Boruto: Naruto Next Generations

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: BORUTO -NARUTO NEXT GENERATIONS-
English: Boruto: Naruto Next Generations
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure
Themes: Martial ArtsMartial Arts, Super PowerSuper Power
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.901 (scored by 335637335,637 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #90332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #196
Members: 693,218
Favorites: 5,941

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 8, 2017
veanofficial (All reviews)
Boruto is a trainwreck. I can't believe that it took me 31 episodes before I finally accepted how awful it is.

Boruto tries to capitalise on Naruto nostalgia but has nothing going for it.

The characters are lacklustre at best. The animation is atrocious half of the time and there is zero plot development. It feels like the story is just bumbling on and skipping any of the episodes will have resulted in me missing nothing.

Boruto (the character) is the worst part of it all. As the main character, 80% of his identity is the fact that he "hates" his dad, Naruto. The fight scenes are read more
Jul 7, 2020
kakemi (All reviews)
I almost never write reviews, but the low ratings from disillusioned Naruto fans that only have watched 30 episodes have become a bit much for me..

I have caught up to the recent 155 episodes and have to say I really really love this show.
Sure, some of the arcs and fillers are BORING, but the main characters and ultimate storyline are super fun and interesting!!

Boruto is a natural-born genius with lots of friends and a loving family. This greatly contrasts Naruto's childhood, so I understand why people could initially write Boruto off as just a spoiled brat... However, through various events, Boruto does finally come read more
Jan 21, 2018
keivi10 (All reviews)
"The Sequel No One Asked For But Still Got"

It took me 40 episodes to realize that whatever the first Naruto had, Boruto lacks completely. This show is as much of a disappointment as a sequel to the original, as it is as a stand alone show.

PLOT - Dreadfully slow. The plot has had no real development since the first episode, nothing really happens. It's just this slice of life bullshit that doesn't build character at all, just random missions. The fact that the Genin-level main cast can deal with Chuunin-Jounin level shinobi on a frequent basis is just awful writing.

ART - If there was saving read more
Oct 14, 2018
Dante012 (All reviews)
Okay, if you see my rating you will probably say it's exaggerated. I would answer: so is the "cash-grabness" of this series.
To be honest, Boruto is probably worth more than that. But NOTHING, in my opinion, justifies such dishonesty as Masashi Kishimoto shows with Boruto.


STORY
The anime starts with a very intriguing scene: Boruto facing a certain guy, who claims he killed Naruto and the Shinobi era is over, and who apparently destroyed Konoha. Now this is hyping! This is so intriguing! The viewers will want to know more! What do we do then? LET'S PUT 80 FILLERS IN A ROW!
Seriously, as of today Boruto has read more
Apr 22, 2021
Kangwoo (All reviews)
SPOILER ALERT!!!
--------A little spoiler down below-----------






So the thing is that Boruto is in my openion something that should just never have existed. It is completly boring not fun to watch. It is full with filler episodes that are just as boring as the ones that were in Naruto back in the days. BUT I have to say that in the newer episodes after kawaki appears the series gets enjoyable. Still I'm not saying it is good but it just isn't as bad as the rest of the Boruto Series. Tho I have to say that the manga is quite good.
Oct 6, 2020
C_y_a_ (All reviews)
I feel this show gets a bad wrap. I can understand why people wouldn't like it but still. I see all the 1 ratings and I am like damn. How you gonna rate a 150+ episode show just after watching the first 15 episodes. The story is all over the place but that's just how Naruto is and was. The animation is nice looking better then other main stream animes. The is also good. I like the sound effects that go with certain Jutsu's. Characters are a little confusing and bad at first but as the story goes on they mature. I am a Naruto read more
Nov 1, 2018
dybala_shffjj (All reviews)
Hello , anime lovers.

(NO SPOILERS & short) - The first 49 episodes are fillers.Some are very good and enjoyable-funny, others are ok and there are some, meh... Still though despite the fact that are fillers still you don't want to miss some important arcs of this episodes. Episode 49 is like the worst episode ever... take a deep breath on this one :/ . Episode 50 is a recap of what happend so far, reminding you the progression of most of the characters. From episode 51 starts the real thing and particularly 2 episodes later starts the Momoshiki Arc (first manga arc). This Arc also read more
Oct 25, 2020
Slick-Sama (All reviews)
Studio Pierrot must be full of sadists for putting us through this hot-trash experience.

Where to start, I guess with where Boruto begins. Everyone likes making the argument "Boruto isn't Naruto... So don't expect the same story". BAKA. It's a continuation of the Naruto enterprise and thus should have a similar draw at least. Also, studios have to play to their fan base. And where does the large majority of Borutos fan base come from? You guessed it. Naruto.

The main reason this show is so garbage is because there is no emotional ties to the characters. What do I mean by this? In Naruto, the read more
May 7, 2018
DatGuy0001 (All reviews)
I don't ever write reviews but I've absolutely had enough of people slandering the Boruto series for silly things such as slow pace, lack of character depth/originality, lack of humor etc. Those of you who expect Boruto to start of with a massive bang have no idea what the Naruto series was about! IT TOOK 720 EPISODES for Naruto to completely finish and some people haven't even watched up to episode 30 to make a judgement on the entire show. The most beautiful thing about Naruto was embarking on a journey following Naruto from the lonely trouble making weakling to becoming the savior of the read more
Aug 16, 2017
ShaneM (All reviews)
Boruto: Naruto Next Generations follows the Naruto series much like one generation follows the next; the series and it's elements have been passed like a torch to the children of the series.

The opening statement for this review should be that the main audience this show is meant to appeal to is not the prior Naruto audience. This anime has tasked itself with appealing to two different audiences; the prior generation whom followed Naruto Uzumaki and the current generation who will now be following our new protagonist Boruto Uzumaki.

Boruto Uzumaki is a solemnly different character than Naruto was; he's spoiled both in the sense read more
Aug 2, 2020
gonnacarrythatw8 (All reviews)
Most. Toxic. Fans. Of. ALL. Time. Don’t listen to the haters this series has a lot to offer and if you love Naruto and didn’t want the ride to end this is what you should be watching. Boruto is a good character, he’s different from Naruto in some ways and similar in others. Why would you want the exact same thing? If you aren’t a toxic naruto fanboy this is an entertaining series that all can enjoy as long as you don’t expect it to be better than shippuden which is just a dumb thing to assume. If this series has a lot of filler read more
Aug 19, 2021
phoenix051 (All reviews)
So I am writing this review because I am tired of people saying boruto suck. I agree with you for first 20-30 episodes then i realised that the more you watch this show the better it gets so i just read the manga till chapter 61 and i can guarantee that this show in the near future will be awesome as hell. Some arguements are about naruto's downfall in looks and powers so I will say that naruto had his fair share of 720 episodes as main lead if you still want to watch him go rewatch from the starting. It is obvious that the read more
Jul 29, 2021
DarkiDoki (All reviews)
edit: removed the tldr

This anime is such a good current airing anime. The fight scenes don't take 50 episodes (cough cough original naruto). The characters feel so real especially if you watched the prequel. The animation is great and the style is cool. All the characters go through huge character development, and important life lessons are taught. If you like psychology, fight scenes, and unique original takes on stories you'll love it. Great to binge. People say it's slow since the first 100 episodes are about getting to know the world and its cast with mini-arcs, but each story is so great. This is 100% read more
Oct 1, 2021
Bashik (All reviews)
Boruto: Isshiki + Kara arc is so goated that the whole 2021 was very freaking enjoyable to watch like i cant hate on it... The soundtrack and the characters are just golden...
Things that happened definetly gave boruto more of a serious vibe and its not goofy anymore and the anime is taking a good direction when its a manga canon arc... Kishimoro is literally making the best ideas for the show so we should just wait for the time skip and then this anime will have a such a fine glow-up compared to the anime cannons and fillers... Like out of 217 episodes that read more
Apr 20, 2020
FireHawkX (All reviews)
As a reference, I am finishing the latest complete arc (episode 151) tonight.
(also, English is not my native language so I apologize if some sentences are bad)

I honestly don't understand the hate this series has got... Sure, MOST of it is filler... some fillers are also much better than others... and some arcs are so good that I could not believe they were not in the actual manga.

Overall, if you go in this expecting something along the lines of one piece, bleach, naruto with fast pace story jumping from one major arc to the next then you might be somewhat disappointed by some of the read more
Sep 11, 2020
cracklechart (All reviews)
In my opinion, Boruto is highly enjoyable. Everyone has their own opinions, and this is mine. There are also many things that I want the anime to tackle, but just because it doesn't, does not mean that it is a bad show.

Story: Based on the direction that the series is taking, I believe that it will tackle the major plot point introduced at the end of Naruto Shippuden: the Ootsutsuki. It will also focus on the story of Naruto's son, Boruto and another boy named Kawaki, who was seen in the first episode. I really enjoyed watching the buildup from the academy to the read more
Jul 13, 2017
adolf512 (All reviews)
I like thus continuation of naruto shippuden. There is no shortage of good new characters
-Inojin Yamanaka
-Sarada Uchia
-Mutsuki
-Boruto Uzumaki

The series has not really started yet but it has the potential to surpass naruto & naruto shippuden.

Boruto is more responsible and heroic in the anime than the manga, it's a change to the better in my opinion.

For some reason i really look forward to the next episode, this is usually not the case when i watch anime, it's hard for me to get into an anime, maybe it helps that i watched shippuden before starting to watch this.

It's not very common the writers has read more
Oct 4, 2021
jepsii (All reviews)
I admit that I hated this show at the beginning, because Shippuden was so good. I cried so hard when Naruto asked Iruka to be apart of his wedding, I just felt so enveloped into Naruto and the connections with the characters that I built. It was honestly sad to feel like Naruto missed the bar. However, if you are a true Naruto fan like I am and truly invested, you will continue to watch it and be happy with the outcome.

I absolutely hated Boruto as a character and as a show. Boruto won me over a little bit when I got to episode read more
Dec 7, 2020
NoBosu (All reviews)
I’d like to start off by saying I’m not sure how people write reviews for a show they haven’t even finished or that is still continuing but i’m currently on episode 177 as of this review and through all of the episodes I’ve enjoyed Boruto for what it is and for what can still be. It’s definitely had plenty of good episodes as well as fights but the filler is the only thing that can be exhausting but plenty of shows have it just like the former did so if you like Naruto you’ll enjoy Boruto, just give it a chance unlike the people who read more
Aug 17, 2021
SorasKarma (All reviews)
The Boruto Anime does what the manga wouldn’t really do which is having a long arc so if you think about the anime canon stuff are usually top tier when you think about also, The sounds, Characters are different due to it being started from boruto gaining everything then slowly losing it all. The manga is also great in terms of fighting and execution so it takes time for you to get adjusted to the characters but I do agree that boruto does be annoying at times and a brat at times but naruto was just like him too. If you go to the naruto read more