Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni.


Alternative Titles

English: In Another World With My Smartphone
Synonyms: In a Different World with a Smartphone.
Japanese: 異世界はスマートフォンとともに。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 11, 2017 to Sep 26, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 20:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production Reed
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.811 (scored by 53,015 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #42062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #651
Members: 115,399
Favorites: 810

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 1, 2017
Knockator (All reviews)
Preliminary
>>If a well written anime series is a Mozart piece, this series is a bratty boy slamming his tiny fists on the same piano key over and over and over again while being obnoxiously proud of his musical prowess.<<


If you're familiar with the characteristic tropes of the isekai genre, you will spot a lot of them in this series. Some cliches are fun and entertaining, and having them really isn't a problem... unless that's literally ALL you do. There is no tension in this anime. Each and every time something interesting could happen, the show spits in your face as the problem at hand is read more
Aug 1, 2017
Derpasaur (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first time ever writing a review, so here goes...

This is not your typical anime- or I mean it is (it's practically entirely tropes), but you shouldn't look at it like you would a typical anime, or else you're gonna absolutely hate it.

Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni is, as the name suggests, an "another world" anime. Take that genre, and think of every stereotype and trope imaginable. Throw them all together, and you get this show.

Dude dies, God feels bad, sends him to another world, he gets a better life than before, he gets a harem, he's op as hell, everything read more
Sep 26, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
You know, when the main Japanese demographic your anime markets to, hates your anime, then your anime sucks complete ass. Not even pretty girls can remedy that fact. I should’ve listened to OtaKing. Well, *sigh* let's just get this over with...oh, and if you don't want to see a vicious rant on this lazy ass piece of shit that is the cheap bootleg equivalent to Konosuba, leave immediately. I'm about to go ballistic on this one.

Creative bankruptcy. It's something that any artist of any medium worth his or her salt should dread when creating a work. It's when the art has no soul of any read more
Aug 1, 2017
Sledgedude (All reviews)
Preliminary
Objectively, the show isn't for everyone. It's predictable, basic setup (protag + harem), without much real development within the characters.
HOWEVER!
I quite enjoy the show because it has that OP main character that utilises his power, sure it's silly and overkill, BUT THAT MAKES IT ENJOYABLE!

The plot is basically, MC dies - god sends him to a new world - gets some buffs - becomes OP to shit from day 1 - comedy follows.

I don't think this show is meant to be taken seriously, but more for just enjoying what's there. I've seen some negative reviews where people are saying it's completely shit, so here's how read more
Aug 1, 2017
RnDNEET021 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Have you expected something big to the new Isekai series will be released this season?

More like you can truly enjoy all those suffering things lessons like how Re:Zero taught us in every point aspects which surviving within greedy desires he deserves that dragged him from different turn which means how you loop scenarios all over again. Or A place where you started an adventurer where you had a misfortunate party filled with bonkers. Unless none of them even less amazing compare to this show.

Oh Production Reed, How can you manage to adapted something so bland from a web novel without progression and thrill or whatsoever. read more
Sep 26, 2017
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

(The Very Definition of a Generic ‘Isekai’ Show)

Noticing the word ‘isekai’ in the title, reminds me of the many related series and mangas that I’ve seen and read. Most, if I recalled, were pretty enjoyable and entertaining. I guess, you could say I enjoy the ‘Isekai’ genre to a certain extent. However, this series just yells with genericness from its lame title and boring synopsis to its dumb-looking thumbnail to its list of genres (i.e. adventure, Harem, Comedy, Magic, Romance, Fantasy) that are commonly found in fantasy romance-comedies. With all this information in mind, I immediately knew that read more
Sep 26, 2017
Aslt (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This review contains some spoilers, so keep that in mind.

A first impression. We get it from anime's synopsis, source material and sometimes even from the "thumbnail" and title alone. Something that can start a huge buzz around a particular work and can literally make it the most famous and the hottest show of the season, huh, sometimes even a show of the year, be it 2016's Erased and Re: Zero, or it can doom an anime from the very beginning, which the most recent Hajimete no Gal is a great example of. And in case of Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni, it's certainly read more
Aug 15, 2017
Aylenix (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is just like any other isekai story out there whether it be another manga,Light novel etc..
It goes for the same cliches you saw a million times over, the all so familiar character designs and traits.
But even tough it's not very original, or doesn't have the best written story out there, any good character progression, or even an amazing soundtrack that gets you in to the mood.
It's still worth watching if you actually watch anime for fun and not as some kind of critic or sport.

I find that there is no point in looking in to it's flaws because there are too many read more
Sep 26, 2017
Zaber_san (All reviews)
Throughout the generations of anime, we have been given the genre called ''Isekai'' or ''In Another World''. From the video game genre of Isekai like Log Horizon and SAO, to the parallel world Isekai like Konosuba and then this anime, we all loved and hate the genre as well.. Summer 2017 season will end soon and for the past few months, it brought us a few Isekai animes. One of them is ''Isekai Wa Smartphone To Tomo Ni'' or ''In Another World With My Smartphone''. Now, when I first look at it from it's poster, I thought the anime will be good and comedic like read more
Aug 3, 2017
jonnyb3good (All reviews)
Preliminary
So if you are a BIG Romance/Harem anime person like me, then you will surely love this anime like I am. Yes, its got its cliches, yes its got its predictable moments, BUT I don't let that get the better of me at all. In fact, if you are a heavy harem/romance anime nerd like I am, you'd enjoy the cliches and predictable moments like I do!

Honestly I know that tons of people will rip this anime a new one just because of XYZ reasons which is unfortunate, but TO ME, I am thoroughly enjoying this anime so much.

So far going from 4 read more
Sep 11, 2017
ThOmAstr (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is one of the more inventive animes of this year, if not the decade. Remember times when you had to have something in your anime? Something worth watching it for? Well those days are over!
Character development? Forget about it!
Original character design? Please, it just distracts the viewer from the real thing that's happening!
What's happening? WHO KNOWS? That's the beauty of it!
Plot and a fun way of telling the story? Who needs all that nonsense!
Intense and thrilling moments? Please, this is 2k18!
Comedy? Comedy is for kids we are all grown up here!
So what are you waiting for? You better start watching this masterpiece read more
Sep 27, 2017
Tobori_ (All reviews)

Initially I gave this a 2. But having finished the show, I was wrong.

This show is deceptively good, it'll have you think it is a terrible show, hence all the bad ratings. However this show is unique in that it goes all out with its premise, which I can appreciate.

Now, why it looks bad:
- Bad art and animation
- Shoddy cliche characters
- Bad character designs
- etc etc

Why it is actually good:
I want to start this with stating that a show should be scored not in relation to other anime in general; this show is a flat 0 in comparison to the greats such as FMAB etc. read more
Aug 6, 2017
Anime_Pro2003 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Truly a masterpiece.

From the unapologetically overpowered character to the girls falling head over hells at first sight, all of it weaved through a plot that barely holds together, plot holes a car could fall through and events that are just simply too convenient happening left and right, this series offer you everything the Isekai genre has to propose in one neat convenient package, allowing you to safely skip any anime of the genre from now on and forever.

Believe me.

Honestly tho, the girls are nice, and at least it's less cringe-worthy than Bakemonogatari.

And of course this depends on your view of the genre and anime itself. read more
Aug 29, 2017
Nazaro11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
this is the first time i wrote a review of this.

anime isekai wa smartphone to tomo has a good storyline. but many scenes from this novel LN are being cut off when adapted into anime.

it would be nice some scenes LN do not cut a lot of scenes when adapted into anime. the plot will be more interesting than usual.

I think this anime is good. in terms of the story, the character of his voice and others. but the drawback is a lot of scenes that many missed during the adaptation into anime.

I am currently very fond of where the main male characters have incredible read more
Aug 1, 2017
KiritoXxS (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before i answer the question: should i watch this show or not, let me ask you 2 things.
1: Are you one of those who hate watching Anime and have fun with the ridiculous parts and die from laugher?
2: Are you searching only serious Anime which follow a standard story line?
Oh god then no don't even bother searching this show.

If on the other hand you're just like me who LOVES watching shows that are stupidly hilarious (that doesn't stand all the time, sometimes i too want some serious anime shows to enjoy) and want to just pass some time laughing your ass off, HELL YEAH WATCH read more
Aug 22, 2017
Rejul (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all ,this is a kind of refreshing anime which I love Because I am actually fed up of most of other genre .I like anime with paralell world+comedy+harem+magic+op mc.
Unfortunately such genre always become crap.

Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni. is good and eye-candy anime,in regards of online views it shows its true color even if its underrated in MAL. Personally I love cheerful and eye-candy anime like Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni.Anime like give me soothing comfort and relaxation.

Story : A young boy named Touya Mochizuki was accidentally killed by god and reborn in a new magic world with read more
Aug 3, 2017
b1051211 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is like one of those poorly animated "other world" hentais.... with out the porn... there are LITERALLY thousands of other anime that you could be watching that are better than this show.

THERE IS NO STORY....
dude wakes up in another world and learns he is borderline Jesus with the ability to do just about anything through magic and has god on his cellphone. 2 episodes in and he only used his phone to look up how to make ice cream and taking a picture of a girl while she was sleeping...
but people will still watch it and will pick up the LNs and read more
Aug 2, 2017
AllahSemmin (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review and most likely will be my last in a while. I just couldn't understand how people rated this so bad while I enjoy this as much as most other fantasy animes! Isekai is fun, light and carefree to watch with bit of comedy and is something you can watch to escape from reality when you aren't in a mood to watch 100% realistic or some sad drama animes or so.

Isekai reminds me a bit of No Game No Life or Log Horizon in a way that main hero goes to another world due some reason, in Isekau because he dies read more
Aug 2, 2017
gorene1130 (All reviews)
Preliminary
In Another World with My Smartphone epitomizes everything that a great show like Konosuba is satirizing. Touya died by accident in the real world so G-d decides to give him another change in another world and he's allowed to take his phone with him, the only caveat being that the only person he can contact is the aforementioned "G-d." He also sets him up with some buffs which gets revealed early on basically means he can miraculously control every type of magic and just by reading a spell that took others years to perfect, he can cast it. So long as he has the name read more
Sep 26, 2017
animeisbad4real (All reviews)
Isekai waka waka smartphone desu is the very definition of mediocrity.

If mediocrity was a city, isekai famalama smartphone dingdong would be working a low paying office job in it.

Don't assume that this anime ever gets exciting just because it has isekai in its name -- because this anime is 100% through and through slice of life
*spoilers ahead* nothing EVER goes wrong. (that being said it is still somehow more interesting than log horizon)

Every episode before 12 goes like this: Touya and his incredibly boring harem go to a new location, they reach a threatening looking hurdle, touya dono casts slip and it falls over allowing read more