Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Inuyashiki


Alternative Titles

English: Inuyashiki: Last Hero
Japanese: いぬやしき

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 13, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.031 (scored by 21,611 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #599
Members: 124,428
Favorites: 422

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 4, 2017
Pyston (All reviews)
Do you know Breaking Bad? Imagine an anime where the first episode looks alike, but instead of a drug chimist, the protagonist became a fuc#@!* war machine to save the ones in danger.

Mean while, there is the antagonist, a teenager that doesn't have any empathy for people he doesn't know and kills to satisfy his ˜human˜ side.

That's whats Inuyashiki is all about.

Story: 9/10 - There's lots of intense scenes through the anime and you do agonize with the people living the situation.

Art: 9/10 - Thats an anime where the parts with CGI are well used (I'm not a fan of CGI on animes) and read more
Nov 3, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
From the moment this show started, I or we all knew that something is special about the aesthetics of the show, from the visuals to the awesome music.

Story:
Ichirou Inuyashiki is the average grandfather whose inabilities have caused his own family to abandon him, leaving him on his own, and together with an unknown teenager by the name of Hiro Shishigami onto a hill, where an unknown space object hits both of them, and the result is the epitome of both good and evil respectively, in cyborg form, that will change their lives forever.

A complete adaptation of the manga of the same name by Gantz creator read more
Nov 12, 2017
wariowariowario (All reviews)
**WARNING! THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS, INCLUDING THE ENDING OF THIS SERIES. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.**

HOLD IT! Before you go complain in my profile because I've given this a 5, let me explain. I'll focus on the good parts of this show before criticising it. Let's get on with it, shall we?

Also, I'd like to point out this review is mainly towards the work itself, not only the anime because it's currently still going on, and I want to give my point of view as someone who already knows where the original story is going. If the anime shifts away from the intended plot of read more
Nov 11, 2017
lightpwnr (All reviews)
Most of the current reviews are due to watching few episodes instead of the being up to date so I'd advise reading this review first and/or not being able to handle real world situations that aren't graphic but touch on sensibilities.

This series has 2 protagonists; it's essentially showing you how a good person vs an evil person would handle becoming a god and what happens when they figure out each others existence. The beginning episodes are meant to highlight their intents and their sense of purpose or malice. It's essentially a take on if god and the devil were both on earth and showing the read more
Nov 29, 2017
Somz (All reviews)
Appalling -is what I'd say if I had to sum up this show in a single word.

Luckily, there's just the fitting rating of MAL I can bestow upon this garbage.

The story so far is about some Anime-esque super-advanced life-forms accidentally killing two humans beings in, where else, Japan(!), then trying to right their mistake by rebuilding them...into overpowered sci-fi robots with an arsenal of weaponry capable of mass-destruction because whythefucknot.
In the future; they'll likely beat the shit out of each other, collateral damage pro bono.

The two main characters;
on one hand we have a nice but worthless old man whom nobody likes possibly due to the read more
Nov 30, 2017
GrayRealm (All reviews)
This is a preliminary review.

Long story short.... this is based on manga made by the same person who wrote Gantz. And the author of the original has a problem - he is unable to properly portray normal people + has a huge fascination with bullying scenes and display of power being used to abuse someone in the worst way possible.

Basically, there are two types of characters in many scenes - some menacing threatening all powerful villain (for current scene, anyway) with smug expression on their face, and then some person in the process of being abused - usually in a state of teary mess - read more
Nov 10, 2017
Donji (All reviews)
If you mixed Kill Bill and Deathnote, this anime would be the result.

This is the kind of anime that gives you hope in the future of mankind. I was brought to tears on multiple occasions because of how much I liked the main character.

The main character in this series is an old man, and he all the sudden gains superpowers. It’s so refreshing to see an action/superhero anime where the protagonist isn’t some stupid, overly eager, big headed, wants to be hokage/leader of the pirates, teenager.

Aside from how much I like the main character, this anime is just out of this world cool. There read more
Dec 3, 2017
-Hakuryuu (All reviews)
Inuyashiki is a good anime. It is not one of the best, but I think it's worth of your time.

- May contain spoilers -

The story is convincing. It's about 2 men that get exploded by some alien beigns (which should have been more explored) that give them super powers by turning them into machines. So far so good. One of the characters goes to the dark side of the force and the other tries his best to save people. They both have the premisses of 'wanting to feel alive, feel human'. And are well constructed.
The thing I like the most, or at least read more
Nov 30, 2017
Derp_Studios (All reviews)
By the time I´m writing this review, only 8 episodes have aired, so my opinion is subject to change.(Feel free to disagree with me, as this is the first review I have ever written and you may think whatever you want).

Story: 10
Starting from the story, the development of the characters are visible from the start of the series till now, both in strength and psychologically. We are shown ambiguous characters, with no "good" nor "evil", as they acknowledge their mistakes and learn from them. From a philosophy standpoint, there are intriguing reasons why every action by the main cast is done.

Art: 9
The art in Inuyashiki read more
Nov 28, 2017
iorn (All reviews)
Inuyashiki is a pathetic old man with cancer and no friends. Realizing that his family doesn't love him and his only true companion in life is a dog that he kidnapped off the street, He decides to run through the park crying like a bitch. Where plot happens and he along with someone else is transformed into one of the most disgustingly inept super hero's in existence.

Later on we get introduced to Shishigami who's basically the polar opposite of Inuyshiki. Instead of having being a kind-hearted old man who enjoys helping people Shishigami is a self-centered god damn millennial that revels in destruction and read more
Nov 21, 2017
goldavid14 (All reviews)
Inuyashiki is a simple show.There is a Villain with Superpowers that kills people and against him is a Hero with Superpowers that protects people,BUT...Inuyashiki is Different. That is because the hero is an old ,sick and weak man.At 58 years of age Inuyashiki Ochirous life is a big dissapointment.No one gives him respect ,even not his family . He is diagnosed with cancer and doesn't have much long to live . At this hard situation he is granted with a gift of Becoming a Cyborg.Now he can fight,cure diseases and more ... but he is not the only one who becomes a read more
Dec 6, 2017
Marsions (All reviews)
Inuyashiki is an odd show by today's shonen standards. Looking at the show's synopsis, I wasn't sure how the show would progress with an old man as the protagonist. Well, was I pleasantly surprised.

Plot: 6/10
The story takes place in a typical Japanese city, where our protagonist, Inuyashiki Ichirou is down on his luck. However, one day, he is miraculously transformed into a "cyborg" and, decides to become a hero of justice. Despite it seemingly a generic and typical premise, it just works. One issue with the story I find is that the pacing is a little sporadic. It feels rushed and fast paced in read more
Nov 6, 2017
orkuncan (All reviews)
Eh wew hey episode 4 .... Actually not only episode 4 this anime is pretty weird and different, storywise , characterwise, animation is different too.

Well im not gonna write too much about it because just as i wrote above its so different but since i decided to write a review let me tell a few things and it will contain some spoilers, if you dont want show to get spoiled then you better take your time and watch all 4 episodes because its really hard to describe this anime in my opinion but i can say most of the manga/anime fans can bear read more
Nov 5, 2017
360x (All reviews)
Inuyashiki does show a lot of promise in the 4 episodes that it currently has. The characters are pretty interesting, there's two main ones and they're basically polar opposites. The "good side" of the two is supposed to be liked by the viewer because of his sweet and gentle nature, one that is expected of an elder man who just wants to help people. The other is supposed to be disliked because, well, he's evil. He does what an evil man should do, along with all the minor antagonists who also appear, and get rightfully punished by the old man. The characters are really intriguing read more
Nov 2, 2017
Nikoran (All reviews)
I first discovered Inuyashiki while looking for something new to read. At the time only about 30-40 chapters had been released. After reading these, I read new chapters every two weeks they got released.

I was very skeptical about the anime, I wasn't sure how the source material would translate to animation. Of course, I was wrong. It translates incredibly well. It might be because it has been a while since I first read the manga but I feel like I'm going into it with a fresh perspective in terms of the story and characters.

Inuyashiki is the title of the main character. A man who is read more
Nov 2, 2017
TKT (All reviews)
Its my first review so it wont be perfect.

First of all i want to say i watched Elfen lied and loved it even if i found it disturbing. Inuyashiki has more disturbing characters and fiction that torture you and make you prepared for the “great hero”. Anime is great at making innocent people so innocent and evil too evil. Even if there is such exaggeration it didnt bother me because still its in acceptable level. It has some mystery about the power that our hero (grandpa) has which is also make you watch but its not the main concern in this 4 episodes. Shortly read more
Dec 6, 2017
Yukimuro (All reviews)
The story is absolutely amazing. I love the contrast between the protagonist and the antagonist. The protagonist is an old man who is a compassionate and lovely person. On the other hand, we have Hiro, a cold blooded psycho who doesn't care about anything except his family. In my opinion, the anime has a drawing style I don't like that much and sometimes the CGI is used too much plus I am not a fan of CGI either. But still, this anime is DEFINETLY worth watching. I can only recommend it. This is the best anime I've seen so far in 2017.
Nov 18, 2017
RuskiGermans4Eva (All reviews)
Obligatory this is my first review.


STORY: 9/10 – Great;

Like I said this is one of the best shows this season. Every minute of each episode is exciting and they really make you love the old man Mr. Inuyashiki and hate the young man Hiro Shishigami. It’s definitely Seinen action with realistic depictions of actual crimes to the point where it can get downright disturbing beyond the blood and gore in the murder scenes. All of it feels very real and down to earth as if it really occurred in Japan, while still making the outrageousness of these two cyborg characters. It also does a very read more
Dec 3, 2017
Jeanna_Asher (All reviews)
This series has 2 protagonists; it's essentially showing you how a good person vs an evil person would handle becoming a god and what happens when they figure out each others existence. The beginning episodes are meant to highlight their intents and their sense of purpose or malice. It's essentially a take on if god and the devil were both on earth and showing the chaos and miracles that ensue. The characters are written extremely well; you truly get a sense for their personality, morals etc. in the first two episodes. The art and sound are both top tier; but the art isn't on the read more