Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/Apocrypha


Alternative Titles

Japanese: Fate/Apocrypha

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2017 to Dec 31, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.181 (scored by 72,233 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #443
Members: 185,811
Favorites: 1,063

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 13, 2017
Rahkshilord (All reviews)
Preliminary
Move over Re:Creators, Fate/Apocrypha is here to show you how a real TRAINWRECK is made.
The worst anime of the year so far, and I say that both as an incredibly mad fanboy of fate who hates this mockery of a series he loves, but also as a man who finds shows this utterly poor in every way to be outright offensive. There are obviously some mixed opinions on this show in this review section, but unlike the other reviews I will now proceed to explain to you what the ACTUAL problem with this show is.

Let’s get started with the most contentious point, the animation. No, read more
Dec 30, 2017
sterl1 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS




Ahhh. A-1 Pictures. The studio who have time and time again, blessed us with their heavenly touch. Once again delivering the seasonal train-wreck that they have been doing so effectively since the creation of time itself. Being one of the most popular studios for both Western and Japanese fans; A-1 have made some of the most popular shows to come out of the medium. Many battle shounen such as Magi, Blue Exorcist, Fairy Tail and The seven deadly sins have all been met with a warm embrace from anime fans. Last year’s big hit Erased, two of the most popular read more
Dec 30, 2017
HereticHunter (All reviews)
So I'm making this review mostly for future watchers of the Fate/Series, mostly those that are entering on the Fate universe. Before going ahead with Apocrypha's Review I have a Question for you readers

1- Is this your first Fate? if the answer is Yes, I'd recommend you to go watch Stay Night and Zero first, then you'll have an Idea of how Fate works.

Also for those that are already into fate, I'd recommend you to do a certain investigation to Fate's deep lore. Remember Dark Souls? that game were you are given specific orders and there is almost no story telling? Dark Souls have an read more
Dec 30, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Taking a footstep into the Type-Moon universe feels almost intimidating at first. The franchise consists of an immense fictional universe that’s filled with unnatural ideas. Their flagship titles include the Fate franchise that were adapted into several TV series, OVAs, and movies. However, Fate/Apocrypha came to me as a show that couldn’t hold itself together. What could have been a big hit of the year translated into a nakedly boring storyteller that dropped the ball.

To get the obvious out of the way, you don’t absolutely need to watch other Fate shows to understand Fate/Apocrypha. It’s advisable though since getting a better understanding of the general read more
Aug 7, 2017
Unique_Username (All reviews)
Preliminary
No fear no spoilers are here.

Fate/Apocrypha has taught me two important things:
1) Gender is a confusing issue in the Fate universe (and in the real world as of late)
2) Astolfo is best girl...I mean guy...I mean trap!

The review:
I cannot but say that I was absolutely enamored with the Fate franchise after watching Zero, and continued to feel so (to some degree) with Unlimited Bladeworks. Although, when I first heard that a fate show was going to be animated by a studio other than Ufotable I was a bit skeptical because I wasn't really sure what to expect, and to add to that I hadn't read more
Dec 30, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Fate/Apocrypha: A Postmortem Review

Now that 2017 is drawing to a close, we can certainly say Fate/Apocrypha lived up to its name, given that this is an entirely unnecessary installment to view due to its poor quality. It is arguably the blandest, most forgettable installment in the Fate series, notable only for current memes and trends in the community, such as traps and the meme of lewding fictional characters, as well as for what it tried and failed to accomplish over the course of its run. Now before I delve into the review proper, allow me to answer some burning questions:

“Can Fate/Apocrypha be watched as a read more
Aug 11, 2017
Joseph_Taylor (All reviews)
Preliminary
CURRENTLY ON EPISODE 10. REVIEW HAS BEEN ADJUSTED

No Spoilers Included!(Excluding Background info)

Fate/Apocrypha is an alternate world line for the Fate/Stay Night series, the difference being the aftermath of the Third Holy Grail War. There are now 15 Servants total, one neutral and Seven on two sides fighting over the holy grail. What I really like about Fate Apocrypha is that for newcomers to the Fate series, you don't really have to know the entirety of Stay Night to understand the premise and the story. Personally, I think this story is not very well done but definitely an interesting watch: Generic MC(Sieg, but has a pretty read more
Aug 29, 2017
kenny8881997 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have got to admit that I am not an "true" Fate fan who has played through the visual novels, (although that is something I hope to do one day). I have watched UBW, Zero and FSN and that was enough to get me excited on the Fate franchise.

Honestly, looking at the reviews I've seen for this show I am very disappointed because I feel that many reviewers are simply hating the show more than necessary. They're all just colossal rants about how badly people were upset about the show compared to UBW and Zero. So this is hopefully a more realistic review. (without spoilers)

Story read more
Dec 31, 2017
BrotherCoa (All reviews)
Fate/Apocrypha - a completely new Fate experience.

Before I write down this review I will note few things:

-This will be a spoiler free review.
-I am reviewing it from a neutral standpoint and I have watched all Fate anime so far and I have extensive knowledge of the lore.
-This anime has nothing to do with Fate/Stay Night so you can watch it even if you did not watch the original work. The work does good explanation of how the basics of Fate universe works.
-I should also note that majority of negativity this show gets is because of fans of the franchise who expected read more
Nov 14, 2017
WTDauntless (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can't describe how horrific is to watch this anime... I'm currently on episode 18, but I kinda already found out that this show was going to be dreadful...

Fate Apocrypha is one of those show that you can call "pretentious" : trying to reach the same level of his predecessors by pulling in some random existential problems like "the safety of humanity", the grudge of the world, the injustice thinking it is cool without developing anything of the themes...

What pisses me off more is that this isn't one of those trash anime that got a bad adaptation due to lack of materials or anything, but read more
Sep 6, 2017
TrapsAreHomo (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had a review up here before from episode 9 but it is now out of date and I feel it was a bit too rambly and ranty. To complain about many parts of this show I might dabble into extremely light spoilers but I mean extremely light and vague. I won't give you anything specific, name characters, events or incidents as best I can so you get the gist of the problem without

Story: 2/10
A bloody mess, you don't really get what's going on, events are poorly explained ("anything can happen" is an actual line). The latest episode if you've seen it is read more
Nov 18, 2017
plllows (All reviews)
Preliminary
A grail war with double servants? two teams? sounds like a fanfiction, right? wait, cat-girls? one of whom is a trap?? they're servants? forget fanfiction, now it sounds more like a joke.

And that's how it seems for the first few episodes.

I came in after reading 10+ chapters of the manga (~4 episodes) so I had a good idea of the premise of the STORY [9]. It started off predictably, and a bit slow, but develops in unexpected directions towards the mid-point of the series, where the pace of the story and character development both speed up.

The animation and ART [8] is a step read more
Jan 1, 2018
Piezuri (All reviews)
Think of the worst anime you've ever seen. Is it Mars of Destruction? Pupa? Maybe it's something more obscure, maybe it's some bland magic academy show, maybe it's something very popular that you just you don't like at all. Now be grateful, because if the show you just thought off isn't Fate/Apocrypha, it means that you haven't yet watched this abomination to the Fate franchise. Fate/Apocrypha is A-1's attempt at milking the cash cow that is Fate, written by the dude who wrote the script for the horrid Danganronpa 3 Mirai-hen anime cash in, and it is easily the worst anime I have ever seen. read more
Dec 30, 2017
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
If you’ve been an anime fan over the past several years, it’s very likely you’re aware of the Fate franchise. The Type Moon Visual Novel first appeared to the anime world with the infamously mocked “people die when they are killed” 2006 adaptation of stay/night, but people REALLY got hooked with the adaptation of Gen Urobuchi’s Fate/Zero, a harrowing mature, and dramatic clash of ideals positioned as a battle Royale. From there, more and more iterations of the Fate mythos kept coming, with there being an Unlimited Blade Works TV anime, a mobile game adaptation in Fate/Grand Order, a Studio SHAFT Fate production due to read more
Aug 21, 2017
RnDHiki (All reviews)
Preliminary
Disjointed Quality drops when A1 Pictures was behind of it.

Eh? Really Not like the story ain't gonna be a lot downer cause in the later volume of this light novel which is altered connect to Strange/Fake it does seems ended real bad. (Damn you spoiler)

As far as state when other studios like Layduce (The one's who directed FGO)
Studio Pierrot (Who Butchered TG every single chapter since Root A) and Lastly DEEN (Well I'd say Fate Route ended a huge justice in the adaptation and of course in the VN, but why care about the quality over the story)

Relying the fact when Type-Moon doesn't even mind read more
Jan 18, 2018
xEternalSnowx (All reviews)
When I first watched Fate/Zero, I was absolutely taken in by the animation and world-build up. The story’s gripping narrative made it one of my favorites. I also enjoyed Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works, the sequel to Zero. When I watched the Fate series, I hadn’t watched a lot of anime, so I simply enjoyed the aesthetic quality of the series, so I’m looking over any criticism it has received. Having enjoyed Fate so much, naturally I was really looking forward to Fate/Apocrypha, which aired in the fall of 2017. And what are my thoughts on it? Well, A-1 Pictures managed to present another disaster read more
Jan 14, 2018
thesmore (All reviews)
This is a spoiler free review on an anime that both deserves and does not deserve a lot of hate. I know my score is relatively high, but I urge you to keep in mind that this review is written by someone who has watched all 25 episodes and has acknowledged both the strengths and flaws of the anime.

Story

Alright let's get this out of the way. This show is not like Fate/Zero or Unlimited Blade Works or really any other Fate plot in the franchise, but I don't understand why these anime are used to compare against Apocrypha. The plot in Apocrypha is very read more
Dec 19, 2017
Swaheelee (All reviews)
Preliminary
Love fate series. Fate apoc has not disappointed once. been watching it with loud sound and bass, so the fight scenes are unreal, the very first episod had me and my two friends on the edge of our seats like holy crap! When both sabers lined up, So intense! I personally enjoy fate apoc maybe a bit to much, so my opinion is biased? maybe? but I don't understand how anyone couldnt like this show? It's awesome, it's enjoyable to watch, it's brought in some of my actual favorite people so that was a huge bonus as well for me and others. It's got a read more
Oct 11, 2017
Kefka1134 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok so..

I see that there are a lot of big anime franchise names coming around, such as Code Geass again, plus Dies Irae and a few other slick sort of kinda medieval-ish ones... and then like a bunch of other ones but really there's only one I care about and it's this anime...

Fate/Apocrpyha is like a friend described it the B heroes from history anime, sort of like the Fate series in general. The cool thing about Fate/Apocrypha though is that unlike Unlimited Blade Works, Fate/Stay, and Fate/Zero, Fate/Apocrypha seems to actually embrace the B hero status. It doesn't try to turn these people into read more
Sep 6, 2017
IronKirito (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Spoiler Free Review** (Only things are described on the Description of the anime.)

So, have you seen other Fate's Series?
You should watch those before watching Apocrypha.

Why?
Because its like the FOURTH show on that world, they will not explain everything and show everything they showed in the other series.

Fate Apocrypha on my view its above any limits on power that the other ones had, here we have FULL POWER fights between 7 vs 7 servants, and not considering that we have like 7 LEGENDS in each team, that's going to be good to watch.

What about the fighting styles? That's cool! They animated each character with different styles read more