Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Owarimonogatari 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: Owarimonogatari Second Season
Synonyms: End Story 2nd Season
Japanese: 終物語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 7
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 12, 2017 to Aug 13, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Not scheduled once per week
Producers: Aniplex, Kodansha
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.971 (scored by 71,570 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #593
Members: 173,606
Favorites: 3,679

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 12, 2017
moodie (All reviews)
Owarimonogatari season 2 is the conclusion, final chapter, to the main storyline presented since Bakemonogatari in 2009. And to say that it was a long time coming would be an understatement. It has been nearly a decade since I fell in love with this anime. While it has had its ups and downs it never became intolerable. For anyone who kept watching this series for this long or joined the train, enjoy the finale.

Mayoi Hell and Hitagi Rendevous are arcs with essential information that is needed to be build up before reaching the final boss. The final boss known as Ougi has been foreshadowed read more
Aug 15, 2017
Akzhu7 (All reviews)
"Everyone sees what you appear to be, few experience what you really are.'

This review does not contain spoilers. This review is not made by a blind fanatic or a hater who has nothing better to do, this review is made by a person who saw this series for more than 8 years of his life.

I'll be honest and I'll go straight to the point. I will not speak with fanaticism in my words, I will write just the truth about these episodes, my truth, nothing more and nothing less. I have no sweet words to these episodes, so if you can't digest a different opinion read more
Aug 13, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
Before the review this is my personal opinion: I am so glad that this series didn’t disappoint me at all and I had such a great time watching it . Monogatari will always be one of the best anime I saw and I genuinely love it with all my heart starting with the great characters and ending with the lessons told from each series.

This is the final puzzle piece from the Monogatari series. In this series every little detail from the other series that were left unexplained was revealed to its audience. Another worth praising writing style from the author who knows damn read more
Aug 13, 2017
Artrill (All reviews)
[9.0/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Owarimonogatari was ultimately the end of the first, and most likely the main story of the series. These last three arcs provided a good conclusion and I wouldn't be upset if that's the final Monogatari-related product adapted by SHAFT. Although I doubt it, since there are tens of side-stories, epilogues, prologues and everything in-between left to adapt. This, however, felt like a proper conclusion. Even if it wasn't what I wanted, I can't help but feel happy about the ending regardless.

Monogatari, ever since I began watching it, always left me with an air of ambivalence. If you go venture forth to the past and read more
Aug 12, 2017
Izaya-Hasegawa (All reviews)
**THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS**

Just a friendly reminder. Owarimonogatari Series 2nd Season is the 'Direct Sequel' of the Last Part of 'Koyomimonogatari'.

My, my, my. Shaft did it again. What's better than adapting one part of the Monogatari Series? Adapting flippin' all of them. I was hesitant about watching the Series at first, then, I binged watch Bakemonogatari and loved it. Now, I'm here at the 2nd Season of Owarimonogatari. As usual, I loved what Shaft did, I love Kamiya Hiroshi (Araragi's VA) and I loved the Series itself.

This has once again blown my mind. Ougi being the Final Boss still gets me dumbfounded. read more
Aug 15, 2017
AngerAndHate (All reviews)
Look. It's just another harem.

By "it," I mean this franchise as a whole, and I've seen a lot of it, starting with Bakemonogatari almost a decade ago. Really, it hasn't varied much; it's always been just another harem.

If you somehow didn't realize that it's just another harem, I can tell you it has the same tropes as every other harem:
- Naturally, every or almost every female in the harem is in love with Him for no apparent reason.
- He has the unremarkable appearance of a typical Japanese male young adult, such that He may easily serve as a self-insert for the target audience.
- Endless read more
Aug 13, 2017
ImRingo (All reviews)
***This is a spoiler free review***

While I am filled with the most absolute joy towards this series than any other long-running series that I am currently aware of, there is also a feeling of melancholy as I watch this beautifully crafted mini-series end what has been such an amazing journey. The highs and the lows of the Monogatari series are coming to a conclusion (for now?)...and it is glorious.

Story: 9/10

While it might not be fair to hold what I am about to say against Owarimonogatari second season, it is an absolute fact; the mini-series just needs to bring lose ends to an end. Yes read more
Aug 15, 2017
SumaseKyoraru (All reviews)
As I've seen every part of this series in this year, I can say this story gives the tip of the iceberg. It concludes the main arc it had, not only flawlessy, but add something on top of it. I rarely purchase the source material for an anime, but clearly, I will purchase the entire series. I am suggesting anyone, who is just astound how this 2nd season has an high ranking, just to watch the entire series in release order.

Because there isn't really an flaw, I give the story an 10.
The art was masterpiece itself. 10.
I like the OST very much and it was read more
Dec 29, 2018
Injenss (All reviews)
Like everyone who has watched Monogatari to this point, I'm obviously a huge fan of the show, which is why it pains me to say this, but: Owarimonogatari 2nd Season is overrated. Honestly, several parts of the Monogatarai series are better than this, including the first season. And while it was an enjoyable entry, I kind of expected more, considering this is the highest ranked of all the Monogatari series. But, in truth, this turned into one massive cop out after another.

MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD:

If there is one thing that I hate in any medium of entertainment, it's when creators read more
Aug 21, 2017
Apdo1 (All reviews)
(Before reading the review, or planning on watching this anime. Please do realize that this arc marked the end of the journey of Araragi's confrontations of the supernatural, amidst his occupation as a high schooler, before being graduated from being a high schooler to a college student. That being said, it's unwise and rather illogical to not watch this at the very end of the timeline, which can be discerned here (http://imgur.com/UjlhSyS). But that being said, you must watch all aired series of monogatari, excluding hanamonogatari ofc, since it's entirely irrelevant to the main story or the main attention of the plot of Koyomi, the read more
Apr 1, 2019
MigthyDoom (All reviews)
Owarimonogatari 2nd Season is one of those animes that have everything you will like.
Story: the story in this season is one of the best in all of monogatari series.
Art: the art is outstanding as ever and each scene have a lot of meaning as always and every scene have a lot of detail.
Sound: the sound is good as always every voice actor gives the feeling of what their character are thinking and feeling.
Character: in this season you will see a lot of character development for Araragi and Ougi and also it shows you the deep bond between Araragi and Hitagi and also his bond with read more
Aug 23, 2017
thetsundereguy (All reviews)

-------------------- Owarimonogatari Second Season --------------------

Well, it has beeen 2 years since the last monogatari series, and boy! let me tell you that the wait was worth it! absolutely worth it. First I have to say that the Monogatari Series is my favorite anime of all time, and this season proved why.

[ART & ANIMATION]

Shaft did a pretty good job with the art style and animation, it doesnt have a lot of details but it fits great with the anime. It is also consistent with the other series and it has an interesting way of desing, that has been seen since the first season aired. read more
Sep 28, 2017
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
Look, if youv'e gotten this far in the series, you're not gonna be reading reviews to check if you should finish. This review is for people who are wondering if this is a series that will be worth investing in, or for those who just finished the first one or two series and are thinking "...is this worth it?"

This is a review of Monogatari. The great, sleazy, sprawling empire of Monogatari. With much love and in keeping with the style of the show itself, I'll make sure it's a disorganized disaster area.

It's been a while since I wrote a review, but MONOGATARI IS OVER and read more
Aug 23, 2017
rapo1 (All reviews)
Amazing.

They did it.

Nisio and Shaft managed to give a proper ending to a series in which one misstep could bring forth its doom.

As I wasn't particularly a fan of Tsuki (in this case, just some aspects of it, as I enjoyed it overall) Koyomi and the first part of Owarimonogatari, I was genuinely mindful that this could end as a screw up, even if I had all my hopes up for it.

The recurring problem with the Monogatari series, in my view, comes precisely from its
strength. The obvious enemy of a good series that focuses on delivering its story by a lot of dialogue read more
Aug 15, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
The second season of Owarimonogatari was the perfect way to end the main story line of the series. Comprising of three arcs, the first two serve as mostly set up material for the last arc to have a lasting impact on the audience.
The art and animation is in the signature style you would come to expect from Studio Shaft. The use of the soundtrack is sparse or just serves as a backdrop to the show, except for a few moments where it's use in conjunction with an important scene. Out of all the seasons/movies of the Monogatari series, I enjoyed this particular one the most. read more
Nov 13, 2018
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

I’m not much of a driver myself.

I have a license, and I know how to drive, but I much prefer using my own two legs for some nice exercise or Uber for a new-age taxi. As such, whether my destination is the grocery store or the nearby local mall, a car rarely enters the equation for me.

Sooner or later, self-driving cars will take over the road, and I will not have to even think about driving whatsoever (since the vehicle will do everything anyway). Owarimonogatari 2nd Season also drives itself, too. Neither towards groceries nor read more
Sep 13, 2017
morekawaiipls (All reviews)
It has been 5 years since I watched gigguk's review on bake/nisemonogatari which ultimately got me into the monogatari series. I liked this series a lot when I first watched it as a newcomer to anime. Now, after rewatching the entire series, I have come to love it. These 3 final arcs are truly the end to the end, the "owari" to the "owari" to a beautifully written "monogatari".

I am proud to say that all mysteries are uncovered, no holes are left unfilled and they wrap up the franchise perfectly with a little bow. It gives that uplifting feeling that everything is over, all read more
Aug 14, 2017
Samig-Senpai (All reviews)
Owarimonogatari 2nd Season was perfectly created, I hardly can point out problems with this season and adaption. Nearly every scenes creates a tense atmosphere making the viewers iterate their thoughts what will the characters do, what Araragi will do. Apart from assaulting Hachijuki.

Story:
I personally thought the story was well made, it has mix of emotions teach parts of the story which constantly manages to keep the viewers interested. The further you go through the episodes, more the excitement grows. We all want to know who Ougi is, we all want to see what Araragi wants or does. That's why the story is perfection.

Art:
I can't read more
Aug 13, 2017
JhSung (All reviews)
Owarimonogatar Season 2 clearly solved all the problems and questions we always had throughout the series. We could say this is the end(but not technically). I really enjoyed watching this and was totally immersed during the whole 3 episodes. Not to mention in light novel as well.

The story, as I mentioned before, it answers all the questions we had before. For example, "why is Hachikuji here again", "where did Meme and Kagenui go", "why did Gaen kill Koyomi", "who and what tf is Ougi plotting." All these little questions are solved in this story. It was also outstanding of Nisio Ishin answering each question one read more
Apr 3, 2018
godofmankind (All reviews)
*THE RATINGS FOR THIS ARE SPECIFIC TO THE PART, BUT THE REVIEW IS FOR THE OVERALL SERIES*

[STORY: 10/10]
The Monogatiri series comes together well to create a masterpiece of a story. This show is much deeper than alot of people think. It is filled to the brim with philosophical arguments and great storytelling. The focus isn't mainly on action, though it does have some visually stunning action scenes. Alot of the time, it will just be conversations between characters, but this is the blood that keeps this series alive and flourishing. Without it, you'd have a normal show with above average production. This type of show read more