Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koi to Uso


Alternative Titles

English: Love and Lies
Japanese: 恋と嘘

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2017 to Sep 19, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Manga
Genres: Drama, Romance, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.731 (scored by 91,537 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #49522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #525
Members: 204,626
Favorites: 835

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 18, 2017
TuyNOM (All reviews)
Love relationships are inherent in our daily lives. Most of us have experienced and we know how difficult it can be to maintain this relationship for various reasons. Discord, differences of opinion, lack of confidence etc. Sometimes we question ourselves and we try to understand why the couple did not last. But in Koi to Uso couples are created from a database measuring the compatibility between two individuals. The logical question is: can we trust these statistics? Does not reality go beyond theories?
But... Koi to Uso doesn't seem to waste its time. And I find a melodramatic and insane triangle love (rectangle?) again.

(Light spoilers from read more
Sep 18, 2017
Captain220 (All reviews)
Love and Lies is a 12 episode anime where love takes the form of lies and each of the characters are like walking chalkboards, constantly scratching upon each other. Japan for some reason deemed it fit to pass on the torch of its current social crisis to the biggest intellectual heavyweight of a medium out there. By presenting a theoretical scenario in which society as a whole is shaped a certain way in order to entertain the idea of Japan's birth rates not being in the gutter, we are hence introduced to another run-of-the-mill-overdramatized-romance-love-triangle-rectangle-harem-cocktease. And impressively enough, its' atrocious and unexplained setup remarkably gives something read more
Sep 18, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
"This show was like a bad roller coaster. You love the first turn, the second turn isn't that amazing, and after more turns, you just want to get down and forget the experience."

The story was interesting at the beginning but then transformed into a mess to the point that it was unexplained and inconceivable possible that happens. The partners and couples are selected by "Japan's officials" at the age of 16, so you will need to marry with them because the law demands it.

The writers created a weird love square and combined with a failed character progression titled it "Koi to Uso." I can't read more
Sep 18, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Drama series with love as a central theme tends to draw a variety of audiences. When I seek one of these shows, relationship dynamics is something I trust for the series to capitalize. Koi to Uso (Love and Lies) is one of those series that define love more than just holding hands, dating, or kissing. It’s an anime that dances around the idea of love and drawing the audience into a world of drama.

Getting into this show was actually quite easy. The premise is simple to understand and as a manga reader, I went into this show with tolerable expectations. The first few episodes easily read more
Jul 25, 2017
GRACED_GOAT (All reviews)
Preliminary
What does it mean to love someone?
Well...
I don't know, let us watch Koi to Uso about that, for this anime literally shows about it.

It first started as a lie and sometimes, long held lies will soon become truths.
Then the story goes:

STORY: 7/10
*It focuses on a social economic real life situation where Japan is situated with its problems of low birth rates.
*How the government solves the crisis with arranged marriage and stipulating it with the problems of society.
*Well when you finish the story it feels like its incomplete, like: wheres the Nisaka path, The continuation of the story and their progress as lovers.

At first a read more
Jul 24, 2017
SpoilerMagnet (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just after watching the first episode, the first thing you will notice is a very soggy art which was quite irritating. The concept is very different and different doesn't always mean good.

Pace is high, WAY TOO HIGH in the beginning, but it becomes stagnant in later section. The production managed to showcase big fraction of story which was supposed to be.

Comic timings were average enough. Depends on the mood you are watching.

Sound is pretty good.

The story could have been very good. There are few incomplete parts and few plot holes which have been filled, but I think it's not getting any sequel. Some unnecessary kissing read more
Sep 18, 2017
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review assumed that you have already watching Koi to Uso and while care has been taken to minimize story related spoilers there may be some spoilers in character analysis.

Based off the popular manga of the same name Koi to Uso which translates literally into love and lies makes use of a theme that’s not often seen in animes which is marriage. The premise of this story is that in this world that the anime is set in Lies are forbidden and Love is doubly forbidden which sets the stage for the story. In this world as a result of population read more
Aug 10, 2017
Meowsorz (All reviews)
Preliminary
-This review has spoilers. You have been warned.-

Japan has a declining birthrate. To combat this, the Japanese Government thought it'd be a BRILLIANT idea to create a law that forcefully marries two 16 year old kids in hopes that they'd make kids. No mention of riots, arguments about the law, no characters even seem to question the law in general, they just all accept it as it is. So, we're off to a rocky start already.

Our main character, who I will refer to as Paste because he's just a copy/paste character from every other anime, is your average teenager and anime protagonist. Boring as hell read more
Jul 25, 2017
Rezolut1on (All reviews)
Preliminary
Never read the manga. Just watching the anime-

Welcome to the waifu war anime of the season. Don't believe me just check the online forums and anime sites comment sections.

Pros-
1) Has different approach to the story. Meaning the story isn't all generic
2) Waifu's
3) Has some twists you might not expect

Cons-
1) The art is kinda weird. The eyes are way too big
2) Forced drama
3) The pacing is way too fast
4) Pretty sure won't have a proper ending. Since it is going to have only 12 episodes
5) Has plot holes. And the government system is fcking hilarious

For a verdict : I won't say I'm not enjoying the show read more
Sep 20, 2017
chevybow (All reviews)
** Minor Spoilers throughout**


Koi to Uso is the worst show I have ever watched. It is a romance anime without the romance. It is worse than shitcom. Worse than any other 5 minute "WTF" show. It was physically and mentally painful to get through this show, and I continued watching only because I am a masochist. However I would urge others to watch this show so they can have a solid basis concerning what a "Bad" anime is- the worst of the worst- an absolutely shit show.

The first episode introduces us to the absolute worst MC of any show, let alone anime, in read more
Sep 18, 2017
DarthInvader (All reviews)
TL;DR: Japan establishes futuristic e-Harmony & forces 16 year olds to marry who they are assigned. 4 people find themselves entangled in a four way love rhombus. Will Arrange Marriage or Love Marriage win? Find out next time in KTU.
[Story: 5/10 , Characters: 3/10, Art: 6/10, Sound: 8/10, Enjoyment: 5/10]

What do you get when you want to deal with a serious issue like Japan's decline in child birth & marriage but still want to attract people from various age groups to explore Love? You get Love and Lies. A show where you end up lying to others telling them how much you love read more
Aug 23, 2017
Sereshay (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am a big fan of romance but I’ll be the first to admit that it can easily become stale after awhile due to the fact that most stories are predictable and filled with clichés. However, Koi to Uso is a romance show that is different from most in the best possible ways.

What makes it exciting and enjoyable to watch is the unique plot and that it is impossible to tell what will happen next and how it will end. In addition, the show doesn’t shy away from sexual matters. In fact, what tends to take a typical romance show at least an entire season read more
May 20, 2018
makotohadou (All reviews)
Spoiller free section:

If you like Romance and Drama, ignore the reviews and scores for this show and watch it. It's good.

SPOILLERS BELLOW

I usually do not write reviews.

But what MAL community did to this show is ridiculous and a reflection of a broken system and, honestly, mediocre people.

I take MAL way more serious than I should. I actually use data from this website for my Master's thesis. So when shit like this happens I get really mad.

The first thing I wanna discuss is: Is this show as bad as its score and some reviews would suggest?

The answer is no. This show is a perfectly good Drama. read more
Jul 25, 2017
YaThor (All reviews)
Preliminary
Very interested in stories about government matchmaking, At the beginning of the concept I was very interested to watch, after the first kiss scene, oohh looks good, well but character after the first episode is over, the next kiss again make triggered. shitty strory
i dont like The main character Its over shitty nervous

The main character so kimochiwarui stupidy

[ The good side, maybe when choosing a couple to get married is to be observant in all aspects, maybe the government is very concerned about the part of the ideal partner, I really appreciate
so agreed ]

Story: 3/10
Oh look, they cant have a romance read more
Apr 9, 2019
ARZRer (All reviews)
Holy damn was this a mess I did not see coming.
What was looking to be a decent drama about fighting an imposed marriage law for a 5 year old love's sake turned out to be really poor polygamy propaganda.

Story: 3
Started out strong but slowly devolved into a really bad attempt at not hurting anyone, followed by the most predictable open and inconclusive ending I've ever seen in my life.

Art: 5
While the big ol' eyes look cute in most girls they certainly look very uncanny in male characters such as MC himself, backgrounds didn't make me go crazy and overall animation wasn't great either.

Sound: 6
The one read more
Sep 20, 2017
LittleKitty24 (All reviews)
Since everyone is hating on Koi to Uso because of the ending I thought I would write a review to show that it's really not that bad.

First off, I found the story very interesting I have read a book series before with a similar plot of government arranged marriages so I was excited to see that played out again in a different setting. This story is all about Nejima Yukari and how he deals with his feelings for his 5 year long love and his new assigned future wife who everyone says he now has to love. If you are a fan of romance and read more
Jul 25, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before going in, this show is a satire towards real life issues in japan and their decreasing population...or at least i hope it is. But you make see it as a bite off of the Scum's Wish anime that aired recently and they are trying to take some of its fans. made obvious as one of the characters looks like the main character from scums wish. also it has the plot of a forbidden relationship.

the plot is about a world where in order to help japans decreasing population, its government decides to pair people up with each other for marriage when they turn 16 via read more
Oct 4, 2018
Somebodyudk9603 (All reviews)
What is love? a question that changes depending on who you are.

SPOILERS

Story 7/10
The anime is placed in a world where the government assigned you with your "destined partner" and basically eliminating all the work involved for a marriage.

The story follows the life of a 15-year-old boy named Yukari Nejima as he is going through a really difficult time to pick with waifu does he prefer more. From episode to episode there were no plot progress the story only adds more conflict and drama so the audience would sit and watch to see if they solve the revolving issue that just read more
Dec 7, 2017
Rubuscaeruleus (All reviews)
Koi to Uso deserves this rating of 3 because of the only three points that make it bearable - 1 point for the fact that its drama level was enough to keep me watching despite the vapid plot, 1 point for Ririna who is a very good character in a very poor anime, and 1 point for a truly fantastic OP which is the sole reason I started watching the show (this system is not actually the way I rate shows, but it seemed too fitting that the rating matched the scant number of redeeming points).

Besides these saving graces, Koi to Uso was nothing short read more
Apr 19, 2019
soggypugtato (All reviews)
this anime high key feels like a hentai visual novel without hentai and where you just pick the most retarded actions in the game.

the characters actions are so stupid and unreasonable, it makes the anime hard to watch but at the same time i find the anime to be unpredictable because of this. there are moments in this anime where i get so confused at the actions and reactions of the characters it becomes really frustrating. a big thing that affected my satisfaction in this anime is the ending... there isnt one. maybe if i read the manga it would fix this, but im reviewing read more