Inuyashiki


Alternative Titles

English: Inuyashiki: Last Hero
Japanese: いぬやしき

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 13, 2017 to Dec 22, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 95,752 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #363
Members: 209,829
Favorites: 1,236

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
July, 2000. A man named Hiroya Oku revealed to the world with his skills through his infamous sci-fi, horror Gantz. The manga ran over 300 chapters and ended in 2013. It was a time when the man really made a name of himself in the manga community. An anime adaptation aired between April and November 2004. That was over a decade ago. Now, the man has made this new work called Inuyashiki, a title that honestly piqued my interest more than I had expected. However, did it really live up to the hype?

To be clear, Inuyashiki has nothing to do with Gantz or in fact read more
Dec 21, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No! It’s a flying Grandpa!

Perhaps it’s rather counter-intuitive to even mention this, considering how much we actively consume as fans of this medium, but anime is… strange. It’s a medium in which vigorously seems to try and go against societal norms; a medium not afraid to cover taboo or heavy topics such as incest or depression, and covers a myriad of different ideas and themes that if someone were looking for something incredibly specific from a piece of media, they’d probably find their incredibly niche want within anime. This is the main reason why I choose to read more
Dec 21, 2017
Zaber_san (All reviews)
Introduction:
Inuyashiki..... It is the name of the anime I am going to have a review on. Coincidentally, the word "Inuyashiki" comes from the main character's full name. The anime Inuyashiki revolves around two men. One is an old man while the other is a young, teen-age high-schooler. You know on most anime the grown-up is always the antagonist of the series and the young ones are the protagonist, gaining character development every episode. Here, the old one is the protagonist and the young is the antagonist on most audiences. I said "most" there. Why? The story offers us what are the circumstances of the aged read more
Dec 21, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
> “Are my father and little brother dead too?”
> “What does that matter? We were talking about One Piece.”

I want to take you back to 2004, where an anime called Gantz was released; a gritty, gruesome action show from arguably the most inconsistent anime production studio: Gonzo, and it was a fucking train wreck! The finest example of a poor plot turned bombastic; gore, sex, nudity, profanity, it’s all here and is so nonsensical yet outrageous to the extreme, it can only be compared to shitty OVAs of the 80’s and 90’s that had next-to-no restrictions on what they could do. Unfortunately, due to factors read more
Nov 4, 2017
Pyston (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you know Breaking Bad? Imagine an anime where the first episode looks alike, but instead of a drug chimist, the protagonist became a fuc#@!* war machine to save the ones in danger.

Mean while, there is the antagonist, a teenager that doesn't have any empathy for people he doesn't know and kills to satisfy his ˜human˜ side.

That's whats Inuyashiki is all about.

Story: 9/10 - There's lots of intense scenes through the anime and you do agonize with the people living the situation.

Art: 9/10 - Thats an anime where the parts with CGI are well used (I'm not a fan of CGI on animes) and read more
Nov 11, 2017
lightpwnr (All reviews)
Preliminary
Most of the current reviews are due to watching few episodes instead of the being up to date so I'd advise reading this review first and/or not being able to handle real world situations that aren't graphic but touch on sensibilities.

This series has 2 protagonists; it's essentially showing you how a good person vs an evil person would handle becoming a god and what happens when they figure out each others existence. The beginning episodes are meant to highlight their intents and their sense of purpose or malice. It's essentially a take on if god and the devil were both on earth and showing the read more
Dec 21, 2017
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler DA-DA-DA-DA-DA-DA-DA-DA!!! Review*
TL;DR: No, this is not a Inuyasha remake. It's your typical Japanese Shounen version of "Breaking Bad" but with good vs evil mindless sci-fi that makes you question, who would win? Some edgy teenager or some wholesome grandpa! Oh there is also Anime Trump!
[Story: 7/10 , Characters: 5/10, Art: 4/10, Sound: 6/10, Enjoyment: 8/10]

"So, you're telling me... I'm the villain?" - Hiro Shishigami

Inuyashiki is your classic psychological sci-fi anime, by the visionary mangaka, Hiroya Oku (GANTZ), where the core idea explores the juxtaposition of two ideologies centered around a single question: "What makes a person "human"? Especially when that person used to read more
Nov 29, 2017
Somz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Appalling -is what I'd say if I had to sum up this show in a single word.

Luckily, there's just the fitting rating of MAL I can bestow upon this garbage.

The story so far is about some Anime-esque super-advanced life-forms accidentally killing two humans beings in, where else, Japan(!), then trying to right their mistake by rebuilding them...into overpowered sci-fi robots with an arsenal of weaponry capable of mass-destruction because whythefucknot.
In the future; they'll likely beat the shit out of each other, collateral damage pro bono.

The two main characters;
on one hand we have a nice but worthless old man whom nobody likes possibly due to the read more
Dec 21, 2017
Aslt (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This review contains spoilers.

“Half of the people lie with their lips; the other half with their tears” - Nassim Nicholas Taleb

The leaves have fallen, the windy days and chilly mornings have appeared; it's the start of the best season of the year. With my favourite's month arrival, we got quite a pack of new anime to digest with a wide range of emotions. Different studios have yet again filled our ever-hungry stomachs with their representatives, ranging from action-centred goodies to cute girls and finishing on edge fiesta blobs. There was Wit's newborn hot show, which has completely stolen the spotlight as the most popular read more
Dec 21, 2017
HereticHunter (All reviews)
Ah, Inuyashiki, a series that had the potential to be a hit, turned into a forgettable experience. I really tried to like this anime but seems like MAPPA didn't want me to. You see, Inuyashiki is an anime full of plot conveniences, asspulls and bullshit. Why? I have several reasons why, as the same way people would have their reasons to say this anime is good, so let's get started. There might be spoilers on this review, so be warned

TL;DR: Overall Section

There is absolutely no story on this anime, nothing meaningful actually happens, there is the concept of "Good and Evil" but there isn't anything read more
Dec 21, 2017
Hatul (All reviews)
First a brief non spoiler review for those who haven't watched it:
Inuyashiki is a seemingly ultra violent, schlocky sci fi - bullshit thingy. And as far as that goes, it's excellent. It has good tension building, very tight pacing, very strong characterization, memorable lines, striking visuals (albeit with sometimes so-so CG), interesting social commentary, a great musical score and one of the most badass opening themes in recent memory. On top of that it's a complete manga adaptation with a solid ending.
It may have some strange writing in places, the story goes in to some wacky directions and the violence ranges from over the top read more
Dec 21, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
The biggest disappointment of the season is definitely Inuyashiki. I wanted to love it, but in the end, it was held back by far too many unavoidable issues.

The first episode introduces you to the melancholy life of a dying man, Inuyashiki Ichiro, who is in a loveless marriage with two kids that despise him. The director gets you truly feel sad for him through quiet and somber moments of him alone in his everyday life.

I was impressed with how well the director got me to care about a character I just met, but sadly none of the episodes following it quite lived up read more
Nov 30, 2017
GrayRealm (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a preliminary review.

Long story short.... this is based on manga made by the same person who wrote Gantz. And the author of the original has a problem - he is unable to properly portray normal people + has a huge fascination with bullying scenes and display of power being used to abuse someone in the worst way possible.

Basically, there are two types of characters in many scenes - some menacing threatening all powerful villain (for current scene, anyway) with smug expression on their face, and then some person in the process of being abused - usually in a state of teary mess - read more
Nov 30, 2017
Derp_Studios (All reviews)
Preliminary
By the time I´m writing this review, only 8 episodes have aired, so my opinion is subject to change.(Feel free to disagree with me, as this is the first review I have ever written and you may think whatever you want).

Story: 10
Starting from the story, the development of the characters are visible from the start of the series till now, both in strength and psychologically. We are shown ambiguous characters, with no "good" nor "evil", as they acknowledge their mistakes and learn from them. From a philosophy standpoint, there are intriguing reasons why every action by the main cast is done.

Art: 9
The art in Inuyashiki read more
Nov 10, 2017
Donji (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you mixed Kill Bill and Deathnote, this anime would be the result.

This is the kind of anime that gives you hope in the future of mankind. I was brought to tears on multiple occasions because of how much I liked the main character.

The main character in this series is an old man, and he all the sudden gains superpowers. It’s so refreshing to see an action/superhero anime where the protagonist isn’t some stupid, overly eager, big headed, wants to be hokage/leader of the pirates, teenager.

Aside from how much I like the main character, this anime is just out of this world cool. There read more
Dec 21, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
A story of the best and worst of humanity...

Inuyashiki for LA for the Fall of 2017 was one of LA's most anticipated anime to come out and heck for LA, it delivered!

There were several things worrying LA for Inuyashiki. One is the entire dynamic of Inuyashiki (the character not the anime) and Shishigami's white and black morality hammering itself in that Inuyashiki is the hope to humanity while Shishigami is the worst of humanity and everything (and by extension more of the minor one-off characters being utter assholes or horrible humans beings) and yes, Inuyashiki goes a bit into this before Inuyashiki and Shishigami have read more
Dec 13, 2017
Millennion17 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching the first three episodes, and seeing how many reviewers summed this anime up as "torture porn", I felt the need to contribute a contrasting viewpoint. Now that I have watched 9 episodes, my feelings have not changed.

What we are seeing is the complete deconstruction of good versus evil, superhero versus supervillain, protagonist versus antagonist. And the two central characters are an exercise in this. What some reviewers are calling "torture porn" is actually the unflinching portrayal of pure evil. It pulls no punches. Is it necessary for the character to do the things he does? No. This is what makes him *truly* evil. read more
Jan 14, 2018
Kuta1 (All reviews)
After watching this show, I cannot comprehend how people consider it AOTS material. From a pretty hazily laid out narrative that fails to deliver on the themes and questions it presents, to stale characters that are caricatures of what they're supposed to represent, Inuyashiki is a rather forgettable show that relies on shock and gore for dramatic effect as opposed to good storytelling and character development.




Art: I could not stand the jarring transitions from hand-drawn scenes to the weird CGI effects. The hand-drawn frames were actually pretty well done, but half the time the characters are shown in weird blocky CG. What's more, in many read more
Dec 22, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
As we enter 2018, an outstanding anime has just ended, typically not your kind of run of the mill, superhero and villain kind of thing, so with no more adieu:

BANG!!!

Very Good 8, Story:

What we have here , was your everyday old man nearing retirement and nearing his fate with the grim reaper, to add to his sentiment were his uncaring family who don't give a shit about him, until one night at the park, he stumble upon a young guy and suddenly a flash of light. After which things were never the same again for the two, but the plot here is not what both read more
Dec 14, 2017
Lolnut (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am a little surprised the anime is getting such a high rating.

*********************************
********SPOILERS DUH*************
*********************************



10 episodes in and we finally have a battle between the Protagonist and Antagonist. 7 episodes of the Antagonist killing people. 2 Episodes introducing each character.

That battle lasts 10 minutes.

Maybe I am asking too much from an 11 episode series, but there just doesn't seem to be much of a story. Protagonist is the good guy and likes saving people. Antagonist is the bad guy and is a psychopath. I didn't realize this was an 11 episode series either. I figured there would be more and then out of nowhere read more