Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/Apocrypha


Alternative Titles

Japanese: Fate/Apocrypha

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Notes, Tokyo MX, BS11
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 18,370 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #672
Members: 107,631
Favorites: 446

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Aug 13, 2017
Rahkshilord (All reviews)
Move over Re:Creators, Fate/Apocrypha is here to show you how a real TRAINWRECK is made.
The worst anime of the year so far, and I say that both as an incredibly mad fanboy of fate who hates this mockery of a series he loves, but also as a man who finds shows this utterly poor in every way to be outright offensive. There are obviously some mixed opinions on this show in this review section, but unlike the other reviews I will now proceed to explain to you what the ACTUAL problem with this show is.

Let’s get started with the most contentious point, the animation. No, read more
Aug 12, 2017
Golden-Grace (All reviews)
I'm not an Ufotable fan but A-1 is doing a lot of things wrong. By the way, I'm a "secondary" of the Fate universe and not a true fan of the series. I won't spoil anything, but there was actually a mistake with Jeanne that you can point out during Jeanne's death. (It's not a spoiler, you can clearly see it and almost everybody knows how she died.) Now after this little introduction let's move on the main problem and flaws of this shows!

Story: 1

There is actually a quite huge problem with the plot which makes me feel bad when watching it. It's an alternative read more
Aug 7, 2017
Tiny_Edward (All reviews)
No fear no spoilers are here.

Fate/Apocrypha has taught me two important things:
1) Gender is a confusing issue in the Fate universe (and in the real world as of late)
2) Astolfo is best girl...I mean guy...I mean trap!

The review:
I cannot but say that I was absolutely enamored with the Fate franchise after watching Zero, and continued to feel so (to some degree) with Unlimited Bladeworks. Although, when I first heard that a fate show was going to be animated by a studio other than Ufotable I was a bit skeptical because I wasn't really sure what to expect, and to add to that I hadn't read more
Aug 11, 2017
Joseph_Taylor (All reviews)
CURRENTLY ON EPISODE 10. REVIEW HAS BEEN ADJUSTED

No Spoilers Included!(Excluding Background info)

Fate/Apocrypha is an alternate world line for the Fate/Stay Night series, the difference being the aftermath of the Third Holy Grail War. There are now 15 Servants total, one neutral and Seven on two sides fighting over the holy grail. What I really like about Fate Apocrypha is that for newcomers to the Fate series, you don't really have to know the entirety of Stay Night to understand the premise and the story. Personally, I think this story is not very well done but definitely an interesting watch: Generic MC(Sieg, but has a pretty read more
Sep 6, 2017
TrapsAreHomo (All reviews)
I had a review up here before from episode 9 but it is now out of date and I feel it was a bit too rambly and ranty. To complain about many parts of this show I might dabble into extremely light spoilers but I mean extremely light and vague. I won't give you anything specific, name characters, events or incidents as best I can so you get the gist of the problem without

Story: 2/10
A bloody mess, you don't really get what's going on, events are poorly explained ("anything can happen" is an actual line). The latest episode if you've seen it is read more
Sep 6, 2017
IronKirito (All reviews)
**Spoiler Free Review** (Only things are described on the Description of the anime.)

So, have you seen other Fate's Series?
You should watch those before watching Apocrypha.

Why?
Because its like the FOURTH show on that world, they will not explain everything and show everything they showed in the other series.

Fate Apocrypha on my view its above any limits on power that the other ones had, here we have FULL POWER fights between 7 vs 7 servants, and not considering that we have like 7 LEGENDS in each team, that's going to be good to watch.

What about the fighting styles? That's cool! They animated each character with different styles read more
Aug 29, 2017
kenny8881997 (All reviews)
I have got to admit that I am not an "true" Fate fan who has played through the visual novels, (although that is something I hope to do one day). I have watched UBW, Zero and FSN and that was enough to get me excited on the Fate franchise.

Honestly, looking at the reviews I've seen for this show I am very disappointed because I feel that many reviewers are simply hating the show more than necessary. They're all just colossal rants about how badly people were upset about the show compared to UBW and Zero. So this is hopefully a more realistic review. (without spoilers)

Story read more
Sep 7, 2017
RealSchon (All reviews)
As someone that loves Fate Zero with all his heart, Fate Apocrypha hurts my soul. It's nearly as bad as Grand Order.

There's so many plotholes and unexplained contrivances, and to force it to make sense they just make up more contrivances. Granted, it's Fate, so I expected a fair amount of exposition and info-dump to set up the world which I might not have understood, but they just don't do it right. I think a huge part of the problem is the crux idea of the series: a 7 vs 7 battle with two separate sides using the same concept of master-servant read more
Aug 28, 2017
bullhugger (All reviews)
Apocryha had some interesting concept but ultimately too high to achieve. I was open to the fact that A-1 pictures were behind the helm for this series but so far it has been a disappointing journey.

Story-6

While it has some decent concept it ultimately fails to execute it as too many characters were involved in the story which has limited time for each one. You can't feel tension for many of the characters as a result, making the high stakes fights hard to root for. Although it is bad by fate series standard it is still better than some of its competitions.

Art-3

This is where it falls read more
Aug 15, 2017
owidx_123 (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying this - I have no idea how to feel about this anime, and others who have watched may feel the same, let me tell you why (No spoilers):

Story: 6..

It's a fate/ anime. This is probably the main reason i'm actually even giving it a 6, having watched a majority of the fate series. However, this one feels extremely lacklustre with a lack of organising events that happen ( This links into Art, as i'll explain soon). At points it feels as though the pace is fast, and the next scene suddenly seems so slow, you can read more
Aug 11, 2017
Jebus_Kreist (All reviews)
Reposted within user-related guidelines.

This "Fate" adaption may actually be the worst one yet. The market for the "Fate" series is fairly over-saturated as it is, considering there's like 3 animes already and a number of other medias. Although one anime is an attempt to remake the original with 3 times the production value and bad story.

Story 3/10:

The creator of the "Fate" franchise had enough foresight to know that he couldn't get away with countless remakes of the same basic free-for-all with different characters... So he decided to not only double the amount of competitors, but have them on 2 predetermined teams. As you could imagine read more
Sep 9, 2017
The_0bserver (All reviews)
I'll straight up with you all. This anime was a disappointment. I've been a fan of the Fate Stay Night series for a very long time. I helped a teeny tiny bit in the translation of the Visual Novel. I've done a completionist guide for Fate Hollow Ataraxia (wouldn't recommend). I'm someone who still can't decide if Best Girl is Saber (the real Saber. Not the crap from this anime) or Rin... Safe to say I'm quite invested in the Fate series. And this just let me down, so much...

Lets start with the problems with this series, atleast from my view-point...

This is just a frickin read more
Aug 22, 2017
ReezeTheVampire (All reviews)
I haven't written a review in a very long time, but this total mess has really compelled me to say something. I'll try to keep this pretty short, as I don't have that much to say, I just feel it has to be said.

I want to start by saying this is a massive, massive disappointment. Fate/Zero and Fat/Stay Night: Unlimited Bladeworks are both series that I hold in very high regard, so I had similar expectations for this one. I wish I didn't, because if this show wasn't tied to such great predecessors, I may have at least found some level of enjoyment from it, read more
Aug 21, 2017
RnDNEET021 (All reviews)
Disjointed Quality drops when A1 Pictures was behind of it.

Eh? Really Not like the story ain't gonna be a lot downer cause in the later volume of this light novel which is altered connect to Strange/Fake it does seems ended real bad. (Damn you spoiler)

As far as state when other studios like Layduce (The one's who directed FGO)
Studio Pierrot (Who Butchered TG every single chapter since Root A) and Lastly DEEN (Well I'd say Fate Route ended a huge justice in the adaptation and of course in the VN, but why care about the quality over the story)

Relying the fact when Type-Moon doesn't even mind read more
Aug 21, 2017
Eddy_Kruger (All reviews)
Fate/Apocrypha... Well here we are.
Fans of prior Fate adaptions are in for a bit of a surprise with this one.

For starters, the setup for this version is a bit all over the place. It isn't as sharp or as crips as previous anime. Now I do understand that this takes place in a universe that is a bit of an off-shoot, I can understand the lack of clarity early on, but still it is something to point out. It is a bit unclear of who the main players in this Holy Grail war will be. Twice as many servants+masters exist in this version read more
Sep 17, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
This is my 1st review so don't judge too quickly eh???

If you have watched the Fate series as a whole (whether FSN, UBW or the off-shoots like Prisma Illya), all the notes are in your head: Art, animation, quality sound and enjoyment, in comparison to newer ones like this parallel universal off-shoot to FSN.

Done by A-1 Pictures, and coming from someone whose intro is THIS anime, I can lament that a lot of people, ESPECIALLY Fate fans, will screw over how much this anime pales in comparison to the decade-old franchise in all forms, like the art and animation is TRASH, not to mention that read more
Sep 7, 2017
Gho5tRUN3R (All reviews)
So after watching Fate/Zero and the Fate/stay nights I felt compelled to finally write something about Fate/Apocrypha. There is so much here that I want to say that I hope I can keep it all organized.

So first I want to link story and characters together. Why? Because this is Fate. Those two things are inherently linked. If you know the character, then you know their motivation for the fight and then you have your story. Zero did it incredibly well. Stay night did it alright (I blame the poor pacing of the Light Novel, but hey, what are you going to do?). Apocrypha has taken read more
Sep 2, 2017
GeneralVeers (All reviews)
Fate shows live and die by their characters. Past series (Fate/Zero) have impressed by delving deep into the motivations of the large (14+ characters) cast, each with a well explored personality and strategy, and then setting them lose upon each other.

Fate/Apocrypha ups the ante by doubling the roster to 14v14 and promising back-to back battle royales. The heroes are stronger too, many of them being divine and/or near-immortal. I believe these promises are the root of this show's failure.

Since there simply isn't enough time to explore all 29+ of these heroes in 2 wars, the show rushes and glosses over read more