Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World - The Animated Series


Alternative Titles

English: Kino's Journey -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series
Japanese: キノの旅 -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2017 to Dec 22, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Lerche
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.611 (scored by 23,777 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1013
Members: 76,409
Favorites: 442

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 22, 2017
Hybrid_Rainbow29 (All reviews)
Keichii Sigsawa's 'Kino no Tabi (Kino's Journey) The Beautiful World' is one of the longest running ongoing Light Novel series in existence, generally releasing a whole volume of material every year since 2000. In that time it has received first an Anime adaptation in 2003 directed by the late Ryutaro Nakemura, and this 2017 adaptation by Studio Lerche. For fairness, I will not try to compare this version to its source material or the previous adaptation too much and try to judge it based on its own merit.
The premise of the series is that it follows the Journey of a traveller named Kino and their read more
Dec 22, 2017
Mezo-RPWPA (All reviews)
A Masterpiece anime is rare to find and it's specially rare nowadays since the shows mostly focus on bad harems and shitty romance but sometimes a new season comes out and there is that one anime that is just beautiful and tho they don't come every season but i'm happy to say that this season had two of those, Kino and Net-juu.

Kino is an episodic SOL anime with a dark tone which isn't really everyone's cup of tea but it sure as hell is mine, you start with Kino and Hermes (The mottorad) traveling to a new country with every episode being a unique and read more
Dec 22, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)

Life is a journey and the road ahead is filled with a lot of obstacles that we must overcome to reach our final destination......

First of all this is not a sequel for the old Kino it's a remake with some changes for the art style , plot and story which i will mention them in this review.So let's go on a journey then....

The first 2 episodes despite being bland their purpose is to get the viewer used to the plot, story and characters and captivate your attention with the improved animation and scenery(landscape). After those 2 episodes things get better and some episodes will leave read more
Dec 22, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"The world is not beautiful, therefore it is."

This review will be based sorely on the 2017 remake/reimagining of Kino's Journey, while references to the original 2003 will be debatable as well.

To boot, the original series was a cult classic to people who have watched it, and the reboot by studio Lerche this year made a good transition with the visuals and music, and personally and honestly this is a good watch even if it's action-packed, adventurous SoL.

This is the story of Kino and her motorrad Hermes, on an episodic journey to showcase the countries they have been to: its characteristics and what makes it stand read more
Nov 5, 2017
Nyanza (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: I have not watched the original season that came out in 2003. Also minor spoilers.


Upon reading the synopsis for this show after viewing the fourth episode, I discovered two things. Firstly, that Kino is a girl (wowz), and secondly, that anthropomorphism doesn't just extend to slapping on a pair of boobs on anything non-human.

Anyhow, people seem to be praising this show as one of the hidden gems of this season, and after checking out a couple of episodes, it's not hard to see why. The main lead doesn't yell obnoxiously every few seconds, her clothes don't explode after she eats something, and the significant read more
Nov 29, 2017
LonelyLittleStar (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do not be fooled, this is NOT a sequel to the first season made back in 2003. This season is a remake.

Story: (8/10)
As of episode six there is not much to the story but it is simple. The main character goes from country to country in what seems to be a post apocalyptic world. The world is very separated and each country she visits seems to harbor something new and unexpected. This story tells of her adventures as she travels with her talking motorbike named Hermes. She meets dangerous and humble strangers and learns new ways of life.


Art: (9/10)
As the world is "anything but beautiful" read more
Dec 22, 2017
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
To say this remake of Kino's Journey is a disappointment would be an understatement. The original 2003 series was a hidden gem of the decade that depicted a series of short stories that were parables focused on elements of the human condition observed through the traveler, Kino. The stories tended to vary in their mood and intensity, being either bizarre, insightful, or having a dark and twisted element to them. In spite of the changing moods, the 2003 Kino's Journey adaptation did a great job with balancing them out with exploring both the joys and pains of being human.

This remake sadly lacks the subtlety and read more
Oct 30, 2017
joschmo11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As I have not seen the original Kino's Journey, I am basing this review solely as a watcher of the 2017 adaptation.

Kino's Journey is... a thought provoking anime. The general tone of the show is lighthearted, bordering on the level of more day to day, slice of life anime. However, these longer periods of peace are interspersed with moments meant to look at each episodes unique situations in a more philosophical sense, resulting in a darker undercurrent to the series. Each country has its own ironclad premise, and the show revolves around Kino's observation of how these premises effect both the country's inhabitants as well read more
Nov 19, 2017
The_Erien (All reviews)
Preliminary
I personally like Kino's design and yay! for the "rare" female protagonist! But that alone shouldn't be the deciding factor.

Jumping straight to the story;

I've watched "a few" episodes of the 2003 version and I would say that I prefer the reboot (2017 version). I dropped the 2003 version after a few episodes because I didn't really like how they did the show.

In the 2003 version, I personal found that the stories were a bit "too vague" (with morals neither here nor there...verging more towards negative I would say), not to mention that Kino was acting indifferent even in the face of injustice (not sure read more
Dec 22, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
A better name for this anime would be “Kino’s Journey - The Boring World-” because of how undercooked the setting is and how insufferably boring Kino is as a character.

And don't give me that, “But Kino expresses herself through her motorcycle!” crap.
You’d think a talking bike would have something interesting to say or at least a cool origin right? Nope. He’s just as boring as Kino and he only exists for her to say her monologues too.
We get it, Kino, you’re the deepest philosopher to ever grace anime.
Now please skip to the part where shit actually happens before I read more
Dec 22, 2017
Andy_Yang (All reviews)
Note: I have not read the source material (novel), nor watch the previous anime adaptation, so this review will be based on the 2017 adaptation alone.

Kino no Tabi follows the titular Kino and her motorcycle Hermes as they travel from country to country. The appeal of the series supposedly based on the uniqueness of each country they visit, rather than some overarching grand adventure, so apart from some recurring characters, there is very little connection between the episodes, and indeed from what I heard it’s neither in the order of the original novel, nor in the order of the previous adaptation.

Therefore the enjoyment of the read more
Dec 22, 2017
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
Doing reboots, remakes, or any sort of revival of a certain work always seems to be an insurmountable task for just about any creator. It becomes sort of a balancing act where to the fans, the work doesn’t stray too far from the original that it loses the point of the original was all about, and it isn’t too similar that it feel like a rehash of what has been done before. It feels the need to appease old fans without blocking out new fans, and open up to new fans without insulting the old fans. When it comes to Kino’s journey, well it comes read more
Jan 5, 2018
KurataLordStage (All reviews)
“Sometimes having a remake of a well-known series isn’t a good idea at all because it can potentially damage a franchise for good” -Me 2017

The Orginal Kino's Journey or as I like to call it OG Kino is an endless classic that many anime fans love. It had great worldbuilding, amazing themes, and messages; the episodic episodes were well told and well written that had a point. The characters despite being episodic were all memorable and likable due to them being well written. The visuals while being basic had great direction and cinematography and music while not having many tracks was still great. Plus both read more
Dec 26, 2017
Scientiiaa (All reviews)
Kino's Journey: the Beautiful World, shortened to Kino's Journey, is a Japanese light novel series written by Keiichi Sigsawa, with illustrations by Kouhaku Kuroboshi, which is still being published. A 13-episode anime adaptation was produced by A.C.G.T and Genco aired between April and July 2003. Two manga adaptations were produced, and a new anime series aired 12 episodes between October and December 2017. As of 2017, around 8.2 million copies of the novels have been sold in Japan. Newtype USA (a monthly magazine publication originating from Japan, covering anime and manga) named Kino's Journey the Book of the Month for November 2006 and called it read more
Dec 23, 2017
Xesh (All reviews)
***Very mild spoilers for both this series and the original 2003 Kino's Journey***

tl;dr The 2017 version takes the mantra "The world is not beautiful, therefore it is" and crushes it under the wheels of a thousand horribly-animated 3D-CG motorrads.

Why a 1/10? Why does this show deserve such a low score? Easy: There is no reason to watch it. The 2003 version is simply better than the 2017 version in every conceivable way—in story, art direction, music, themes, and characters. This remake offers no new original ideas, no compelling storylines, and no interesting allegories that made the original so beloved. Kino herself has been gutted as read more
Dec 15, 2017
orkuncan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dropped. Why? Because i got bored of it after watching 9 episode because go that country, go that country, it is becoming boring, i rated it based on my feelings which were extremely BOOOORRRİİİİİİİİİİİNG. You know something absurd will happen and tables will flip flop after you watch the episode till the end. Mkay thats cool, but doing that trick for 9 episode or maybe more? Nope im not wasting my time on that but you people can go suck some "kAwAİİ bİkEr gUrl" dick. Bike can talk so what? Bloody hell that bike always says things we can guess or we know, what about read more
Nov 10, 2017
Litora (All reviews)
Preliminary
So all the reviews (at the time) haven't seen the original Kino's journey, I haven't either until yesterday and I can completely say if you like the 2017 version and can tolerate a bit of old animation, the 2003 adaptation is worth the watch.
In this review I want to compare the two, hoping to better describe the show.

Story
Both versions are episodic, revolving around Kino, the most bad-ass flat chested girl I ever seen and her motorcycle. Each episode is suppose to be thought provoking with "what if's" and highlight the faults of humans. There's lot a lot of action and the pacing can feel a read more
Jan 3, 2018
ManicStylo (All reviews)
“You stood on the shoulders of geniuses to accomplish something as fast you could, and before you even knew what you had, you patented it, and packaged it, and slapped it on a plastic lunchbox and now, you’re selling it...” -(I really hate that man)

Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World - The Animated Series, or, Kino’s Journey: The Beautiful World - The Animated Series as the gringos say (they don’t), is nothing short of one of the most disappointing experiences I’ve ever had to slog through, and I’ve graduated college. This contemporary adaptation of the light novels of the same name written by Keiichi Sigsawa read more
Dec 24, 2017
EvanLoh (All reviews)
I haven't watched the 2003 version yet so I am only reviewing the remake version.

<SHORT REVIEW>

Pros:
1. Beautiful and interesting world
2. Beautiful art and animation
3. OP and ED theme stands out very much
4. Likable cast of characters

Cons:
1. May not be as deep and philosophical as the 2003 version, as what I heard from fans
2. Constant CG usage, may bother some people
3. No character development

<LONG REVIEW>

Before Fall 2017 even started, I was very hyped for this series. If you don't know, I love anime with interesting world for me to explore. That's why I adore Made in Abyss last season. Well, after hearing a lot read more
Dec 26, 2017
Py687 (All reviews)
It surprised me to see that many of the preliminary reviews were written by users who had not watched the original 2003 adaptation of Kino's Journey. While I believe it is admirable to judge the 2017 adaptation with fresh eyes and a clean slate, I also believe there is merit in comparing the reboot to its predecessor. As a disclaimer, I have not read the LN.

Perhaps the difference between the two adaptations is best determined through their focus. The 2003 Kino no Tabi places greater emphasis on the world and the journey through its writing, episode sequence, and themes. The 2017 Kino no Tabi tends read more