Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou


Alternative Titles

English: Elegant Yokai Apartment Life
Japanese: 妖怪アパートの幽雅な日常

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2017 to Dec 25, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.191 (scored by 16,157 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #30192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1954
Members: 47,191
Favorites: 141

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 2, 2017
riorangel21 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show needs more attention, I can't believe that people here in MAL rated this show very low and in fact this is probably one of the best show this season.

Youkai shows like this are very rare. As of now, I watched the first 5 episode and it blew my freaking expectations.

By far the show showcases

- great introduction
- great characters
- very good main male character
- very interesting backstories
- explaining some of the hidden elements of the series
- great opening and ending themes
- and great voice actors

For now, Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou is a very decent show that executes every category very read more
Dec 26, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
When I think of how best to summarize Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou I think it’s like a student's passion project. Its heart is in the right place and it's trying its best to make the audience happy. Although it may be a bit on the amateurish side and it’s clumsily made, it’s so endearing in its struggle that you can’t help but cheer it along regardless.

Story: 5/10
It’s slice of life so there's no major overarching plot. In the first half of the show, the main character Inaba goes to the wonderful Youkai Apartment and we meet all of the fanciful inhabitants. Most episodes read more
Jul 29, 2017
Engrishlol16 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*This is my first time writing a review for an ongoing series so bear with me.

6.73? Seriously? I mean this anime is not bad at all. This series deserves at least a 7 or even higher. *Deep breath* Okay here are a few questions to ask yourself if you want to see if this series is suitable for you:

1. Do you enjoy relaxing anime series?
2. Are you the type of person who likes character development?
3. Do you like supernatural genre (like ghost)?

If your answer to the above questions is mostly yes, then you need to give this a try. Since there is a synopsis read more
Jan 2, 2018
snookay (All reviews)
For me it was a very relaxing anime to watch when compared to my typical bloody, action packed, and/or strange anime that I enjoy.

I recommend this one to people that enjoy thinking about psychology and sociology. The show is focused on speaking about and showcasing aspects of the human mind. A great watch. Now, I'm going to watch some bloody anime lol. Geez they want my review even longer? Why is that, the show was good and all i have left to talk about are spoilers. Even longer? So the main character is often hinted at being gay which was very humorous to me. read more
Feb 10, 2018
nanakox21 (All reviews)
PLOT:
Here's to the new adventures where Inaba decides to move into an apartment where it contains various youkais. (Typically a lot of people would back out from it... but with him, it becomes very entertaining and he will never be bored). While he gets to settle into the new apartment... he gets to meet his neighbours and various characters throughout the series. Overtime, Inaba gets to unlock another side of him that contains his spirituality powers.

CHARACTERS:
Inaba: New resident in the Youkai apartment, high school student, kind, & caring.
Akane: Inaba's friend and neighbour, spiritualist, funny, outgoing, powerful, and kind.

OVERALL:
This is one of my favourite read more
Sep 30, 2017
Yon_Nyan (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I sat down and took a look at the offerings for the Summer anime line-up, Elegant Yōkai Apartment Life seemed like it would have plenty of potential to be a feel-good type of show. While I was hoping that it would be reminiscent of Natsume’s Book of Friends, I always remained realistic in the sense that it wouldn’t be quite as extraordinary as Natsume’s. However… I never anticipated that the show would turn into a colossal and incoherent waste of my time.

The series revolves around a kid named Inaba Yūshi. After his parents die, he moves in with his Uncle. But feeling like a read more
Jan 5, 2018
Zmijozel (All reviews)
Well, slice-of life in the apartment with the good ghosts and stuff like that... well... i kinda missed the point to be fair.

Character developement practicaly didnt happend, and overall it felt, like the story is not moving in any direction, which didnt actualy happend even in the final episode in my opinion.

If I was to say, that this show felt plain as the chest of the loli character, i would be praising it.
Still, the animation was nice and there wasnt any unbearable fanservise included, so it was at least watchable.

In comparation with the Magetsukan Kitan (manga with the similar story) I must say read more
Sep 20, 2017
AlmostSilent08 (All reviews)
Preliminary
MAL doesn't detail how many episodes this show will have but after the twelfth I felt comfortable enough that I'd seen all this show has to offer. Due to such, and the biased reviews submitted so far about this anime, I thought I would go a step further than leaving a bad rating and jot down why it's not a very good anime.

Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou on paper seems like a promising anime, and it should have been; however, the execution of what is probably good source material, dropped the ball.

Art; The style used for this anime looks dated when compared to other read more
Feb 19, 2019
tombomp (All reviews)
Overall this show feels weirdly incoherent and not sure what it's trying to be - you'd think from the title it'd focus on the youkai inhabitants of the apartments but in the first 12 episodes only one inseparable pair of the youkai are given a full episode dedicated to their story. In fact, of the 5 youkai that appear in more than 1 episode with any role, 3 are unable to talk and 1 can only say "welcome back".

On its own that's just misleading given the title of the series but the problem is the character work is poor and the plots and emotional read more
Nov 30, 2017
Aegyochan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Created a MAL account just to review this anime because it's too underrated! Honestly wondering if those that gave it less than 7 have even tried watching a few more eps. Only downside for me is the opening track and somewhat redundant "thinking out loud" moments by MC Yushi.

Firstly, the plot is interesting yet not too theoretical - personally, I feel that this is very crucial considering that a lot of an anime's intended meaning can be loss in translation and turn out gibberish. The episodes are also coherent and I like how each episode isn't ended on an abrupt note while keeping you read more
Oct 30, 2017
J4LIFE (All reviews)
Preliminary
i sought out this site to purposely add my review of this particular anime. Like most viewers, I found the initial episodes to be fairly interesting in addition to a great soundtrack. However 18 episodes later (SPOILER ALERT!), my enthusiasm has waned considerably.

The artistry whilst colourful has remained fairly stagnant with forgettable new characters all sporting the same elongated facial shapes just with different hairstyles and colours.

Character development and the yokai premise of the anime have also gone out the window at the expense of a bizarre plot direction towards episodic stand-alonish kinda PSA (Public Service Announcement ) story read more
Oct 21, 2017
Hachimitsu_Drop (All reviews)
Preliminary
There will be always be a place for you -
But a 'youkai' apartment? What can you say?
This anime is one of the anime-s out there are ignored even though its' quality as an anime is considerably a top of the line among its batch. The story revolves a high-school guy whom by coincidence or destiny lives in a apartment that is far from the 'normal' that he wants. The opening song and the ending song are worth listening to; a nice bonus to its good story. The main character's interaction with different people and others are centerpiece of the story. One will read more
Sep 7, 2017
fippo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Where to start, It is one of the most involving viewer of this season,
I do not understand why people underrated so much thi anime.

Generally speaking this one is very enjoyable, with a very relaxing pace, which helps to know and remember all the characters that appears all over the episodes.

I wont write much more than this as i'm pretty agreeing with most reviewers which gave 8 or more,only one thing i want to add i'ts no like others tons of anime series whose are full of fanservice.

Enjoy until the end, it deserves your time you won't regret it
Aug 21, 2017
DemonWolf47x (All reviews)
Preliminary
I feel like people underrate this show just because they watch the first episode and drop it immediately by just focusing too much on its budget quality art. Honestly, the quality of the visuals feel like they were made on budget, but if you can look past it, you will see that its a very chill, easygoing, and satisfying anime.

The story is about Inaba Yuushi, who is starting high school and needs an apartment to stay in. He wounds up living in an apartment filled with supernatural creatures, and learns to get along with them. There doesnt seem like there is much to the read more
Nov 7, 2018
LadySama (All reviews)
For some reason my review was removed, when all I did was update my thoughts. So I'll just add only the newer version of my review.

If anything, the episode of the Moon Viewing Night unexpectedly hit me with some serious feels, and I actually teared up a bit. This anime really ponders life hard, and makes you think about how we interact with other people.

**Art - I'm giving this 8/10 because it isn't on a high budget movie level, though I feel this helps me focus more on the story and character development.

**Story - I feel that this is well balanced. It doesn't drag read more
Aug 13, 2018
WdaCdaShdaDid (All reviews)
Preliminary
For something that initially seems like a pretty good mix of "Natsume Yuujinchou", "Maison Ikkoku", "xxxHolic", and a splash of shonen and BL tropes with largely good art and at least two good songs, this really should not be as bad as it ultimately turned out to be after around... episode 5 or 6? Unfortunately, holding out hope that it's still good only makes the Baby Boomer garbled 'morals' and other nonsense even worse as the series drags on.

The first OP, "Good Night Mare" by Lozareena is really good. The 2nd ED, "Nichijoshiki Broken Down" by Abe Atsushi and Nakamura Yuichi is also pretty good. read more
Mar 12, 2018
aislin94 (All reviews)
Preliminary
An anime to enjoy when you just want to sit back and relax. I read the manga a while back and really enjoyed it and found out there was an anime made when I returned to it last week. I do have to mention that the manga was better in a few ways, so I would recommend reading that first if the story seems to your taste.

The anime overall is fine and like I mentioned before especially good for just relaxing and enjoying it. However, while it follows the manga almost to the letter (especially the first half of it), the pacing is at read more
Dec 19, 2017
Mr-Kogasan (All reviews)
Preliminary
To start with, this anime brings back memories of me watching love hina and ahh my goddess !. Not saying they are similar to each other but how the whole community of characters in anime plays a part in their roles.

Therefore, I want to review this anime as good vibe anime or more like something everyone gets to watch it. I do urge that this anime has been underrated.

Story: Our main character Inaba suffers from losses of his parents and struggles with his ongoing life. As the story progress, Inaba encounters many situation of people having issues and ordeals. Encounters such as these read more
Nov 15, 2017
Ahogebeam (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can't understand why this anime has such a low rating, it's honestly pretty good. The art is a bit old fashioned, but that's not necessarily a bad thing that deserves a lower score. The story's atmosphere varies from arc to arc, some more light-hearted, some with pretty heavy material and somewhat dark themes. Overall the themes are pretty cheesy, with some discussions on fate. However, at times they do acknowledge the harsher truths about being human and life in general.

Personally, I love the characters and their designs. Particularly Fool (I like to call him bird DIO in my head). The youkai and yurei are read more
Oct 18, 2017
Ifferts_Flame (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL:DR Watch this anime not for a particular genre but for the sedate pacing and grand storytelling.

When I began watching Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou it was only something in passing for a slice of life story thinking it would be something silly or comical about a clueless guy surviving the trappings of a haunted apartment complex.

"Do not judge a book by it's cover.", is an old and well known axiom for a good reason.

This story is part mysterious, adventurous, dramatic, and comedic with a supernatural touch. This touch however is woven into the world, they are apart of it not just read more