Boruto: Naruto Next Generations

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Boruto: Naruto Next Generations
Japanese: BORUTO -NARUTO NEXT GENERATIONS-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, Super PowerSuper Power, Martial ArtsMartial Arts, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.931 (scored by 198294198,294 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #82672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #242
Members: 447,943
Favorites: 3,937
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jul 9, 2017
ArgeNtIneMparadE (All reviews)
Yikes, just yikes. Because of my love for Naruto I really tried to delude myself into thinking this show wasn't that bad. But really, what else is there to say about Boruto other than it's an utter disgrace. Like most others I wanted to watch this show because I'm sentimental when it comes to Naruto, making it that much worse of a betrayal. "Wow brotato chip you're sounding pretty salty." Ding Ding Ding we have a winner!

To say the show reeks of a money grab is an understatement. Like driving without a steering wheel, the show has no direction. To begin the show they read more
Nov 8, 2017
robkamofficial (All reviews)
Boruto is a trainwreck. I can't believe that it took me 31 episodes before I finally accepted how awful it is.

Boruto tries to capitalise on Naruto nostalgia but has nothing going for it.

The characters are lacklustre at best. The animation is atrocious half of the time and there is zero plot development. It feels like the story is just bumbling on and skipping any of the episodes will have resulted in me missing nothing.

Boruto (the character) is the worst part of it all. As the main character, 80% of his identity is the fact that he "hates" his dad, Naruto. The fight scenes are read more
Oct 14, 2018
Dante012 (All reviews)
Okay, if you see my rating you will probably say it's exaggerated. I would answer: so is the "cash-grabness" of this series.
To be honest, Boruto is probably worth more than that. But NOTHING, in my opinion, justifies such dishonesty as Masashi Kishimoto shows with Boruto.


STORY
The anime starts with a very intriguing scene: Boruto facing a certain guy, who claims he killed Naruto and the Shinobi era is over, and who apparently destroyed Konoha. Now this is hyping! This is so intriguing! The viewers will want to know more! What do we do then? LET'S PUT 80 FILLERS IN A ROW!
Seriously, as of today Boruto has read more
Jan 21, 2018
keivi10 (All reviews)
"The Sequel No One Asked For But Still Got"

It took me 40 episodes to realize that whatever the first Naruto had, Boruto lacks completely. This show is as much of a disappointment as a sequel to the original, as it is as a stand alone show.

PLOT - Dreadfully slow. The plot has had no real development since the first episode, nothing really happens. It's just this slice of life bullshit that doesn't build character at all, just random missions. The fact that the Genin-level main cast can deal with Chuunin-Jounin level shinobi on a frequent basis is just awful writing.

ART - If there was saving read more
Nov 1, 2018
dybala_shffjj (All reviews)
Hello , anime lovers.

(NO SPOILERS & short) - The first 49 episodes are fillers.Some are very good and enjoyable-funny, others are ok and there are some, meh... Still though despite the fact that are fillers still you don't want to miss some important arcs of this episodes. Episode 49 is like the worst episode ever... take a deep breath on this one :/ . Episode 50 is a recap of what happend so far, reminding you the progression of most of the characters. From episode 51 starts the real thing and particularly 2 episodes later starts the Momoshiki Arc (first manga arc). This Arc also read more
Mar 10, 2019
fverayo (All reviews)
The fillers have gone so bad for this show that the content is now unwatchable.

If you just want the visuals and the soundtracks, better to just play OP, EDs on youtube.
Haruhi's endless eight is a lot more tolerable than 80 episodes of filler, quality-wise and quantity-wise.

This is definitely becoming a NOT WATCH. People should discourage the production team to continue this any further.

As of 96 episodes and about 2yrs of airing, the only episodes you will enjoy watching here is Boruto Gaiden (ep. 19-23) and the Chuunin exam (ep. 53-66). So that is currently 17/96 episodes. Your choice if you will still continue as read more
Oct 12, 2019
PowerPras (All reviews)
Define Boruto :
The art of creating an anime which acts as a sequel to a famous work just to get money by showing everyone's favorite character in the opening video.This may extend to a maximum of 30 seconds per episode and can sometimes show those characters in filler episodes.

Just like everyone else, i had high hopes for it when i started watching boruto..i even gave it 39 episodes before i finally decided that it is time to stop.

It doesn't even compare to naruto which was a show that brought out all the emotions that a human can express
May 7, 2018
DatGuy0001 (All reviews)
I don't ever write reviews but I've absolutely had enough of people slandering the Boruto series for silly things such as slow pace, lack of character depth/originality, lack of humor etc. Those of you who expect Boruto to start of with a massive bang have no idea what the Naruto series was about! IT TOOK 720 EPISODES for Naruto to completely finish and some people haven't even watched up to episode 30 to make a judgement on the entire show. The most beautiful thing about Naruto was embarking on a journey following Naruto from the lonely trouble making weakling to becoming the savior of the read more
Jul 21, 2019
SplitteR96 (All reviews)
NOTE: English is not my first language and this is my first review ever.
This will be pretty short and straight forward without any spoilers.

Straight up garbage, don't waste your time until actual canon episodes start comming out. I can't believe how much time I am wasting watching this trash of a show, I tried so hard to delude myself into watching this just because it's the Naruto Universe but in the end it just left me frustrated.

Story 2/10
Reason behind this grade is simple, there is no story. There were a few "canon" arcs that don't make much sense, but some of them atleast put some read more
Nov 28, 2017
StarAlone (All reviews)
I think it's second time i really had to write a review on MAL.
After watching 34 episodes now. I reaaally dont understand why there are any ratings/reviews with score more than 4/5 (there are many 10/10 actually... Wait, what?). It's not about if you like where the series went or no... This show is just bad. It's really hard to point any good sides of it.

When watching end of shippuden i felt like it was different from what Kishimoto had in plans for its end and 'Next Generations' wasn't in his mind for sure~
I really would like to know his honest opinion about this show.

For read more
Aug 16, 2017
ShaneM (All reviews)
Boruto: Naruto Next Generations follows the Naruto series much like one generation follows the next; the series and it's elements have been passed like a torch to the children of the series.

The opening statement for this review should be that the main audience this show is meant to appeal to is not the prior Naruto audience. This anime has tasked itself with appealing to two different audiences; the prior generation whom followed Naruto Uzumaki and the current generation who will now be following our new protagonist Boruto Uzumaki.

Boruto Uzumaki is a solemnly different character than Naruto was; he's spoiled both in the sense read more
Jul 13, 2017
adolf512 (All reviews)
I like thus continuation of naruto shippuden. There is no shortage of good new characters
-Inojin Yamanaka
-Sarada Uchia
-Mutsuki
-Boruto Uzumaki

The series has not really started yet but it has the potential to surpass naruto & naruto shippuden.

Boruto is more responsible and heroic in the anime than the manga, it's a change to the better in my opinion.

For some reason i really look forward to the next episode, this is usually not the case when i watch anime, it's hard for me to get into an anime, maybe it helps that i watched shippuden before starting to watch this.

It's not very common the writers has read more
Dec 20, 2017
RitoAreets (All reviews)
True story...I save the new episode of this show each week for a night that i’m Not feeling very tired but really need to get to sleep...if that doesn’t tell you enough, feel free to read on!!!

I’m just going to get straight to the point,because this show at its current point (37 episodes in), is bad. It’s hard to write a review without drawing comparisons to Naruto, so I’ll get that out of the way quickly. As a stand-alone show without any previous knowledge of Naruto and his generation, this is a 2 at best. I feel like seeing the grown up read more
Mar 30, 2019
unik90 (All reviews)
well i alwayed loved the naruto series Itachi Uchiha
is a Fictional character that i truly love from my heart , i feel deply connected to him and his story and sacrifice for his little brother sasuke uchiha was somethin just beautiful and amazing to see an anime that maked my eyes cry so hard that i wasn't sad i was happy because i witnessed such a beautiful thing with my own eyes i feel like a was a blessed that i was watching this show called naruto and i got introduced to these people and you ight laught at me they become my family read more
Jan 17, 2018
MenthaAquatica (All reviews)
As continuation: 2
As fantasy genre, if you forget about Boruto being continuation: 4
As shonen genre: 3
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Current episodes are CANON! All episodes, manga, some of the fillers, 2 movies, books and novels are canon in ninja world becouse it was affirmed by author. Very minor spoilers in this review for Boruto, clearly stated start and end of one minor spoiler for Naruto.

And no, the scores will not change even if the series become let`s say 200 episodes long. Too much is destroyed already, and introducing action will close and remove the possibility of correcting poorly done peaceful background. Also it read more
Sep 17, 2017
bozfoggle (All reviews)
All of these 'die hard naruto' fans watching the first few episodes and giving it a shit rating, lmao makes me laugh. I've watched the whole Naruto series twice and have watched Boruto up to the 24th episode currently and ive got to say its not even that bad, i actually enjoy it.

Yes the first few episodes may of been slow and slice of life, but the producer wanted it to be chilled out for the first few, he wanted to make the series appeal to the younger generation too, lmao people giving it a 1/10 rating need to get that pole outta their asses. read more
Feb 13, 2018
RyTeOnJohnston16 (All reviews)
Edit: My opinion has changed a bit so don't forget to read the edit at the end as that is more current and informative!
Original review:
I am one of the few people who have stuck it out until the story actually got good (i'm up to ep.44 currently). I think a lot of people have prematurely judged this anime and made assumptions that are totally unfair.
I am an original Naruto fan and I am loving it thus far. Yes, it was difficult to first engage because it is different and was slow moving at the beginning but I can fault many popular anime for similar read more
Apr 28, 2018
sighcoey (All reviews)
I've been watching Naruto since it first released. Besides the annoying fillers, the story is pretty much solid for a shounen anime/manga.

But Baruto, I just don't know. Just because Naruto was popular, they can't seem to let go of the profit and decided, "why won't we make a new batch of Naruto-like character calling them their children and make millions again. No need to advertise it, it can sail with Naruto's popularity already." And then Baruto came out.

Same old same old. And whatever Naruto's author did, somewhat has been all wash out. Naruto and Sasuke is not the strongest anymore, they're merely a shell of read more
Feb 9, 2018
DoomRanger (All reviews)
I don't really understand why Boruto is getting so much hate...
Here's my opinion of it.

Story 7/10

The story of Boruto is slightly more boring than Naruto honestly but I enjoy it because it has absolutely no relation to Naruto whatsoever, it is not a continuation of Naruto which probably many thought it was, therefore the bad rep.

But, Boruto has its good parts and bad parts.

For one, the character development for Boruto is not the best but it certainly isn't the worst, it develops characters through the "eyes" of Boruto much like alot of other animes. Each character has their own character development.

In Boruto what I found read more
Jun 29, 2018
Aspection (All reviews)
Gonna keep this brief: Boruto is possibly the most wasted potential show of anime's history. Boruto may be Naruto's sequel in a literal manner, but the story & theme are NOT.

As of time of this review (~ep 60) the story has been a little more than a failed SOL. There has been one, yes one, unique/main concept so far. And that concept, after an entire arc dedicated purely for it's foreshadowing, has been absent ever since. Over the span of 60+ episodes (avoiding specifics for spoliers) virtually nothing has been completed on Boruto's journey. And it's one exciting unique feature has seemingly been utterly dismissed read more