The iDOLM@STER SideM

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: THE IDOLM@STER SideM
Synonyms: The Idolmaster Side M
Japanese: アイドルマスター SideM

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2017 to Dec 30, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Game
Genres: MusicMusic
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.201 (scored by 46484,648 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #27722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3863
Members: 16,273
Favorites: 124
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 30, 2017
jesymphony (All reviews)
As someone who's watched a lot of male idol anime, I went into Side M not expecting much more than a fluffy plot-less ride, hopefully with some slapstick moments of humour. I haven't watched the original iM@S series, but after watching Side M, I now know I need to give at least the original 2011 series a try. Because Side M is the best male idol anime I've ever seen.

STORY: 7/10 (Good)
The fact that this anime has any semblance of a story already catapults it into above average territory. The fact that the story follows a realistic arc? Nearly unbelievable. We follow 315 Productions as read more
Jan 3, 2018
RiverRode (All reviews)
I don’t think highly of A-1 Pictures. There aren’t any particular people there who I think are at fault, but rather how the studio itself is managed has led to some rather lackluster projects. The typical A-1 anime isn’t particularly ambitious, and while it will be enough to entertain you while you’re watching it, it’s unlikely to leave a lasting impression. That said, I think A-1 has had some more interesting projects over the course of 2017, such as Demi-chan, Saekano Flat, and Fate Apocrypha. But sadly here we are at the end of the year, with a few projects that are the quality I’ve read more
Dec 30, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
LA will be honest here, this is LA's first foray into the male idol anime.

LA has been an extremely dedicated fan to the iDOLM@STER series for a very long time, probably ever since LA watched the ORIGINAL iDOLM@STER series, LA has been up to date for the most on on many of the iDOLM@STER spinoffs. So LA decided to watch what SideM would had to offer for LA and this anime is something of a first taste as to what the male idol genre will give to LA.

Well it had something...

First and foremost about SideM is that it's something of a look at male read more
Jan 2, 2018
stoptalkinglemur (All reviews)
As somebody who is unfamiliar with this franchise, I figured i'd share my thoughts after having completed the anime in order to give perspective on those going into this show blind. I've watched and enjoyed a few male idol anime, but not necessarily enough to call myself a fan of the genre. Looking back, this probably wasn't the most ideal place to begin, and you'll be better off starting with the original ID@LMASTER anime as it gets referenced quite a bit. But that is to say, this show can still easily be enjoyed without having seen the other works.

[Story] [6]

The story here is pretty much read more
Apr 22, 2019
decoboco (All reviews)
wowee my first mal review!
i've watched the original idolm@ster anime as well as cinderella girls, and played a lot of the mobile games. it's my first time actually diving deep into the sidem series though.
i didn't really know much about the series besides the dirty looking science guy whos really hot (lol) but this series was ok if a bit weirdly paced at times!

theres not a lot of dancing performances, i want to say theres like 5 when in the other series like cinderella girls there were way more even in just one season. most of the group specific episodes ended up getting montages instead, read more
Jan 9, 2018
Rainbowfootsteps (All reviews)
Side M was my first foray into the world of idolm@ster anime. After watching it, I can say with full confidence that I won't touch any other idolm@ster series with a ten foot barge pole. I found side M to be boring, cliche, and completely soulless despite its many monologues about passion and finding happiness. There are a multitude of reasons why side M falls flat, including having WAY too many characters, and a bizarre tendency to focus on anything except the show's main draw - idol shows.

Story: 3

Side M is an anime of introductions. More than half of the 12-episode season is dedicated to read more
Sep 21, 2020
tobioswageyama (All reviews)
First review on MAL!

I may clarify that I have watched a lot of male idols anime's, and not even the ones from my favorites franchises (Uta no prince-sama and Ensemble Stars!) are even half enjoyable as Im@s SideM.

One thing that really catch my attention was the fact that most of them (12/19 if I'm correct) were 18 or over. Seeing adults in this kind of animes is really something fresh! I loved this!

The animation is, really, amazing.

I'm not a big fan of The Idolm@ster franchise since I dislike the producer-idol relationship it portrays. Just personal taste. But from the clips from the 2011 anime read more