Aho Girl


AHO-GIRL

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: AHO-GIRL
Synonyms: Ahogaru: Clueless Girl, Dummy Girl
Japanese: アホガール

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2017 to Sep 19, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Diomedea
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 12 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.961 (scored by 161531161,531 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #37312
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #404
Members: 305,126
Favorites: 857
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 19, 2017
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*No Spoiler Concise Review*
TL;DR: An idiot girl getting into endless shenanigans that keeps viewers just laughing till their precious buttocks fall off.
[Story: 4/10 , Characters: 8/10, Art: 8/10, Sound: 6/10, Enjoyment: 9/10]

What is Aho Girl? What isn't Aho girl? Should I even watch this anime? If you think this anime looks stupid and the premise you've read on MAL sounds dumb then you are even more of an "Aho" than the main girl is in this anime. Seriously, Aho Girl (Idiot Girl) is your classic boke and tsukkomi style comedy with plenty of slapstick. If you just want to turn off your brain and laugh read more
Sep 19, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
Hidden beneath the antics, the one-liners, and the pop culture references, Aho Girl’s goal is obvious even to the untrained eye; it desires your attention. “Look at me! Look at me!” Aho Girl screams, waving its arms and jumping about in a frenzied, excessive, and desperate manner. In doing so, this show has managed to not only work but endear itself to the audience as well. Quite a few seasonal viewers have been smitten over this show and, at first glance, it’s easy to see why. Aho Girl is energetic. It’s straightforward. And it’s occasionally charming. However, Aho Girl is also painful to watch.

First and read more
Sep 19, 2017
Zaber_san (All reviews)
Oh boy.. Summer 2017 animes are ending already and it was quite a hustle... From the isekai genre shows like ''In Another World With My Smartphone'' that so many hates about,
,the A-1 pictures version of the Fate series, the gambling-crazy anime Kakegurui, the action packed 2nd season of Boku No Hero Academia, to the romantic anime Koi To Uso, we all have been blessed with so many good shows though there is something missing.. An anime that is mainly focused on humor, laughter or should I say.. The legendary ''Comedy'' genre. There comes the hidden wonder ''Aho Girl''. It looks like an anime version of read more
Aug 12, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sometimes, silly actions can make us laugh, stupid comments are hilarious, unexplained decisions are funny, but it isn't the case of Aho Girl. I wonder if the author respects women or not.

The story, a stupid girl Yoshiko with a brain of the size of a monkey that has some attention disorder illness. She takes stupid decisions all the time and tries to capture the "love" and interest of Akutsu. Also, she likes bananas, so the author refers to her as a monkey. She has been near Akutsu since their youth, but this guy incomprehensibly hates her. Honestly, ¿isn't that fun? We will read more
Sep 19, 2017
dadnaya (All reviews)
This time: Aho Girl! Review!

12 episodes, each is around 12 minutes. Each episode is split into 3 or 4 smaller parts.
Now, Aho Girl doesn't have any story, it contains random unrelated stories which are funny with different characters from the cast.

It was pretty funny at the beginning, and I even wanted full 24 minutes episodes, but..... Somewhere in the middle I felt like I'm already done with Aho Girl. It became a lot less funny, and many of the jokes repeated themselves.

At one point new characters were introduced, and which felt to me too much. I liked the original cast and now that half of read more
Jul 25, 2017
Modo942000 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Every once in a while, there is that anime that you just keep watching without knowing why you are doing it but you're still enjoying it so much and Aho Girl is just like that for me. I started the anime out reluctant to do it as I felt it was going to be stupid and mediocre but I sure was wrong.

Story: 6/10
The story is nothing special. The story follows Yoshiko, a girl extremely stupid you'll feel stupid yourself just watching her, and her every day life with her childhood friend, A-kun. She is always doing something stupid and he is always trying to stop read more
Jul 25, 2017
MayDay_77 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aho Girl is a comedy anime that I would recommend for anyone wanting to enjoy a good laugh.

The series revolves around the lives of a complete airhead of a girl named Yoshiko(who loves bananas) and her friend and acclaimed crush Akuru who is a smart and dilligent friend. Akaru has a hard time keeping the Aho on reigns during every passing moment!

This is a short series with each episode being only 12 minutes long and following no specific plot; however, I do not mind as each episode is enjoyable to watch and each character stands out.

The sound is very good when it comes to voices read more
Apr 14, 2020
Brinxen (All reviews)
Have you ever looked at an anime you're planning to watch and think, "Man, this is gonna be bad, isn't it?"

That was my initial impression of Aho Girl. But BOY was I surprised.

Aho Girl is probably the only anime I've seen of it's kind, where the girl gets beat up by the support character instead of a dude.

Not just lightly bonked like in a cute way either, she gets FUCKING SUPLEX SLAMMED INTO THE FLOOR.

Aho Girl represents the standard for physical comedy in anime for me. It's very easy to pick a male comedic relief character and have the straightman girl bash him up for read more
Sep 2, 2017
CCYamato (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aho Girl is about as "industry low standard" as you can find. Following the "slice of life" adventures of a girl who is completely non-functional as a human being (and the small cast who spend all their time reacting to her strange antics), Aho-Girl lives up to its very simple name, "Idiot Girl".

There is no story to speak of, just several short sketches in a 10 minute episode (12 with the opening). The situations are intended to be comedy, but relies almost exclusively on low grade slap stick. Despite not being an "ero" anime, there is not a small amount of panty shots in this read more
Sep 24, 2017
Aki-Akabane (All reviews)
Aho girl is the most stupid anime i ever seen
Bad characters bad jokes bad story waste of time for all even the op and ed is
Nonsense if u want to waste your life or have nothing better to do then watch it
It will make u hate yourself cause of too much stupidity
I know it is a comedy anime made for fun but still there is much better than this show and actually have a good story with good sense and humour even the jokes are easy to accept . If u want to make anime like that or air read more
Nov 2, 2018
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

The banana is sometimes considered one of nature’s most amazing creations.

Commonly produced. Comes in bunches. Easy to hold. Sweet taste. Biodegradable packaging. Penchant for comedy. Not since the apple has there been such a fruit, such a food that has given humans so much with so little.

While people love bananas, nobody loves them as much as Yoshiko of Aho Girl. And, while she may have less brains than one of these yellow-wrapped fruits, she upstages their comedic value with her own brazen stupidity.

STORY

At roughly thirteen minutes per episode, Aho Girl has only so much time read more
Nov 30, 2019
1cY (All reviews)
Does this anime have any type of creative nuance or depth that would generally warrant a high rating? No.

Does it create a lasting imprint on its audience, or contain any theme that teaches something of value? Also no. There's no real story to speak of, the music is decent but nowhere near amazing, and the characters fall into various general tropes that you've probably seen a thousand times.

All of this, yet I think this anime deserves an 8? Yup.

Aho Girl is the very definition of lowbrow humour; the greasy potato wedges, the barbecue pulled pork of anime. There is nothing refined present, but it throws read more
Jul 25, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
Preliminary
Going bonkers over bananas.

This is a weird series, more of a series of 4 small episodes every main one, but they are just long enough to be entertaining, any longer and they might be too much.

Story: not much of one overall, a girl likes banana's and her friends and all the weird and crazy stuff they get into, but it has a silly charm to it.

Art: It's livable, it does the comedy well, but not the biggest highlight.

Characters: they are all over the top, crazy and silly and why I'm enjoying it so far.

Enjoyment and overall: Not sure read more
Aug 24, 2017
TheSmilingShoujo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aho Girl is a slapstick slice of life that revolves around a stupid (aho) girl Hanabatake Yoshiko and her more-normal neighbour/classmate/crush Akutsu Akuru. I decided to watch this one day as I was browsing idly for new anime. Boy, I discovered a gold mine!

It's fun to watch in every episode so far and I've never failed to laugh in every one of them (the episode on Power Rangers was brilliant!). It's silly to the point it's genius like Mr. Bean.

SJWs might find this distasteful as Akuru always hit Yoshiko whenever she pisses him off (most were quiet and find it funny when a female tsundere read more
May 22, 2019
Emotionalpotato (All reviews)
Preliminary
Many shows have adapted the funny and the idiotic main character,if written well can be really funny but that’s not the case with Aho girl .


At first glance it seems like an average ok show but when you start to look at it fully it’s very mediocre . The jokes are very overused and the jokes themselves are quite stupid and distasteful . Most of the jokes are jokes about the girl’s serious obsession with bananas or plain poop jokes that sound like they were written by a seven year old .The characters are very generic and cliche,overall they are just plain. Most of the read more
Nov 24, 2017
ZearoX (All reviews)
Aho girl is, despite the title, not actually an idiotic show. Yoshiko, the titular girl of the show, loves bananas, she loves Akutsu, and she loves playing around. She is also absolutely imbecilic, managing to consistently get 0's on every test in school. Yet she has a certain charm to her, and a devious insight into the behaviour of those around her, that sometimes make you wonder whether she's really stupid or just sees the world very differently from everyone else.

Akutsu on the other hand is a thoroughly disagreeable fellow, he's very smart and has a punch that can knock out anyone. Most of the read more
Jul 25, 2017
-HippySnob- (All reviews)
Preliminary
A Cast with a simple airheaded whiny control freak who's very obsessed with bananas

and a loner caretaker childhood friend having a bad luck every day

The possible relationship between the two are straight up Tsukkomi Boke routine, Mostly the teasing really reminds me Kashima and Hori from the way he treated very skeptically neither how possible dumb she can be.

Detailed show with the same art as Mangaka-san to assistant-san, the gag can be specify less humor and sitcom from the most set of shows out there.

First 5 minutes of scenario can simplify cracked you up very badly or if isn't really your cup of tea read more
Dec 27, 2017
zamandzoe (All reviews)
"Never underestimate the power of human stupidity."
- Robert A. Heinlein

Take that quote, put it in anime form, and crank the "stupidity" up to 100. Then multiply that with the most fun you've had in a long time. That's how Aho-Girl was created (literally, the title is exactly what it is).

Many have written this anime off because of the countless number of memes and clips you've seen of it on the internet make it seem like a joke. None of them have given it a fair chance. They don't know what they're missing out on.

Story: 7
Once upon a time, read more
Mar 28, 2018
ShaIIot (All reviews)
This is one of the only anime I've written a review about that had a dumb story and an annoying main character that I rated 10/10. Needless to say, it's funny as hell.

The story for Aho Girl is... well pretty much nothing. It's just a slice of life about an "aho girl". There is a narrative, sort of, but it's more of a way of organizing the madness that ensues in the 12 minute episodes.

The art is amazing. It provides hilarious visual comedy and mocks/parodies other anime, especially JoJo. Not to mention, on the accidental and rare occurrence of me seeing part of the intro, read more
Aug 31, 2020
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: A gag anime composed of shorts centered primarily around a dumb girls stupidity that has some decent comedy but gets kind of annoying as it goes on.

This is a 12 episode series, but each episode is only half length at about 12 minutes. Furthermore, each of these episodes is split into even smaller short stories of about 3-4 minutes. These stories don't have any sort of overarching plot or character arcs or anything. Multiple stories do connect, but even when they do it's not for the purpose of trying to tell  a more complex story and none of the stories feel like they're actually read more