)
Preliminary
The CGI eye-candy of the season! But this series has more than just looks going for it! While it does take a few episodes to really get into things, there is a wonderful mystery to the world and a welcome depth to the main characters. At first it seemed liked the main character Phosphophyllite would be just another annoying lazy one-dimensional protagonist, but she at times shows a surprising complexity that one would not expect from such a lazy whiny freeloader. It wasn't until episode 3 that I really started to see this anime something other than eye-candy, and by the end of episode 4 read more
Dec 23, 2017
Injenss (All reviews)
BEAUTIFUL. STUNNING. GORGEOUS. LUSTROUS! This anime, by far, is the most beautifully animated series I have ever seen. It is a shining example of how 3D Animation is the future of anime. I have seen a lot of beautifully animated series in my life, but this one, in my humble opinion, out shined them all. It was easily the biggest draw of the anime. I can't ever remember a time where I would rewind just to watch a character run. But, the animation combined with the motion and camera angles made even running, a spectacular sight.

Naturally, because read more