Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yu☆Gi☆Oh! VRAINS


Alternative Titles

English: Yu-Gi-Oh! VRAINS
Synonyms: Yuu Gi Ou!, Yugioh
Japanese: 遊戯王VRAINS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: May 10, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 18:25 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Gallop
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.661 (scored by 6,115 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #52412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2877
Members: 22,196
Favorites: 163

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jul 28, 2017
Twillij (All reviews)
First impression of the VRAINS series is that the anime has a more mature theme much like the 5D's series, which in my opinion is a plus. So far the story is about the high school student Yuusaku who secretly works as a hacker fighting against the criminal hacking organisation "Knights of Hanoi" due to a yet unexplained background that involved these two. Duels are now carried out in a futuristic VR system called the VRAINS that allows players to manifest as an avatar inside the cyber realm.

The story so far is very well-paced and enjoyable - all the duels have had meaningful for the read more
Sep 20, 2017
Zaber_san (All reviews)
*THERE WILL BE SOME SPOILERS SO BE CAREFUL.. BUT I WILL MINIMISE IT.. *

Spring 2017 season is already over. With the return of the phenomenal Attack On Titan, to the so called ''Trash'' anime Eromanga-sensei, the animes last spring season was quite alright with the shows it offers to us.. But I was not expecting of a return of one of the most famous childhood animes we've been watched, though on this date, almost no one doesn't remember or even care about this collection of animes. That's right. The YuGiOh! franchise... As a fan of the franchise (I still am), Ive watched almost all of read more
Sep 12, 2018
Elfezen (All reviews)
Yu-Gi-Oh! VRAINS is the newest entry to the Yu-Gi-Oh! series and it has become an amazing anime. The main aspect is dueling within the Cyberse World constructed with LINK VRAINS program where everyone customizes their avatars and duel while the primary plot follows the fate of the Cyberse World and the connection between humans and AI similar to a videogame setting. The beautiful design and development of the protagonist Yusaku Fujiki (Playmaker) give him an epic dark justice character that differentiates him from any previous Yu-Gi-Oh! protagonist. The desings of the secondary characters is also really wonderful especially Takeru Homura (Soulburner), Skye Zaizen (Blue Angel) read more
Dec 18, 2017
AkiDream (All reviews)
Yugioh VRAINS taps into the older Yugioh fan brilliantly, while creating a compelling and interesting story-line that always keeps the viewer guessing.

When I think of "Yu-Gi-Oh!" I always think back to the original manga, and first decade of the franchise, DM, GX, and 5Ds. I think after 5Ds the direction of the franchise became a lot more light hearted, at least for the beginnings of Zexal and Arc-V which I could never really get into. However, VRAINS brilliantly recaptures what made me fall in love with this franchise. While the show is dark and realistic, it is also funny at times which makes for a read more
Apr 6, 2019
KuroAruu (All reviews)
Chances are I'll delete this at a later point and do a more complete review once this anime is finished.

I wanted to wait on at least season 2 to finish before I'd do a review on this series but I felt like giving my thoughts on it so far. If you bother to check my ratings for the previous Yu-Gi-Oh! anime you'll know that a 5 isn't necessarily a bad score for me as I think this genre and show as a whole is very pigeon-holed. It finds itself to be lost in a bubble to create something truly great. With that read more
Apr 24, 2018
serjohn01 (All reviews)
MONSTA CARDO ! DORO ! TURAP CARDO ! INTU THA VEREINS !
hey man they are trying at yugioh corp. at least they are trying , this isnt really a 9 show . But based of what we have seen this a cool one , i like it at least . dont sleep on this one it's preatty good give it a try . how do you feel about the new link summoning ? for i can tell i can't go back and play my xsaber deck because you can summon only 1 extra deck monster at a time . i like that the xyz read more
Jan 16, 2018
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
Apparently people decided to give too much of a cold shoulder to the previous series of Arc V due to "how poorly it concluded" and "the internal tension" of the Arc V staff during the second half of the series. So a month of delay was passed and all the internal ygo hype was on Yugioh Vrains. I've watched a good bit of it myself up to a certain point, but I have to break it to everyone here about the reality of this show. While it has not done anything terribly wrong, considering the abnormally good ratings and reviews in Japan alone, it is read more
Nov 24, 2017
Keryion (All reviews)
Oh hey, this is my first review on this website. Let's start by reviewing the 6th series of the Yu-Gi-Oh franchise, aka Yu-Gi-Oh VRAINS. *minimal spoilers btw*

Story: 2-5, 6-8 for YGO fans
This is the part that always breaks the YGO animes; card games are never meant to be taken THIS seriously. For non-YGO fans, this will tend to be a turn-off, and honestly, if I wasn't a long-term fan, I probably would've given VRAINS a score of 2 or 3. Overall, the story has potential, and honestly it's a breath of fresh air because it starts out pretty dark (unlike the past two series). However, read more
Jan 21, 2018
Mohamed_m (All reviews)
VRAINS is awesome to watch you have to watch it, it has amazing story plot my rate is 9.5/10 it's better than original show it's probably my best anime ever.
The best episode so far is 1-3, 8-12, 18-20, 28 and 35.
And i don't have any complaint in this show.
it's like you not watching Yu-Gi-Oh it's brutal.
it has dark ton sad and scary backstory.
i create my own story event so here is link https://www.reddit.com/user/mohamed61/comments/7oziv7/vrains_story_event_you_can_ask_any_question/ and comment down if you have any question and if you want to join my server to ask any question comment below.
Thanks
Sep 3, 2017
EmmemTTC (All reviews)
currently,vrains is much more interesting then most of it's previous series(Arc v and Zexal) arc v is good in the beginning episodes and ending episodes after around the time where they dimension hope,it got boring. zexal is straight b***shit. since 5ds,they have not made any really good series but vrains,took the high school setting and mix in with the mature themes in 5ds which is really good.the art style for the characters are still the same but the CG is really good,where you compare the CG with pass series like zexal or Aec v,where both series have decent CG only some time they did't include read more
Oct 1, 2018
emil_jacob (All reviews)
Warning: This review is going to be from the words of an SAO fan.

Story: As far as story is concerned, the Yugioh writers seem to hype up their game. Inspite of the recap episodes, it has managed to stay consistent with its pacing and storytelling. Already, it is a massive improvement from Arc-V, with had a strong beginning and fell flat at the end. Also, its plot seems to take the Yugioh series in a different direction, to the direction of VR (which SAO established first), but inspite of that, it succeeds at doing its own thing, without much linkage to SAO.

Art: The art is read more
Jan 28, 2018
Darvallas (All reviews)
So, I started watching this anime because i didn't completely understand how Link summons worked (And I was too lazy to read about it :P), but I ended up actually digging it a lot, so I will stick to it for a bit longer and see what happens.

This isn't so much a review as it is a first impressions, because the anime isn't over yet and I believe it would be unfair to judge it as such.

So what can I say about this show?...
It's Yugioh.

I know that sounds dumb, but at the end of the day the point of the show is just to make read more