Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Poputepipikku


Alternative Titles

English: Pop Team Epic
Japanese: ポプテピピック

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: King Records
Studios: Kamikaze Douga
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: Comedy, Parody
Duration: 12 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.051 (scored by 15,466 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #33542
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1097
Members: 71,462
Favorites: 319

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 27, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
The Anime Gods have descended into 2018...and gave us the most kuso (or shitty) anime in the history of anime, and you either love this series to death OR just don't care about it, because #dankmemes!!!

That's what Pop Team Epic is, a crappy manga turned into an anime...that actually showcases the talents of multiple people from their simple jobs of designing and drawing art for comic-sized works.

So...the first balldrop is Hoshiiro Girldrop, who would have thought. For those who have watched the 1st episode, this comes as no surprise by the time the segment ended with Popuko appearing as though they have hijacked the whole read more
Jan 27, 2018
luigi-dude (All reviews)
Bad Shitposting is STILL Bad Shitposting

Just being "LUL so RANDOM BRUH" isn't good random comedy, PTE was an assault on the senses that made me feel like I had autism, and not even in a meme way... b-but tumblr likes it so it MUST be good right!? This show was physically and mentally draining to experience....

Saw an idiot try to compare this to robot chicken, and I'm like WTF are you talking about? RC at least has consistency in its style, stop motion, and format... Pop Team Epic is like giving some seizure victims one day to shit out bad pop-culture references and gather them read more
Jan 30, 2018
skimmel (All reviews)
We have a new candidate for most polarizing anime of all time. There appears to be no middle ground on this one. You will either absolutely love this or your reaction will be that there is a special place in hell for whoever dreamed this one up.

I have devised a fool-proof test for whether you'll like this show or not. The results are based on your reaction to this joke:

Question: Why did Salvador Dali's chicken cross the road? Answer: A fish, m*therf**ker.

If you found that joke to be funny, you'll enjoy this show and I am happy for you. For everyone else I'm reminded of read more
Jan 27, 2018
Draconix814 (All reviews)
Before anyone can answer the question: "What is Pop Team Epic?" I believe a more pressing question is more like "Why in hell am I writing a serious review of this shit post?"

Actually, I have an answer to that question, unlike the first one. First of all, I love my absurd and nonsensical Chinese cartoons; I have a special place in my heart (and in some case my Top 10) for shows like Nichijou, Daily Lives of HS Boys, and of course, Gintama. That said, I don't really think Pop Team Epic can really stand up to those shows when we are talking about how read more
Jan 28, 2018
FurryWaifu (All reviews)
I know its a little early to make a review about Pop Team Epic because there are only 4 episodes as im making this review but hey other people are doing it so why not

i like it.
i like pop team epic, i think its a very funny show

Story: there is no story really,its just shit-posting and i like shit-posting fucc you. ok but really there no story its just some clips of everyday lives of two anime girls in the meme way(thats the best/only way i can say it).

Art: not much,but still good, you can see that they made the two main characters look like read more
Feb 2, 2018
Diehl-Michell (All reviews)
If you think that "wtf is this anime?" or "is the creator of this anime kill himself?", let me tell you something, It's an art. Art is Genderless, Art is beyond, and that what this anime brings to us. Even the director himself seems regret to bring this art to the audience, that's the point of art. Even van Gogh had a masterpiece art, but he depressed anyway and cut his ears.

I think the R&D of the anime co. have done enough about Moe-tasted anime, sort of kind of that... maybe that's why these anime exist Just done the Moe-tasted anime and Spit on them.
Jan 28, 2018
JeM_apelleJEFF (All reviews)
It only took me the first episode to know what exactly in the god damn hell is going on in the start of our 2018. However, because I didn’t read the guidelines, my previous review was removed. Fair point, obviously. I originally thought I can give something for this community by creating a review for an anime that I found incredibly unique but I didn’t put so much effort into it and it made my review look more like a trolling rather than serious reviewing in the end. I’m not going to do the same thing with this one now. I know for sure a read more
Feb 1, 2018
sheller (All reviews)
Finally, an anime that understands a joke isn't funny when you have to explain it.

This is what humor looks like, lads. Sorry, Gintama nerds! Loudly explaining why a situation is strange/funny as it plays out is genuinely antithetical to humor!! It's genuinely why anime nerds aren't funny!

Pop Team Epic is funny. It understands it's delivering a joke and commits to that.

Outside of that, it's pop culture humor (literally in the name, pop, etc) is intentionally annoyingly dated and silly and lowbrow. That's the appeal, that they really have the nerve to reference the dumbest things and play them into whatever nonsense script they had going.

That's read more
Jan 28, 2018
sibu12345 (All reviews)
Okay everyone knows it's shit posting. Either you like it or you don't. Comedy of course. If you're looking for an anime with a coherent story, get out now. If you like memes, retarded jokes, you'll probably love it.

There ain't a narrative, no story no nothing. Nothing like Nichijou or Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou. So don't expect much running gags or the gags forming a satisfying story line like Nichijou.

Art style seems pretty okay with it changing quite dynamically. Not your standard style of cutsie anime characters, they aren't meant to look that way. Might seem crude to some.

Sound effects are pretty good, opening song read more
Jan 27, 2018
LilyRainne (All reviews)
First of all, right after watching episode 1, I thought of dropping the series because I didn't find it funny. I only had small giggles here and there, and I had a lot of questions in mind about the series when I started watching it (i.e, "Why is it Hoshiiro Girldrop? I thought it was Pop Team Epic", "I don't think any kinda anime would work without a solid story", "Do these 4-panel comedy manga's even work as a successful anime?", etc. etc.)

Luckily, I caught up with this series up until the release of episode 2. I wanted to give the series a chance (actually, read more
Feb 13, 2018
copyrightRingo (All reviews)
YouTube Poop, the anime.
The anime is intentionally bad, and they accomplished that spectacularly.

- Story and characters -
It's about two high school girls with as many random jokes and references as possible. Nothing more. Nothing less. Don't put too much thought into the characters.

- Art -
There are lots of different animations there. From the usual animation, to stop motions, retro 8-bit style and intentionally bad ones. I usually don't care too much about the quality of the animation as long as the anime is enjoyable. So I'd say it's fair.

- Sound -
Each episode (Including the rebroadcast) changes voice actors/actress for Popuko and Pipimi. While I read more
Feb 12, 2018
Zogger568 (All reviews)
Y'all ever seen the Eric Andre Show? It's like that but anime.

It's hard to translate a 4koma into a fully animated feature, its even harder when the 4koma has absolutely no obligation to have any sort of continuity or storyline. Pop Team Epic is what happens when you try to take Vines and internet skits and stretch it into a full 25 min time slot. The timing is incredibly fast past, barely giving the viewer any time to think or react to the scenes occurring. The humor is very Japanese, relying hard on what is assumed to be common background knowledge on common TV read more
Feb 5, 2018
Mememachin (All reviews)
Hey, this hentai is pretty cool.

I like how the old man talks dirty to me while i milk my chikan, if you know what i am saying.

The other pretty cool thing is this hentai play twice, which means i can enjoy twice the pleasure, which is sick.

This is a masterpiece that Jesus had blessed on us, so love jesus and let him in your ass.

The character is also pretty cool, it makes me want to lick frogs, they say that licking frogs will make you gay, but it doesn't make me, cuz i am already a lesbian.
Feb 5, 2018
Menos00 (All reviews)
To be fair, you have to have a very high IQ to understand Poputepipikku. The humour is extremely subtle, and without a solid grasp of theoretical physics most of the jokes will go over a typical viewer’s head. There’s also Popuko’s nihilistic outlook, which is deftly woven into his characterisation- his personal philosophy draws heavily from Narodnaya Volya literature, for instance. The fans understand this stuff; they have the intellectual capacity to truly appreciate the depths of these jokes, to realise that they’re not just funny- they say something deep about LIFE. As a consequence people who dislike Poputepipikku truly ARE idiots- of course they read more
Feb 3, 2018
0m0s (All reviews)
I was a huge fan of the comics, so I was excited for this series when it was announced. I've finished watching all four episodes released and definitely plan on continuing watching the show as it airs. However, there are definitely bits that I think are annoying, particularly the "BOB TEAM EPIC" is basically just visual and auditory diarrhea. Even if that was definitely intentional, I still don't really find it funny and get disappointed whenever it's on.

Voice acting is great, I've been personally listening to the female voice actors because that's just my preference but I've seen clip of the older male voice actors read more
Jan 30, 2018
JackCox (All reviews)
Where do you even begin to write about Pop Team Epic, how do you even begin to review this show for that matter? In fact there's a part of me that wonders if it qualifies as Anime because there's some really bizarre live action sequences in these first two episodes.

A show like this is going to test you like no other. If you enjoy anti-humor like Tim and Eric, Eric Andre or the kind of shows that air on Adult Swim, I think you will absolutely enjoy this show. If you don't you aren't going to.

It's a show that's highly divisive and comes down read more
Jan 29, 2018
sunmaid (All reviews)
Shortly after the first episode aired it became so cool to dislike Poptepipipic that it reversed to being uncool. But just as the tide goes out, so it must come back in; only a few short hours later it was once again uncool to like Poptepipic. Since then Anime Experts and physicists agree that this pace of coolness/uncoolness polarity shifting in popular opinion of Poptepipic is rapidly intensifying and predict by the end of the season it will be cool/uncool to hate/love Poptepipic several billion times per second as it inevitably approaches a quantum superposition of cool/uncool.

On to the work itself... in the matter of read more
Jan 28, 2018
adolfsax (All reviews)
My first analysis ever! please don't delete it moderators.

i don't have words to describe this chinese cartoon known as anime. Basically, it consists of a mixture of high quality shitpost memes that i personally cannot understand because i do not possess an IQ of Albert Einstein unfortunately. This show is the pinnacle of all anime i watched so far and might be the most unique genres of all time even surpassing the anime Rick and Morty. It's likely to rival with number 1 anime of all time Cory in the house.

For those who wanna watch this anime needs a complete understanding of life itself read more
Jan 27, 2018
That_Guy_Why (All reviews)
Let me get it out of the way, yes this anime is basically a shit post, but that doesn't mean it's necessarily bad. It's short gags that sell themselves on absurdity, so if that isn't your thing then yeah, look elsewhere.

**Story / Character**

There is no story. The closest thing to it is that there are running gags, like the "Bob Epic Team" skits, but they don't form a narrative. As for characters, there's Popuko, the short one, and Pipimi the tall one. While there's some character traits like Popuko being the violent angry one, it's not like the story demands them being anything more than read more
Feb 16, 2018
ghjacob1 (All reviews)
Art: 7
Bob Team Epic (ボブネミミッミ) is outstanding. If you like shows like Superjail! and other comically repulsive and ugly distortions in animation, then this is the right up your alley. I find this hilarious just in appearance alone. The simplistic nature of the rest of the animation is a platform that elevates the craziness of this segment's absurdity.

Story: 5
It's a hit or miss sketch comedy.

Sound: 5
Nothing to note.

Character: 6
The voice acting is diverse enough to augment the parodies and other comical references. I enjoy how the VA's can convey so many different personalities through voices alone in this show, which is pretty critical to the read more