Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

New Game!!


Alternative Titles

English: New Game!!
Synonyms: New Game! Second Season
Japanese: NEW GAME!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 11, 2017 to Sep 26, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.871 (scored by 70,638 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #715
Members: 148,811
Favorites: 665

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 19, 2018
OVERPOWERED99 (All reviews)
STORY - 9
ART - 9
SOUND - 8
CHARACTER - 9
ENJOYMENT - 9

The gratifications, the fun learning experiences, and the chances to overcome your personal limits. They're all something game development can give back to you. Now with two exclamation marks in the title, New Game!! continues to be a delight once again, bringing in even more endearments and tight-knit bonds to your screen.

Ding, ding, ding! The second level refreshes a new year and marks the start of a new game for the team over at Eagle Jump. More fun, more entertainment, and this time, the game developing process takes on a more central role so there's read more
Oct 31, 2017
KS31 (All reviews)
*Please note I watched both the first and second seasons in succession so there may be crossover in this review*

Upon first glance, my assumption was for this to be a moe centered anime, profiting from cute girls, thus I didn't watch the first season when it came out. Seeing that it got a second season, I presumed there must be more to it and decided to give it a watch. My assumption was wrong. This anime really hit home with me, a brilliant artstyle which personally I don't think I've seen elsewhere, lovable characters with a strong sense of character development and an engaging, exciting read more
Sep 27, 2017
HoneySpoon (All reviews)
New Game!! by studio Doga Kobo. This is a brief review just to go over some points as I carry on.
This comedy and slice of life anime, is different from many other that fall into the same or similar category in a very good way.

When I finished season 1 of New Game last year, I realized how it was no ordinary like the other comedic, slice of life anime series; it felt so special to me that I went to make my current account for myanimelist only to give it a score of 10. I was wishing New Game would get recognized by many anime read more
May 17, 2018
earl_of_sandvich (All reviews)
New Game!! continues where series 1 left off, and adds a very important literary element: conflict.

We've seen conflict in series 1, mainly as a bit of a joke between Ko and whoever is pissed at her at the moment, usually Umiko. Series 2, on the other hand, not only involves Aoba in the conflicts (so the impact hits closer to home), these are serious ones people might face in real-life working situations. Granted, in real life conflicts aren't often solved as quickly or cleanly as in this show, but the suggestion to "Hey, let's talk it over. Let's at least try to solve the problem. read more
Dec 14, 2017
SuperPrower (All reviews)
Oh my god, the FEELS.

Now, you may find my review short and biased, as I am not a long-time anime watcher, so if you are looking for review from some experienced, check somewhere else.

But this anime is awesome. Best thing about is is pacing. It's perfect. Both seasons. No silly situation was stretched trough the entire episode like in stupid sitcoms. You laugh at them, not feeling cringy.

Characters. Sure, it's just cute girls doing cute things, but god, they are ALIVE, I lived lives of everyone of them. They grow, they change, they live a live. It's the thing you expect from this genre, and read more
Oct 21, 2017
MemoThunder (All reviews)
New Game!! is the 2nd season of the New Game! series. When I first watched New game! last year, I was really motivated. The anime was really good and it helped me a lot when I used to be a game developer. The second season of this series is even better; it has a lot of improvement over the first season.

While the first season focuses on comedy and some problems that game designers have while developing a game, the second season shows more of these things and focuses more on the problems that game developers and programmers have while working on a project. One more read more
Sep 26, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
New Game!! comes back for a second season and what we get this time is more of the same. This isn't bad for the most part as season one was great and keeping the show somewhere near that level makes sense. The little gripe I had was that overall the show wasn't as entertaining as season one had been. However the way the finale was executed made for a great conclusion to the story and balances out the missing entertainment value for me. I want to quickly point out that this season felt like it had more yuri-bait but that didn't really bother me in read more
Sep 26, 2017
HereticHunter (All reviews)
I said it before and will say it again, I would have probably skipped this second season if I knew that this sequel were more focused on fan service than plot itself, more than half of this season is just cute girls doing cute stuff. Of course, there isn't a problem with this at all on a SoL anime, but I expected more as a Sequel rather than having an anime that FINALLY starts moving after 7 episodes, the first 6 where 75% of cute girls doing cute stuff and 25% of actual plot. Let's not forget that they also included new characters halfway in read more
Feb 18, 2018
Elendium (All reviews)
Minor spoilers ahead, though this show is not really story driven, so that is not taht big of a deal.

I actually feel a little bit let down with the sequel of New Game!. While I absolutely loved the first series, being my first SoL rated >8, I cannot praise New Game!! as much as I wish I could. First part was great due to the characters, interactions between them and their struggles and development. And at first, New Game!! continued on this premise, with it's first couple episodes being equally enjoyable as it's predecessor. Unfortunately, something broke around the middle of the series, with introduction read more
Feb 7, 2018
Sku_Te (All reviews)
A very nicely animated and somewhat accurate depiction of a software company. If you are in the computer software industry, you'll probably get a bit more out of it than the standard layman, but even if not, it can be seen as an entertaining series.

The animation is good, with a fair bit of extra detail where needed (especially in the game viewing sections). The title and end credit music is okay - nothing particularly memorable though.

Voice acting was good.

The storylines themselves were also good - going through a simplified development cycle, the problems and stress that can occur as the release date nears.

If read more
Nov 3, 2017
AnimeFan48 (All reviews)
Story: so the company eagle jump is back and it has been a year sense fairy tales was released so now they gotta work on a new game (which ends up being Peco) but with Aoba she wants more and she decides that she wants to be the lead character designer (she does end up winning beating Yagami for it) so what happens with Aoba is almost like with getting anything new or higher up with a company she has longer hours the work can be stressful and of course wondering if she was even right for the job to even begin with.

Art: the art read more
Oct 20, 2017
SmokyChip (All reviews)
Not a lot of anime can leave a positive yet bittersweet feeling behind. Especially when the topic is related to boring reality -- working.

First off, I just want to state that New Game II took a slightly different direction, one filled more with co-worker interaction and goodness of fit rather than individual struggles and the need to finish your projects before those dreadful deadlines.

Nevertheless, the key elements that made New Game what it is can still be seen throughout the episodes. That occasional comedic moment. That serious moment of stress. The cute moe characters. The innocence of the Original Four. And of course, can't forget read more
Oct 3, 2017
WAT3R (All reviews)
I love the first season, now I love the second season.
This is unique and so far the first anime about gaming career I have watched.

It's a harmony about girls in a company working hard to develop "NEW GAME", one season with a new game basically, on perspectives of arts and coding. How everyone in the same group or different group works hard and takes care of each other.
I feel happy for them when everyone gets what she deserves from her work.

It is perfect if you are looking for something simple but will make you happy all day long.
May 2, 2019
KingShoter007 (All reviews)
New Game!! is the perfect example of slice of life done right. Made by studio Doga Kobo, which specializes in this exact genre, it is a great improvement over the first season, and turns the plain concept of slice of life into a genuine story about endearing characters.

Like the first season, New Game's slice of life (SoL) niche is focusing on game development. This time, the team at Eagle Jump develops a game from scratch, which gives us, the viewers, the opportunity to see how game development works in real life. Like in the first season, this concept is just as interesting.

What this second season read more
Mar 17, 2019
Rabb2t (All reviews)
New Game is back in action for a second season, and this time, it focuses on the development of PECO, with art by our favorite purple haired employee, Aoba!

Story: Much like the first season, New Game!! focuses on an episodic formula. Although most episodes have events that are separate, some do impact the overall end of the season. Episodes usually vary between the workplace, and episodes that encompass days off, such as the episode where the cast goes to watch a show. Episodes that are at the workplace show the majority of New Game's storybuilding and character development. Story-wise, the content itself is not deep, read more
Aug 15, 2017
FyreLily36 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The second season is somewhat decent, don't get me wrong but I believe I would enjoy it better if they had proper translations because the subtitles don't make sense at times [often]. They often refer to the characters as 'he' but as far as I'm concerned their is not one male in the anime unless you count the kids during the magical girl scenes. And not to mention the translation for what was supposed to be something like 'oh, shoot' was 'cabbage' .......why?? Sometimes I can't stop wondering why does this make sense to people but not to me. I can't even get past the read more