Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Slow Start


Alternative Titles

English: Slow Start
Japanese: スロウスタート

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2018 to Mar 25, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.111 (scored by 15,301 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1805
Members: 45,381
Favorites: 112

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2018
Fircoal (All reviews)
With the massive amount of shallow school-based CGDCT that exist you'd be forgiven for thinking that Slow Start is another one of those. While there are many shows that try to take a simple gimmick and turn it into a CGDCT show, that isn't the case here. It may look like it, after all the fact that one character is a year behind seems like a nice basis for a show so that it can set itself apart that little bit before going back to the old tropes.

Except it's not a gimmick and it's not treading the same ground. Rather it's going farther than most read more
Jan 27, 2018
Darcore (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well this is my first review so it's gonna be a short one.

First of all the art style in "Slow Start" really amazed me, I wasn't expecting such a smooth animation from a comedy anime, almost every scene is pretty well drawn and the characters are always moving/shaking their hands/heads which is actually pretty pleasing to watch.

Since there are only 4 episodes out by the time I'm doing this review, I can't really tell if the story will matter much on this anime or if it will be good, but by the look of it the protagonists are making it enjoyable by how defined their read more
Mar 24, 2018
Mezo-RPWPA (All reviews)
Slow start is one of the most disappointing anime I have seen in the "Cute girls doing cute things" genre and you will see why.

When I started watching slow start I was ready for another relaxing cute anime with cute characters but this was just not like that, I'm all for trying new stuff but that doesn't mean that when it fails then them trying will make it better than it really is.

Most of the characters were bad, 3 out of the 4 MCs are bad, first the MC is probably the most forced always worrying like character with most of the time all read more
Mar 24, 2018
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Funnily enough considering the title of this anime, Slow Start went from an entertaining but mostly just good watch to one of my favorite series of this winter 2018 season as it progressed.

This story is focused on Hana, a shy girl who easily gets worried that she is a year behind the rest after not being able to do the exams for high school. That affected her and she couldn't handle thinking about what everyone else would think of her, so she ended up leaving her house and went to live in the apartment of her cousin Shion to start a fresh life where read more
Feb 15, 2018
izumif (All reviews)
Preliminary
I couldn't refrain from writing a review on this on-going series. In general, remarking on an anime which is now airing is not a good choice, for no one knows where the anime goes but creators.
However, sometimes there are some animes which need to be introduced by someone. Such animes usually do not get popularity; they are even not well-known among anime fans. These animes with high-quality elements are silently waiting for a time when you find them.

"Slow Start" is surely one of such animes.

Sadly, we have only a few reviews on "Slow Start" on MAL. I also checked Crunchyroll but there are also few read more
Mar 24, 2018
AmericanSomnium (All reviews)
"Slow Start" is true to the name in that not much of substance really happens over the course of the whole show. I enjoyed it. I liked it. However, I just want this to be at the forefront for those who are thinking they'll see obvious and planned character development over the course of the season. The entire season seems more like stage-setting rather than altering character, mostly to show the quirks of each character in a much more magnified light.

That being said I'll need to admit two things: This is really the second CGDCT I have ever watched, and I found myself in love read more
Apr 15, 2018
Axew13 (All reviews)
"The protagonist is a normal high school student going to your typical all-girls' high school. But wait! She's actually one year behind! I swear I'm not running out of ideas."
This was my first thought upon seeing Slow Start. Bear in mind, I actually (guiltily) enjoyed this show after watching it. But flaws are flaws, so here's my review.

STORY: Hana Ichinose is a- you already know this. And that's all the plot you're going to get from this series aside from minor character development. Spoiler: The gap year thing ends up not being essential to the show at all.

ART: Slow Start has the most generic art read more
Mar 24, 2018
Andrea-Carolina (All reviews)
Preliminary
They really take the title serious. The beginning is slow and boring and after some episodes the anime begins LOL.

The plot is easy, well is a slice of life so is easy. Following it won't me a problem and it has some funny and weird moments. The initial pacing is horrible then it improves same for the plot. About the characters they are funny, I really love Eiko, her personality is stunning but gives the impression of wanting her teacher for a relationship. It isn't bad, but is weird, hey is the teacher!!!! LOL. Watch the first two episodes and decide if it is read more
Apr 6, 2018
BasedGodgers (All reviews)
Slow Start is just one of those anime where you find a gif or screenshot or YouTube clip and think "hey these characters look pretty cute and the scenes look enjoyable, I want to check out this anime!" Boy what a mistake that was for me.

Story 2/10: Well, the story behind Slow Start is about a girl, Hana, has a gap year between middle and high school due to having the mumps so she spends a year studying to get into a high school far away where people won't know her. So yeah that's basically the plot (omg gap year) which they mention, on average, read more
Feb 25, 2018
havenzxz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow this anime really surprised me. At first glance I thought that well another project with plotless story and moe up the butt characters but when I give it a try, I have to admit that this anime is so goood! great animation, every movement are so smooth and the characters are very likeable. The OP is a nice ring and the story is okay. Wonder why this anime has such a low rate? To me I have nothing to complain about this anime. Its not a masterpiece but it sure is something you would like when you give it a try. 9/10!
(have to sign read more
Feb 10, 2018
Sku_Te (All reviews)
Preliminary
Whilst everyone has stated that "Slow Start" starts slowly, you shouldn't really let that put you off - the whole thing is gently paced, but quite amusing and good-natured. Don't expect large laughs - instead, expect plenty of smiles.

Yes, the first episode does have a lot of talking with the secondary characters, but it does enable you to get to know them and their foibles - you do hope that when Hana does reveal her biggest secret, that her friends are supportive. All the characters are interesting and fun to see.

The animation is certainly very nice - everything is clean and crisp, although read more
Mar 25, 2018
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
Here comes the time when all the shows of the season starts to finish up. Slow Start was the first show of the Winter season that i finished. I came out really enjoying it.

Kind of Ironic that just like the name of the show " Slow Start " The show is kind of slow at the start. But i feel it does pick up.

There is lot's of Yuri themes happening , Me being a connoisseur in the ways of Yuri, I got to say that i enjoyed this. Even if they never get together. It's nicely done with them not overly teasing Yuri and read more
Mar 24, 2018
cakegun (All reviews)
Slow Start caught me very much off guard. I went into it expecting to be routinely bored by a show that by all accounts should have been weekly filler, just a fluff show to pad out one of the empty time slots between all the more interesting shows I followed this season, and I was pleasantly surprised by how much it managed to exceed my expectations and keep my interest.

I think the reason this show stood out to me as being above average is also the largest reason I cannot recommend it fully or give it a higher rating, the characters. Slow Start hinted at read more
Mar 24, 2018
EvanLoh (All reviews)
"A high quality CGDCT anime by A1 Pictures, surprisingly."

<SHORT REVIEW>
Pros:
1. Cute girls
2. Relaxing and heartwarming at times
3. YURI!!!!!!
4. High production quality
5. Great OP and ED themes

Cons:
1. Run of the mill CGDCT anime, nothing compared to Yuru Camp and HakuMiko
2. Cliche character troupes
3. Loli Fanservice paradise

<LONG REVIEW>
Among all those big titles airing this season, it's easy to look past series like Slow Start, especially when the plot isn't anything special, just cute high school girls doing random things. However, Slow Start actually did it differently compared to other anime in the same genre. Let me explain why.

Firstly, Slow Start has high production quality, meaning read more
Mar 24, 2018
Haaselh0ff (All reviews)
SLOW START, an anime about a girl who misses her first year of High school because she got sick and couldn't take the entrance exams and must now suffer the terrible fact that she is one year older than all of her classmates. Will she be able to make any friends?! Will she become a shut-in and a social outcast!? ... I mean... probably not. Otherwise this show probably wouldn't be on the CGDCT list.

Story: Yes the story is about a girl trying to essentially make friends... and then after she makes friends it turns into just pure CGDCT. There's a sorta plot about Hana read more
Mar 24, 2018
Tomm01p (All reviews)
Is it almost always the same with moe comedies. Cute girls doing cute things without much thought beside it - it really is one of the easier genres to create. On the other hand, it is also one of the toughest genres to impress in, as you have to present a bit more to remain memorable. If it was New Game! with games or Blend S with maids playing different roles (interesting idea no matter how vague it may sound), the most famous CGDCT shows always had something which immedieatly catched the viewers attention.

In which we get to shows like Slow Start. Shows that first read more
Dec 31, 2018
Wuzzer (All reviews)
Tldr: 10/10 when it comes to reliability for viewers who are in any limbo in their life. This review is just an excuse for my to write a mini essay about the love and my relatability to Slow Start.

Slow start is, aesthetically, your typical "cute girls doing cute stuff" kinda anime. During my first viewing of the show, i dropped it within the first episode, primarily due to the overly "cute" characters; Tama was hyper active, Hana was a pain in the ass passive in every situation. I wrote them off as the typical tropes you find in these anime. However, i was very wrong. read more
Dec 24, 2018
XChizuruYoshidaX (All reviews)
I have watched so many Slice of life, CGDCT that I have actually lost count and went into slow start thinking it would be generic fluff. I was wrong, something about this show, cant quite put my finger on it, just warms me from the inside out. Every episode was an absolute pleasure to watch with soft yuri tones and lovable characters everywhere.

I would, for my own opinion place this at the top of the genre because it does it without an insane gimmick, the overarching theme being anxiety. Its just your regular highschool girls doing cute things and having cute adventures. The friendship between read more
Mar 25, 2018
AbnerA (All reviews)
Slow Start is an anime adapted from a manga serialized in Kirara magazine. Most manga from Manga Time Kirara are the comedy slice of life with girls being the main cast. Some examples include K-On! and Kiniro Mosaic. Slow Start is also a comedy slice of life with girls being the main characters.

When i first watch Slow Start, i was not expecting much. The first episode doesn't really make a good impression. Some conversations felt really suggestive, making me think that this will just lean to mediocrity with fanservice. Now after watching, i have mixed feelings about Slow Start. I'm starting to like it while read more
Mar 24, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow...did this show literally gave the "Slow Start" feeling when I was watching this laid-back SoL that's moe and comedic in a few areas.

So, for this 4-koma manga adaptation, there's literally no stories to be told, all that you will be presented is how the characters live out their lives with the one MC misfit, Hana Ichinose, being a year late into school and trying her best to play catch-up and fit with everyone else in her school. For such a series that (as mentioned) really had the "Slow Start" treatment, I was pleasantly enjoying the comedic aspect of the interactions between the characters (and read more