Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World - The Animated Series


Kino's Journey -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: キノの旅 -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series
English: Kino's Journey -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series
German: Kino's Journey -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series
Spanish: Kino's Journey: the Beautiful World. the Animated Series
French: Kino's Journey -the Beautiful World- the Animated Series
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2017 to Dec 22, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Lerche
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 6547365,473 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #13092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1061
Members: 167,839
Favorites: 792

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 22, 2017
Hybrid_Rainbow29 (All reviews)
Keichii Sigsawa's 'Kino no Tabi (Kino's Journey) The Beautiful World' is one of the longest running ongoing Light Novel series in existence, generally releasing a whole volume of material every year since 2000. In that time it has received first an Anime adaptation in 2003 directed by the late Ryutaro Nakemura, and this 2017 adaptation by Studio Lerche. For fairness, I will not try to compare this version to its source material or the previous adaptation too much and try to judge it based on its own merit.
The premise of the series is that it follows the Journey of a traveller named Kino and their read more
Dec 22, 2017
RPWPA (All reviews)
A Masterpiece anime is rare to find and it's specially rare nowadays since the shows mostly focus on bad harems and shitty romance but sometimes a new season comes out and there is that one anime that is just beautiful and tho they don't come every season but i'm happy to say that this season had two of those, Kino and Net-juu.

Kino is an episodic SOL anime with a dark tone which isn't really everyone's cup of tea but it sure as hell is mine, you start with Kino and Hermes (The mottorad) traveling to a new country with every episode being a unique and read more
Dec 22, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)

Life is a journey and the road ahead is filled with a lot of obstacles that we must overcome to reach our final destination......

First of all this is not a sequel for the old Kino it's a remake with some changes for the art style , plot and story which i will mention them in this review.So let's go on a journey then....

The first 2 episodes despite being bland their purpose is to get the viewer used to the plot, story and characters and captivate your attention with the improved animation and scenery(landscape). After those 2 episodes things get better and some episodes will leave read more
Dec 22, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"The world is not beautiful, therefore it is."

This review will be based sorely on the 2017 remake/reimagining of Kino's Journey, while references to the original 2003 will be debatable as well.

To boot, the original series was a cult classic to people who have watched it, and the reboot by studio Lerche this year made a good transition with the visuals and music, and personally and honestly this is a good watch even if it's action-packed, adventurous SoL.

This is the story of Kino and her motorrad Hermes, on an episodic journey to showcase the countries they have been to: its characteristics and what makes it stand read more
Nov 29, 2017
LonelyLittleStar (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do not be fooled, this is NOT a sequel to the first season made back in 2003. This season is a remake.

Story: (8/10)
As of episode six there is not much to the story but it is simple. The main character goes from country to country in what seems to be a post apocalyptic world. The world is very separated and each country she visits seems to harbor something new and unexpected. This story tells of her adventures as she travels with her talking motorbike named Hermes. She meets dangerous and humble strangers and learns new ways of life.


Art: (9/10)
As the world is "anything but beautiful" read more
Dec 22, 2017
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
To say this remake of Kino's Journey is a disappointment would be an understatement. The original 2003 series was a hidden gem of the decade that depicted a series of short stories that were parables focused on elements of the human condition observed through the traveler, Kino. The stories tended to vary in their mood and intensity, being either bizarre, insightful, or having a dark and twisted element to them. In spite of the changing moods, the 2003 Kino's Journey adaptation did a great job with balancing them out with exploring both the joys and pains of being human.

This remake sadly lacks the subtlety and read more
Dec 23, 2017
Xesh (All reviews)
tl;dr The 2017 version takes the mantra "The world is not beautiful, therefore it is" and crushes it under the wheels of a thousand horribly-animated 3D-CG motorrads

Why a 1/10? Why such a low score? It is because there is no reason to watch it. The 2003 version is better, and Lerche's remake has no good ideas and none of the things that made the original so loveable. This new Kino, cutesy and staid, has only really succeeded in becoming a clunky metaphor for the anime industry at large—gutted, and a hollow husk of her former self.

Kino's Journey has been lobotomized in favour of something more read more
Jun 22, 2021
CureChronos (All reviews)
(Disclaimer: The following review may contain spoilers. Please do not read until you have watched the whole series.)

In December 2020, I made a decision to watch something a little different from the usual tastes I've developed in anime over 2020, my anime breakout year. I was quite skeptical to dive into a more serious, deep, and thought-provoking series, which is the anime I am reviewing today: Kino's Journey.

Though slow and not my type, this anime is a must-watch for anyone interested in animated stories that are more than just entertainment. It is a beautifully written piece that, as I experienced for myself, is hard to read more
Jan 5, 2018
TakaTempest (All reviews)
“Sometimes having a remake of a well-known series isn’t a good idea at all because it can potentially damage a franchise for good” -Me 2017

The Orginal Kino's Journey or as I like to call it OG Kino is an endless classic that many anime fans love. It had great worldbuilding, amazing themes, and messages; the episodic episodes were well told and well written that had a point. The characters despite being episodic were all memorable and likable due to them being well written. The visuals while being basic had great direction and cinematography and music while not having many tracks was still great. Plus both read more
Jan 12, 2018
Nyron (All reviews)
Have you ever wondered what Kino's Journey would be like if it were garbage?

Well, look no further friend!

I shouldn't have to spell this out, but this is a review that draws heavily on comparing the two Kino anime. It is not an objective view of the 2017 anime alone. I would have found it boring and shitty regardless of the 2003 show's context, but then this review would lack the indignation of seeing everyone's favorite anime indie art film reduced to a cheap and casual throwaway series.

Are you new to Kino's Journey? Well lucky for you the whole original series is available on a number read more
Nov 19, 2017
The_Erien (All reviews)
Preliminary
I personally like Kino's design and yay! for the "rare" female protagonist! But that alone shouldn't be the deciding factor.

Jumping straight to the story;

I've watched "a few" episodes of the 2003 version and I would say that I prefer the reboot (2017 version). I dropped the 2003 version after a few episodes because I didn't really like how they did the show.

In the 2003 version, I personal found that the stories were a bit "too vague" (with morals neither here nor there...verging more towards negative I would say), not to mention that Kino was acting indifferent even in the face of injustice (not sure read more
Jan 13, 2020
NotCat (All reviews)
Kino's Journey: the Beautiful World, or Kino's Journey, is a Japanese light novel series written by Keiichi Sigsawa, with illustrations made by Kouhaku Kuroboshi, which is still being published. A 13-episode anime adaptation was produced by A.C.G.T and Genco aired between April and July 2003. Two manga adaptations were produced, and a new anime series aired 12 episodes between October and December 2017. As of 2017, around 8.2 million copies of the novels have been sold in Japan. The series has a huge fan base, including the fact that the series is usually mentioned in Takarajimasha's light novel guide book Kono Light Novel ga Sugoi!.

Interestingly, read more
Dec 22, 2017
Andy_Yang (All reviews)
Note: I have not read the source material (novel), nor watch the previous anime adaptation, so this review will be based on the 2017 adaptation alone.

Kino no Tabi follows the titular Kino and her motorcycle Hermes as they travel from country to country. The appeal of the series supposedly based on the uniqueness of each country they visit, rather than some overarching grand adventure, so apart from some recurring characters, there is very little connection between the episodes, and indeed from what I heard it’s neither in the order of the original novel, nor in the order of the previous adaptation.

Therefore the enjoyment of the read more
Dec 26, 2017
Scientiiaa (All reviews)
Kino's Journey: the Beautiful World, shortened to Kino's Journey, is a Japanese light novel series written by Keiichi Sigsawa, with illustrations by Kouhaku Kuroboshi, which is still being published. A 13-episode anime adaptation was produced by A.C.G.T and Genco aired between April and July 2003. Two manga adaptations were produced, and a new anime series aired 12 episodes between October and December 2017. As of 2017, around 8.2 million copies of the novels have been sold in Japan. Newtype USA (a monthly magazine publication originating from Japan, covering anime and manga) named Kino's Journey the Book of the Month for November 2006 and called it read more
Dec 22, 2017
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
Doing reboots, remakes, or any sort of revival of a certain work always seems to be an insurmountable task for just about any creator. It becomes sort of a balancing act where to the fans, the work doesn’t stray too far from the original that it loses the point of the original was all about, and it isn’t too similar that it feel like a rehash of what has been done before. It feels the need to appease old fans without blocking out new fans, and open up to new fans without insulting the old fans. When it comes to Kino’s journey, well it comes read more
Jan 3, 2018
Goober-fish (All reviews)
“You stood on the shoulders of geniuses to accomplish something as fast you could, and before you even knew what you had, you patented it, and packaged it, and slapped it on a plastic lunchbox and now, you’re selling it...” -(I really hate that man)

Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World - The Animated Series, or, Kino’s Journey: The Beautiful World - The Animated Series as the gringos say (they don’t), is nothing short of one of the most disappointing experiences I’ve ever had to slog through, and I’ve graduated college. This contemporary adaptation of the light novels of the same name written by Keiichi Sigsawa read more
Nov 10, 2017
Litora (All reviews)
Preliminary
So all the reviews (at the time) haven't seen the original Kino's journey, I haven't either until yesterday and I can completely say if you like the 2017 version and can tolerate a bit of old animation, the 2003 adaptation is worth the watch.
In this review I want to compare the two, hoping to better describe the show.

Story
Both versions are episodic, revolving around Kino, the most bad-ass flat chested girl I ever seen and her motorcycle. Each episode is suppose to be thought provoking with "what if's" and highlight the faults of humans. There's lot a lot of action and the pacing can feel a read more
Dec 24, 2017
EvanLoh (All reviews)
I haven't watched the 2003 version yet so I am only reviewing the remake version.

<SHORT REVIEW>

Pros:
1. Beautiful and interesting world
2. Beautiful art and animation
3. OP and ED theme stands out very much
4. Likable cast of characters

Cons:
1. May not be as deep and philosophical as the 2003 version, as what I heard from fans
2. Constant CG usage, may bother some people
3. No character development

<LONG REVIEW>

Before Fall 2017 even started, I was very hyped for this series. If you don't know, I love anime with interesting world for me to explore. That's why I adore Made in Abyss last season. Well, after hearing a lot read more
Mar 4, 2019
kai_rosso16 (All reviews)
Let me keep this short but direct to my opinion, as I understand the pain of reading a long review, diluted with nonsense.
Kino's journey depicts the philosophical issue of Cultural relativism extremely well. Without wishing to commit the misdemeanour of spoiling the story, Kino's journey may be summarised as simply as Kino and his motor bike Hermes, which can speak, travelling around different countries and visiting there for a maximum of three days.
Kino is often very fair in assessing each country he visits, and whilst he does hold his personal preference towards one over the other, this may be at its subtlest and reflects read more
Aug 14, 2019
varsitychick7 (All reviews)
I'm very picky about my animes lately because I'm looking for a female protagonist that I can relate to in some way via personality, strengths or weaknesses. Kino was a fantastic character to watch! She had real substance, which made her so relatable. I thoroughly enjoyed that NO romantic character was attached to her or on her mind! In this day and age, it's so difficult to find a complex storyline for a female lead that doesn't involve romance.

Honestly, I didn't care for the other female characters because they were a part of "the woman psyche is irrational" trope, which I dislike very much. read more