Mahoujin Guruguru (2017)


Alternative Titles

English: Magical Circle
Japanese: 魔法陣グルグル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 11, 2017 to Dec 20, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 5,458 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2725
Members: 19,944
Favorites: 163

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2017
Unowen (All reviews)
Mahoujin Guruguru (2017) is probably one of the most vivid and frenetic titles to have arrived in recent times. As the year in its name implies, it is a remake of a relatively popular franchise in Japan back in the 90s, that gave birth to a manga that spanned for more than 10 years as well as two anime series of 45 and 38 episodes respectively. Packing into 24 episodes a story that was originally fit into that much material undoubtedly sounds like a recipe for disaster. Therefore, how does this show manage to work (besides removing fillers)?

First of all it is important to read more
Aug 9, 2017
WormyMaster (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, going into this show I didn't really know what to think. The artstyle looked retro and when I looked it up and found the 90s-show first, I partly knew why.

Mahoujin GuruGuru is a parody of old RPGs like Dragonquest and Final Fantasy. It openly mocks its tropes and plays around with them in ways you won't expect. The more interesting thing about it is, however, that it serves a totally different purpose nowadays than it did back in the day.
In 1994, when the first version came out, the type of game this is spoofing was still relevant in the exact way this show is read more
Dec 19, 2017
Tyumace (All reviews)
From the promotional art of this show it looked like it wouldn't be more than a boring kid's show, however, after seeing the (2017) besides the title, meaning this is a remake and the original is probably quite polular in Japan and after seeing it's rated PG 13 and after reading the synopsis of the manga I decided to give it a try.

What I expected, as the synopsis suggested, was a cute and somewhat fun show about video game tropes. However, what I got was a show that was far less focused of video game tropes or being cute and much more on comedy...good comedy. read more
Dec 19, 2017
MaskOfIce (All reviews)
This is possibly the most underappreciated show I've watched. For how good it is, it is criminal that more people have not watched it. If you want to know if you should watch it, the answer is yes. It's consistently funny, the characters are charming, it has enjoyable action, really in most senses it's a worthwhile trip.

The premise is every 80s JRPG ever. Evil lord is risen, go slay it hero! And this series is a deliberate parody of those, from occasionally shifting to a pixilated art style to mocking the tropes of said genre to even the fact that there's 4 elemental swords read more
Dec 19, 2017
KurataLordStage (All reviews)
To be honest I don’t really like the pure comedy anime that all that much. One of the reasons why I don’t these types of anime because the comedy/gags can get really repetitive to the point where the comedy/gags become predictable, unfunny and at worse annoying. Konosuba 2 and School Rumble, in my opinion, are the worst examples for this because not only they kept the same jokes to the point where they overstayed them welcome but those shows ended up being wasted potential. You can the viewer laugh all they want but if you don’t have any substance to back it up as well read more
Aug 10, 2017
GreyWoolf (All reviews)
Preliminary
I wasn't really expecting anything from a show that looked to be from the wrong side of the 90s, but boy was I wrong.

Mahoujin Guruguru is perhaps a more "appropriate" version of Konosuba. While I don't necessarily believe that fans of one will be won over by the other, they feature many similarities. Both shows feature a reluctant hero thrown into a world of idiots. Often times the main character can't be bothered to put in any effort and just gets lucky. Every obstacle scares him , and he's obsessed with the heroine's butt.

Most of the gags land very well, and the read more
Dec 20, 2017
Argyll (All reviews)
Mahoujin Guru Guru is quirky, adorable and at times smart. Most of all, Mahoujin Guru Guru is criminally funny.

* minor spoilers *

The series starts with the setup of classic early RPGs: hero (勇者) Nike sets off a journey with guru guru magic user Kukuri -- a girl admires the hero -- to challenge the evil master Giri Giri who is awakening to take over the world. Right away, the series makes it very clear that it intends not to take such a setup seriously. Our hero does not care for adventuring as the hero -- if anything, being a magic user is cooler (and it read more
Sep 2, 2017
redpandamaster17 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I hate that people overrate shows just because they are unique. I hate that people dismiss shows that don't have "feels", or shows that aren't "deep". Sometimes it seems that our pseudo-intellectual society is telling us that instead of rating shows based on enjoyment, we need to consider a false set of values.

That said, I will tell you, THE PEOPLE, why I enjoyed Magic Circle Guruguru enough to consider it one of the best anime I have ever seen.

The relationship between the hero Nike and the heroine Kukuri is heartwarming to say the least. If I had a son and a daughter, I would want read more
Jan 3, 2018
Nafutto (All reviews)
I have no experience writing a review and this is my first time so bear with me.

The very first thing I want to say is... This show is Under-Rated as hell! Most of my otaku friends even haven't heard about this show. Well as one of that person who always watches the popular animes, This show makes me rethink to consider watching other underrated animes. As a 2017 anime, this show really has a lot of competitors, and good ones at that. Maybe thats the reason that mahoujin guruguru 2017 is not well known. People end up watching other animes of this season.

Enough bs here's read more
Jan 3, 2018
simple_hypocrite (All reviews)
Mahoujin Guruguru is an anime with all the necesarry to be a good show, a decent paicing, charismatic characters, decent comedy and an animation that remember to the retro esthetic of the first serie, but more polish; although that, the anime has some mistakes.The most evident problem are the principal cast,of the three protagonist, kukuri ,nike and the old kita-kita. The history takes to much attention in kukury and her evolution around grown and the love,which eventually becomes annoying,to the point that forget develoment the other two characters.While the old kitta-kitta is an unnecesary comic relief, since the series already possess many caracters that fulfill read more
Sep 27, 2017
Galuff (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a "remake" of the original serious that was 48 episodes long, while this one is only 24. They seem to have ripped the sound from the original, truncated and replaced the graphics. It is still a joy to watch, but not as good as the original.

The best thing about this show is the slapstick humour, the sound effects and the characters. They are all likeable.Gipple being my favourit, though in this new version, I think they cut out a lot of his scenes. Shame on them, he is funny as hell.

Worth watching if you like humour. I would recommend the original read more
Feb 4, 2018
Stonedtanuki (All reviews)
When I finished this last night I found it hard to not be biased and just give the series a 10 simply for the amount of enjoyment I found in it's 24 episodes. But, this is not about me and is intended to steer any curious readers on whether, "Mahoujin Guruguru," is for them.

A description of the story sounds like your average adventure and, in a way, it is! It's an adventure we've all seen, played, or even heard about; The hero is chosen from normal circumstances and given the task of healing the world from the evil Demon King. As 'cookie-cutter' as that sounds, read more
Jan 3, 2018
JordanRidderhof (All reviews)
Mahoujin Guru Guru is a remake of the original 1994 anime and is a 24 episode long story about a boy who gets sent out by his parents to be the hero. He immediately meets kukuri, the last user of a special magic called guru guru which can be used to seal of the final antagonist of this series, Giri. This show is a parody of more traditional RPGs but is able to make jokes besides making fun of RPGs. This show has a story that is is the acclimation of every jrpg plot but that is due to the fact that this is read more
Aug 14, 2017
bozz2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
first time give a review

when you look at the artwork you will think Mahoujin Guru-Guru is recommended for kids or someone who like cute characters, but thats not entirely true

its a remake from old anime my favourite in 90s that parody of rpg adventure that used to popular around 1990s,2000s era that can captivate vieawer of some retro games likes final fantasy, etc. But they add it with a slapstick comedy.

Story& Enjoyment: The Story it's actually really good, but compare to the first version, the comedy quality quite lacking because the pace is quite fast, i cannot fully enjoy the comedy because of the read more
Mar 5, 2018
IvivinPigeon (All reviews)
This show takes a few minutes to catch its pacing. It does move at breakneck speed, but the middle and even latter parts of the show thrive on it. It is rough at the beginning because the characters have yet to endear themselves to you, but the show must continue at a breakneck pace nonetheless.

The story itself is cliched, but in all the best ways. There isn't much to it, earnestly, but I enjoyed the simplicity and sincerity of it--despite the show overall thriving in its gags and comedy.

I suppose the thing I like most about the show is that, while it recognizes and read more
Dec 2, 2017
reherd (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched this series much longer than I first expected to, but the child-like quality finally overwhelmed the attractive character development and the general zaniness. Might have worked better for me with fewer episodes. Still, this series is an interesting alternative to the "usual" -- but "Girls' Last Tour", "Kaiba", "Knights of Sidonia, "RWBY," everything by Shinbo/Shaft, etc. provide a lot of other alternative anime too, but are much better IMHO.

BTW, since I am a dinosaur, I played the old 2-D games to which this series makes occasional references -- they aren't half-bad even today (I'm not sure, but there may be read more