Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Love Live! Sunshine!! 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: Love Live! Sunshine!! Season 2
Synonyms: Love Live! School Idol Project: Sunshine!!
Japanese: ラブライブ!サンシャイン!! 第2期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2017 to Dec 30, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 17,825 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9252
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1638
Members: 45,544
Favorites: 778

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 30, 2017
Yuni (All reviews)
*DISCLAIMER: A very unorganized and SOMEWHAT SPOILERY "review" of Sunshine s2 which might ruin your viewing experience, so I'll just say "you're welcome" in advance for saving your time.

The Love Live franchise has a knack for being the defier of expectations. Those who go into the series expecting nothing but cancer usually end up taking something positive from the experience. Those who go in expecting happy rainbows and sunshine only get slapped in the face with the cold reality that is School Idol Hell. Love Live Sunshine s2 is no exception to this rule, for what was set up to be potentially the greatest installment read more
Dec 30, 2017
RenommusZrev14 (All reviews)
Love Live has come a long way. It’s difficult to imagine now, but when the first season of School Idol Project started back in 2013, idol anime as we know it today didn’t really exist. Just as µ's was the guiding light for the world of school idols, the franchise led the way for the genre, and by the time of the School Idol Movie, it really had become a global phenomenon. So when µ's retired and Aqours stepped forward to take its place, fans were understandably upset and worried that this new iteration would tarnish or override the franchise’s legacy. But it was never read more
Dec 30, 2017
dadnaya (All reviews)
Ok, Let's talk real now.

I didn't come to watch Love Live Sunshine because I looked for some intense and deep story that involves time traveling or... something like that.

I came here looking for cute idols singing, dancing, aiming high and getting there.
And I got exactly what I was looking for.

In Season 2 we didn't really have a "special" story. It's pretty similar to School Idol Project, with the school being at risk, 3rd years leaving and such. But, it felt like it fit to give some background story so I liked it in the end. (7/10 for Story)

The animation and art was outstanding. The CGI read more
Nov 17, 2017
Aretheus (All reviews)
Preliminary
My original review was already really long. And I still stand by all of it. So, I'm just gonna link a pic of that here (https://imgur.com/a/4Bfs5) so that I have more space to talk about a revelation that dawned on me recently. I swear I'm not going to do this often.

So, I'm now 6 episodes in. And I've bumped up my scores for:
Story: From 3 to 6
Art: Remaining at 9
Sound: From 7 to 8
Characters: From 5 to 7
Overall: From 7 to 8
Enjoyment: From 7 to 8

So, you may wonder be wondering. What could have possibly happened to change all of these scores? Basically, the performances read more
Dec 30, 2017
Soni_Scizor (All reviews)
The following was written after the 1st episode stream:
------------------------------------------------
The new season of Love Live! Sunshine is here, and with it a new whole goal.

First of, the visual part was absolutely beautiful, word´s can´t describe how gorgeous the animation is, there´s no doubt that this is the peak of Love Live! animation, the opening sequence goes through various settings which all are detailed perfectly, accompanied by the new opening theme "Mirai no Bokura wa Shitteru yo", which set the stage for a memorable season.

As for the story goes, you can see the development that the characters had in season one, but maintaining that ambitious nature of read more
Jan 3, 2018
MagicalMahou (All reviews)
I need to write this.

I feel compelled to write this.

A single 'tags' box can't possibly contain all of my thoughts and feelings for this season.

So, before we get right to it, heavy spoilers, if there's anything worth spoiling anyway.

Ready? Okay.

Love Live Sunshine S2 is shit.

After S1 set the bar for what was, most likely, to be the best season of Love Live ever, maybe even surpassing the masterful S2, ended up being the corniest, most obnoxious, most mind-numbingly boring, most underwhelming experience I've ever had with a piece of entertainment. Yup, this thing is down there with Terminator Salvation and Bioshock 2. But, to read more
Jan 3, 2018
RainDancing (All reviews)
Man. I like Love Live. I loved the first series along with the first season of the second series. I don't expect much from this show because it isn't much, to begin with. It's the kind of show you turn your mind off to and just have fun with. It's about a group of kids working to achieve their dream. But this season really knocked it out of the park with being boring and melodramatic. I hate to say that.

Story: 5/10
The story relies on cute girls doing cute things to achieve their goal of being "radiant." That isn't a totally bad thing in itself but read more
Dec 23, 2017
EvanLoh (All reviews)
Preliminary
<SHORT REVIEW>

Pros:
1. Beautiful music
2. CG way better than 1st season
3. Individual character developments
4. Went to a separate route different from the original series
5. A collaboration with another idol group

Cons:
1. First 3 episodes were a sore to get through, so many meme materials.

<LONG REVIEW>

I hated the second season at first. There were just too many meme materials. It's seriously annoying to watch. I struggled through the first 3 episodes and after the first song came out, this series became more and more better, until the point that I rated it an 8/10.

If you don't know, I started watching more anime because of Love Live. I love read more
Jan 13, 2018
MP7373 (All reviews)
I want to write my impressions of Love Live Sunshine!! season 2 but don't feel like I have that much to say so I will just list what is on my mind.

In season one the characters, while enjoyable, felt like they relied too much on their gimmicks and would fall apart in a longer series. This season address that concern and actualizes many of the characters that felt too gimmicky, especially Ruby and Dia whose relationship is focused on in a later episode. Basically the gimmicks are already established, and still used, but this season spends more time making each girl feel like a real read more
Jan 3, 2018
Antimeta (All reviews)
SPOILER FREE

That was the Rubesty, Zura!

Really though, Love Live Sunshine! has been really good. I'll be the first to say that the original grasped me more (as I'm a HUGE fan), but this was still amazing nonetheless! Love Live Sunshine has been a treat, full of smiles, songs as good as the original and improved CGI.

If you're a Love Live fan watch this season for sure, if you haven't seen it before, be sure to watch the original first i'd say (but this isn't a bad start either).

Won't bore you anymore with my fan-girling, now for the more analytic stuff;

Story: 8

Originally this score was lower read more
Jan 1, 2018
Gregiboi (All reviews)
Oof, another season of Love Live, the anime filled with happy smiles, dancing, singing and feelings that make you want to end your suffering. It's honestly cringy when you look at it, it's the ironically unironical meme material for the lads and the loved anime to weebs and kiddos - you either love it or hate it, there really isn't a strong middle ground.

Making this review makes me question my existence - any of the following statements will be based on my opinion.


• This season truly had it's ups and downs - from the deep moments and feelings down to you wanting read more
Dec 30, 2017
peh-soh-nah (All reviews)
This show isn't for everyone. If you are annoyed by cheesy moments, lots of emotional and melodramatic moments, your probably not gonna like the show. But for me, I enjoyed it thoroughly. Sure it's cheesy, but it's overflowing with charm.

Story: Story is pretty ok. I really didn't like the "saving the school" plot of the last season but this season actually made it me care more about it without having the plot take up almost every episode. A step in the right direction but I still would've preferred it not be so plot-heavy

Art: The normal 2D art is acceptable but the CG has really made read more
Jan 16, 2018
Izuna_Desu (All reviews)
Meh.
Cringiest anime I had ever watched. Worse than Love Live even the first season of sunshine. This is also my first review. I need to do a review to warn the folks out there to not watch this anime if you're not a fan of idols. I repeat, do not watch if you're not a fan of idols.

The cringe here is very real. I almost gave this a 1 overall but there is some few laughs here and there so I give it a 2.

In terms of story.....meh. Muse did it better and a LOT less cringy.

In terms of characters....eh, I'm not really invested read more
Dec 30, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
0 to 1,1 to 100...

Love Live Sunshine's 2nd Season by the by gives us the conclusion to Aquors journey to the Love Live stage with all the hijinks and heartbreak all under the banner of fixing the mistakes of the original Love Live series and doing it well.

LA first thought that Sunshine's spinoff series was nothing but a pale imitation and meta joke to the original series, however by this second season, this season utterly changed what LA thought of Aquors and their goal.

The second season left off from the first, but this time more character development from the characters that "kinda" needed it. Let's read more
Jan 11, 2018
GravesRobber (All reviews)
All here is very brand-new Love Live! because i found many of new things from this series of Love Live!. but, it still have a same format with first series Love Live!.

If the first series tell about "Victory", this series tell us about "Determination". Every character in this series have a lot of development and make me curious "what next will happen?!!". Story looks like not how the member reach their dream but only they activity to spent a time every day before they school shut down. But, thats the point how i love this series. Every character show us they unique personality and how read more
Jan 6, 2018
LettuceSenpai (All reviews)
To be perfectly honest I've never watched a school idol anime. I wasn't really sure what to expect other than cringing at myself but after watching Sunshine!! I was genuinely impressed. It might be a bit lame but Season 2 was a real tear jerker for me because of everything that happens to the characters. I was also able to relate a bit mainly because my high school was also merged during the time that I lived in Japan. Being new to the School Idol genre I thought that the story was good but it definitely had read more
Jan 2, 2018
red-tomato (All reviews)
This is my first review so a few notes:
• Will contain LIGHT SPOILERS (unrelated to the main plot or indirect as much as possible)
• I don’t know much shit about analytically reviewing a show so if it’s a BUU BUU DESU WA feel free to tell me.
• Not every point I made came from me. I didn’t have a SHINY revalation to suddenly think of such ideas. This is a disclaimer, so to speak.

Got through the cringe? Well there’s more:

Love Live is [the only] one of those shows for me to have such mixed opinions of. Basically it is a regular cute-girls-doing-cute-things show but *WITH DRAMA*. Now explaining read more