Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Houseki no Kuni (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Land of the Lustrous
Synonyms: Country of Jewels
Japanese: 宝石の国

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 21:30 (JST)
Producers: Kodansha, TOHO animation
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Orange
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Fantasy, Seinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.051 (scored by 7,771 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1487
Members: 46,553
Favorites: 412

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 28, 2017
ColorFul1 (All reviews)
Four episodes have aired, at the time of this review and I have to say it's brilliant.

It's the most beautiful anime I've ever seen and brings a nostalgic feeling when I watch it.

I love everything about it and I'm biased but truly is a great show.

Highly underrated, again very beautiful.

The story is not to simple and very engaging due to the visuals and buddhist influences Highly recommend to anyone who wants pure beauty and a nice enough story to go along with it.

Read other reviews for more in depth info as this is my first review ever on this site and I see the show read more
Oct 28, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
It’s unfortunate that many people overlook and under rate CGI based series, me included. But after reading the synopsis and watching 4 episodes, I’m glad I made the decision to watch Land of the Lustrous. I guess you can say this is the…Hidden gem of the season \(\~_~)

Out of all the anime that aired this Fall, Houseki no Kuni caught my attention the most. With its oddly intriguing story along with the setting and characters. The characters of this series are gems. You know, Diamond, Jade, Alexandrite, and the other ones. Each gem has a certain hardness, how easy they can break. One of the read more
Oct 28, 2017
Pizco (All reviews)
At the time of writing this review, four episodes have aired.

I've finished catching up to the manga (60 chapters) and will be purchasing them shortly.

STORY: Gems in humanoid form fight unknown entities known as the "Moon-People", their hardness and gem type dictating their overall strength and ability to fight. The story has a very distinct feel to it, but I'm not surprised only about 20k people have this show currently listed. Although great in my opinion, it's rather niche. If you're into sci-fi type stories, this is for you. Don’t just write it off as some “Steven Universe” rip off, because 1) it was read more
Oct 28, 2017
le_halfhand_easy (All reviews)
The GRRM Reaper once posited the Furniture Rule: the idea that, at its core, literature is an exploration of the human condition; the rest is furniture.

Houseki no Kuni purports to be a story of immortal, genderless life forms with each individual based around a gemstone from which they take their physical characteristics. They are being hunted down by Lunarians for what seems to be collector’s fancy. But as the story moves on, a more intriguing aspect of the entire dynamic unravels and expands the story to one more conducive to philosophical discourse: the “bone”, the “soul”, and the “flesh”.

At its core however, underneath the trappings read more
Nov 26, 2017
Carlingenea (All reviews)
So far, the series has brought me great enjoyment. There are moments that I laugh, I cried a bit and cursing Phos for being so useless or so annoying. But slowly, I realised Phos character is so relatable.

A lot of us might not truly accomplish something even though we thought we had tried our best. Or there are moments we felt so helpless and just wish to hide and take cover, think that the pain will go away by itself, while in fact, the pain stayed.

It is common for people to dream an ambitious dream, while not realising how much effort and pain one read more
Nov 12, 2017
Appelsin (All reviews)
This will be a short review since we are yet in episode 9, so I cannot give a final impression on the story or the overall enjoyment.

I will only say that as a "veteran" anime viewer I look for things that feel original and a departure from stories and devices that I have seen many times already. This is why I decided to check this and boy, I am enjoying it so much.

Story: 9
Intriguing so far. There is a central mystery to be solved and many other things we don't know. But the story so far is progressing at a good pace and giving read more
Nov 9, 2017
paperdarkfish (All reviews)
Houseki no Kuni is a story set on an island in a post-apocalyptic world, where a collection of immortal gemstone-based people cluster around the mysterious Adamant-sensei, who keeps them occupied with jobs tailored to their interests and abilities - all except Phosphophyllite, a spoiled child who is too delicate to do the job he REALLY wants to do; fighting the celestial spirit-like Lunarians that are constantly trying to shatter the gems and use them as jewelry. Tasked with creating an encyclopedia to distract him, Phos meets the secluded Cinnabar for the first time, and begins to question what it means to have value.

The story, despite read more
Nov 4, 2017
I_Died_Yesterday (All reviews)
Like most people, I was at first skeptical about this anime because of it's art style, but I'm not the type of person who doesn't give things a chance, so I decided to try it. I'm on episode 5 now and I've gotta say, the art only compliments the characters more.

It's extremely interesting and has many twists revolving around Phos and his/her friends. Sadly I'm still confused by Phos's gender, so I'm referring to him/her both ways. I always feel connected to Phos and the people he/she approaches, everything about it beams creativity and uniqueness.

In all, you should definitely watch this brilliant anime, look past read more
Dec 2, 2017
lowatre (All reviews)
It's extremely beautiful.

Time and time again, I could feel strong emotions on nearly every moment they made. It's not like story is getting unexpected, it's like you are having ripples in your tranquil heart. The world is exquisite, but also full of mystery.

For me, the most interesting plot I love to watch is the interaction between Cinnabar and Phos. Their conversation didn't tell much story, but their facial expressions and behaviors did. That's some great ways to make plots attractive.

The sea shore scene in episode 5 is epic.

This is an underrated anime that someone who likes world of beauty should watch.
Nov 3, 2017
neopest (All reviews)
I have to say... As of writing this review only 4 episodes have aired, but I'm confident enough to say that watching this anime is a very uncomfortable experience.

If you don't already know (like I did at first) this is a CGI based anime (think RWBY and the like). Now, I have no problem watching anime or shows created in this style, but there were a lot of issues with how this was executed, which really detracted from the show. But more on that later.

Story - 4

The main premise of this show is that there are these humanoid gems that are assigned specific jobs read more
Nov 4, 2017
Sorvesteon (All reviews)
The CGI eye-candy of the season! But this series has more than just looks going for it! While it does take a few episodes to really get into things, there is a wonderful mystery to the world and a welcome depth to the main characters. At first it seemed liked the main character Phosphophyllite would be just another annoying lazy one-dimensional protagonist, but she at times shows a surprising complexity that one would not expect from such a lazy whiny freeloader. It wasn't until episode 3 that I really started to see this anime something other than eye-candy, and by the end of episode 4 read more
Nov 19, 2017
monochrom3 (All reviews)
This is my first review, and English isn't my primary language, so excuse some of the grammar mistakes.

To be honest, I feel like this anime's a bit underappreciated. While some of the things presented in this anime might not be suited for everyone's taste(such as the concept behind the gems and the 3DCG animation, which I'll discuss later on their respective parts), this anime has adapted the manga quite well and faithfully. The manga itself was quite good, and I'd recommend reading it after the anime finishes airing as it shows other things that might not be shown on the anime due to the limited read more
Dec 11, 2017
Raindroptrees (All reviews)
This show is now one of my favorite shows(or perhaps my favorite). It is honestly a gorgeous show that taught me how good CG CAN be. The story of this show is extremely unique and i have never seen anything quite like it. The only thing besides the CG that i think would turn people off is that all of the characters appear to look the same in body type. This is only true for the crystal characters, and there are other species in this show that look entirely different. This show is simply too good to pass up based on these two things, because read more
Dec 9, 2017
acairngorm (All reviews)
I have decided to create an account just to add a rating on this anime case it's what it deserve. many have doubts becase of the pacing for the first episode or 2nd and 3rd which is necessary to explain the world of the gems. another is that this is not a normal anime for it is a CGI with 2d animation. we all know how cgi have affected anime to some which we know did not meet our expectation however, to houseki no kuni this is just perfect and the best example of a great work done using cgi. i'm not sure if there read more
Dec 8, 2017
Shiver-tan (All reviews)
What a great show, out of everything I've seen lately I felt seriously inclined to write a review about this one in particular.

First off, the first and last glaring thing on anybodies mind checking this out initially is the CG animation and the immediate discounting that goes along with finding out a show is created in it. In another thousand or so anime I might agree that CG is an unfortunate or poor choice for artistic direction or a compromise to push out a show more inexpensively that otherwise might not have gotten made, In Houseki no Kuni this couldn't be more untrue.

The CG read more
Dec 3, 2017
tc4ndy (All reviews)
So episode 9 released a few days ago, and it was too Lit! (I started from episode 1 btw). The visuals and character development will grow on you fast. It's also very unique and different from most anime ( and I have watched a lot of anime :p ). I really like the concept of how gems can be brought to life and the logical sense in which they are genderless.

art 10/10
story 8/10 (...can go to 10/10 as the story goes on and complexity increases)
music & sfx 9/10
action 10/10
characters 10/10

The anticipation for new episodes got so painful that I am beginning to read the read more
Oct 28, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
It's time for a review one-third in the progress, and I've gotta say for a studio that always handles collaborated production (be it art, animation whatever), and coming out of their shell to own this show as their own, it is a job well done, and would be one of the best overlooked shows of the season.

Story:
Humans in the form of gems must fend their kind against the Lunarians (or Moon-People ) for decorations and for every gem based on their brittleness, are given a role each to fulfill their call.

The main character, Phosphophyllite is the youngest and weakest of the gems and Master Kongou read more
Dec 16, 2017
hatred_x_lust (All reviews)
It's gorgeous. It's both entertaining and interesting to watch. It's... perfect? Not quite, but it's still brilliant. And underrated.

Art: 10/10
I didn't read the manga and found out about this anime through some art. Even though it's CGI, I can't remember any anime which would look as beautiful as this one. All fights look absolutely outstanding. Every character "hair" is unbelievably charming. I just couldn't get enough of it.

Story: 7//10
It wasn't something as boring as I thought before but it doesn't seem that deep right now, I believe I won't get all the story that is unveiled with the last 2 episodes and it will remain read more
Dec 11, 2017
97iu (All reviews)
The animation is absolutely fabulous, if you have read the manga then you will understand what a brilliant job the studio has done to illustrate the texture and color of Diamond's hair.

The music crew utilizes Kokyū (or Erhu maybe) when it comes to a lyric scene, which is very expressive.

The authoress of the original manga attended a Buddhist high school (as a Chinese I thought there were only Catholic high schools,lol) and got this spark of inspiration from the Buddhist version of the heaven, which is, according to the scriptures, decorated with gems. So she wondered where the gems come from, And read more
Dec 10, 2017
cakekeki (All reviews)
THIS ANIME IS AMAZING. The beginning first few episodes are a bit on the boring side, but once you reach the climax of the anime (around episode 5), the anime will exceed all your expectations. The premise of this anime is really cool too; it's about a bunch of gems that are human-like and they have to fight off these things that are also human-like called "lunarians". It's super interesting because you don't really know how they originate so it's really mysterious and enjoyable. There's also many things that happen, so you'll never really be bored (well the first few episodes are a bit repetitive, read more