Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nekopara OVA


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Neko Para OVA
Japanese: ネコぱらOVA

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 22, 2017
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Felix Film
Source: Visual novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance
Duration: 58 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.061 (scored by 2454524,545 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #35792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1809
Members: 55,343
Favorites: 347

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 22, 2017
ReisukaAi (All reviews)
"Nyow" - Chocola

This OVA initially started as a fundraiser with the goal of raising 100,000 USD to create an anime adaption of the popular Visual Novel series Nekopara. By the time it was completed it had raised nearly a million. To say that there is hype surrounding this OVA is undeniable. The better question is, does it live up to it?

Unfortunately no.

The OVA suffers primarily from poor pacing, as they attempt to cram 4-5 hours of visual novel content into a 1 hour show. Rushed scenes and illogical cuts from humor to seriousness are almost laughable. The story itself follows the VN almost word read more
Dec 26, 2017
kksbender (All reviews)
Have you ever felt like women just don't understand what a nice guy you are? You totally deserve their attention because you're such a gentleman, you'd never let them down, but they just care for jerks? If only they could understand love and dedication, but alas, they are cruel monsters who ignore you at best, and at worst abuse you while playing with your emotions?
If those thoughts seem familiar to you, then maybe this OVA is for you. Also, you might want to consider some different points of view to re-evaluate your life choices.
__
In what one has to assume a dystopian society, capitalism has found read more
Dec 24, 2017
CousinBenjy (All reviews)
I thought that nothing good could come out of Kickstarter - 99% of the shit from it is shit. Well, this is a great exception!

I am a connoisseur of nekos (as any person remotely intelligent would be) and one of my 9999993940943094304934390 waifus is a neko: Chocola. Of course, as with most things, the VNs are better than the anime. The thing is though, the only big problems with the anime are the length (WAY too short) and the lack of sex scenes (THE BEST FUCKING PART!) Still, anything with nekos is great.

I very much enjoyed this and hope that there will be read more
Dec 23, 2017
Kousuke-shii (All reviews)
First of all before you start reading this review, I need to tell you that this is coming from someone who loved the visual novels and was thoroughly excited for the release of this OVA so I admit, I am biased because I'm already invested in the characters. Now that I've said it, let's continue on to the review.

Nekopara is a simple show about a man starting up a cafe together with his catgirls. It's a quick and simple set up that is easy to digest so the story of the show is of course, average/generic/simple however you want to call it. But in my read more
Dec 24, 2017
WaifuMaster17 (All reviews)
About Nekopara,OVA is great anime they worked hard on. It's was very fun anime to watch and i hope anyone who reads this will enjoy it same as i did.
I wish i could tell you about story,art,sounds and music,characters,but i don't want to write any spoilers and i don't want my review get removed. I want you to know how i liked to watch Nekopara for first time on Christmas Eve. It's was very fun at beginning,catgirls called Vanilla and Chocola were amazing,cute and beautiful. As story goes,Kashou Minazuki moves out to open pastry shop 'La Soleil' and lots of stuff is happening that you read more
Dec 24, 2017
UltimateKud (All reviews)
"Man, if this had hentai..."

I am a big fan of Nekopara. Really big fan of a fetish that's incomprehensible by normal humans. I bought all three volumes of nekopara in a heartbeat. When i heard of a new OVA in the works, I immediately jumped in joy, I even went and gave the last $10 of my wallet to this OVA. Fast forward two to three months later, on the perfect day of release, it finally came. Nekopara on christmas day. However after watching it, i have some doubts as to who this series is for and the production behind it. Lets take a look read more
Mar 13, 2019
Nami955 (All reviews)
Are you a fan of the Nekopara game series? That's wonderful but there Is no need to watch this painfully boring OVA. As a hardcore fan I can see and be happy by the fact other people might enjoy this movie but for me it was a painful experience I got no enjoyment out of at all.

I have not played every Nekopara game (I have fully played through Volume 0 and Volume 1, and own Volume 2), nor am I a huge fan of the series, I find the story boring and kind of laughable but I can admit it has some 10/10 artwork and read more
Dec 28, 2017
octaviosanti (All reviews)
This is better than evangelion, better than legend of the galactic heroes. THE BEST ANIME FROM THE HISTORY.
Nekopara is a masterpiece of the animation, the salvation of the modern anime, an avant-garde and complex work with very human and intelligent characters.
In terms of animation and art in general, it is much better than works like cowboy bebop, introducing us in a very immersive and original world, where cat girls must adapt to the circumstances that present themselves.
The work presents themes such as abandonment, family and effort in a very realistic way and in 1 hour manages to transmit things that other animes can not read more
Jan 29, 2018
szyszaaaa (All reviews)
So what can i say? i love Nekopara visual novel but this anime.. Is not even Nekopara.. it shouldn't even be created in that way.. In anime Kashou is normal man who open a backery and hi is master for 2 catgirls wait what and we see some their storys in complete empty bakery? wait what!?! why this anime is for child... Really? I didn't know before i seen this anime it is possible to do this. Original Kashou is really perverted guy who is ykhym master with love intention to 6 cat girls.. and they called him master because he make all of read more
Dec 25, 2017
Gregiboi (All reviews)
To start things off, I want to clarify that I've played and liked all Nekopara vols, which is why I watched this in the first place - what I will say about the OVA will not be influenced by my opinions on the games. Also a friendly reminder that the following review is just my opinion.

Long story short - the OVA was disappointing. It was just a brief summary of the first vol(s). It didn't advance the storyline, neither did it retell the one from the games well enough to be a whole story by itself. One would argue that OVA doesn't have to have read more
May 10, 2018
Lucius-Romanus (All reviews)
In the beginning there where 4 sacred text's the Bible, Sutras, Torah and Nekopara.
All of these have been given anime adaptations from saint young men, however, Nekopara the genesis of the Nekoism religion never got one for years until one day the prophets at Nekoworks announced the legendary sacred text was getting a one-shot OVA.
The many sects of nekoists put aside their differences to fund the ova hoping to see their deity appear on screen and each and every one of the loyal nekoists had their dreams answered when the Nekopara OVA was released to critical appraise and has since been used in religious studies read more
Jan 22, 2018
Rezolut1on (All reviews)
What's NEKOPARA? Why, it's a cat paradise!

When I first found out about Nekopara it was probably in 2016. I was searching some weeb games on steam when I saw this game that had overwhelmengly positive reviews. Then I checked on the reviews and started laughing. The reviews are the best part of the game to be honest. I highly recommend reading some of the reviews on steam.

About the ova : I like nekopara overall so I have some biasness towards it. I know it's not for everyone and everyone won't enjoy watching it. But as a fellow weeb I have to agree I read more
Dec 30, 2017
Erulednach (All reviews)
As a big Nekopara fan I was in such a hype that I couldn't stand waiting for this and for the most part I was satisfied.It turned out good with only few things that I have found bad and I still don't think this deserves almost 1 million $.

Before watching this OVA I wasn't expecting it to be just a anime version of the first game.When I saw that fact I was a bit disappointed but I wanted to give it a chance anyway.For the most part it was a good time spent and things like soundtrack and characters were really great just like in read more
Dec 29, 2017
tropicalfun (All reviews)
Okay, I'm sure that most people write a review about the technical details of anime episodes or how the Story, Art, Sound and Characters build up the enjoyment and overall satisfaction of a show or OVA; how the Nekopara Visual Novels and OVA are related; and the work that the studio did in adapting the Visual Novels to the Kickstarter-funded project to create the anime adaptation.

For me, I am just writing this review to highlight the best features that are missing from the Visual Novels that I recently completed playing: Kashou Minazuki's face and killer smile (which are not present in any of the read more
Dec 26, 2017
Furarior (All reviews)
Lets keep this short and sweet.

If you wanted an OVA that was just an animated albeit shortened version of the visual novels then you got your wish. If you were expecting more however then you're probably out of luck.

Its fast paced (duh its 54 minutes from roughly 4 hours of game play) but it does a great job of staying to the original story. Kudos for that SentaiWorks.

For a new studio the art is well done but don't expect something like the Fate Series. (Certain animations with the hand/arm movement are a little off but otherwise nothing glaringly awful).

Characters were fleshed out roughly the read more
Apr 24, 2018
ElementKing (All reviews)
This anime was used from a visual novel series with the same name, they have a similar story line but it is changed a little and squished in, if they used their skills of re-creating this anime the way they did (which i say was well done) it could've turned out to become a series of a 12 episode anime, instead of an OVA of the novel.

i don't completely hate this OVA, but it could of been done different, which i would've liked, but overall it still has the same enjoyment.

Now this OVA is cute, and funny, but for how short it is, it may read more
Mar 31, 2018
Ayanolouch (All reviews)
If you are reading this, please answer to me... What am I doing with my life?
This show is horrible, I think that what saves it is the creativity of the creators hahahaha!
Sound. (2/10)
There's almost no sound in this show, only the opening, the ending and some scenes with some soundtrack, but it doesn't fit with the anime, this is horrible. But there is a sound, at least...
Characters. (2/10)
The characters in this show are pathetic, ridiculous, and I think they weren't developed, and they even could not be funny. tsc...
Art and Animation. (7/10)
(Art) (8/10)
About the art, especifically, it is good, but only that.
(Animation) (5/10)
The animation is read more
Mar 26, 2018
Jerick_Wallace (All reviews)
Its not that this ova is bad but after playing nekopara vol 1 and finally deciding to watch the ova based on it just makes it feel lacking. Many important aspects of the story where taken out completely to make it fit into a hour long movie format. If i had not played nekopara before it may be more enjoyable not knowing what i missed but honestly if you have not played it and are thinking about watching this I would just Play the visual novel instead the artwork in the VN is arguably better then it is in this ova.
Mar 19, 2018
RinSalamander (All reviews)
Cute cat girls!

A short OVA about some cute cat girls, what could go wrong? Not much as I found while watching this.
Now, the plot is pretty loose, just about Chocola and Vanilla wanting to live with their 'master' who just moved into a bakery or something, he says no, they convince him, but of wait they gotta get their bells or something...
Yeah, it's not too plot heavy, but I wasn't expecting it to be, so it's fine.

The more important part of this anime is the characters and their designs. Now, I think they're all adorable, though I'm partial to Cinnamon and Vanilla myself. They all read more
Jan 20, 2018
uNs7oPPaBL3 (All reviews)
before diving into the review i must add i did play all 4 games even volume 0 and i do love this series as a hole fore me its a good happy time for series relieve and just watching an actually entertaining moe show for a change that being sated for an OVA i did no expect it to be on pair with the game as this episode coves Vol 1 it does skip volume 0 unfortunately but for a promotional OVA for a full on anime series it does its job and it does it great

in terms of story its a bit shortened than read more