Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kakegurui


Alternative Titles

English: Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler
Synonyms: Gambling School
Japanese: 賭ケグルイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 1, 2017 to Sep 23, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.551 (scored by 205,622 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #172
Members: 391,547
Favorites: 2,994

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 23, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“Part of it went on gambling, and part of it went on women. The rest I spent foolishly.” – George Raft.

To those of you who have watched Kakegurui I ask: Why did you watch this anime? Were you intrigued by the aesthetic look of the show? Or maybe what drew you to Kakegurui was the concept; gambling! The latter was what caught my eye, as past experiences with gambling anime have proven that they hold some of the most entertaining and exhilarating moments I have ever seen. These shows have given me goose bumps from sheer awe and admiration while watching psychological battles of wits read more
Jul 22, 2017
Sheepishh (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Ongoing 12-episode Series Preview)
"Kakegurui" easily won my heart from episode 1. Although I've only seen four episodes so far, I was more than excited to write a review about this, and can't wait to see more. Its premise is straightforward, but the execution is stunning. Its strengths lie in its dynamic facial expressions, fair storytelling, and high-quality artistry. The aesthetic expression, in all aspects, always manage to complement the mood and tone of the story. Small details, such as lighting, eyes, mouth, wrinkles, all contribute to the viewer's experience.

The main protagonists Jabami and Suzui both act as archetypal foils to another. This juxtaposition allows read more
Sep 23, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
I’m not a fan of using buzzwords but it’s hard to ignore the edginess when watching Kakegurui. Based on the manga of the same name, this adaptation translates to a gambling story. I can’t help but think of a wicked thriller when watching this show. It basically takes the idea of gambling and transform it into madness with its characters, setting, and ideas. However, does it live up its hype and worth watching? The answer is quite the opposite.

Getting into this show for some people will likely not be easy. It’s not a recommendable show for anyone unless you really fancy a psychological thriller that read more
Sep 23, 2017
Zaber_san (All reviews)
For over the past few years in the anime industry, they brought as so many ''Game'' genre animes like SAO, Accel World, Log Horizon, Btooom! and other ''Game'' animes out there. But the thing is, most of them or should I say ''Almost'' of the anime with a ''Game'' genre are about going into a video game itself and it's getting boring tbh. Summer 2017 season is going to end along with one of its unique ''Game'' anime which is very different to other animes this season because not only it excels to the ''Game'' genre with being different to other animes out there but read more
Sep 23, 2017
RiverRode (All reviews)
Gambling is a fairly common topic in manga, though it is seldom adapted into an anime. There is good reason for this: there is little in the way of action that would benefit from adaptation, and exposition really drags on when it needs to be voiced rather than just read. And alongside these conceptual problems, there's the moral repugnancy that Kakegurui revels in, which should serve to further alienate any potential audience. But despite all of this, Kakegurui has somehow won against a stacked deck, and in this review, I'll take a look at how this oddball became a mainstream success.

This anime covers the first read more
Sep 23, 2017
Alenni (All reviews)
A word of caution before getting into this review: There will be minor spoilers.

I thought that overall, Kakegurui was pretty damn fun and enjoyable. 6 may seem like a bad score, but I think it's fair. I scored it based on what it says by it, and it means "Fine". Perfectly how I would describe this when I look at this as objectively as possible in my review, and not out of pure enjoyment (else it'd be a 7 or 8, to be honest). Now with that out of the way, into the review.

CHARACTERS

Let's start out with the characters. The majority of read more
Sep 23, 2017
Raggadish (All reviews)
It where two reasons that I started to watch Kakegurui (Compulsive Gambler) this season. The first where that I´m planning to read the manga, and was curious about it. And the second and more important one, is that Kakegurui is produced by studio MAPPA. Which happens to be one of my favourite studios after seen what magic they created with the “Shingeki no Bahamut”-series. Their animation quality is nothing but as close to flawless as you can get, and they do have a brilliant way of bringing forth the specific design of the show they produce – they surely know how to place the effects read more
Sep 23, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
As the players take their seats, excitement fills the air. Cards, gathered up in one quick swoop, become the weapons of this match, as each fighter tries to gather their wits under the intense stress and tension at play. Pulse quickens, the heart accelerates, at the sight of their weapons, as each fighter stares at their enemy in silent anticipation, awaiting any indication into the contents of their hand. As time passes the air grows all the more incredibly heavy and thick, sweat adorning both of these brave warriors, as, suddenly, the signal to throw down their cards to determine the victor is called. Who read more
Jul 22, 2017
Rizrak47 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Forgive if my review so bad, but I will try my best to not give a spoiler ^^

Kakegurui is, something that high school student should never have. But, it will be interesting if we just watch ^^

Then, why this series become interesting?

Gambling? It's not just like that. It's satisfaction. When you play with your destiny, it will be fun because your nervousity become maximum.

Why did they do that? Because in Hyakkaou private academy, it becomes culture. With so many students are successor of the company, it won't be that difficult to play with million yens.

There are many cute girls like black haired Jabami Yumeko, but read more
Jul 22, 2017
Infinities_End (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kakegurui is a show that I personally enjoyed and I will be writing this review without having touched the manga.

Story:9
Kakegurui gets you interested in the world by throwing you into a game which shows you how this school works and how insane this show really is. The story has kept me entertained so far and as you predict something is gonna happen the game flips itself on its head slaps you and says no.

Art:10
Amazing would not describe this animation. It shifts from the norm quite regularly by just going insane. When Yumeko figures something out about her opponent the animation gets energetic. With her poses read more
Jul 22, 2017
Marth_of_Altea (All reviews)
Preliminary
As someone who has been keeping up to date with the manga, Kakegurui was an anime I've been looking forward to this season. However, knowing that this is going to be a Netflix show made me pretty frustrated, but I went on to watch the show through other ways.

What do I think about Kakegurui? It's very faithful to the original source material. Kudos to MAPPA for getting much of what made the manga great, with the art and character expressions being accurate. Though not as interesting and suspenseful like other gambling anime, the show still keeps it entertaining throughout. Characters add so much emotion to read more
Jul 22, 2017
-HippySnob- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Isn't madness the essence of gambling? In a capitalist world, Money is life. The fate of your life isn't depicted with order or fairness yet people gather in casinos because humans feel pleasure in the madness of betting their own fate. To resume, GAMBLING IS FUN BECAUSE ITS INSANE"

Hyakkaou Private Academy

In this school, the winners are ahead of the game living like kings and queens, while the losers are seen as housepets to the winners. The best of the best are the student council members with the student council president being ahead of the school. One day, the system ends up falling apart by a read more
Jul 23, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is about a compulsive gambler that goes to a school that is built on gambling which sounds awesome. the source material was popular so even having not read it you may have heard of this show before. in this school, if you gamble and lose more that have ( gain a debt) you get treated like shit getting tags telling people they can do so. you become a slave essentially. long story short its good.

the art is similar to Prison School's and in being so it allows the show to change tones and gears very quickly which coupled with the writing you read more
Jul 22, 2017
Yisengal (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was a bit sceptical about this anime after reading its description but after watching the first episode I became addicted to it.

Story: 9

While the plot isn’t something extraordinary, “Kakegurui” is focused more on the psychological aspect of the story: how do you escape from critical situations, what do you do when your future is at stake, when you’re about to lose your family’s fortune in a game? The whole plot revolves around Jabami, a transfer student that happens to be obsessed with gambling and makes her name widely known in her school from the first day of attendance. Even though each episode has read more
Jul 23, 2017
shirahane (All reviews)
Preliminary
(ONLY 4 EPISODES HAVE BEEN RELEASED AS OF THE TIME I'M WRITING THIS. RATING WILL MOST LIKELY CHANGE TOWARDS THE END OF THE SHOW.)

Having read the manga, it's needless to say that I was totally hyped when an anime for Kakegurui was announced to be in the works. I still remember getting so excited for episode 1 that I ended up waiting all night just to watch it. Of course, there were still doubts on the back of my mind. What if this adaptation turns out to be disappointing? But the thing was, I didn't even need to worry about that stuff, because this adaptation read more
Jul 23, 2017
YottaBiter (All reviews)
Preliminary
Resubmitting my review as the other one got removed because posted it too early. So lets hop on to the review right now!

As most of the anime is centered around High school, this one is too. But this ain't no ordinary High school guys and gals.. The students, they all some rich gamblers dawg, whom laugh at your very own poor existence >:D Muahahahah....!! (okay then I should kill myself now.)

Each of the student's art style represents their personality very well. The colors are very well suited for this kind of set in anime. Visual representations are all well I'd say.

The OP is nicely done. read more
Jul 22, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a rather interesting anime and I'm enjoying it, it's all about gambling and cheating and how it's done creativly.

Story: It's got a simple story, school where your prestiege is based upon your ability to gamble, and the main char is in debt when he runs into a girl that likes to gamble, the main thing is the gambling,wich is well done.

Characters: This is great, though maybe a bit over the top, half the chars seem to get off on just gambling nd making or losing money, but I found them interseting.


Enjoyment and overall: Just a early review read more
Sep 23, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Kakegurui- The Great Value Brand of Kaiji: Now with Chicks!

The dim, incandescent can light burns the back of your head from above. Your mouth is a desert, lips parched as you struggle to even swallow your own saliva. An irregular heart beat increases its oscillations, and your vision blurs as you attempt to read your own cards. You're a house pet, a term coined only for those drowning in the debt of the student council and this one hand of poker could either seal your fate for the rest of your life, or set you free of the shackles of your dues. Anger, guilt, nervousness read more
Jul 29, 2017
evolvingweeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Holy GOD. This anime.

Okay, I admittedly started watching it because the OP looked like a jazzy rendition of a girl gathering a bunch of other girls into her lesbian harem, but I certainly wasn't disappointed with what I actually got when I watched it, because holy crap.

Yumeko is a girl who starts a new school where Gambling is used to basically decide the school's hierarchy. Yumeko is 100% on board with this.

The way this anime handles it's facial expressions and characters is just godly. Some people might think the expressions are TOO exaggerated, but I think they're rad and really represent how evil the read more
Aug 5, 2017
Ronovez (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 9/10
Art: 10/10
Sound: 10/10
Character: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Overall: 10/10

So... this is my first review. This anime has COMPELLED me to do this. I'll try to work around spoilers and keep it short. And I assure you this review is completely unbiased (wink wink). That is to say I absolutely love it.

Let me tell you this: it's hard to represent mania, and this anime has it on lock. It's rare to see a chaotic character represented in media that it's not psychopathic or lacking any emotion or empathy, in fact this is quite the opposite, the characters are so overwhelmingly filled with all kinds of emotions that they read more