Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boruto: Naruto Next Generations


Alternative Titles

English: Boruto: Naruto Next Generations
Japanese: BORUTO -NARUTO NEXT GENERATIONS-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 17:55 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.261 (scored by 53,766 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #419
Members: 165,383
Favorites: 1,551

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 1, 2017
Erytropus (All reviews)
Absolutely awful...

Only four episodes are out at the point of writing this review and they have all been really boring and pointless.

The Story: Not much to say here...show opens on a cool action shot that looks like it happens 10-15 years from the current timeline. It tells us nothing about anything and exists only as a bait for inexperienced anime viewers who will watch the show for 600 episodes to finally get to it.
Got nothing else to say story wise because nothing actually happens. 0/10

The Characters: Again, not much to say about characters. Most of them are just copies of old characters with a read more
Apr 30, 2017
TheLostTower (All reviews)
I like how in Boruto the producers at Studio Pierrot have completely pressed the reset button. It is very much like the original Naruto, however obviously the focus is on the next generation of characters, hence the anime's name.

Although I have only watched 4 episodes as of the writing of this review, the story and animation quality is superb. I especially like how the story is very laid back. It is very easy to watch and get into.

So, altogether I would recommend this anime to anyone who likes the original Naruto, One piece or other Shounen anime.

7/10 !!!!
May 14, 2017
Kizuu (All reviews)
This anime will not appeal to original Naruto watchers since it has no slow development with original feel to it, The main character is a probably the new most annoying main character in the anime world and watching the episode you can tell how much try hard the episode feels of trying to make him look cool and everything that happens in it.
The anime starts off with a huge plot spoiler which honestly ruins it, Next we go the character screams *I was born with everything so there is no hard work I need to do* It's already first episode and it's very rushed with read more
Apr 26, 2017
ChivbagTalksalot (All reviews)
At this point in time when the show has just begun, it is fairly enjoyable. An average shonen with good production.
Though with that said, there are deep problems already surfacing with the writing, the biggest of which being that all the characters are way too powerful for their age. We have child characters capable of massive summons and advanced elemental techniques. This is on top of the fact that it is set in the Naruto world which is already deeply flawed as it is.
It would have been nice if the show returned to its humble roots with characters being modestly powerful and fights being read more
Apr 28, 2017
delgads8 (All reviews)
Boruto started on the right foot, with a interesting premise, but four episodes in the series; Boruto is not Naruto (which is good, as we don't want the same thing but with different names), I don't feel that connection with any character, for a, what I feel character-driven story. The story has not developed into anything significant, everything seems a bit random like another piece of filler but with characters that are not as charismatic.

So if you are Naruto fan, who has seen the entire series and managed to go through the fillers (I've seen most of it and read the manga), then you'll probably read more
Aug 21, 2017
Yasuhito (All reviews)
Masashi Kishimoto didn't spend the last twenty years putting the cast we love through hell - time after time - to create yet another bleak and hopeless world. Peace is, finally, upon Konoha. It's a modern world, and it is damn beautiful to see. So, this is where we begin.

This isn't another Naruto. So, the fans should stop comparing. Boruto: Naruto Next Generations is a great, and, different continuation. There's a refreshing slice of life element to it because the world is finally at peace. Let's enjoy it for a moment or two. It has the same core that made Naruto special. It can read more
Jul 5, 2017
Flowq (All reviews)
Story 7/10
The first 12 episodes were okay, interesting characters, though everything took a bit long to progress. The older characters are still cool imo, though they could use some more screen time.
Episode 13 and 14 were awesome, Boruto's eye was cool, animations were good, sometimes a bit sloppy but nothing too notable. I found episode 14 really enjoyable.

Art 8/10
Animations are pretty good overall, as i said sometimes a bit sloppy but nothing too notable.

Sound 9/10
KANA-BOON IS BACK!!! Baton Road is amazing, the first ending was pretty good but the second one is even better.

Characters 8/10
Boruto is pretty interesting, his eye is still kind of read more
May 10, 2017
reitokasodansho (All reviews)
So far so good! If you are a fan of the original Naruto and Shippuden series get ready for a boatload of nostalgic feels.

For anybody new to the Naruto world, I find the new generation has a fresh enough feel for anybody wanting to start with this this series. But it's obviously at it's best if you've read the manga or have kept up with the show. The characters are interesting and the potential to add on to the an already intriguing Naruto universe is massive (ref. what was with that opening scene!?!?). Another interesting facet of the show is the Ninja Worlds technological/political read more
Jul 9, 2017
ArgeNtIneMparadE (All reviews)
Yikes, just yikes. Because of my love for Naruto I really tried to delude myself into thinking this show wasn't that bad. But really, what else is there to say about Boruto other than it's an utter disgrace. Like most others I wanted to watch this show because I'm sentimental when it comes to Naruto, making it that much worse of a betrayal. "Wow brotato chip you're sounding pretty salty." Ding Ding Ding we have a winner!

To say the show reeks of a money grab is an understatement. Like driving without a steering wheel, the show has no direction. To begin the show they read more
Aug 25, 2017
haptik (All reviews)
READ This
TlDr: anyone that rated this a 6 or lower is butthurt
Now don't let the poor reviews and lower rating fool you, this is still a great show.

Character: 9
Why? Now what really gets me here is everyone complaining about boruto, we get it. there is no one that can take Naruto's spot, people say hes annoying And if he is all the more reason to give Character a Higher Rating, Hes a bit spoiled and has a free pass from his dad OF COURSE he is going to be annoying at first that is how they want you to view him. 21 episodes is read more
May 31, 2017
Liz_V (All reviews)
Big disappointment...... I've watched 9 eps now and for me it's quite slow and boring. It's pretty much poor version of naruto with the kids being super strong off the bat and boruto being extremely annoying. Being such a big fan I really wanted to love this new series, but having so much flaws with the story line and not really trying to keep it similar to how we watched the characters grows from weak to strong. I probably give it till ep 15 but if it stays the same most likely will stop watching it. It's such a shame cause i really wanted read more
Aug 16, 2017
ShaneM (All reviews)
Boruto: Naruto Next Generations follows the Naruto series much like one generation follows the next; the series and it's elements have been passed like a torch to the children of the series.

The opening statement for this review should be that the main audience this show is meant to appeal to is not the prior Naruto audience. This anime has tasked itself with appealing to two different audiences; the prior generation whom followed Naruto Uzumaki and the current generation who will now be following our new protagonist Boruto Uzumaki.

Boruto Uzumaki is a solemnly different character than Naruto was; he's spoiled both in the sense read more
Jul 13, 2017
adolf512 (All reviews)
I like thus continuation of naruto shippuden. There is no shortage of good new characters
-Inojin Yamanaka
-Sarada Uchia
-Mutsuki
-Boruto Uzumaki

The series has not really started yet but it has the potential to surpass naruto & naruto shippuden.

Boruto is more responsible and heroic in the anime than the manga, it's a change to the better in my opinion.

For some reason i really look forward to the next episode, this is usually not the case when i watch anime, it's hard for me to get into an anime, maybe it helps that i watched shippuden before starting to watch this.

It's not very common the writers has read more
Jun 14, 2017
krillerthekille (All reviews)
It's all to obv that most people who have seen the first few episodes of Baruto has never seen the original Naruto show. This show does exactly what Naruto did, and that is build fucking character, you don't go straight into the action of killing people off and such before you even fucking know who everyone is. so many bad reviews from people who never got to learn about Naruto as a kid before he became cool, so many episodes in the beginning of Naruto with no action, then a little and then for a long time non. it's the same deal here, so we read more
Nov 8, 2017
robkamofficial (All reviews)
Boruto is a trainwreck. I can't believe that it took me 31 episodes before I finally accepted how awful it is.

Boruto tries to capitalise on Naruto nostalgia but has nothing going for it.

The characters are lacklustre at best. The animation is atrocious half of the time and there is zero plot development. It feels like the story is just bumbling on and skipping any of the episodes will have resulted in me missing nothing.

Boruto (the character) is the worst part of it all. As the main character, 80% of his identity is the fact that he "hates" his dad, Naruto. The fight scenes are read more
May 31, 2017
Weslytitus (All reviews)
It's a waste of time, the anime doesn't follow manga and they say that it is based on original story. According to me, they are just FILLERS.

And the characterization for the characters are worst as they are.

Art is good because it's basically the sequel of naruto, i like naruto so its good.

Sound and BG is just bad as it is, i think naruto's sound and BG is awesome, but it's sequel is a total waste.

STORY, sorry there is no story at all, will have to wait for it complete it's fillers, so we can actually see the main story. The first episode's first 2 read more
Sep 17, 2017
bozfoggle (All reviews)
All of these 'die hard naruto' fans watching the first few episodes and giving it a shit rating, lmao makes me laugh. I've watched the whole Naruto series twice and have watched Boruto up to the 24th episode currently and ive got to say its not even that bad, i actually enjoy it.

Yes the first few episodes may of been slow and slice of life, but the producer wanted it to be chilled out for the first few, he wanted to make the series appeal to the younger generation too, lmao people giving it a 1/10 rating need to get that pole outta their asses. read more
May 24, 2017
HarleySnacks (All reviews)
I'm gonna be honest as hell in my reviews. Not like those other reviews who judge the anime by setting a standard and comparing the anime to its predecessor.

If you're an old Naruto fan, then don't watch this series expecting that this anime is the same as Naruto. Because it's not. This anime is different from its predecessor.

Now that's out of the way.

First of all.

The Story: Its very laid back for now. They've teased us of the looming danger that's coming in the village. But giving us enough time to know the "New Generation", of characters in the world of Naruto.

The Art: read more
Nov 15, 2017
MurasameKills (All reviews)
UNBIASED HONEST REVIEW OF THE CURRENT STATE OF THE ANIME

Story 1 - Pathetic - Right now it's all filler with one actual kind of good arch from the Naruto Gaiden Manga, however, it follows Sarada Uchiha, and Boruto isn't in the arch at all. It's funny that at 33 episodes in the best arch in the Boruto anime is an arch without Boruto in it. Not because boruto is bad, but because literally everything else is filler. The Sarada arch is the only thing that's actually good because it's Naruto canon based on the Naruto gaiden manga, but it's still filler in this anime, because read more
Jul 8, 2017
Seigo_Nakano (All reviews)
Actually this series was needed because when shippuden ended it actually never mentioned anything about kaguya's history. I mean to say the story of Kaguya's ancestors where she came from by now it is known that she never came from the moon ,so in short the mother of the okutsuki clan needs to be explained in this story like what is her ancestorial history and what are her origins and like momoshiki are there any one like them, by seeing momoshiki we think he is of the same origins as of kaguya but whether they are yet friends or foes yet to be known read more