Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Imouto sae Ireba Ii.


Alternative Titles

English: A Sister's All You Need
Synonyms: It'd be Good if Only Little Sister Was Here
Japanese: 妹さえいればいい。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to Dec 24, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Light novel
Genres: Comedy, Romance
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.511 (scored by 70,722 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #654
Members: 159,989
Favorites: 1,012

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
The award for the most misleading title goes to…!
Probably not A Sister’s All You Need (AKA: Imouto Sae Ireba Ii) but it’s a pretty damn misleading name.

It’s definitely caused a bit of confusion for people deciding whether to watch it or avoid it like the plague, so before I start the review I feel like it’s necessary to say what this show is and what it isn’t.

This show isn’t...
-A little sister romance.
-A rip off of Eromanga-sensei.
-Ecchi, but there are few over-the-top lengthy fanservice scenes.
-A kids' show, despite how the characters appear.
-The horrifying events that occur in the first 3 minutes. It gets better read more
Dec 24, 2017
generalcdj (All reviews)
This season of anime was one to look forward to, with popular series like Umaru and Gintama gaining new additions to their story. However there were a couple of new additions that have stood out as well (namely Blend S and Mahoutsukai no Yome). That being said Imouto sae ireba is my pick of this season. The reason simply being because its good at its genre. Compared to Blend S forgetting about the settings of their MC (I can only assume it has something to do with wanting the audience to actually like her) and Mahoutsukai no yome merely touching upon dependence rather than love, read more
Dec 24, 2017
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Y'know, the realization of writing reviews on this site for four years comes with some vague existentialism of wondering if anyone actually reads the things that I write, or if I've actually improved cause these things are just sort of self-proofread without my outside opinion. Bah, I'm getting ahead of myself. Let's just get into this thing.

Story:

First off, ignore the first five minutes. As a writer, Hashima Itsuki is peculiar. After getting an earful from his editor for the umpteenth time, he goes off on his usual schpeel about the greatness that is the 'imouto', before being promptly told to take read more
Dec 24, 2017
Mezo-RPWPA (All reviews)
When this anime started airing, I had high expectations because it had lots of potential and seemingly good characters but sadly all that went downhill mid season and it felt like an annoying chore having to watch the episodes weekly and even if that wasn't enough, it even ended in the most abruptly and weird way possible.

SPOILER ALERT.

At the beginning of the anime we had the MC who always tries his hardest at writing and yet somehow he doesn't make it big, we also knew that the MC had to deal with people who were much better and more creative than him so he always read more
Nov 12, 2017
fromagefruit88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First and foremost, people need to stop judging this anime without actually watching it. So many of the reviews I see here are completely inaccurate, and it's pissing me off. Please? Actually watch the anime? Thank you?

Now, getting into the meat of my review; this anime is not your run of the mill generic imouto anime. I actually can't stand that genre, and always drop it. In fact, I have refused to even touch Oreimo. HOWEVER, this has almost no focus on little sisters at all plot wise. The main character himself is obsessed with little sisters, but spoilers, doesn't actually obsess over a real read more
Nov 28, 2017
trillrill (All reviews)
Preliminary
100% spoiler-free. I write this review having seen only the anime, and mentioning only what is revealed in the synopsis above.

Imouto sae Ireba Ii:

"Normie Barrier"

"Fanservice-driven"

"Trash"

I think every one of these labels is a great and common excuse for many people to stop or avoid watching this series. I think each is painfully inaccurate. I'll explain why I believe that is true, and why I believe this is possibly the best series I've seen this year so far (clearly it is not yet finished).

Anime, manga, and light novels are experiencing a dearth of material to bring the high school audience into early adulthood. How does read more
Nov 13, 2017
Etret (All reviews)
Preliminary
A lot of people say this is just an Ero-manga sensei rip-off. That's not the case at all.
Imouto sae Ireba Ii is an anime totally different from what Ero-manga sensei was. First, because the main character can be portrayed as an actual writer. Yes, he writes about little sisters, but he does things writers actually do in their life, and not just writers I have done some of those myself.

The story is one which portrays a man who is driven by his wish to write about his fantasies, but his editor doesn't allow them. There are also some of his friends who are writers. read more
Feb 18, 2019
Kaizoku-Otaku (All reviews)
At first, going into this anime, the first impression gave you of it is simple and filled with fanservice. However, it ends only there; it will just be another one of those all so famous Imouto anime you see nowadays. However, that's quite the false alarm, because, for me, I was pleasantly surprised to find out what this anime is actually like.

It's nothing like what you might think at first glance; it's a lot more and to put it easy, its delightful, quirky romance with a dash of a slice of life added in the mix. I won't deny you will see fanservice now read more
May 21, 2019
Confirmed_Otaku (All reviews)
Okay got to lay out some speculations-

Dropping the first episode is a mistake actually, i know the first impression was totally offbrand or i don't know.
I recommend that do not drop it because the Story and Comedy is good ( put some romance as well )

So some of my words here have spoilers ( not that big deal )

In the first episode was off, i know some of you knows, because it shocked me as well but getting through that is exciting and entertained me by what this anime showed, it is not a generic INCEST or some sh*t, i promise this anime is worth read more
Jan 16, 2018
thesmore (All reviews)
Do you like little sisters? Good, because our protagonist Itsuki loves them probably more than you do. I give this anime an overall score of 6, but that does not mean I think it is distasteful. In fact I think that some people will give this anime a 8 or 9, maybe even a 10. This review is a spoiler-free review by the way, but it would not hurt for people who have watched this anime already to read this review too.

Story:

I acknowledge how the story may seem non linear at times, but I assure you that this anime actually has an excellent narrative. read more
Dec 25, 2017
sixfourone (All reviews)
Many people will probably dismiss Imouto sae Ireba Ii. as another Eromanga-Sensei, or straightly drop the show after seeing the first minutes of Episode 1. People can’t blame them since the first episode was a giant normie filter.

Nevertheless, you shouldn’t judge it based on just the first impression.

If you’re someone who’s new to watching anime, or someone who’s not comfortable watching 'unconventional' scenes, then this anime will probably throw you off. There’s a huge amount of sexual comments even in the first episode. The show doesn’t hold back when it comes to fan service. It’s a giant normie barrier.

Your normie friend will go read more
Nov 19, 2017
Rap_Sherlock (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, first of all I want to tell you my English is bad. So if there is any wrong words, or bad grammar, please do not hesitate to tell me.

why this series get low rate before end of the season ?.
in the 1st episode. you 'll got some weird scene in first minute. but i think its not the reason for somebody go jump here and give its low rate ?
i'm write this review after i'm watching the 6th episode, its so great, and this'll be one of the best anime in this season (for me).
If you looking some anime for fun, just watch read more
Nov 13, 2017
Izitto (All reviews)
Preliminary
Most, not all, that give this show a low rating are people that haven't watched more than 1 minute of the first episode. The first two minutes are COMPLETELY different from the rest of the show and is only there for comedic effect (something it overdoes actually.)

This show is definitely brilliant if you give it a chance, that being said it's not for every anime watcher. For a nice comedic and a little bit of a slice of life anime I highly recommend this.

Do note that some of the humour is aimed at an older audience and some humour might be too sexual for younger read more
Dec 24, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
I wanna have sex with my sister.........Right..................in your dreams , Itsuki, so another harem with a mangaka author in the helm has ended which pretty much has a similarity from "Eromanga sensei" so, my thoughts on this:

Mediocre 5, story:

Pretty much the same setting and plot, except what we see here was more like a relationship of a group of authors as they discuss things relating to their works and things that occur in everyday life, like deadlines, games, taxes, slump and nosing at some else's life. And there is that, main guy who has this fetish of having a sister, or wanting to be read more
Dec 20, 2017
GeoMx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Lets see here, what is the most memorable feelings i have after watching 11 episodes...

0) The reason i started watching its because the art is GREAT! sadly, that's about it.

1) Imouto is just thrown in there to bait people, the story is nothing at all about little sisters.

2) Most of the story is spent trying to show the things that a writer supposedly does to get inspiration, which turns out to be pretty boring to be honest. getting in an airplane and traveling to different places in a day like nothing seems unbelievable.

3) by episode 6, i still wasn't sure what the anime read more
Nov 28, 2017
No____ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now, I'm going to be quite simple here. I'm seeing that a lot of people dropped this anime early on/gave it a fairly low score. Please, DO NOT drop this anime. The first 6 episodes were essentially just memes, dick jokes and character introductions/getting us used to the dynamic of the characters. However, episode 8 brought a fairly interesting turn. I noticed early on, that the Romance in this Anime was kinda lacking. But, episode 8 changed that. After seeing episode 8, I can confirm that there is still hope left, and that this could potentially end pretty well. I won't spoil anything, but if read more
Nov 13, 2017
Pria (All reviews)
Preliminary
Think about it, how hard being a novelist or mangaka? Just because people like watching anime, or reading manga or novel they can know how the writer feel.
- Story -
I like the story, it seems to be comedy, romance but somehow it shows appeal of each character. For each character, they have problem that show in certain episode, and it show how each character solved their problem.
- Character -
Itsuki, has serious side that show him how he loves little sister. This character show their other side in story. Kani, she fall in love with itsuki because itsuki help solving her problem in past. read more
Nov 5, 2017
Kuhaku_no_Sora (All reviews)
Preliminary
This wasn't orignally something that I've planned to watch in the beginning, having read the other comments beforehand. However one day, as I stumbled across it, I found that this anime is actually better than what most of us redeems it to be.

Just to clarify, I only watched the anime, so this review is written with regards to the current episodes alone (5 ep up to now) without any insights from the original novel.

Imouto sae Ireba Ii, an anime about a novelist and his friends, started off like any other daily-life animes. Compared to the others, one may think that the story is lacking in read more
Dec 28, 2017
DevWinterCast (All reviews)
A few hundred or so people have dropped this anime the moment they saw the title, most commonly because of the "Imouto" which gives off an idea of similarity to Oreimo, but it's not that. Rather, it's not really focused at the "Little Sister / Imouto" thing at all, it's just like some kind of extra detail or fuel to the protagonists debuts and works.

Also for the most part of the Comedy being about the lives of the Novelists. There's often a sex joke (not as much as Shimoneta handles) by Nayu. I'd go as far as to tell you that Nayu x Itsuki all read more
Dec 27, 2017
Knighto16 (All reviews)
First, if you haven't watched ... skip to 1:42 of the first episode, you will probably thank me.

The series isn't a Bakuman for Light Novel authors, but it gives you a good approach at the industry and allows you to learn about how things go in their "normal" days.

I put this series on hold, some weeks ago, but then against my better judgement gave it another chance and I'm kind of glad that I did, the enjoyment from the first part of the series wasn't much so I put it on hold, but ...

I rewatched ep 4 and went with 5 instantly, the 4th read more