Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Special A


Alternative Titles

English: Special A (S.A)
Synonyms: S.A., Special A Class
Japanese: スペシャル・エー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2008 to Sep 15, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:30 (JST)
Producers: Showgate
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Gonzo, AIC
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.691 (scored by 123,883 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #382
Members: 243,702
Favorites: 2,904

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2008
shadowraze (All reviews)
Special A is primarily a Shoujo Rom/Com that starts off slow but gets better as you go. Based on the inability of Hikari to understand Kei's true feelings for most of the plot. Normal laws of physics are generally ignored by the seeming superhuman duo of Kei and Hikari, who also are both at the top of their school academically.

The story isn't the most original story ever, relying on the interaction of the seven members of the Special A (SA from now on) class and not involving many other characters. While somewhat predictable, it still manages to be entertaining most of the time if not read more
Sep 18, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Special A is a Shoujo, Romantic, Comedy, Drama about the extravagant lives of some prestigious individuals and the romantic endeavours some of them pursue. It contains some side-splitting comedy but tends to fail when circumstances get too serious.

The story… well it sort of has one and sort of doesn’t. For the most part, the series follows the random antics of an elite group of students known as the S.A (Special A). This usually involves any random theme you can imagine, be it competitions or festivals, whilst exaggerating the wealth of these students. This brings about some truly hilarious slapstick comedy moments, which varies depending on read more
Dec 21, 2009
inkmouse (All reviews)
Special A was anything but special. It was very cliche, but it's hard to avoid that in shoujo anime. There was nothing mind-blowing about neither the music or the art.

The story is pretty basic. In all honesty, I don't really think there is such a thing as orginality, but it's up to the people writing or directing to make it seem real. We know Shakespeare based Romeo and Juliet off a book someone had already written. How many times have we heard the story of 'I must defeat him...oh, wait I just found out he loves me?' but the issue isn't whether it was original read more
Jun 2, 2008
JyuSan (All reviews)
Preliminary
If I've never read the manga, I'd probably enjoy this anime for the crack that it is. But knowing how really great the manga is, I'm really disappointed with the anime adaptation.

I know that when animes are set with a strict 24 episodes border they have to leave out things from the original story and alter things so that it makes a coherent story in tha anime, too. Lovely Complex, for example, managed to pull this off well - even though they changed many things and left out a lot of chapters, the general mood still remained the same, so it was enjoyable for read more
May 19, 2008
Dreameress (All reviews)
Delightful anime.

From the very start you are drawn in. Hikari is not the usual clumsy, slightly dumb, female protagonist. She's a warrior basically. Learning the art of wrestling from a young age, she defeated everyone. Then she meets Kei and he is the first to defeat her. Her mission in life becomes defeating Kei in every aspect of life.

Fast forward several years.

They are both in High school apart of "Special A" a class of nine students who are the top 9 in the school. Hikari, of course, is number 2 which she hates because the number one spot is held by none other than read more
Aug 22, 2008
Tinky-Winky (All reviews)
Special A is a 24-episode anime adaptation of a manga by Maki Minami. It stars a group of teen-aged students of the super elite school Hakusenkan. The protagonist (considering the anime is of the shojo demographic) is a female called Hanazono Hikari. She, of course, is an elite student belonging to the A-class, which is considered special (hence the title). B- to F-classes are highly inferior to the A-class. It’s a good thing that A-class students don’t overestimate themselves, though they always stand out wherever and whenever they go.

The story Special A features is a mixture of comedy, some bits of drama, and of read more
Apr 7, 2008
fuyu (All reviews)
Preliminary
An anime that attempts to represent the very hilarious and very loveable manga of the same title, Special A is a fun, no-brainer anime.

Coming from the point of view of a fan of the manga, I was smiling during the first episode, but, sadly, it wasn't as entertaining as people would have expected. It wasn't horrible, far from it! But since I'm comparing it from the manga, it comes short. It was okay, but...just okay.

But then episode 2 came. And then ep 3. And then 4. And then 5... And then I decided that I had to edit my review here in MyAnimeList. The delivery read more
Oct 10, 2008
Huntsman (All reviews)
Preliminary
I tried, I really tried to make it through this series. I really don't like dropping anime series when I am this close to the end. Sadly I just couldn't take it anymore.

This one was a mediocre to bad romance/comedy anime series. The characters were uninteresting and on some levels very annoying. I kept waiting for the series to go some where. I know romance anime sometimes start off slow like Love Hina, Onegai Teacher, Suzuka and others, but this one went no where. The animation done by Gonzo and AIC was the best part of the read more
Mar 18, 2009
animegurl09 (All reviews)
Special A is a good story about two rivals (boy and girl) who slowly start to develop feelings for each other. There is much more to this story than that but this is the main focus. I really enjoyed watching it even though I think since the main focus is the developing relationship between Kei Takishima(male main character) and Hikari (female main character), that the show should have focused on them mostly.

I got a little discouraged seeing that they really didn't have more kei and Hikari episodes but the ones that did focus on them was great. But basically you have a story about read more
May 22, 2008
makushimirian (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, I've only seen the first six episodes of this anime and never read the seemingly well known manga, so take my review with a grain of salt.
This show is yet another romantic, shoujo, school life kind of anime:

Story:
From what I've seen up till now, there is really barely a story. There are a few story arcs, which at most go over 2 episodes. I'd say the story is just stuck onto the relationship between the 2 main characters and kind of obsolete. Other than that, I really don't know what to say about the story, except maybe the relationship between the two:
The show read more
Nov 29, 2010
Moon_Light (All reviews)
Not many have heard of this anime, living in the shadow of Ouran High School Host Club . Though not a harem, this one can definitely shine on it's own. I LOVE OHSHC but it's not the only one out there.

Summary: You could skip if wanted :)
Hikari was the best fighter, that title was hers for a long time until her dad introduced her to Kei, the one person she can't win against. Always placing second to him in everything from sports to academics, she vows to beat him and follows him from elementary to high school. In high school the Special A (S.A)club read more
Jul 31, 2013
iSheep (All reviews)
Let me get one thing straight. I am a huge fan of the romantic comedy category. I was introduced to it by the show "Kaichou wa Maid-sama!", one that many rom-com aficionados credit as being one of the best rom-com manga/anime you can read/watch. After my introduction to this category, I began watching other notable shows: Toradora!, Clannad, and if it may be counted, Oreimo, all of which I enjoyed wholeheartedly. But the issue with the rom-com genre is the use of generic elements, some of them out of choice and some of them because there were no other alternatives.

Getting past that issue, I often read more
Jul 2, 2009
gravedigger (All reviews)
This is my first review , so don't be to hard on me (as I will be on this anime) :):

Special A is another *of the numerous* "school" animes , so there are plenty of funny scenes , romance and other stuff that usually comes with this type of anime . And when there is romance , usually there is a "baka" person who doesn't understand the concept of love and love "signs" . Unfortunately that's the case here .


The story is about class Special A , in which only the best seven students of the school can go , and by coincidence (or read more
Mar 13, 2015
triangulor (All reviews)
This is one for fans of highschool romcoms. Its not a bad show but I wouldn't recommend it unless you are particularly a fan of the genre or really in the mood.

So Special A is everything you expect from a romcom, a bunch of affluent highschool students hang out with a single poor student, one of them is very popular with the ladies but hopelessly in love with our plucky but unaware heroine. We see them get places in a series of romantic situations but she just can't seem to get it. Some laughs are had along the way and I don't want to spoil read more
Oct 1, 2008
shoebox (All reviews)
A romantic comedy that is very fun, light, and enjoyable.

Story: While there lacked a clear overall story, development in the relationships between characters linked the series as a whole. The short stories covering blocks of episodes were very entertaining, allowing for the audience to see the dynamics between and the growth of the characters. However, some of these short stories lack originality, but then again, the romantic comedy genre can easily be repetitious.

Art: Artwork for the anime is good and pretty consistent throughout. The animation is still considered good even though I believe that the art of this read more
Sep 27, 2015
Jenangelx3 (All reviews)
I tried to like this anime. I really did. I was so excited when they announced the Special A anime because I had been following the manga for so long. This manga has a lot of memories for me and I know that anime tend to add new things, take things out, and change up the story a little to meet the limitations of the time constraints, but it was just impossible for me to love this anime.
If I hadn't read the manga, I might've enjoyed watching this anime, but I agree, this anime really has nothing special compared to other student council anime (and read more
Oct 9, 2018
AnastasiyaV (All reviews)
[STORY]
-----------
The romantic scenes were very cute, especially in the beginning when Kei got protective of Hanazono. Watching two oddly paired people fall in love with each other sure was a journey. I didn't really enjoy it as much towards the end, although it had a pretty interesting ending. I was confused on how the anime ended, but after doing some research, I understand it.

[ART]
-----------
The quality of this anime was amazing. The details of every little thing was included, and I absolutely loved the scenery.

[SOUND]
-----------
The music was outstanding, and the voice actors / actresses did an amazing job of expressing their characters' personalities, especially read more
Oct 1, 2008
Smithy (All reviews)
When one sees visuals of “Special A” and reads that the main premise of the series follows the school days of a select group of intelligent, rich students at their prestigious school that has created an exclusive elite class for them called S.A., one can't help but to think of “Ouran High School Host Club”. Add the shared element that the wealth, insane levels of talent and skill that some of the members possess is often plastered all over the screen. The fact the group in “Special A” has one commoner among them, Hikari, quickly makes one think of Haruhi from “Ouran High School Host read more
Sep 2, 2013
jangofetts (All reviews)
A rank of 450 on MAL (at the time of watching this anime) was what got me interested in the first place. Suffice to say I have seen less ranked anime's far better than this. This anime for me was a huge disappointment.

So you have this lead character with the resilience of superman, with the intelligence, charisma and wealth of Ironman and needless to say looks to match all in one cheesy shoujo manga basket. The female lead no matter how she tries to catchup with him does not succeed. While initially doing a good job of racking up the tension between the characters, the read more
Jun 19, 2010
Jackerf (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought that the characters needed a lot more development. I think that they could have also incorporated more characters into the story and make it more interesting. The humor was a bit strange and sometimes made me laugh but overall i found it tiring.
Hikari annoyed me to the core, with her pretty much being the exact definition of a mary-sue. Say, how can you have an a average but not be able to tell that a guy has liked you for years??? That just was a bit annoying to me.
But anyways, very slow-paced and frustrating in my opinion.
Don't recommend it.