Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/Apocrypha


Alternative Titles

Japanese: Fate/Apocrypha

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Notes, Tokyo MX, BS11
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.291 (scored by 24,348 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #585
Members: 124,781
Favorites: 547

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Aug 13, 2017
Rahkshilord (All reviews)
Move over Re:Creators, Fate/Apocrypha is here to show you how a real TRAINWRECK is made.
The worst anime of the year so far, and I say that both as an incredibly mad fanboy of fate who hates this mockery of a series he loves, but also as a man who finds shows this utterly poor in every way to be outright offensive. There are obviously some mixed opinions on this show in this review section, but unlike the other reviews I will now proceed to explain to you what the ACTUAL problem with this show is.

Let’s get started with the most contentious point, the animation. No, read more
Aug 12, 2017
Golden-Grace (All reviews)
I'm not an Ufotable fan but A-1 is doing a lot of things wrong. By the way, I'm a "secondary" of the Fate universe and not a true fan of the series. I won't spoil anything, but there was actually a mistake with Jeanne that you can point out during Jeanne's death. (It's not a spoiler, you can clearly see it and almost everybody knows how she died.) Now after this little introduction let's move on the main problem and flaws of this shows!

Story: 1

There is actually a quite huge problem with the plot which makes me feel bad when watching it. It's an alternative read more
Aug 7, 2017
Tiny_Edward (All reviews)
No fear no spoilers are here.

Fate/Apocrypha has taught me two important things:
1) Gender is a confusing issue in the Fate universe (and in the real world as of late)
2) Astolfo is best girl...I mean guy...I mean trap!

The review:
I cannot but say that I was absolutely enamored with the Fate franchise after watching Zero, and continued to feel so (to some degree) with Unlimited Bladeworks. Although, when I first heard that a fate show was going to be animated by a studio other than Ufotable I was a bit skeptical because I wasn't really sure what to expect, and to add to that I hadn't read more
Aug 11, 2017
Joseph_Taylor (All reviews)
CURRENTLY ON EPISODE 10. REVIEW HAS BEEN ADJUSTED

No Spoilers Included!(Excluding Background info)

Fate/Apocrypha is an alternate world line for the Fate/Stay Night series, the difference being the aftermath of the Third Holy Grail War. There are now 15 Servants total, one neutral and Seven on two sides fighting over the holy grail. What I really like about Fate Apocrypha is that for newcomers to the Fate series, you don't really have to know the entirety of Stay Night to understand the premise and the story. Personally, I think this story is not very well done but definitely an interesting watch: Generic MC(Sieg, but has a pretty read more
Sep 6, 2017
TrapsAreHomo (All reviews)
I had a review up here before from episode 9 but it is now out of date and I feel it was a bit too rambly and ranty. To complain about many parts of this show I might dabble into extremely light spoilers but I mean extremely light and vague. I won't give you anything specific, name characters, events or incidents as best I can so you get the gist of the problem without

Story: 2/10
A bloody mess, you don't really get what's going on, events are poorly explained ("anything can happen" is an actual line). The latest episode if you've seen it is read more
Nov 14, 2017
WTDauntless (All reviews)
I can't describe how horrific is to watch this anime... I'm currently on episode 18, but I kinda already found out that this show was going to be dreadful...

Fate Apocrypha is one of those show that you can call "pretentious" : trying to reach the same level of his predecessors by pulling in some random existential problems like "the safety of humanity", the grudge of the world, the injustice thinking it is cool without developing anything of the themes...

What pisses me off more is that this isn't one of those trash anime that got a bad adaptation due to lack of materials or anything, but read more
Oct 31, 2017
Oyobosoyo (All reviews)
Not much to say, love fate stay night/Zero series. The creators want just make money from the Fate franchise.

Every episode is getting dumber and dumber.

About the story :
How is possible to write a so bad scenario. They have the fate background and universe but they manage to make the story almost painful to follow.

Protagonists :

Strictly nothing to say about the characters (blank, too many, don't care..)


Don"t waste my time to write a good review. The serie is just average but the score don't show the true quality of this serie.

PS : The musics are pretty good.

Don't waste your time. Biggest dissapointment of this read more
Aug 29, 2017
kenny8881997 (All reviews)
I have got to admit that I am not an "true" Fate fan who has played through the visual novels, (although that is something I hope to do one day). I have watched UBW, Zero and FSN and that was enough to get me excited on the Fate franchise.

Honestly, looking at the reviews I've seen for this show I am very disappointed because I feel that many reviewers are simply hating the show more than necessary. They're all just colossal rants about how badly people were upset about the show compared to UBW and Zero. So this is hopefully a more realistic review. (without spoilers)

Story read more
Oct 24, 2017
ReddayeSocks (All reviews)
Fate Apocrypha Review for episodes 1-16

Fate Apocrypha is an entry into the long running Fate franchise that seems to keep getting dumber and dumber as the series goes on. The Fate franchise went from its humble begging’s as an adult visual novel to an oversaturated mess that doesn’t even try anymore, Fate Apocrypha continues the downward spiral of quality of the Fate franchise and at every point of its run time assaults the viewer’s intelligence.

Story and Characters:

The story of Apocrypha is its first major sin. The plot takes around five episodes to set up the plot and even longer to give the main cast read more
Aug 21, 2017
RnDNEET021 (All reviews)
Disjointed Quality drops when A1 Pictures was behind of it.

Eh? Really Not like the story ain't gonna be a lot downer cause in the later volume of this light novel which is altered connect to Strange/Fake it does seems ended real bad. (Damn you spoiler)

As far as state when other studios like Layduce (The one's who directed FGO)
Studio Pierrot (Who Butchered TG every single chapter since Root A) and Lastly DEEN (Well I'd say Fate Route ended a huge justice in the adaptation and of course in the VN, but why care about the quality over the story)

Relying the fact when Type-Moon doesn't even mind read more
Sep 6, 2017
IronKirito (All reviews)
**Spoiler Free Review** (Only things are described on the Description of the anime.)

So, have you seen other Fate's Series?
You should watch those before watching Apocrypha.

Why?
Because its like the FOURTH show on that world, they will not explain everything and show everything they showed in the other series.

Fate Apocrypha on my view its above any limits on power that the other ones had, here we have FULL POWER fights between 7 vs 7 servants, and not considering that we have like 7 LEGENDS in each team, that's going to be good to watch.

What about the fighting styles? That's cool! They animated each character with different styles read more
Nov 18, 2017
plllows (All reviews)
A grail war with double servants? two teams? sounds like a fanfiction, right? wait, cat-girls? one of whom is a trap?? they're servants? forget fanfiction, now it sounds more like a joke.

And that's how it seems for the first few episodes.

I came in after reading 10+ chapters of the manga (~4 episodes) so I had a good idea of the premise of the STORY [9]. It started off predictably, and a bit slow, but develops in unexpected directions towards the mid-point of the series, where the pace of the story and character development both speed up.

The animation and ART [8] is a step read more
Nov 12, 2017
Casanova1999 (All reviews)
After growing interested in the show from seeing online posts about it, I decided to check Fate/Apocrypha out and finished viewing all 12 available episodes on Netflix at the time of writing this. Fate/Apocrypha has elements of a good story in it, however they are executed rather poorly. The main problem with the show is the fact that it does not introduce characters properly and has its story broken up into sections instead of following a narrative. This disjointed form of telling the story (jumping from one character arc to the next) leads to me not caring or forming a connection with any of the read more
Sep 9, 2017
The_0bserver (All reviews)
I'll straight up with you all. This anime was a disappointment. I've been a fan of the Fate Stay Night series for a very long time. I helped a teeny tiny bit in the translation of the Visual Novel. I've done a completionist guide for Fate Hollow Ataraxia (wouldn't recommend). I'm someone who still can't decide if Best Girl is Saber (the real Saber. Not the crap from this anime) or Rin... Safe to say I'm quite invested in the Fate series. And this just let me down, so much...

Lets start with the problems with this series, atleast from my view-point...

This is just a frickin read more
Sep 7, 2017
Gho5tRUN3R (All reviews)
So after watching Fate/Zero and the Fate/stay nights I felt compelled to finally write something about Fate/Apocrypha. There is so much here that I want to say that I hope I can keep it all organized.

So first I want to link story and characters together. Why? Because this is Fate. Those two things are inherently linked. If you know the character, then you know their motivation for the fight and then you have your story. Zero did it incredibly well. Stay night did it alright (I blame the poor pacing of the Light Novel, but hey, what are you going to do?). Apocrypha has taken read more
Aug 28, 2017
bullhugger (All reviews)
Apocryha had some interesting concept but ultimately too high to achieve. I was open to the fact that A-1 pictures were behind the helm for this series but so far it has been a disappointing journey.

Story-6

While it has some decent concept it ultimately fails to execute it as too many characters were involved in the story which has limited time for each one. You can't feel tension for many of the characters as a result, making the high stakes fights hard to root for. Although it is bad by fate series standard it is still better than some of its competitions.

Art-3

This is where it falls read more
Aug 22, 2017
ReezeTheVampire (All reviews)
I haven't written a review in a very long time, but this total mess has really compelled me to say something. I'll try to keep this pretty short, as I don't have that much to say, I just feel it has to be said.

I want to start by saying this is a massive, massive disappointment. Fate/Zero and Fat/Stay Night: Unlimited Bladeworks are both series that I hold in very high regard, so I had similar expectations for this one. I wish I didn't, because if this show wasn't tied to such great predecessors, I may have at least found some level of enjoyment from it, read more
Aug 15, 2017
owidx_123 (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying this - I have no idea how to feel about this anime, and others who have watched may feel the same, let me tell you why (No spoilers):

Story: 6..

It's a fate/ anime. This is probably the main reason i'm actually even giving it a 6, having watched a majority of the fate series. However, this one feels extremely lacklustre with a lack of organising events that happen ( This links into Art, as i'll explain soon). At points it feels as though the pace is fast, and the next scene suddenly seems so slow, you can read more
Aug 11, 2017
Jebus_Kreist (All reviews)
Reposted within user-related guidelines.

This "Fate" adaption may actually be the worst one yet. The market for the "Fate" series is fairly over-saturated as it is, considering there's like 3 animes already and a number of other medias. Although one anime is an attempt to remake the original with 3 times the production value and bad story.

Story 3/10:

The creator of the "Fate" franchise had enough foresight to know that he couldn't get away with countless remakes of the same basic free-for-all with different characters... So he decided to not only double the amount of competitors, but have them on 2 predetermined teams. As you could imagine read more
Oct 11, 2017
Kefka1134 (All reviews)
Ok so..

I see that there are a lot of big anime franchise names coming around, such as Code Geass again, plus Dies Irae and a few other slick sort of kinda medieval-ish ones... and then like a bunch of other ones but really there's only one I care about and it's this anime...

Fate/Apocrpyha is like a friend described it the B heroes from history anime, sort of like the Fate series in general. The cool thing about Fate/Apocrypha though is that unlike Unlimited Blade Works, Fate/Stay, and Fate/Zero, Fate/Apocrypha seems to actually embrace the B hero status. It doesn't try to turn these people into read more