Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

New Game!!


Alternative Titles

English: New Game!!
Synonyms: New Game! Second Season
Japanese: NEW GAME!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 11, 2017 to Sep 26, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 68,958 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #719
Members: 146,333
Favorites: 653

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
New Game is back better than ever with this second season, which in my opinion was a solid improvement of the first.

One of the strongest points of this sequel is that it found the right balance between the cute and funny parts, and the more serious, work related moments. In the end, New Game is about these lovable girls working hard to achieve their dreams in the videogame industry, all while becoming closer to the others and having fantastic experiences, and the viewers can definitely see both things, sharing their feelings and cheering for their success.

Talking about the characters, god, I love everyone! New Game read more
Sep 26, 2017
Stranger_Hanyo (All reviews)
Enjoyed New Game! ? Thought that the sequel would be that good? I thought like that too and started watching New Game!! and what followed was an extreme test of patience of restraining myself for not dropping it. It's that bad.

While New Game! was one of the perfect SoL anime I've ever seen, it's sequel single handedly destroys all the praise it received. There's no perfect plot, the characters have no development whatsoever and every episode looks like a subtly designed yuri bait. A bunch of new characters are added who serve no use to the original cast and are only thrown in for the read more
Jul 31, 2017
evolvingweeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
New Game!! is the definition of an anime knowing what it is, and executing it perfectly. It's 'cute girls doing cute things' done fantastically with great characters, and I really do adore it. Season 1 was great, and this season is shaping up to be even better!

After accomplishing her dream and becoming a game developer in the first season, this season continues on with Aoba's adventures with her fellow coworkers.

This anime does get serious at times, but it always keeps that saccharine sweet, warm feeling to it that makes whoever's watching it feel light. The animation is really, really nice and fluid and the art read more
Sep 26, 2017
Silyon (All reviews)
If you're here reading this then I will assume you had at least a passing affection for the first season of New Game and will try focusing on what is different from the first season. I will be giving my overall opinion too so if you want to skip straight to the second season of the show for some reason I will try presenting the anime as best as I can.

Right from the title the second season of New Game!! let's you know it means bussiness because it now has two exclamation points! Everything is going to be more intense! Drama, action, game development, furious read more
Jul 27, 2017
_Crimson_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
* Im still getting used to these Reivew things so bare with me if i dont do a good job*
In every seasonal anime you need a palette cleanser or something that you can watch to make yourself feel good. Usually they are rom coms,comedy or slice of life.
New Game!! is a slice of life comedy that does a really good job at doing this because of its loveable characters and animations. In most slice of life animes the mc is super annoying and is surrounded by talented people in every aspect. However in New Game!! the mc is talented in read more
Sep 26, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
New Game !! is back with more enjoyment, cuteness and crazy but adorable characters.

After a hard day at work , after a bad day at school or after you had a disappointment in what you had in mind the best remedy to treat your sorrow and bitter taste is to play a game. Be it with your online friends or real life best friend even with your family a game is always the best thing to put a smile on your face . New Game !! is an anime that it’s main purpose is to present an aspect from the game making industry read more
Aug 1, 2017
king_pineapple (All reviews)
Preliminary
A friend of mine saw me watching New Game!! and smugged: "Dude, you sure don't know how a real game-developing workshop looks like." Right. It's not real. This is just some altered reality where designers sparkle with flower patterns, ADs go around smile and talk gently, and coders simply blush over a fatal bug. But who cares if it's not real? Or even, isn't it because of that unrealisticness that we are able to enjoy it so much?

PLUS:
- The art cured my internal cancer.
- Lovely style of comedy.
- A rare case of a "cute-girls-doing-cute-things" slice-of-life anime with actual character developments.
- Talented, pure and hard-working read more
Sep 27, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
New Game!! is back and after the first season and a ski trip in between it's time to design new characters.....but with some massive changes for Aoba and the gang in the process of it all.

Well with a NEW GAME for Aoba and the gang to get back to work and all what changes does Aoba and the gang faces?...well what you expect from second seasons, new characters aka. interns and a restructure of the character design team and character growths LA didn't expect from certain characters.

Let's start off with the new characters that actually appear in the later half of the anime in the read more
Aug 20, 2017
Swordarc (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR:A new sensation,a good start or a bad beginning?(Updated)

Please beware that new game season 2 has changed a lot,I could see a tremendous change when comparing season 1 and 2 and it's more meaningful,life-encouraging and realistic.

-The intense game-making environment

At first,I thought this would be a pretty poor idea for putting a serious environment into a tittle that should be relaxing,yet I was totally wrong about that.

After I have looked for more episodes,I feel this show is more realistic,since New Game season 2 has given us a feeling of working in a game company.You would be in charge of character designing in a limited time,feeling read more
Sep 26, 2017
PyraXadon (All reviews)
So New Game! made a splash with its cute cast of gaming grill nerds dedicating its entire runtime to making games combined with various antics in the office cause quirkiness is a staple for this kind of show to keep things interesting. To no one’s surprise, we got a sequel. So…how’s the sequel, I guess is the question. (Missed opportunity not calling it ‘New Game+’.)

Story:

Now finished with their current project, we return back to Eagle Jump one year later from Aoba starting as a character designer for the company as we continue viewing the lives of the women who work at the read more
Sep 26, 2017
Chris_Eclair (All reviews)
Prepare to apologize to your parents, this is New Game! Season 2
New Game!! has just finished airing and it wasn't a surprise that it lived up to its name and first season.

The new season brings more yuri bait and this time it's stronger than ever.
The closeups are too powerful for the brain of an average yuri fan to handle. Therefore I do not recommend watching this anime if your IQ is less than 70.

Story
As we see the character design team sweat and struggle over the creation of their next game, in which the main character Aoba plays an important role, we are read more
Sep 30, 2017
Fecal-Jesus (All reviews)
New Game!! was a fun and enjoyable anime to watch. It's about Aoba and her coworkers working on a bear fantasy video game. A lot of new characters that werent on season 1 are introduced in this second season. These new characters were great and I was a fan. There were a lot of fun moments throughout that made me laugh but this anime also had a lot of sad moments and drama. This anime did a great job being a roller coaster ride of emotions. If you liked the first season of new game I 100% recommend this 2nd season, you will enjoy it.
Sep 26, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Before we get into this, assume that you have watched Season 1 back in 2015! I have personally never watched the first season myself, so I'll try my best to sum up Season 2 with hints from other reviewers who have watched before.

Story:
Following Season 1's sequence of events, it's been a year at Eagle Jump with the usual team, and intending to take up a notch higher, Aoba Suzukaze and her team helms out a new project after the previous season (Fairies 3) with PECO as their (surprise, surprise) NEW GAME!!

Everything you know from the 2015 entry replicates here, if not even better. The focus read more
Jul 3, 2018
Roy57on (All reviews)
After watching both seasons of New Game I thoroughly enjoyed the series, however the 2nd season didn't quite match the enjoyment I felt while watching the first season.

It is important to note that this is mainly because of the addition of the 2 new characters; Momiji Mochizuki and Tsubame Narumi. Throughout New Game!! I found the majority of the cast from the first season far more interesting and fun to watch than those two in particular. The second season also felt more story-driven. By this I am not referring to a more serious tone, but rather a direction outside of office itself.

On a read more
Jun 17, 2019
vitriolcocktail (All reviews)
New Game is a simple slice of life anime about a girl fresh out of high school that gets a job as a 3d artist at a game company. The second season follows her career as she is given a more important role at the company.

While this anime doesn't do anything especially outrageous, I don't think that is necessary for a slice of life anime.

What you get is a fairly tame, cutesy anime that is very low key. If you just need something light and upbeat to watch, this anime accomplishes that very well. It's got the upbeat nature of K-On! mixed with the hustle read more
Apr 19, 2019
Snoopy25 (All reviews)
Hmmm, where do we start?

It's basically the same vibe as the first season, but this time with new characters, and more yuri senses tingling lol...

Imo, the new characters were quite a turn-off, completely irrelevant to the whole series. I think the season would have been 100% fine without the addition of new characters. Fortunately, towards the end they resolve the itching that the new characters produce, but I still wasn't very fond of them.

On a side note... what kind of dark character is Aoba!? Like... chopping up sentient beings to use them as skins, and then cannibalism? Dang, she's something different, that's for read more
Aug 19, 2017
squashem (All reviews)
Preliminary
Right, so my second attempt at a review, so bear with me.

So this is the second series of NEw Game. Same great cast, back again.
This is just a continuation of the first season, they are all back for their next project. In terms of development, characters haven't necessarily matured, but some have found new positions in the company and so need to take on new roles and responsibilities. But this is generally the same as the first as I have said.

The art is just as Moe' and colourful, if not even brighter than before.

If you haven't seen the first season of this read more
Jan 19, 2019
Mexican_Pelican (All reviews)
If you enjoyed New Game Season 1, Season 2 will provide you even more satisfaction. The simplicity of the first season is absent, but it's not a bad thing. Season 2 builds off of the first season. Where the first season introduced us all to our lovable female cast, the second builds off of the established relationships and and strengthens them throughout the series. This is done through the diverse set of interactions of characters. For example, Kou Is seen briefly chatting with Nene, Hifumi desperately attempting to comfort the newcoming Momeeji by bringing up relevant topics, Hazuki admiring Hifumi, read more
Oct 30, 2018
starfarts (All reviews)
I loved New Game! because it was a relentlessly-positive experience that oozed joy in every episode. NG!! starts strong, but halfway through, when the two new characters are introduced, it tanks hard. Everything becomes more serious, more dramatic, and less fun to watch.

It's the same trap 90% of comedies fall into: they start with hilarious jokes and great vibes, but then halfway through the small seeps turn into gushing floods of needless melodrama that overwhelmingly destroy the lightheartedness. I thought the first series was incredible because it's so rare to maintain cheery atmosphere without being sunk by crap; NG!! fails in this regard.

The two read more
Sep 24, 2018
metalrain_15 (All reviews)
A late (and slightly spoiler-free) review for "New Game!!":

"New Game!!" takes the workplace life and drama on a whole new level than with its predecessor, "New Game!". This anime in particular delves deep into friendships, hardships, relationships, and "ships", but with also a slight spice of the fanservice that fans quite asked for after the first season's hype.

In this new season the characters were portrayed in a much balanced manner than with the first season which almost totally deals with Suzukaze Aoba, the main heroine, and her difficulties and developments at work. Now we get to see more of the other characters' sides which mainly read more