Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hoozuki no Reitetsu 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: Hozuki's Coolheadedness 2
Synonyms: Cool-headed Hoozuki
Japanese: 鬼灯の冷徹 第弐期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to Dec 31, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: Kodansha, King Records
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 9,343 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6752
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2596
Members: 25,964
Favorites: 58

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 12, 2017
khanmo01 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Definitely a slice of life narrative in hell.
I don't normally watch anime like this and it didn't grow on me immediately but I must admit that the characters, the Japanese lore and the humor grew on me with every episode that I watched.
Hoozuki is hilariously dead pan and the supporting cast around him convey a good scale of Hoozuki's dysfunctions. Every episode is independent of other. Hell, even the 2 story arcs each episode covers is independent from the other even. But each segment adds so much life and color to the world that it makes the world cohesive and an absolute pleasure to spend read more
Dec 16, 2017
ElHespiritu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Try to complete this sentence:

"Hoozuki no Reitetsu is an anime similar to..."
See?
I cannot.

This is a totally original, personal, unique and untransferable show. There are no antecedents and I hardly believe it will get heirs.

I'm neither always aware of its japanese folkloric references, nor I get all of the jokes.

Minor issues.

It' s a fascinating diorama displaying the myths and legends that shaped the whole japanese culture during millennia, presented with a border-genious mix of traditional art (based on ink art, mostly) and modern anime drawing style far more accurate than usual.

Tone is both didactical and burlesque, with a sense of humour maybe somehow dark but read more
Dec 30, 2017
Scientiiaa (All reviews)
Warning: the following review is also dedicated for those, who have not seen the first season yet. Cool-headed Hoozuki (鬼灯の冷徹) is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Natsumi Eguchi, which is, as of today, her only work. Hoozuki's Coolheadedness has been serialized by Kodansha in the magazine Weekly Morning since March 2011. Wit Studio (Shingeki no Kyojin, Mahoutsukai no Yome, Koutetsujou no Kabaneri) adapted the manga into a 2014 anime television series and three 2015 original animation DVDs (OADs). In 2017 Studio Deen produced an OVA and the second season of the anime series that started airing in October of the same read more
Jan 6, 2018
ImUhhCaptain (All reviews)
It's a very relaxing show that you can just pick up at any time of the day and still fully enjoy it. It teaches you abou mythology, mainly Japanese mythology in a funny and enjoyable way. The story centers on Hoozuki and his daily life, whether it's determining the fate of the deceased or giving tours of Japanese hell to foreigners there's always never a moment where I am bored.

The art is definitely unique unlike your traditional anime with fine line art, this anime combines both traditional japanese art styles and modern day animation to create an visual experience that seems almost normal to a read more
Jan 3, 2018
tachibanahotarou (All reviews)
Hoozuki no Reitetsu is a kind of anime where it gives you an introductory of Japanese mythology especially the Japanese underworld with a lighthearted-comedy punch into it. If you are interested in Japanese folklore and mythology, this anime can be a good start in having a crash-course introduction into it as the subject itself can be quite confusing and intimidating for someone without prior knowledge of it. However, the anime did not fail to give its viewers, regardless of their familiarity with Japanese folklore and mythology, a twist of comedy yet faithfully to the original folktales and mythical stories, to provide another way in enjoying read more
Jan 21, 2019
dampensan (All reviews)
This is the second season of this series. This series basically give us a basic introduction to Hell Mythology in japan, with lots of old folktales from japan combined. However, sometimes it's not only limited to japan folklore. It also introduce other mythologies, such as chinese folklore, hell according to bible, egypt, etc. The story relies on basis daily work in hell, with its various characters and level of hell. The funny thing is that they have better work policy than modern japan itself. Some people might not be comfortable with some depiction of hell's torture despite its comedic intent. i might be the only read more
Jul 10, 2018
GrayRealm (All reviews)
Long story short, I liked the first season more than this one.

Due to the genre - slice of life (in hell) - it is simply too uneventful at times.
The main gimmick of the season seems to be retelling of character pasts and re-imagining of japanese legends. Both of those kinda lack punch.

Although, I really enjoyed one of the episodes that displayed hell from its darker side.

The art is nice and more or less unique to this anime, however, those guys blatantly cut animation costs at every opportunity they get. It is not noticeable, but there are a lot of scenes with little movement in read more