Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

New Game!!


Alternative Titles

English: New Game!!
Japanese: NEW GAME!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 11, 2017 to Sep 26, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 34,751 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #891
Members: 85,983
Favorites: 385

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
New Game is back better than ever with this second season, which in my opinion was a solid improvement of the first.

One of the strongest points of this sequel is that it found the right balance between the cute and funny parts, and the more serious, work related moments. In the end, New Game is about these lovable girls working hard to achieve their dreams in the videogame industry, all while becoming closer to the others and having fantastic experiences, and the viewers can definitely see both things, sharing their feelings and cheering for their success.

Talking about the characters, god, I love everyone! New Game read more
Jul 31, 2017
evolvingweeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
New Game!! is the definition of an anime knowing what it is, and executing it perfectly. It's 'cute girls doing cute things' done fantastically with great characters, and I really do adore it. Season 1 was great, and this season is shaping up to be even better!

After accomplishing her dream and becoming a game developer in the first season, this season continues on with Aoba's adventures with her fellow coworkers.

This anime does get serious at times, but it always keeps that saccharine sweet, warm feeling to it that makes whoever's watching it feel light. The animation is really, really nice and fluid and the art read more
Sep 26, 2017
Stranger_Hanyo (All reviews)
Enjoyed New Game! ? Thought that the sequel would be that good? I thought like that too and started watching New Game!! and what followed was an extreme test of patience of restraining myself for not dropping it. It's that bad.

While New Game! was one of the perfect SoL anime I've ever seen, it's sequel single handedly destroys all the praise it received. There's no perfect plot, the characters have no development whatsoever and every episode looks like a subtly designed yuri bait. A bunch of new characters are added who serve no use to the original cast and are only thrown in for the read more
Sep 26, 2017
Silyon (All reviews)
If you're here reading this then I will assume you had at least a passing affection for the first season of New Game and will try focusing on what is different from the first season. I will be giving my overall opinion too so if you want to skip straight to the second season of the show for some reason I will try presenting the anime as best as I can.

Right from the title the second season of New Game!! let's you know it means bussiness because it now has two exclamation points! Everything is going to be more intense! Drama, action, game development, furious read more
Jul 27, 2017
_Crimson_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
* Im still getting used to these Reivew things so bare with me if i dont do a good job*
In every seasonal anime you need a palette cleanser or something that you can watch to make yourself feel good. Usually they are rom coms,comedy or slice of life.
New Game!! is a slice of life comedy that does a really good job at doing this because of its loveable characters and animations. In most slice of life animes the mc is super annoying and is surrounded by talented people in every aspect. However in New Game!! the mc is talented in read more
Aug 1, 2017
king_pineapple (All reviews)
Preliminary
A friend of mine saw me watching New Game!! and smugged: "Dude, you sure don't know how a real game-developing workshop looks like." Right. It's not real. This is just some altered reality where designers sparkle with flower patterns, ADs go around smile and talk gently, and coders simply blush over a fatal bug. But who cares if it's not real? Or even, isn't it because of that unrealisticness that we are able to enjoy it so much?

PLUS:
- The art cured my internal cancer.
- Lovely style of comedy.
- A rare case of a "cute-girls-doing-cute-things" slice-of-life anime with actual character developments.
- Talented, pure and hard-working read more
Sep 26, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
New Game !! is back with more enjoyment, cuteness and crazy but adorable characters.

After a hard day at work , after a bad day at school or after you had a disappointment in what you had in mind the best remedy to treat your sorrow and bitter taste is to play a game. Be it with your online friends or real life best friend even with your family a game is always the best thing to put a smile on your face . New Game !! is an anime that it’s main purpose is to present an aspect from the game making industry read more
Sep 27, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
New Game!! is back and after the first season and a ski trip in between it's time to design new characters.....but with some massive changes for Aoba and the gang in the process of it all.

Well with a NEW GAME for Aoba and the gang to get back to work and all what changes does Aoba and the gang faces?...well what you expect from second seasons, new characters aka. interns and a restructure of the character design team and character growths LA didn't expect from certain characters.

Let's start off with the new characters that actually appear in the later half of the anime in the read more
Aug 20, 2017
Swordarc (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR:A new sensation,a good start or a bad beginning?(Updated)

Please beware that new game season 2 has changed a lot,I could see a tremendous change when comparing season 1 and 2 and it's more meaningful,life-encouraging and realistic.

-The intense game-making environment

At first,I thought this would be a pretty poor idea for putting a serious environment into a tittle that should be relaxing,yet I was totally wrong about that.

After I have looked for more episodes,I feel this show is more realistic,since New Game season 2 has given us a feeling of working in a game company.You would be in charge of character designing in a limited time,feeling read more
Sep 26, 2017
Chris_Poi (All reviews)
Prepare to apologize to your parents, this is New Game! Season 2
New Game!! has just finished airing and it wasn't a surprise that it lived up to its name and first season.

The new season brings more yuri bait and this time it's stronger than ever.
The closeups are too powerful for the brain of an average yuri fan to handle. Therefore I do not recommend watching this anime if your IQ is less than 70.

Story
As we see the character design team sweat and struggle over the creation of their next game, in which the main character Aoba plays an important role, we are read more
Sep 26, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Before we get into this, assume that you have watched Season 1 back in 2015! I have personally never watched the first season myself, so I'll try my best to sum up Season 2 with hints from other reviewers who have watched before.

Story:
Following Season 1's sequence of events, it's been a year at Eagle Jump with the usual team, and intending to take up a notch higher, Aoba Suzukaze and her team helms out a new project after the previous season (Fairies 3) with PECO as their (surprise, surprise) NEW GAME!!

Everything you know from the 2015 entry replicates here, if not even better. The focus read more
Aug 19, 2017
squashem (All reviews)
Preliminary
Right, so my second attempt at a review, so bear with me.

So this is the second series of NEw Game. Same great cast, back again.
This is just a continuation of the first season, they are all back for their next project. In terms of development, characters haven't necessarily matured, but some have found new positions in the company and so need to take on new roles and responsibilities. But this is generally the same as the first as I have said.

The art is just as Moe' and colourful, if not even brighter than before.

If you haven't seen the first season of this read more
Sep 30, 2017
Fecal-Jesus (All reviews)
New Game!! was a fun and enjoyable anime to watch. It's about Aoba and her coworkers working on a bear fantasy video game. A lot of new characters that werent on season 1 are introduced in this second season. These new characters were great and I was a fan. There were a lot of fun moments throughout that made me laugh but this anime also had a lot of sad moments and drama. This anime did a great job being a roller coaster ride of emotions. If you liked the first season of new game I 100% recommend this 2nd season, you will enjoy it.
Sep 27, 2017
KawaiiLittleNeko (All reviews)
New Game!! by studio Doga Kobo. This is a brief review just to go over some points as I carry on.
This comedy and slice of life anime, is different from many other that fall into the same or similar category in a very good way.

When I finished season 1 of New Game last year, I realized how it was no ordinary like the other comedic, slice of life anime series; it felt so special to me that I went to make my current account for myanimelist only to give it a score of 10. I was wishing New Game would get recognized by many anime read more
Oct 31, 2017
kboshiebo (All reviews)
*Please note I watched both the first and second seasons in succession so there may be crossover in this review*

Upon first glance, my assumption was for this to be a moe centered anime, profiting from cute girls, thus I didn't watch the first season when it came out. Seeing that it got a second season, I presumed there must be more to it and decided to give it a watch. My assumption was wrong. This anime really hit home with me, a brilliant artstyle which personally I don't think I've seen elsewhere, lovable characters with a strong sense of character development and an engaging, exciting read more
Oct 21, 2017
MemoThunder (All reviews)
New Game!! is the 2nd season of the New Game! series. When I first watched New game! last year, I was really motivated. The anime was really good and it helped me a lot when I used to be a game developer. The second season of this series is even better; it has a lot of improvement over the first season.

While the first season focuses on comedy and some problems that game designers have while developing a game, the second season shows more of these things and focuses more on the problems that game developers and programmers have while working on a project. One more read more
Sep 26, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
New Game!! comes back for a second season and what we get this time is more of the same. This isn't bad for the most part as season one was great and keeping the show somewhere near that level makes sense. The little gripe I had was that overall the show wasn't as entertaining as season one had been. However the way the finale was executed made for a great conclusion to the story and balances out the missing entertainment value for me. I want to quickly point out that this season felt like it had more yuri-bait but that didn't really bother me in read more
Sep 26, 2017
PyraXadon (All reviews)
So New Game! made a splash with its cute cast of gaming grill nerds dedicating its entire runtime to making games combined with various antics in the office cause quirkiness is a staple for this kind of show to keep things interesting. To no one’s surprise, we got a sequel. So…how’s the sequel, I guess is the question. (Missed opportunity not calling it ‘New Game+’.)

Story:

Now finished with their current project, we return back to Eagle Jump one year later from Aoba starting as a character designer for the company as we continue viewing the lives of the women who work at the read more
Sep 26, 2017
HereticHunter (All reviews)
I said it before and will say it again, I would have probably skipped this second season if I knew that this sequel were more focused on fan service than plot itself, more than half of this season is just cute girls doing cute stuff. Of course, there isn't a problem with this at all on a SoL anime, but I expected more as a Sequel rather than having an anime that FINALLY starts moving after 7 episodes, the first 6 where 75% of cute girls doing cute stuff and 25% of actual plot. Let's not forget that they also included new characters halfway in read more
Nov 3, 2017
AnimeFan48 (All reviews)
Story: so the company eagle jump is back and it has been a year sense fairy tales was released so now they gotta work on a new game (which ends up being Peco) but with Aoba she wants more and she decides that she wants to be the lead character designer (she does end up winning beating Yagami for it) so what happens with Aoba is almost like with getting anything new or higher up with a company she has longer hours the work can be stressful and of course wondering if she was even right for the job to even begin with.

Art: the art read more