Gakuen Babysitters


School Babysitters

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: School Babysitters
Japanese: 学園ベビーシッターズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2018 to Mar 25, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 9174691,746 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7462
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #825
Members: 191,374
Favorites: 1,927
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2018
Canadian_Otaku (All reviews)
I don't write reviews often (or at all) but thought I'd leave one for Gakuen Babysitters. I spent 2 years in Japan working with kids aged 0-3 and this show brought back so many memories. It really is quite spot-on with the behaviour and stereotypes of the Japanese toddlers. Rules and regulations are far more relaxed in Japan compared to, say, North America, so this anime gave a fairly accurate portrayal of what life is like in a Japanese daycare. Mind, the head teacher sleeping so much may be a slight exaggeration.. XD

While a bit biased due to my own past read more
Mar 25, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
We’ve all been through a phrase where we were once a kid and behaved exactly as one. It’s human nature and God gave us a life to be part of society. What does that mean for a show like Gakuen Babysitters? The real question here if you ever felt experienced the feel of responsibility. No, I’m not talking about doing the chores and helping around the house. I’m talking about taking care of someone else in your life, perhaps a stranger or someone much younger than you are. Welcome to the world of Gakuen Babysitters.

I should say right off the bat that the show is read more
Jan 28, 2018
Kookerz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now that 4 episodes have aired, I can redo my review, but keep it true to what I originally had it as. I don't typically write reviews because I don't see the point. I can't describe it as well as others and most of the time the things I loved/hated have already been commented on in more detail than I could ever have written. But not for this one. Not this time. TLDR at the end.

Gakuen Babysitters is fantastic. It is by no means thought-provoking or action-packed. It does exactly what it sets out to do: be a relaxing and sweet anime about children read more
Jan 28, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoilers up to episode 4: Dropped

Gakuen Babysitters is unsettling. There is no denying it teaches awful life lessons. To summarize why I dropped it; it’s a show about a kid who has to take care of babies, but it somehow fails at this easy plot conceit. It tries to teach the audience life lessons about responsibilities that come with growing up. Yet at the same time it is weirdly creepy.

What makes it so unbearable:
1. There’s a pedophile side character who gets nosebleeds when he sees the babies. His name’s Yagi he’s disgusting. He belongs in a show like Hajimete no Gal, not an anime about read more
Mar 25, 2018
PyraXadon (All reviews)
A trend I find with children in anime is that they're always painted 'cute'.  Small human beings surrounded by glittery and sparkly effects who do cute things so that the audience falls in love with the tiny people characters.  It's not often that I see children portrayed as what they actually are, monsters, and it's even stranger to see a more realistic representation portrayed in a shoujo series of all things, a genre where virtually everything is depicted a lot more flowery than they actually are.

Story:

Kashima Ryuuichi and his little brother Kotaro have met with the unfortunate fate of becoming orphans after their parents passing read more
Jan 28, 2018
Halivia (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is so adorably fun to watch! The first and second episode made me excited to keep watching, but when I got to episode 3- I was sold! I was a bit nervous when I saw people reviewing negatively because of a potentially "Pedophile-like" character. I proceeded to watch with a friend and am STILL confused as to why people call this character a pedo.. He got a nosebleed around the small babies and became excited. That does not mean that he wanted to act out anything sexual.. It isn't just an anime thing when people get nosebleeds over getting excited. Some people can read more
Mar 25, 2018
SoraSenpai (All reviews)
The story is about two young...well one High School Student Ryuuichi and his VERY young brother Kotaro. These two brothers end up losing their parents in a plane crash and are sent to live with the Chairwoman of a high school. The reason being is that her Son and Daughter in Law were also in said plane crash and felt like it was necessary to take these two into her home.
Of course the catch is for Ryuuichi to live in the house he must become part of the "Babysitters Club" in his High School. So basically the babysitters club is a club where the read more
Feb 26, 2020
lovelychopper (All reviews)
this anime is a GODSEND! i've watched it so many times i've lost count!! it's such a cute and peaceful anime that i can't help watching whenever i'm feeling depressed or anxious. it just takes my mind off of things and the plot doesn't drag on for long or make you lose interest.

also, i love babies A LOT so maybe that's why i'm addicted to the anime? it's just so funny and lighthearted and such a nice change from action/romance/horror anime and i wish it was more popular because we NEED a season 2 already!

very enjoyable, highly recommend it!
Feb 15, 2021
KyriosM (All reviews)
Wow, this anime really melts your heart with cute and wholesome moments with life lessons as extra baggage. If you want a heartwarming anime then this is the one.

The story is about two brothers Ryuuichi and Kotarou who just lost their parents in a plane crash, a stern chairwoman of an elite school who also lost her son and daughter in law in the same plane crash decided to take care of the two brothers who had nowhere else to go. In return, Ryuuichi had to take her off the babysitters club who had no club members and only one caretaker. He already had read more
Feb 9, 2021
yusa_96 (All reviews)
This anime is about two brothers named Ryuuichi and Kotarou who lost their parents in a plane accident. Ryuuichi was a student of middle school 3rd grade and Kotarou was a boy of maybe of two years. They didn't had any relatives who can look after them. Then some one suggested him that there was a chairwoman of a school who was interested to take care of them. She will take care of them but in return he had to work as a babysitter in the daycare which was supposed to be known as babysitter club. Ryuuichi agreed with it and started a new read more
Dec 30, 2019
Cherry_Pixie (All reviews)
I saw it, it was simple, yet effective. I won't lie, in the first episode, I went crybaby mode. If you haven't seen the series and you're just scrolling through the review section to know people's opinion, I highly recommend you to watch this show. I won't further extend my review because there's nothing really to talk about, instead, I'll give you three words to describe it. "Inspiring, Cute, Euphoria"

Let's further talk about the elements. The story takes off after the sudden death of their parents, two young brothers named Ryūichi Kashima and his younger brother Kotarō are left alone and having no place to read more
Mar 19, 2020
FakeAccount1 (All reviews)
So, this...

To be honest, the only real reason why I watched this show is that I was really bored and while playing with the Crunchyroll app I found it.

After ending the show I came to the realization that... it wasn't something special, in fact, I don't remember most of the names of the characters...

Story:

Any dramatic set-up that the show could have is pointless because of the fact that the show doesn't really want to be realistic, so, any concept that could generate an interesting drama is resolved in minutes,

so, instead of a coming-of-age history about a teen and his younger brother had to survive after read more
Dec 19, 2020
__sobann (All reviews)
Gakuen babysitters , i first saw this anime's clip on internet. I thought it might be good somehow, But my oh my i freaking loved the show

This is filled with beautiful characters, It is literally ASMR for eyes. Not gonna ruin it for you but im gonna give you reasons to watch this show.

1 Short 12 episodes anime with each episode with two events in each episode.
2 Wholesome show that shares about family and Kids.
3 How a kid life revolves around a ideal brother.
4 Anime with beautiful crafted world.

Do try this show it is Episodic and will not take long
Mar 6, 2018
jinxthewicked (All reviews)
Preliminary
I started this anime out LOVING it, I really enjoy cute animes and this one seemed really good. The premise starts out a little sad but it starts picking up and becoming something cute and enjoyable.

Then it hits episode 3 and we get a new character in the mix.

He's explained as someone who's usually seen glaring at children, so I was wondering if it was another instance of someone disliking children, which is fine! I don't like children myself so I get it. However, we find out later, that's not the case.

He's a pedophile, played for a joke. He stalks children because they're read more
Mar 26, 2018
leosapathy (All reviews)
After watching countless shows about ecchi and shounen I thought why not watch this show about babies. Seeing so many babies run around made me feel good, and when I mean good I mean GOOD. In the sense that they were cute and what not. Or as you people prefer to say: Kawaii. Anyway, let me move on into detail about why the rating I have given it is a below average 3.

The story is about high-school kid Ryuuchi and his brother Kotarou who get abandoned, but get adopted by some rich old hag with a cranky read more
Jul 5, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Every brother out there should definitely put Ryuuichi and Kotarou on the pedestal-- as the prime example of what brotherhood could lovingly become.

Watching humans grow can be a very fascinating experience-- especially when such growth takes such literal form. Ryuuichi, the older brother, now becomes the only family member that watches Kotarou, his toddler younger brother, grow in this brand new life the two had found themselves after a devastating loss and admittedly, even Ryuuichi himself still has some growing up to do. Nonetheless, it would be a mistake to compare this anime series to Grave of the Fireflies because for the former, the love read more
Apr 17, 2019
SomeRandomWeebs (All reviews)
MINOR SPOILER WARNING - contains information from the first few episodes

Gakuen Babysitters is an excellent anime to watch. The anime came out during a time when I was really getting back into anime, and was like a second gateway anime. It draws you in with its simple premise and story, and sticks to it throughout the entire show.

The story of Gakuen Babysitters is very simple. Our main characters, Ryuichi and Kotarou, currently don't have a home due to their parents dying in a plane crash. The Academy Chairwoman decides to give the boys a home, and gives Ryuichi free education should he help at read more
May 16, 2020
asdfghjklicia (All reviews)
I'm not used to leaving reviews, so this won't be long, but I honestly really enjoyed it! The teenage characters are surprisingly diverse in their reactions to being with the kids, and that was really refreshing to see- and seeing the two female characters have some issues dealing with them was nice to see- not just because I, too, struggle around children.

The kids are the star of the show, however- the animation cements them very clearly in the 'painfully adorable' section of animated children (unlike, ahem, some shows) and they act surprisingly realistically. There's an observant and quiet kid, the one that acts up, read more
Mar 27, 2018
Dragontail (All reviews)
Gakuen Babysitters seemed like a decently good anime for me at the beginning. But as Gakuen Babysitters played out with more story clichés, and started making some parts unbearable, I stopped liking this anime that much.

Story: (6/10)
In this anime, all the episodes are disjointed and have no connection whatsoever with each other. The storyline in every episode is fine, I just felt that using clichés, such as the 'beach' cliché degraded my experience with this anime. However, to make up for it, it has some well-thought out drama scenes.

Art: (7/10)
The art was decent and enough to discern most characters from each other. However, I read more
Jan 28, 2018
zucchinichop (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is too cute. I have read/been reading the manga, and it's quite similar, but of course there are some things that are not accounted for or rushed.

It's basically a student in a babysitting club with his younger brother, a sweet and simple anime that is just too adorable.
It is sometimes annoying because in the manga, you don't hear the children actually crying, but what can you do?
The first few episodes were a real tearjerker (for me), which was quite surprising.

Some say there's a pedophile character, but honestly this anime is really innocent and there is no "hidden" meanings. It is read more