Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Allison to Lillia


Alternative Titles

English: Allison & Lillia
Synonyms: Alison and Lilia, Arison to Riria, Allison and Lillia
Japanese: アリソンとリリア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2008 to Oct 2, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 11,777 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2279
Members: 35,126
Favorites: 156

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 29, 2009
formosan (All reviews)
This show should be watched by aspiring writers. Its greatest contribution is that it shows how a project can have tremendous charm, good redeeming characteristics, and yet fail when considered as a whole.

A gruesome autopsy can be fascinating to a scientific observer; this show can be fascinating to a creative artist who hopes to learn how art projects can go wrong.

Let us start with the redeeming characteristics. The art designs are charmingly retro, featuring costumes, weapons, vehicles, and technology spanning a period from about 1930 to 1955. If you love World War II costumes, you might watch the entire show just to read more
Nov 30, 2008
Retro8bit (All reviews)
Allison and Lillia is a great adventure that takes place high up in the vast blue skies, while it isn't the greatest adventure title you'll see, it does remain a good watch!

Despite this title having many military action elements to it, its actually all kept pretty darn clean. There are rarely any deaths that take place, most of which are the bad guys, and there is no blood to speak of with it, which is both a positive and negative depending on your taste. Now without posting any spoilers, I can tell you that this series is divided into two arks: Allison's Tales (first read more
Nov 15, 2008
Washi (All reviews)
Allison and Lillia has a rather unusual flavour to it for an anime series. While you can see from a mile away that it is an action/adventure series with an underpinning romance subplot, it carries itself very differently from all other anime I’ve seen in this broader genre, and deals with a lot of themes that aren’t regularly explored in this medium. Perhaps this is to be expected from any anime that comes along with Keichii Sigsawa, original creator of the successful and remarkable Kino’s Journey. Kino’s Journey really tackled a whole array of social and human themes with depth and subtlety that I have read more
Jun 19, 2009
Master10K (All reviews)
“It’s a small world” well this one certainly is. Allison & Lillia is an Action, Adventure series set in a world where a war is going on. This anime did have a lot of potential to be a great series but it was let down by its own carefree nature.

The tale of Allison & Lillia is interesting because it is split into 2 separate stories. The first major focus of the story is on the titular character Allison and her childhood friend Wil. Their adventure soon begins when they journey to discover something that could end the war between nations. Even though the meaning behind read more
Jul 20, 2008
RandomOugi (All reviews)
*Review completely rewritten at series' completion (10/4/2008)*

'Allison & Lillia', based off the light novel series 'Allison' and 'Lillia & Treize', introduce a new characteristic in it's plot, presenting four main characters on consecutive generations within a same family, cleanly separated by a time skip exactly at the mid of it's duration (halfway through the 13th episode of the 26).

Story
Other than the time skip, the story is divided into various isolated small arcs with almost no relation to each other, the only persisting part of the plot is the developing love relationship between the main characters, developing which mostly consists of said characters gathering the necessary read more
May 23, 2008
az_0k (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had moderate hopes for Allison and Lillia. After all, the novel was written by the same author who wrrote Kino's Journey. Now, I'm not calling Kino's Journey something wonderful. A collection of dark comedies, no matter how good they are, rarely bring anything new to adult audiences. However, most tales in Kino's Jouney are at least thought-provoking to some degrees, and the show has a good and unique atmosphere. Therefore, I thought Allison and Lillia might be another nice little journey for me. Unfortunately it's not the case.

The low production value is the first turn-off for most audiences. The characters all lack moe qualities. read more
Aug 7, 2013
Kapodaco (All reviews)
The world is a confusing place. We have a whole variety of different opinions about how the world should be run and why, along with how people should act in certain situations. With the billions of people scattered across the Earth, to say that a majority of people believe in a single set of societal rules would certainly be a strong accusation. When all of this is taken into consideration, I could imagine how difficult it would be to draw out a realistic, yet imaginary world where nothing about our countries or cultural agendas exist. This is something Allison to Lillia sets out to disprove; read more
Feb 17, 2009
DrRen (All reviews)
Given that the novels were written by the same author as Kino no Tabi, I half expected a series that was far more in-depth but Allison and Lilia has proven to be a surprise (no unpleasantly) for me to watch and quite enjoyable for those of you who would like to watch a series that stirs up some feelings of nostalgia and throwback adventures of a simpler time.

First off to note is the story and overall feel of the series really goes for the old-school, youthful, grand adventure type of plot that I came to expect from summary. Far from the more thought-provoking journey read more
Dec 15, 2009
YourMessageHere (All reviews)
Sometimes, in watching something excellent, you can see the way a whole studio has come together in realising a shared creative vision. Other times, what you see is something like Allison and Lillia, where you can see where various components of the production want to go off in different directions and it seems like only the director is the one making them all stay mostly within the same series, with the upshot that the series has very little idea what it actually is.

For starters, there's a remarkably gentle surface philosophy behind the story. Enough information already exists about the setting and so on, read more
Dec 8, 2008
daemonblade1229 (All reviews)
WARNING: Contains spoilers. Of course, unless you are bored, there are better things to watch so you might not care.

My opinion? Average, that's all. Would be more, if only it wasn't overshadowed by what it could have been.

This anime had a lot of potential in the beginning, but it was really ruined by several things. One, the characters--despite their unique personalities and quite good voice acting--remained at a distance as they refused to express any adult emotions. Characters who were supposedly in love never kissed or hugged, characters who were married acted the same as when they were children and just good friends, etc. The read more
Jul 31, 2009
sailorlitakino (All reviews)
Allison & Lillia is an anime that is different from most. It has a sense of mystery and adventure with it. Some storylines you can actually try to figure out the mystery with them. It has a lot to do with the military and I am 100% against wars and armies but I absolutely love this anime.

Story: 10
The story is seperated into mostly 4 episode storlyines, each taking place in a different season. The first 13 episodes is about Allison and Wil, and the second 13 episodes is about Lillia (Allison's daughter) and Treize. I personally liked Allison's Arc better, but Lillia's Arc comes in read more
Mar 24, 2015
Hirotaka1 (All reviews)
It's a very exciting adventure anime. The novel were written by Sigsawa Keiichi, the author of the Kino no tabi. It is set in an alternative world with a technique 1900's years. One little story at about 3-4 episode.

Positive:
- good story
- loveable characters
- real romance between the characters
- beautiful landscapes
- exciting action scenes

Negative:
- a little rough-and-ready ending
- some unspoken fact

The anime is separated two part. There are 15 years between the parts.
The stories plays in the school holidays(spring,summer,autumn,winter).
Dec 28, 2008
Dorcas_Aurelia (All reviews)
Allison and Lillia is a children's show. At least, I assume it's a children's show, as few adults would stand for such massive plot holes, idiotic character motives, and unbelievable action sequences. Not that children's shows should be allowed to have such low standards, but adults often assume children are too stupid to notice the difference.

The story is broken up into several arcs of about 4 or 5 episodes each. The arcs usually occur some several months apart, although midway through there is a gap of about 16 years, and the main characters switch from Allison and Will to Lillia and Treize. The stories of read more
Feb 11, 2010
GreatEmperor (All reviews)
This show is very very enjoyable to watch, especially if you are really bored at home, with nothing to do.

Story: 7
The first 13 episodes encompasses the story of Allison and her childhood friend Wil, and the second 13 episodes encompasses the story of Allison's daughter Lillia dn Trieze. This creates a pretty unique story, as the characters in the first reappear in the second. The story, however, is not really focused so much on the plot, as it is for the interactions between each character. The holes in the story also lowers its value.

Art: 7
The art isn't the "wow" kind, but it is good read more
Apr 22, 2009
outlaw98 (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first read the synopsis for this anime I thought " ooh looks like a fun treasure hunting adventure anime." But after watching it, I found out it was a pretty boring anime that was not worth my time.

Story: The story had a lot of potential, but nothing came to fruition. A big problem for me was that they actually find the "treasure" about 4 episodes into the anime. This made it feel like the show reached its climax and everything that followed were just filler stories to eat up time.

Art: The art was good. It was up to modern anime quality standards, but read more
Sep 11, 2019
diegoxero (All reviews)
This anime has an interesting synopsis at first and a pleasant development in its beginnings with the story of Allison and Will, has a good soundtrack and they make you want to know that it awaits them as the chapters progress, it seems to me the end of the story of Allison it's a bit abrupt as is its final saga but it was definitely the first half that made this anime interesting.
The second half is unfortunately an exact copy of Allison's story and while i liked the dynamic between Treize and Lillia unfortunately steer ousting themselves generating a first saga of fighter jets, a read more
Nov 4, 2012
asdcvvbbd1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, This show is quite something. To say the truth it definitely has or had potential to be really good, but even though it doesnt meet expectations it is entertaining.

Why? you might ask?
Well, what i meant by it having potential is that the story is pretty unique and involves a whole different world with different problems, yet has some things that we have on Earth, like guns and airplanes and they all look the same. Basically the story takes place in a small country that looks like it would be on Earth but isn't. That's, that for where it takes place and now for what read more
Dec 29, 2017
FoxThrowaway (All reviews)
After watching Allison to Lillia, I came to a conclusion that it is not fair to judge this as a single season anime since it follows 2 (almost) different stories and sets of characters.

I HIGHLY suggest that you check out the light novels "Allison" and "Lillia and Treize", as well as "Meg and Seron" and "The Story of One continent" which are also set in the same universe and are a nice piece of literature.

The first part (13 eps) follows the adventures of Wil and Allison. If this was a standalone anime season, I would give it a solid 9.

The art is great, with a read more
May 31, 2016
Anthony_Stevens (All reviews)
Allison and Lillia starts with a girl and boy (Allison and Wil) which their country has been in an unstoppable war for a long time, they meet an old man who then tells them of a treasure which is very valuable, many people have tried to find this treasure but failed, hence they call the old man a liar. Wil and Allison set off on an epic journey in the skies. Join them!

Allison and Lillia is a great anime to watch, it is one of my favourites, It has a very nice story line, though the characters are kind of the same, some may say read more
Oct 23, 2009
TomkHz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Whenever your in need of something to life your spirits this is definitely the anime for you. Great Romance in it and it follows a very interesting storyline. I think it moves a little quickly in some places but when it's an important scene or sequence of events they are very well designed. From the character interaction to the art its very nicely done.