Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koi wa Ameagari no You ni


Alternative Titles

English: After the Rain
Synonyms: Koi wa Amaagari no You ni, Love is Like after the Rain
Japanese: 恋は雨上がりのように

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2018 to Mar 30, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Genres: Romance, Seinen
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 55,231 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #756
Members: 141,653
Favorites: 686

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 3, 2018
Veronin (All reviews)
Anyone who has not already given After the Rain a go will more than likely have some serious reservations about watching an anime apparently centered upon some middle-aged dude getting with a high school girl. A glance at the premise and a quick 'no thank you', most people's experience with this anime will be a few seconds at best.

True, even when one puts aside the moral implications of such a romance, these sorts of encounters are often left to erotic fiction (the sort people would do their best to enjoy in complete and utter secrecy) and rarely depicted or even acknowledged in any serious read more
Mar 29, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Human feelings are complicated. It’s hard to fully understand anyone except yourself. That might not even be a case if you find yourself attracted to someone. Yes, I’m talking about the type of person that you can’t get off of your mind. I’m talking about the type of person that makes your heart pound the moment you see him or her. When I began watching Koi wa Ameagari no You ni (After the Rain), it felt like taking a test that challenges human feelings. It accomplished that with such impact that by the time I finished watching this series, I was in awe.

Based read more
Mar 29, 2018
brainiac1530 (All reviews)
[Indirectly spoils the ending, and possibly other elements of the show. This is the sort of thing that's hard to avoid in reviews, and which I don't think should necessarily be avoided. Consider yourself forewarned.]

Today, I want to write about love. It's no coincidence that this show is about love and writing, and the love of writing, among other things, because I don't often write in the first place. From time to time, I find that there are some shows which evoke certain feelings, or thoughts, that I have to write about them. This is one of those shows.

There are read more
Feb 1, 2018
LonelyLittleStar (All reviews)
Preliminary
It all started with a broken ankle and faithful encounter over coffee.

Story: (9/10)
Simple, sweet, makes my heart flutter. Like pumpkin custard pudding or black and white cats with white socks or chocolate banana crepes.

This blissful story follows our main protagonist, Akira Tachibana, through her life as a 17 year old high school student. Though she used to be the top athlete in track and field at her school unfortunately after an injury she no longer runs. This has changed her high school life as she overcomes broken relationships and creates new ones.

During a faithful encounter on a rainy day, Kondou meets Tachibana and it gives read more
Mar 30, 2018
fastghosthunter (All reviews)
After the Rain, an anime full of imagery, symbolism, a mildly controversial plot, and hot track anime girls... I mean, two characters at the crossroads of their lives.

After the Rain could have stood to be more ambitious. It plays it so safe and measured that for long stretches of time I was asking myself why I was watching this, or why anyone was watching it.

The premise can be a little dicey and most of the fan dialogue around this show will mostly be concerning "the implications of dating someone old enough to be your parent", The protagonist/MC: Akira Tachibana, is in a bit of a read more
Mar 1, 2019
AndoCommando (All reviews)
Love is like After the Rain. In the midst of stormy conditions you can either comfortably wait inside until the weather dies down or choose to face it head-on, pressing forward through the torrent and seeing where it takes you. Similarly, passion is like after the rain; once drowned out it can leave you confounded and lost with grey clouds hanging overhead. What once before had consumed one’s lifestyle is suddenly stripped away, no longer part of who they are and now they must come to terms with this. In After the Rain we are shown two characters, each on the surface seem completely different read more
Feb 26, 2018
Down4daFall (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm generally not one to offer review of anything prior to its conclusion since you usually end up with egg on your face, however, I feel the need in this case since it seems that Koi wa ameagiri has not been given a fair shake by the wider community.
The most frequent excuse I hear is related to the age difference - this usually comes from people who'll then proceed to watch any number of Ecchi Harem stacked to the rafters with Lolis. The main female character is 17, which means she's of legal age of consent in most western countries. I'm sure you'll all be read more
Dec 10, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
One look into the premise of this show is enough to turn people off; A high school girl finds herself crushing on a man in his mid-forties who ends up being her boss at the restaurant where she works after class. Japan has no shortage in that kind of unpleasant male-wish-fulfilment fantasy in the anime industry—the older-man-younger-woman “forbidden love” type of tale. The execution of Koi wa Ameagari no You ni (After the Rain), from Jun Mayuzuki's manga of the same name, makes it less of a #MeToo story than one about two broken hearts at very different, but equally important, stages of their lives read more
Mar 29, 2018
Adanedhel70 (All reviews)
After the Rain takes the idea of slice of life and romance to a very different, analogous level. You have two people adrift in the world disconnected from their passion, if not obsession, in life. The story is as much about the intense, irrational emotions of youth as well as the surrender of dreams. It is two unlikely people connecting in the face of similar despair with young love as the rocket fuel catalyst. Two people who find they need each other in unexpected ways.

The shaping of the characters is one of my favorite subtleties of this series. Akira is single minded, intense and down read more
Mar 31, 2018
Activelee (All reviews)
When I look back on this show after everything has concluded, I find my thoughts to be at odds. On one hand, I really loved the way Akira and Kondou’s relationship was handled and developed over the season. On the other, I felt as if the show lost momentum when it focused on their interactions with the supporting cast.

For those of you expecting a straight age gap romance plot, I’m here to tell you now you’re going to be disappointed. The romance ends up being the lens through which to tell a story about two people confronting their inner struggles and how those inevitably read more
Dec 25, 2018
dazedspectator (All reviews)
Well, for being a romance story between a 45 year old man (Kondo) and a 17 year old girl (Akira), it didn't come off as creepy as I had thought it'd be. I suppose I don't have much moral qualms with it though since 17 is legal in a lot of places... barely. Anyways, I absolutely adored the art style. It's just so pretty, and well executed. I adore all the facial expressions the some of the characters make. I did think some of the pacing is kind of rushed. I did read the first volume of the manga series before this, and it's a read more
Apr 6, 2018
bakaojisan (All reviews)
This is my first review, so have patience. Warning: spoilers ahead. I think this anime is very polarizing. Some will love its visuals, which are very good, and its shift away from a controversial subject that makes them uncomfortable. Others will see it as a disjointed, poorly plotted story that loses its way after episode 7. The story advertises itself as a romance between a 17 year old girl and a 45 year old man. It's clear both from the OP and ED that this is the main audience draw.

The story starts with a depressed Akira, read more
May 3, 2018
jackiezalace (All reviews)
The synopsis of this is a little misleading. It's not just a 12 episode typical love anime. Each character has so much depth. I'll admit, I was a little apprehensive about reading that it followed a 45 year old man and a 17 year old girl, but this show does an amazing job of not making it weird.

The animation is also AMAZING. Tachibana's eyes are gorgeous. The rain scenes aren't just randomly added in, they usually happen when something emotional is going on, and watching the rain is so comforting.

Overall, I think it's a nice slice of life anime and even though I was read more
Apr 21, 2018
CanAKATheIndigo (All reviews)
Koi wa Ameagari no You ni: A forced "Play Safe"


Koi wa Ameagari no You ni threatened to touch controversial and even delicate topics, but ended up staying in a simple flirtation.

As I said in my first impressions, this series was presented with a very interesting setting to take us out of the typical high school and introduce us to the world of a family restaurant; In addition, from the beginning, it strongly opted to show us that "crush" that Tachibana had for her boss, to the point that even the girl forced the man to notice it.

However, already at that moment I noticed that the read more
Apr 20, 2018
CHLO_JO007 (All reviews)
My point of view: I didn't read the manga. (Also, if this happens to be relevant to you, I went into this anime not supporting relationships with age gaps like this one)

Story: Although this anime is considered a romance, I honestly like how the main relationship was already set up to fail. The main character was a confused young teen who "fell" in love with a goofy guy in his 40's. Rather than progressing their "romantic" relationship, they explored the factors behind it. Why does she believe that she's in love with a middle-aged man she knows nothing about? What happened to make her feel read more
Nov 11, 2018
Watashi_kun (All reviews)
Let's forget about Vladimir Nabokov. After the Rain is a literary masterpiece. The saying, "Love knows no boundaries," is often used to justify love between two people separated by age. After the Rain speaks to something similar, but in an unexpected way.

I'll say it now, I loved this anime.

Contrary to what others are saying, this anime is very much a romantic one.
The symbolism was sometimes a bit heavy-handed, but never obtrusive.

Youth is a large theme in this show. Through Tachibana, Kondo rediscovers pieces of his youth. Previously bright hopes and dreams that were shunned and broken throughout the course of his life. read more
Feb 24, 2018
Eolithist (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't even care that this review is short and unstructured; Koi wa Ameagari no You ni is freakin' phenomenal, and I had to let people know.

If you're looking for a more mature romance story that highlights the true complexities of people, relationships and being in love, you're more than covered here. It's visually stunning, chock-full of beautifully deep imagery and metaphors, hits you right in the feels, and does wonders towards a realistic depiction of the forbidden love high-school student Akira Tachibana has for her restaurant manager, Kondou.

I'd even compare it to 3-gatsu no Lion, it's that good.
May 18, 2018
KaguyaSenshi (All reviews)
I was a teenage girl very recently. And based on my own experience, this is the most honest portrayal I've ever seen of what it's like to be a teenage girl in love. It portrays quite openly all the weirdness, misplaced lust, and slight insanity of a young heart's growing pains.

(Maybe it's also a good portrayal of what it's like for all people in general. Or maybe it's not a very good reflection of the majority of people's experience at all. But I just wanted to start off this review by pointing out that I could definitely relate.)

Story: 9

Despite the fact that the main storyline read more
Mar 16, 2018
Concomitant (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought that I would write a review for this anime since the current top review is only based on the first four episodes. The aforementioned review paints an unfair and unrealistic picture of the anime. Koi wa Ameagari no You ni (Koi henceforth) is an anime that gets incrementally better as it continues.

Koi is a story far more concerned with personal growth and adulthood than the seemingly taboo premise it represents. The umbrella topic of 'adulthood' is explored through character interactions and various symbolic devices. This review will explore the themes and messages of the anime within the categorical confines of: story, art, read more
Sep 7, 2018
Katyo- (All reviews)
Koi wa Ameagari no You ni or After the Rain is not actually a romance show. So if you wish to watch a hard romance, dont expect it here. The show, show us a hard 'slice of life', how dreams affect us as living being who live coexist and don't see on what age we are.

What is great about the show is, what i expect the show to be a romance with 'unusual' set and will be have an assured ending. Well, i am really wrong.
Romance is a side genre from this anime, life is the main genre. It tells us how dream can read more