Kujira no Kora wa Sajou ni Utau


Children of the Whales

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Children of the Whales
Synonyms: Whale Calves Sing on the Sand, Tales of the Wales Calves
Japanese: クジラの子らは砂上に歌う

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to Dec 24, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Netflix
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: MysteryMystery, Super PowerSuper Power, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.211 (scored by 6756767,567 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #27062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #901
Members: 154,926
Favorites: 669
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2017
TuyNOM (All reviews)
To all appearances Children of the Whales seemed to be a promising anime. I have the impression that the series held all the necessary elements to be a memorable work: partially interesting and potentially exceptional worldbuilding, splendid artistic direction, intriguing characters... but after 2 episodes, the series goes in another direction and gets worse gradually. In the end, we have a lot of tears, melodrama, inconsistencies, and far too much in my opinion.

Story: Chakuro is 14 years old and is an archivist / scribe on the Mud Whale, an island that floats on a sea of endless sand. That island has several specificities. There are read more
Dec 24, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
I'll say this right away, Children of the Whales is not for everyone.

It has amazing music and eye-catching visuals, but the story requires the audience to be interested in its themes of emotion and utopianism. The characters and setting have incredibly satisfying arcs throughout the show, but if you're not invested in them you won't find the arcs engaging or nearly as cathartic as I did. If it sinks its hooks in you by the first episode, then chances are you'll enjoy this show.

The world of Children of the Whales asks its characters to conceal their emotions for the greater good, a sly criticism read more
Nov 24, 2017
Derykasd (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far, this is a big disappointment.

After having watched two great somewhat similar shows this year, i was looking forward to this one, specially after having seen how the show looks, which i believe is the main reason most people are giving this one a try.

Unfortunately, the production is the only good thing about this show, and on some cases even that is a issue, specially on some action scenes, when the character's don't even look like they inhabit the world of the background(or just stand there doing nothing for no reason at all).

The main issue i have with this show, are the characters. Most read more
Dec 25, 2017
EnZanity (All reviews)
If you asked anyone to describe Children of the Whales, they would probably call it a tragedy. The people that enjoyed it would say it’s a heartbreaking tragedy filled with death and agony, a show packed with emotion. The people that disliked it would call it a tragedy in a more literal sense, and personally I agree with them. With boring and unexplored characters, predictable and badly paced drama, and a dollop of plot armour to top it all off, Children of the Whales manages to mess up almost every part of what could have made it an interesting watch.

Our MC for the show Chakuro read more
Dec 24, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching shoujo fantasy adventures these days feels like taking a dive into a video game world. When Kujira no Kora Wa Sujou ni Utau (Children of the Whales) began airing, I had a strange instinct about the show. It felt like an anime that really wanted us to really embrace its ideas but fell short on capitalizing on all of them.

Created by Abi Umeda, few people probably heard of the author’s name. Taking a close look at their resume, some of their work consists of horror genre series. Crafting a shoujo fantasy adventure sounded like a challenge. However, I will say this: the author decided read more
Nov 7, 2017
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The best fantastic adventures take you to cool worlds full of cool characters, and, fortunately for everybody involved, Children of the Whales does just that. Anybody who is a fan of mystery, fantasy, psychological themes, and beautiful artwork should most definitely check this show out!

Story:
A quiet and tranquil ship called the Mud Whale full of short-lived psychokinetics and a handful of boring normies with longer lifespans drifts aimlessly on an endless sea of sand. Barring a few troublemakers the people of the Mud Whale are (mostly) happy in what seems to be a utopian commune of sorts. Unexpected contact with the outside world reveals read more
Jun 20, 2020
2life (All reviews)
This anime is so unique it could be one of a kind

Not really anime, not really Chinese cartoon, this story sail between being weird and great. Children of the Whales is a story which could not be for anyone. It appeals and please quite a niche group of people. Nevertheless it did really please me with its unique story and world.

§§§§ STORY §§§§
So I cant really go deep in the story without spoiling it so I won’t. That would lessen the fun of watching it yourself. Children of the Whales is told form the perspective of Chakuro who occasionally narrates some of his thoughts. It read more
Nov 16, 2017
Liao (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love everything about this anime. It is probably one of the most interesting, innovative and well-made shoujos I have ever seen in my life. I was anxious to be able to watch it and now I feel that all my expectations are being fulfilled very well. And I'm still being surprised.

Art (10)
The first thing I wanted to mention about it, is the beauty of the drawing and the color palette. The colors are mostly very soft, pastel tones, giving a more innocent and pure connotation for the protagonist characters. The antagonists, in turn, always receive stronger colors - I found this quite interesting. read more
Nov 12, 2017
TrapsterJ1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, so I'm not gonna be prejudice and start throwing around facts before the series is even over like everyone else but all I can say 5 episodes in this is one of the greats of the season. If you're on the fence on watching, let me personally encourage you.

In a weird way it feels like a game of Civilization - little countries with hidden motives and philosophies, some are stronger than others in debatable aspects and dreaming of expanding your knowledge of the world to truly understand you're place in it.

That is all. Watch along this series, it's looking like it's already and gonna read more
Apr 7, 2019
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Whales are intelligent, majestic creatures. Rulers of the sea by size and by power.

In comparison, Kujira no Kora wa Sajou ni Utau has no size. It has no power.

All it really rules over is the bottom of the ocean – right where it belongs.

STORY

Credit where credit is due: Kujira no Kora (as it will be shortened to from here on out) contains a neat premise what with its expanse of sand, an inexplicable titan, and the cultural norms it creates. It at least has the footing necessary to get the ball rolling (or, in this read more
May 2, 2019
raisin-kun (All reviews)
I am in despair. For the first time in a long time I am actually sad that an anime has gone this poorly. I had hopes that Children of Whales (KujiKora for short) could be a little gem of an anime. JC Staff are an animation studio that have probably been the most consistent studio in all of Japan and have given us some incredible classics like Nodame and Hachimitsu as well as some great contemporary works like Sakurasou and Raildex. I had hope that this anime would be able to join their echelons. Fantasy is a genre that I have hardly explored but this read more
Mar 16, 2018
Harucchan (All reviews)
Kujira No Kora is beautiful anime in all senses! I realize not everyone will like, because it’s quite a sensitive story; it’s that kind of story which leaves you, at the end, with lots of tears. The story is quite interesting too – it’s filled with a magical world and mysteries; so, I’m sure if you start watching it, you’ll end up watching all episodes in a row, considering how much addictive the show is. I need to be sincere with you guys: the show is really interesting, but the story has some inconsistencies; it’s a shoujo show, but, as far as I’m concerned it read more
Jul 8, 2020
SKULDeus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seriously I can't take the way characters handled their problems, things would have been much easier if they told others what's going on. In my eyes, they all seem like idiots, who lack the brain to think probably. For example, if you can't understand what I mean, they could have told everyone on the island that the Elders are trying to sink the island. Other than this I would say the story itself is pretty interesting, despite those retardedness actions taken by the characters. The art is also pretty good, so as the music.
It's something decent to watch with your brain turned off, but read more
Dec 26, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
On paper, Kujira no Kora wa Sajou ni Utau, or Children Of The Whales, seems promising at first glance, but on screen, as you follow the story of people learning to disregard their emotions (LITERALLY being kuuderes) as a means to survive in a place full of contraptions and controversies amidst the fast-pacing that it has, it becomes over and underwhelming of the overall production value in and itself.

Story & Characters:
In a world of humans, more specifically the land of Falaina, the sinner's land, people are categorized as Unmarked and Marked according to whether thymia exists within them (which act as their superpowers), with the read more
Dec 25, 2017
NotAnElk (All reviews)
Children of the Mud Whale is a beautiful show with an interesting world that is a complete waste of time. Most of us watched it for the pretty background art and fascinating concept, but it fails miserably to deliver on these.

Story: 3
3 is a bit generous and is there solely because of 1) a death early on that caught me by surprise, and 2) the world building. Mud Whale has an interesting world, with whale/ships powered by grotesque monstrosities on a sand ocean. There's an evil empire and other kingdoms scattered around, it all seems like it should be really entertaining but it just isn't. read more
Mar 24, 2018
Darynlxm (All reviews)
This anime is the definition of "Trying too hard."

Lets start with the story: On the surface its actually a decent concept. In fact, if there was more world to explore it could be quite enjoyable. Instead, the first two episodes are 25 minute expositions that end up doing nothing for the story overall.

From that point on the story attempts to pull heart-strings by delving into the debate of logic vs. emotion, and exploiting the death of children to really drive home the point of how gut-wrenching the story is.

All in all the story ends up going nowhere while attempting to paint itself read more
Nov 23, 2017
Zilentblade (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watch this anime if you cannot decide what to watch or have a lot of time. Give it a try but don't expect too much

Almost no character development and too slow paced for a 12 episode anime. It is hard to relate to any of the characters or to see the meaning behind their actions.
The anime has a lot of potential but failed to keep me excited about the next episode.
Now about the main character: his whole existence and significance is based on his overly idealistic emotional personality to follow what he believe is right.

The plot is somehow adapted to read more
Nov 6, 2018
diomenes666 (All reviews)
Beautiful art, intersting story, some cool characters, AN AWESOME OP¡¡¡¡¡ i love it, the guitar was epic sad and happy at same time...it feels so good.


the story is so fast and good until chap 10 then ...it feels incomplete, this anime needs a second season
the art is colorfull pretty well done, not astonish but feels so warm
the sound is decent, but the OP is lovely
the characters, well need more time to learn about them, this is the weak point

I rate 7 because the lack of development of some characters and the incomplete story...maybe after another season it will get an 8.
Is not a masterpice, read more
Apr 10, 2018
Kannadin (All reviews)
Personal Rate: 7.5 rounded up to 8 ( because I've got to choose between 7 and 8)
Overall Rate based on the different criteria: 7.4 rounded down to 7

Ah Children of the Whales... It pains me to give such a "bad" rating to such a good series. It pains me to read some very harsh reviews on such a little gem... Some complaints feel unjustified... But some others can hardly be overlooked.
I have very very conflicted feelings regarding this series... But if I had to summarize those it would be that you don't have to read the original material to see that the series suffers read more
Dec 26, 2017
-HippySnob- (All reviews)
A bizarre world building ended a tragic and epitome of disjointed plot

As referring set of tragedy events behind the story which lies under the beneath catalyst breach of such unspoken some more less detail never detain an interior crappy edgy tone vibes.

In depths between an example of Dante's Comedy but with a common poison
A structure which bases on an imagining contents in a form of writing directs
unnecessary gibberish drawn out of context grandiose tale without based to the point of existentialism behind the drastic factual and careful disregarded recyclable setting. Not only it has a shallow mediocre material, but tells neutral status rather than read more