Koi wa Ameagari no You ni


After the Rain

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: After the Rain
Synonyms: Koi wa Amaagari no You ni, Love is Like after the Rain, KoiAme
Japanese: 恋は雨上がりのように

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2018 to Mar 30, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.521 (scored by 8518985,189 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #740
Members: 213,828
Favorites: 1,020
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 3, 2018
Veronin (All reviews)
Anyone who has not already given After the Rain a go will more than likely have some serious reservations about watching an anime apparently centered upon some middle-aged dude getting with a high school girl. A glance at the premise and a quick 'no thank you', most people's experience with this anime will be a few seconds at best.

True, even when one puts aside the moral implications of such a romance, these sorts of encounters are often left to erotic fiction (the sort people would do their best to enjoy in complete and utter secrecy) and rarely depicted or even acknowledged in any serious read more
Mar 29, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Human feelings are complicated. It’s hard to fully understand anyone except yourself. That might not even be a case if you find yourself attracted to someone. Yes, I’m talking about the type of person that you can’t get off of your mind. I’m talking about the type of person that makes your heart pound the moment you see him or her. When I began watching Koi wa Ameagari no You ni (After the Rain), it felt like taking a test that challenges human feelings. It accomplished that with such impact that by the time I finished watching this series, I was in awe.

Based read more
Mar 29, 2018
brainiac1530 (All reviews)
[Indirectly spoils the ending, and possibly other elements of the show. This is the sort of thing that's hard to avoid in reviews, and which I don't think should necessarily be avoided. Consider yourself forewarned.]

Today, I want to write about love. It's no coincidence that this show is about love and writing, and the love of writing, among other things, because I don't often write in the first place. From time to time, I find that there are some shows which evoke certain feelings, or thoughts, that I have to write about them. This is one of those shows.

There are read more
Mar 30, 2018
fastghosthunter (All reviews)
After the Rain, an anime full of imagery, symbolism, a mildly controversial plot, and hot track anime girls... I mean, two characters at the crossroads of their lives.

After the Rain could have stood to be more ambitious. It plays it so safe and measured that for long stretches of time I was asking myself why I was watching this, or why anyone was watching it.

The premise can be a little dicey and most of the fan dialogue around this show will mostly be concerning "the implications of dating someone old enough to be your parent", The protagonist/MC: Akira Tachibana, is in a bit of a read more
Feb 1, 2018
LonelyLittleStar (All reviews)
Preliminary
It all started with a broken ankle and faithful encounter over coffee.

Story: (9/10)
Simple, sweet, makes my heart flutter. Like pumpkin custard pudding or black and white cats with white socks or chocolate banana crepes.

This blissful story follows our main protagonist, Akira Tachibana, through her life as a 17 year old high school student. Though she used to be the top athlete in track and field at her school unfortunately after an injury she no longer runs. This has changed her high school life as she overcomes broken relationships and creates new ones.

During a faithful encounter on a rainy day, Kondou meets Tachibana and it gives read more
Mar 1, 2019
AndoCommando (All reviews)
Love is like After the Rain. In the midst of stormy conditions you can either comfortably wait inside until the weather dies down or choose to face it head-on, pressing forward through the torrent and seeing where it takes you. Similarly, passion is like after the rain; once drowned out it can leave you confounded and lost with grey clouds hanging overhead. What once before had consumed one’s lifestyle is suddenly stripped away, no longer part of who they are and now they must come to terms with this. In After the Rain we are shown two characters, each on the surface seem completely different read more
Feb 26, 2018
Down4daFall (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm generally not one to offer review of anything prior to its conclusion since you usually end up with egg on your face, however, I feel the need in this case since it seems that Koi wa ameagiri has not been given a fair shake by the wider community.
The most frequent excuse I hear is related to the age difference - this usually comes from people who'll then proceed to watch any number of Ecchi Harem stacked to the rafters with Lolis. The main female character is 17, which means she's of legal age of consent in most western countries. I'm sure you'll all be read more
Mar 29, 2018
Adanedhel70 (All reviews)
After the Rain takes the idea of slice of life and romance to a very different, analogous level. You have two people adrift in the world disconnected from their passion, if not obsession, in life. The story is as much about the intense, irrational emotions of youth as well as the surrender of dreams. It is two unlikely people connecting in the face of similar despair with young love as the rocket fuel catalyst. Two people who find they need each other in unexpected ways.

The shaping of the characters is one of my favorite subtleties of this series. Akira is single minded, intense and down read more
Feb 24, 2018
Eolithist (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't even care that this review is short and unstructured; Koi wa Ameagari no You ni is freakin' phenomenal, and I had to let people know.

If you're looking for a more mature romance story that highlights the true complexities of people, relationships and being in love, you're more than covered here. It's visually stunning, chock-full of beautifully deep imagery and metaphors, hits you right in the feels, and does wonders towards a realistic depiction of the forbidden love high-school student Akira Tachibana has for her restaurant manager, Kondou.

I'd even compare it to 3-gatsu no Lion, it's that good.
Jul 11, 2019
Tia22 (All reviews)
It was just too boring. Too slow. Hard to watch. Visuals are great though. However, not a lot is really there to see in way of the relationship between the two MCs. It was just mostly awkward staring on the girls part. slightly a waste of energy to be honest. Also, the fixation on rain is really much. Basically every other minute of the frame looks the same. Rain and water everywhere lol.

The female character is not much of a character really. I found her a bit awkward.
The male MC was also awkward at best
It also seemed the story sorter gets lost from read more
Nov 11, 2018
Watashi_kun (All reviews)
Let's forget about Vladimir Nabokov. After the Rain is a literary masterpiece. The saying, "Love knows no boundaries," is often used to justify love between two people separated by age. After the Rain speaks to something similar, but in an unexpected way.

I'll say it now, I loved this anime.

Contrary to what others are saying, this anime is very much a romantic one.
The symbolism was sometimes a bit heavy-handed, but never obtrusive.

Youth is a large theme in this show. Through Tachibana, Kondo rediscovers pieces of his youth. Previously bright hopes and dreams that were shunned and broken throughout the course of his life. read more
Dec 6, 2020
KimmyBunny (All reviews)
I would like to remind anyone who's avoiding watching this show because of the age gap. Let me first tell that it's not the kind of relationship you're thinking. It more of a platonic relationship, so please keep that in mind.

Anyways on to my review.

Story: 9/10
So in simplest terms it's about this girl who's on the track team. That works at a diner, where she meets her crush the manager. A 45 year old divorced man. She doesn't know why she likes this man. Going out of her way to help out with his kid and him.

Art: 10/10
I think this art is read more
Jul 10, 2020
CentralDogma22 (All reviews)
First, let me state what I appreciated of this anime. As per usual, Wit Studio made a wonderfully animated series. The characters and scenes are all beautifully drawn and, to me, this was the primary (if not only) well done aspect of the show.

Despite the appeal of its aesthetics I had to force myself through this series. Superficially it is supposed to entice with its provocative scenario, but its really just another story of adolescent angst. Now, stories like these aren't inherently bad to me but I think this show could have done much MUCH more with its story. To be honest, if it wasn't read more
Dec 25, 2018
dazedspectator (All reviews)
Well, for being a romance story between a 45 year old man (Kondo) and a 17 year old girl (Akira), it didn't come off as creepy as I had thought it'd be. I suppose I don't have much moral qualms with it though since 17 is legal in a lot of places... barely. Anyways, I absolutely adored the art style. It's just so pretty, and well executed. I adore all the facial expressions the some of the characters make. I did think some of the pacing is kind of rushed. I did read the first volume of the manga series before this, and it's a read more
Mar 21, 2019
hunter_alig (All reviews)
I'm not someone that is an anime fanatic or an actual reviewer, so take my rant with a grain of salt. In return, I'll write something that isn't a nine-page essay. After the rain was an anime so poor in it's Story and Character Design I had to put into type exactly how much it was bad. For someone like me, that has never made a review, to say it's bad, is saying something. The story begins as a slightly pervy romantic tale of a girl trying to get with a guy double or triple her age, if the premise wasn't cringing enough, don't worry, read more
Mar 4, 2021
Janember (All reviews)
I have been taken into an emotional adventure and I am gracefully busting through it as I find myself taken afar by two chracters who finds their resolution, hope, and dreams.

Koi wa Ameagari no You ni is an absolute emotional masterpiece with its great representation of romantic wholesomeness you may feel when falling head over heels to someone, makes it somehow relatable with the female audience and maybe some of our male audience. The show is Emotionally and Visually stunning. They are able to support scenes with very cute atmospheric structure, great ambience in different situations, cute sound effects supporting such scenes, and overall read more
Feb 5, 2021
Vanillaaisu (All reviews)
I stumbled upon this anime accidentally, I didn't know what it was about nor its genre because I was looking for something new. Thank god, I found After the Rain. At first I was skeptical with the theme of long age-gap couples, but as I continued watching, the anime was more into coming-of-age genre rather than romance. I am personally not a fan of long age gap romances but this anime really handled that topic well.

The story was bittersweet to me, like I had this huge lump in my chest while watching it because of the 'lost soul' vibe the characters gave off. The read more
May 3, 2018
jackiezalace (All reviews)
The synopsis of this is a little misleading. It's not just a 12 episode typical love anime. Each character has so much depth. I'll admit, I was a little apprehensive about reading that it followed a 45 year old man and a 17 year old girl, but this show does an amazing job of not making it weird.

The animation is also AMAZING. Tachibana's eyes are gorgeous. The rain scenes aren't just randomly added in, they usually happen when something emotional is going on, and watching the rain is so comforting.

Overall, I think it's a nice slice of life anime and even though I was read more
Mar 31, 2018
Activelee (All reviews)
When I look back on this show after everything has concluded, I find my thoughts to be at odds. On one hand, I really loved the way Akira and Kondou’s relationship was handled and developed over the season. On the other, I felt as if the show lost momentum when it focused on their interactions with the supporting cast.

For those of you expecting a straight age gap romance plot, I’m here to tell you now you’re going to be disappointed. The romance ends up being the lens through which to tell a story about two people confronting their inner struggles and how those inevitably read more
Oct 15, 2020
Akira_Habane (All reviews)

At first glance, the 1st few episodes of After the Rain was all about a 17-year old girl having an immense crush towards some 45-year old middle aged man – but it’s far more than that…deeper than that.

It tackles something we experience even up to this point, and something that we’ve yet to grasp and cling upon to – passion. On the surface level, After the Rain is about love at first sight which I’ve pretty much can relate to since I’m the type of guy that will fall head-over-heels the moment someone brings light to me during my darkest times. And this anime portrayed read more