Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Poputepipikku


Alternative Titles

English: Pop Team Epic
Japanese: ポプテピピック

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2018 to Mar 25, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: King Records
Studios: Kamikaze Douga
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 12 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.351 (scored by 40,425 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #848
Members: 106,464
Favorites: 637

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 30, 2018
skimmel (All reviews)
Preliminary
We have a new candidate for most polarizing anime of all time. There appears to be no middle ground on this one. You will either absolutely love this or your reaction will be that there is a special place in hell for whoever dreamed this one up.

I have devised a fool-proof test for whether you'll like this show or not. The results are based on your reaction to this joke:

Question: Why did Salvador Dali's chicken cross the road? Answer: A fish, m*therf**ker.

If you found that joke to be funny, you'll enjoy this show and I am happy for you. For everyone else I'm reminded of read more
Apr 12, 2018
Aslt (All reviews)
What makes a joke funny? Is it a well-thought build-up, steadily tied up, making us want to hear the punch line established at the end of a gag? Is it the topic a joke tackles, politically correct or, even better, the incorrect one? Is it the way it's presented and conveyed to us, with the use of different signals, voice tone and other small things people telling us the joke want to use in order to increase its impact? Or is it just the timing of it? No matter which of these reasons you choose, all of them are pale in comparison to the most read more
Jan 27, 2018
Draconix814 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before anyone can answer the question: "What is Pop Team Epic?" I believe a more pressing question is more like "Why in hell am I writing a serious review of this shit post?"

Actually, I have an answer to that question, unlike the first one. First of all, I love my absurd and nonsensical Chinese cartoons; I have a special place in my heart (and in some case my Top 10) for shows like Nichijou, Daily Lives of HS Boys, and of course, Gintama. That said, I don't really think Pop Team Epic can really stand up to those shows when we are talking about how read more
Mar 25, 2018
Plasmatize (All reviews)
*This review will mention a number of jokes from the series, mostly in vague terms to minimize spoilers while still offering a point of reference to those who have already seen it*

As soon as I committed to watching Poputepipikku (Pop Team Epic), I knew immediately that I wanted to talk about it, whether by discussing it with others or, as I have now done, writing a full review of this strange beast. It was clear that my opinion on it was different from the prevailing thoughts of the community. Of course that’s not a bad thing; differences of opinion or perspective make such discussions far read more
Apr 12, 2018
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[Pop Culture References + Meme + Anime = Pop Team Epic]

[Alternative Title – Memes, References, and High Quality Shitpost: the anime]

*Part 1 of Review*

(For those curious about this series, read this review):

STORY:

Story? Who needs a story. Can’t have a story, if you never had one. It’s just random shit happening on screen because that’s how Pop Team Epic rolls. The series features a variety of humor, ranging from black comedy (i.e. gallows humor – my favorite type of humor) to surreal humor to anti-humor, and to meta-jokes and parodies.

The series features many pop culture references, such as: Earth, Wind & Fire, Pokémon, Hoshiiro Girldrop, Kimi read more
Mar 24, 2018
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
There are certain anime series that get you wondering "what the actual frigging hell am I watching"...Pop Team Epic is an epitome of that kind of series. Even though it is meant to be a shitposting kind of series, shitposting doesn't actually mean good comedy (I'll go into a bit more detail about that in my review). It had me to the point where I was questioning even why this became an anime series in the first place. I'll be frank with this, even though I'm probably gonna anger some crazy fans: this thing is actually qualified as TRASH.
I'll try to be brief with this read more
Feb 2, 2018
Diehl-Michell (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you think that "wtf is this anime?" or "is the creator of this anime kill himself?", let me tell you something, It's an art. Art is Genderless, Art is beyond, and that what this anime brings to us. Even the director himself seems regret to bring this art to the audience, that's the point of art. Even van Gogh had a masterpiece art, but he depressed anyway and cut his ears.

I think the R&D of the anime co. have done enough about Moe-tasted anime, sort of kind of that... maybe that's why these anime exist Just done the Moe-tasted anime and Spit on them.
Mar 23, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overview:

This is is what it would look like if you took all the cutaway gags from Family Guy and just stitched them together. That's the whole show. I at least chuckled a couple times, so I've seen worse comedy anime. This is still pretty damn bad!

Plot?

The plot is that random pop culture references happen. Oh look they referenced Skyrim! Oh look they referenced Dark Souls...and that's the joke. They referenced something. At least in Kobayashi's Dragon Maid when they parody Dark Souls, the joke is that a 5,000 year old, all powerful dragon is becoming addicted to a video game and acting like an otaku. read more
Feb 1, 2018
sheller (All reviews)
Preliminary
Finally, an anime that understands a joke isn't funny when you have to explain it.

This is what humor looks like, lads. Sorry, Gintama nerds! Loudly explaining why a situation is strange/funny as it plays out is genuinely antithetical to humor!! It's genuinely why anime nerds aren't funny!

Pop Team Epic is funny. It understands it's delivering a joke and commits to that.

Outside of that, it's pop culture humor (literally in the name, pop, etc) is intentionally annoyingly dated and silly and lowbrow. That's the appeal, that they really have the nerve to reference the dumbest things and play them into whatever nonsense script they had going.

That's read more
Jan 28, 2018
FurryWaifu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know its a little early to make a review about Pop Team Epic because there are only 4 episodes as im making this review but hey other people are doing it so why not

i like it.
i like pop team epic, i think its a very funny show

Story: there is no story really,its just shit-posting and i like shit-posting fucc you. ok but really there no story its just some clips of everyday lives of two anime girls in the meme way(thats the best/only way i can say it).

Art: not much,but still good, you can see that they made the two main characters look like read more
Apr 13, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Pop Team Epic is the name. Offering jokes that make no sense its game. Like it or not, it's all the same. Your sense of humor is to blame.

Philosophers, fools and shitposters all around the globe have been asking this question recently, but also since the dawn of tragicomedy: What makes a joke funny? Is there a single factor that answers to this question? Everything can be funny as long as it is presented in the preferred way. Much like with anime series, it is all about the execution. But this is still all about personal preferences, perspective and knowledge. How can a popculture read more
Mar 31, 2018
BreakingBlaze (All reviews)
ポプテピピック (Pop Team Epic) is far more phenomenal than most anime ever produced and released would ever be. It is a cultural celebration of anime as a whole from the adapted works of Bkub Okawa into many reaches of genre, style and presentation, and it's pretty shitty!

There's absolutely no need to dawn any thinking caps, judgemental barometers or even acquired tastes to appreciate everything Pop Team Epic has to offer, from the prospective yet tastefully dated memes and references, to the plethora of genres it covers from comedy to action, horror to romance, sci-fi to thriller etc., to the gunbelt array of studios and producers read more
Feb 23, 2018
whi (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is a complete piece of trash, in fact, I don't even know why TF am I writing a review for this piece of garbage. No matter how you try to look at at this anime, it's a trash. It is nothing more but a much of editing created by a bunch of idiots.
Just like the people who gave this a 1, Kamikaze Douga never wanted to create a masterpiece, they wanted to create a piece of sh*t. And the anime tells us loud and clear:"We poured our heart in to make a piece of trash."
Thus, read more
Mar 24, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Ok let's first get the shitposting out of the way <LA clicks LA's finger joints>

Pop Team Epic is a better Yuri Genre story than Citrus, Are you mad?, Shut the fuck up and die, Your motherfucking life ends 30 minutes from now!, Seen it, Watch Pop Team Epic Thanks!, Eisai haramasukoi! AND Pop Team Epic is best anime of 2018.......

Sorry was thinking about Hellshake Yano...

Pop Team Epic is one of those animes that doesn't give a shit, this essentially being an anime short where it takes the piss out of pop culture from both Western and Japanese media, subcultures and hipsters alike with Popuko and read more
Mar 3, 2018
my_nose (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hoshiiro Girldrop came as a surprise this year. What appeared to be nothing more than a generic slice of life series actually ended up being a rather heartwarming experience.
This review may contain mild spoilers, but I won't go into detail about anything specific past the first episode.

Hoshiiro Girldrop follows the antics of our two main characters, Daichi and Sosogu. These childhood friends are reunited in a peculiar way: Sosogu just kinda moved in with Daichi.
Apparently Daichi made a promise to her long ago, but he has no recollection of this at all.

Now if I'm being honest, Daichi isn't one of the best protagonists. His read more
Jan 28, 2018
sibu12345 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay everyone knows it's shit posting. Either you like it or you don't. Comedy of course. If you're looking for an anime with a coherent story, get out now. If you like memes, retarded jokes, you'll probably love it.

There ain't a narrative, no story no nothing. Nothing like Nichijou or Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou. So don't expect much running gags or the gags forming a satisfying story line like Nichijou.

Art style seems pretty okay with it changing quite dynamically. Not your standard style of cutsie anime characters, they aren't meant to look that way. Might seem crude to some.

Sound effects are pretty good, opening song read more
Mar 24, 2018
Mezo-RPWPA (All reviews)
Not everything manga or a novel can be turned into an anime and Poputepipikku is one of those anime that shouldn't have been adapted.

Most of the people who watched Poputepipikku did that because it was very popular as a shitposting manga rather than a normal one, it never had a story and was always random with stuff sometimes being funny, wholesome or annoying depending on how you personally feel, it was like a meme machine and it should have stayed like that, the anime was disappointing because of a lot of reasons. The random jokes which could be a hit or miss, the references but read more
Feb 26, 2018
digitalrocket (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pop team epic is the anime equivalent of shitposting memes, it is based on the manga with the same name which is the manga equivalent of shitposting memes.

The story or more lack thereof is mostly about Pipimi and Popuko or some random one-off character doing whatever the shenanigans of the week are, like bobsledding or competing in Shogi, sometimes with unnecessarily high stakes.

The comedy relies on the viewer not knowing what's coming next, which I would imagine limiting the reachability of the show.

I recommend this anime if you enjoyed the manga or what to try something new.

I don't recommend this anime if you think shitposting read more
Jul 27, 2018
Ali_Fuat (All reviews)
Poputepipikku is just shitposting . Nothing more than that . Do you believe that some shitposting will going to save the whole anime endustry ? I think the answer must be no but Poputepipikku showed out of nowhere and everyone liked it . Do I think liking somehing is wrong? Of course I don't everyone has his own personal taste . I just don't like Poputepipikku . The reson is the jokes are occasionaly hard to understand . Everything feels like it's repetitive and after a whole lot of shitposting (That's what i do at every social network) it gets boring . It doesn't ruin read more
Mar 30, 2018
Parvaati (All reviews)
Pop Team Epic is not art. It may be anime, if only in the most literal of definitions, but it is not art. It cannot be art. Art is a creative process, and there is nothing creative about Pop Team Epic. It is an amalgam of references strewn about in the most banal of ways. Skyrim exists. Totoro exists. Pokémon exists. That is all Pop Team Epic has to say. It just reminds you that better media exists, but in ways that are disrespectful and offensive to the time of the unfortunate viewer.

Pop Team Epic is a dreadful product. It is anti-art. It is anti-comedy. read more