Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Blend S


Alternative Titles

English: BLEND-S
Japanese: ブレンド・S

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to Dec 24, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 92,025 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #423
Members: 185,162
Favorites: 1,236

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 28, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Smile. Sweet. Sister. Sadistic. Surprise. Service. We are Stile!

Blend S is already one of my favourite SOL anime of all time due to its amazing characters, beautiful art and awesome soundtrack.

The story first revolves around Maika and how she can't get a job due to her unnatural scary look. She comes across this cafe, but not just any cafe, this is a cafe out of the ordinary. Luckily for Maika, her unnatural scary look might come in handy. This cafe takes certain archetypes of characters and apply them to our main characters.

Maika is supposed to act like the Sadist in the Cafe, in read more
Dec 23, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
What’s better than a cafe with delicious food? A cafe with cute girls to serve you of course! It gets even better. These girls have some exaggerated personalities. From sadistic to tsundere, it’s a place that really gives customers a hell of an experience. Blend S is honestly an anime that I found ridiculously fun to watch.

Starting from the beginning, it shouldn’t take long for viewers to recognize that the anime has a lot of fun with itself. The selling point of show is the comedy as every main female characters’ personalities are beyond the normal norm. Honestly, I lost count how many times read more
Nov 29, 2017
Infatuate (All reviews)
Preliminary
A-1 Pictures is back at it again with yet another adaptation that caters to the lowest common denominator. It's like they don't even try to hide it anymore.

I originally started watching this solely because I've been craving some good old CGDQT, and found out Sora Tokui was in the cast, so it seemed like a no brainer to give it a shot. I'm glad I did, now I can move on - shame that I didn't get to see her character in action.

This is supposed to be a comedy. I'm sorry but I do not find excessive shouting to be hilarious, otherwise I would read more
Dec 24, 2017
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Sometimes it just takes and endearing cast and fun situations to make me Smile. Blend S doesn’t boast an intricate plot with elaborate detail and it quite frankly doesn’t need one to be successful. This is a very Sweet anime that managed to be enjoyable and consistently entertaining, which was honestly a Surprise to me since I didn't really have any expectations coming into this anime. Maika with her unintentionally Sadistic looks ended up being my favorite part of the show, though this doesn’t mean that she overshadowed the rest of the cast, who all managed to stand out in their own ways. Even the read more
Oct 28, 2017
king_pineapple (All reviews)
Preliminary
Really, what a gem. This show has truly been doing its best out of what a cute-girls-4koma adaption could possibly do in every aspect.

Before I dig deeper, let me share some fun I found on Blend S's official website first. This thing - The Maika's Maika-lendar - has somehow become my daily motivation xD

http://blend-s.jp/cp/calendar/

STORY = 7/10. This is a little more than your typical cute-girls slice-of-life. It has good comedy with a touch of romance, along with interesting character motives and backstory. I especially like how they handled the comedy. We have the main girl, clueless and innocent, with her expressive vs. natural character problem. read more
Dec 23, 2017
Zaber_san (All reviews)
There are six words starting with "S" you should remember, plus another word starting with "S" you have to add to make it an internet pride.
"Smile, Sweet, Sister, Sadistic, Surprise, Service" - these are the holy words that starts with "S" that summarizes the whole anime itself. I was wondering why its called "Blend S".... Now when I finished it, my first guess was correct (though this is my opinion only). A mix of attributes of the characters. Words that starts with "S" that characters are assigned to. Blend S is an anime this Fall 2017 that offers us a cafe read more
Dec 23, 2017
_SwiftShadow_ (All reviews)
As a big fan of the slice of life category, I may be biased but I can honestly say that Blend S is genuinely good. For me, this isn't just your average slice of life anime. This anime just makes me smile more than the other shows without even trying.

First of all, since the category of this anime is slice of life, you can't expect the story to be very good, that might be the case for Blend S as well but at least plot movement is evident in the anime. For those who are looking for an anime with a deep plot, This isn't read more
Oct 29, 2017
aiko55 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is going to be a very short review. Basically, if you like moe, maids and funny characters, I'd really recommend it. Love the humour and the character interactions. The mc is a little bit annoying for my taste, but nothing major. If you want to watch a funny slice of life with moe girls, this is a very good anime. The characters are very different and I'm very excited to see the character voiced by Soramaru (by the time I'm writing this there are only four episodes out).
In conclusion, this is one of my favourite anime of this season and I'd really recommend read more
Dec 25, 2017
Piezuri (All reviews)
*insert original "S" joke*

Blend S is A-1's attempt at making Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu Ka?, and it's a fair attempt, that falls short because of the bland unlikable characters, unlike the characters of GochiUsa. I had high hopes for Blend S, I thought it would be the first A-1 show that I actually like, but sadly, I was wrong.

Story: 3/10

What story? Do you really think A-1 would try to compliment this show with an overarching story like the one in New Game? A story in a Slice of Life CGDCT show is something that can make said show even better, because the events happening compliment read more
Mar 21, 2018
Mysticii (All reviews)
Preliminary
One word. Pedophille. Can anyone even have common sense? 10 years difference in age, like what the fuck? Honestly tried so hard to get though a ep and managed to get by because of the other characters and now where I'm at, theres a whole ep for this shitty 10 years difference pedo ship. Imagine a 26 year old getting a boner at a 16 year old, wouldn't that be creepy as fuck? Well that is what is happening is this perfectly good moe anime that would of made me finish it if it wasn't for the pedo guy. Dropped it.
Feb 21, 2018
Klabautermann (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh... my God.

Yet another one in the chain of weakest fucking links, Blend S successfully manages in bringing absolutely nothing of any values a media can have, be it funny, entertaining, silly, profane or profound, to the proverbial table of ANIMU, and I suppose no one would truly wish to waste their time in seeing what made this anime such a popular treat in the, ahm, "community" by watching more than necessary.

I had hoped in vain that there was a reason more than the opening itself that made this anime into such a meme but I guess it all simply revolved around the titular read more
Dec 24, 2017
A-Durian (All reviews)
A1 Picture is back at it again, with lowest common denominator entertainment…. but I kind of enjoyed it this time. Blend S is not a good show that explores the human psyche but it neither is an insultingly bad show or one that is boring. I think the main Issue is that the show isn’t really capturing the zeitgeist of slice of life and decided to be kind of dull. Slice of Life anime’s are about growth and character interaction. This show is completely one note in that regard. None of them felt like they grown as a character or have that much of an read more
Nov 29, 2017
sleepyskeleton61 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The only phrase that comes to mind after watching 8 episodes is "sugy sugy big nut". A phrase commonly used by my friend to show interest, love and compasion for a certain someone or something. I can assure you that I am not lying when I say that the amount of bdogs that I popped was over the count of 3 while viewing this anime. If you desire to be overwhelmed with different characters all while being dressed up as maids with some slick animation, oh boy, this is the anime for you. Speaking of characters, the charactersitics that come along with them are nonetheless read more
Oct 28, 2017
UsagiOtaku (All reviews)
Preliminary
I honestly wasn't expecting much out of Blend S. I was expecting this to be, yet another, cute and clique coffee based anime. After jumping on Crunchyroll, I decided to give Blend a chance. It surprised me with the amount of comedy it presented. If you've been looking for an anime that at least puts a grin on your face, then you've come to the right place.

Usagi-chan: "She better not be pointing fingers at 'Gochuumon wa Usagi desu ka?'"

Story: 6
Sakuranomiya, Maika is a kind, ditsy girl that has a naturally sadistic look on her face. Maika is in dire need of a job; instead of read more
Nov 26, 2017
nickstorch13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After hearing the intro for this anime, I was expecting a lighthearted, fun, and interesting show. Although I did get this, many factors that comprise this show make it a lot worse than it actually could have been.

Story 3/10: Not much to expect story-wise from a show about girls working in a cafe. Overall, not a good story, but this show was never meant to have a deep story anyways. Because of this, the story of the show will not have a major part in the overall score of this review.

Art 7/10: The characters are very easy to look at and each have their read more
Dec 30, 2017
ascendedkaito (All reviews)
(very minor spoilers)
"Smile, Sweet, Sister, Sadistic, Surprise!" Now everyone has heard these words. You know, the meme that everyone loved for a while, and I still see videos of it. It has encouraged many to watch the show, fortunately or unfortunately. I'll let you decide which word to use.

Blend S started off in a very cliche way. Girls bumps/meets boy, blood comes out of boy's nose, boom, now the girl is working in his maid cafe.

I'll start with the characters, since I don't see this show having any story. It's episodic, so a new story every episode. Risky move from my bois at A1. read more
Dec 26, 2017
Gregiboi (All reviews)
Oh boi - Blend S - the mighty overmemed and all around fuckfest of an anime, filled with everything you could ask for - smiles, sweetness, sisters, sadistics and a literal trap. Sounds like a perfect utopia to me, but what do I know. The anime in general has a fresh touch of all of them combined. All of them well mixed to the story, brought out with the art, sound and characters for the maximum enjoyment. (Friendly reminder - the following is purely based on my opinion).


• Long story short, the story is great. It's like a revamped version of all our loved and read more
Dec 25, 2017
TheKondor876 (All reviews)
Spoiler-free review incoming.

To note: Blend S is an anime adaptation of a manga series by the same name. The following review is based off the merits of the show as an anime, and the existence of the source material will be ignored.

The Premise:
Blend S is a wonderful show that follows the adventures of Maika, a girl who has a naturally scary face due to her eyes, and her friends and co-workers at the themed cafe, Stile. The cafe is themed so that every waitress has a "character" to play to entertain the guests.

The Story:
Blend S is structured so that each episode has its own little read more
Dec 24, 2017
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
When is it the best time to watch an anime with cute girls in maid outfits parodying adorable anime tropes? Anytime. Whether they can be enjoyable to watch or not is anyone’s prerogative. But how often do we get these shows? Quite too often in my opinion. That being said, when one of them clicks,they become a worthwhile, laugh-out-loud experience.

Blend S proved to be the funniest slice of life anime of 2017. This comes right down to the jokes, characters, comedic situations, and dialogue. All of these aspects melds together successfully to make an enjoyable anime that pulls off even the most stereotypical jokes or read more
Dec 23, 2017
Akko_Berserk (All reviews)
Blend S uno de los animes más llamativos de su temporada sin duda alguna, nos presentó graciosos momentos demasiado hilarantes y en muchas ocasiones llenos de creatividad, la idea de poner maids que hagan el papel de diferentes tipos de personajes de anime como tsundere, loli, sadistic, etc, realmente es una idea muy divertida, algunos podrían llamarlo el típico anime moe que nos presenta personajes lindos, humor y con ciertos toques de fanservice y si lo es, claro que lo es, pero eso no quita que cumple su objetivo y mucho.
Los personajes son muy bien hechos, realmente logras simpatizar con ellos, son muy bien diseñados read more