Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mary to Majo no Hana


Alternative Titles

English: Mary and the Witch's Flower
Japanese: メアリと魔女の花

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2017
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Studio Ponoc
Source: Book
Duration: 1 hr. 42 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 12,755 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19932
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2167
Members: 31,584
Favorites: 52

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 19, 2018
Jex (All reviews)
Mary and the Witch's Flower was produced by Studio Ponoc, formed by former members of Studio Ghibli and directed by Academy Award-nominated Hiromasa Yonebayashi. It is based off of The Little Broomstick by the Scottish Mary Stewart, which is why it has a very Nothern atmosphere. Though originally released mid 2017 in Japan, Mary and the Witch's Flower only reached Australia on the 18th of January with dubs and subs both available.


Quality

As to be expected from former Ghibli staff, the production quality is excellent. The character designs are well done and modern, the artwork and animation is very impressive and the soundtrack, by Takatsugu Muramatsu read more
Mar 2, 2018
Bajar (All reviews)
Mary and the Witch's Flower is on par with the Ghibli classics. As the first work by Studio Ponoc, Mary serves as the default flagship of the studio. As such, a lot of expectations were placed on this movie. Given Studio Ponoc's unproven nature, I wasn't sure what to expect from this movie. I feared that I would perhaps find this movie to be lacklustre and uninspired. Instead what I got was a film that rivals some of the best works from Isao Takahata and Hayao Miyazaki.

Similar to my favourite Ghibli films, the best part of Mary's story is how her character grows throughout. read more
Nov 14, 2017
Zidanenvy (All reviews)
GHIBLI POTTER VS PONOC POTTER

It's really sad when you know your favorite studio anime have already separately from each other, AND yet Studio Ghibli vs. Studio Ponoc.

Of course, this Mary and the Witch’s Flower is created by Studio Ponoc. As you can see their artsyle it doesn't any different with Ghibli Studio and all the worldbuilding in this movie, they're also learned from Studio Ghibli. So you could call this movie's rip-off from Little Witch Academia & Harry Potter franchise.

I admit that I'm truly enjoyed this movie even though I kinda sad about those studio condition (Ghibli & Ponoc), it seem they're become sibling rivalry. read more
Sep 1, 2017
kitbikyuu (All reviews)
Just saw メアリと魔女の花, "Mary and the Witch's Flower". I thought it was a good movie, very good for a studio's first movie, but it leaves me feeling that there could have been a lot more. I also have some major questions. The biggest one is, you are at a magic school, and you showed all of these students... where are they when all this stuff goes down? It's like they are there for the opening, then they are gone. Other than that, it was a beautiful movie visually, and the story was interesting. I would suggest going to see it. I'll buy the blu-ray when read more
Jul 12, 2018
PhantomKurata (All reviews)
As a fan of both Kiki Delivery Service and Little Witch Academia OVA + TV, I was really forward for watching Mary and the Witch Flower because I thought it was going to be another magical experience based on the trailers that I saw as well constant advertisements on many Local Underground stations across London.  When the movie came out in cinemas in the UK I immediately went to my local cinema and decided to watch it with a big smile on my face. However, as soon as I left the cinema I was not smiling at all. I was pretty sad and disappointed about read more
Jan 18, 2018
pinkarray (All reviews)
The opening scene was fantastic to watch, too bad Mary's adventure wasn't as wonderful as the first scene. She starts off as a bored, lonely kid who appears to have depression. She has no friends, no parents at the moment, no games, no T.V., nothing to entertain her so she offers to help out around the house instead but she messes everything up. Are these people poor or something? Why doesn't Mary have games or toys to play with?

The characters seem pretty inconsistent and I'll tell you why here. Mary is a petulant and dishonest character. She despises Peter and shows no respect to him read more
Jan 25, 2018
rtil (All reviews)
Mary and the Witch's Flower is the inaugural film from Studio Ponoc and the 3rd directorial effort from Hiromasa Yonebayashi, whose previous films include the respectable Ghibli efforts The Secret World of Arrietty and When Marnie Was There.

Being essentially an offshoot of Ghibli, you can immediately see the visual cues Ponoc borrows from its roots. In many ways, it is as if nothing changed. From an animation standpoint, this film may as well have been made by Ghibli staff - but I say this not as a criticism, as not only will it take time for Ponoc to develop its own style, but this anime read more
May 21, 2018
heychrisfox (All reviews)
You know what you're getting when you watch Mary and the Witch's Flower.

Don't lie to yourself. You know why you're watching this film. This is the post-Ghibli age. We are now in the age of Studio Ponoc. Yes, the quality is the same. Yes, the aesthetic is the same. If you want the "Ghibli" feel, you could come here, or you could play some Ni no Kuni. Instead, you're here. So trying to judge this film against its predecessors is almost unfair. Because although Mary and the Witch's Flower is cut of the same cloth as other Ghibli films, the main takeaway from this read more
Feb 3, 2018
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Fun and simple stories are always welcomed. Children’s fantasy as a genre fits these two things perfectly. We’ve all grew up with these timeless tales that transformed us at our early stage of our development. There was once a time in anime, specifically in the 70s, where studios adapted old children’s literature from the late 19th to early 20th century. Mary and the Witch’s Flower gives off these vibes from my experience viewing it.

This is the first animated feature by Studio Ponoco, a studio founded by former Studio Ghibli lead producer Yoshiaki Nishimura and several staffers that joined him after Ghibli decided to pause all read more
Aug 9, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Mary to Majo no Hana is based on a children's story by British author Mary Stewart. The anime film was Studio Ponoc's premiere work. Basically, they're a group of creators who splintered off of Studio Ghibli, probably because they were mortified by Tales from Earthsea and the only way to distance themselves from it entirely was to start their own studio. With black jack and hookers. Let's see how much of a splash they made.

Story:

We open with a building on fire and a hooded girl scarpering while magical beasts try to chase after her. We then cut to a young girl, Mary, suffering from boredom since read more
Jan 18, 2018
kairyu_gen1 (All reviews)
I got exactly what I expected; a bit of a weird plot, but a lot of really fun ideas backed up by some spectacular animation talent.

The main draw of the movie is pretty simple; it's visually stunning. It's got high speed action scenes, fascinating locations, and my personal favorite, incredibly charming character moments. I absolutely loved seeing the cat glare at the camera at random moments, or Mary pat her hair after getting complimented on it for the first time, or the broom bounce around, or a robot roll its eyes over its head. These moments have very little to do with the story, but read more
Sep 28, 2018
Ismata-chan (All reviews)
When I first heard of the situation surrounding Studio Ponoc's founding and the release of their first film, I was really excited for it. I know there can be no one that replaces Miyazaki, but I looked forward to what people with his influence could do on their own. I grew up with Ghibli's classics and seeing their evolution over the years, I can see where some of this new studio's inspirations are coming from for this movie.

Visually and stylistically, I can see influences from Howl's Moving Castle and When Marnie was There. The magic makes just about as much sense as it does in read more
Apr 30, 2018
Izuka-kun (All reviews)
"一緒に帰ろうぜ"

tldr: Mary and the Witch's Flower told a beautiful and fun tale that managed to captivate the audience's heart. It may not have been perfect in terms of technicalities, but it is a very enjoyable experience nonetheless.

Minor spoiler alert.

Story: 8/10

The story is beautiful in the sense that it explores the innocence of the mind of a child—the troubles such innocence may cause. Despite the fact that it may be troublesome at times, the story also displayed how such innocence drives a child to be very optimistic, kind and loving. The story isn't too complicated to understand, but wasn't too simple either. There were times read more
Feb 18, 2018
SIOPAOBUN (All reviews)
The film is another unfortunate example of what could have been.

Studio Ponoc consists of the veteran staff (from Ghibli shutting down) and at it's very best you have the wonderful fluid animation. However, the crucial problem with Mary and the Witch's Flower was the story and script. You have interesting character designs and a ripe world ready for world building. There's some great sequences but without the writing to back it up, it's all flash and no substance.

Characters were all one note. This isn't necessarily a bad thing but when the core drama revolves around a bland main character, there's nothing to grab onto. Mary read more
Feb 9, 2018
attempt1 (All reviews)
This film is very average, the main character Mary is great however the rest of the movie falls short. This is Studio Ponoc’s first film, which consists of some ex Studio Ghibli members. After hearing that Studio Ghibli is possibly no longer making films, I was excited to see their legacy continue in Studio Ponoc. Unfortunately Mary and the Witch’s Flower is a little disappointing, but not a bad start to Studio Ponoc.

Mary is a fantastic character who’s a lot of fun to watch. She is a care free young girl who doesn’t have a lot of confidence. She is constantly complaining about how she read more
Jan 21, 2018
JediNut (All reviews)
MARY AND THE WITCH’S FLOWER (メアリと魔女の花 / Mary to Majo no Hana) is the debut feature from Studio Ponoc. If the look of the movie seems familiar, that’s for good reason. Studio Ponoc was founded by and employs several key figures from Studio Ghibli, the famed animation studio that gave us the classic works of Hayao Miyazaki: Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, and (my all-time favorite) Kiki’s Delivery Service. Among those former-Ghibli members are Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Takeshi Imamura, who serve as Mary’s writer/director and supervising animator, respectively. So, with that kind of pedigree, Mary must be flippin’ amazing, right? Alas, I’m sorry to say that read more
Dec 12, 2017
EvanLoh (All reviews)
Writing my short review after watching this movie in theaters. Well, to be frank, this is just an above average movie.

Now let's start with the story. The story is what you get in every Ghibli movie ever. There's absolutely nothing special about it. If you are a fan of Ghibli movie, then you might feel nostalgic watching this movie because it combines a lot of elements that made you like Ghibli's movie, but it stopped there, they did nothing new with those concepts. If you haven't watched any Ghibli movie before, then I bet this movie will give you a lot of Harry Potter vibes, read more
Oct 17, 2018
Nerd_Zone1 (All reviews)
I don't think this needs to be stated but this is Studio Ponoc first feature film, The studio is formed by former Ghibli members and is basically going to the new spiritual successor to the great legacy as i assume ( speculation) after Hayao Miyazaki last film in I think 2020 or 2021 that's it for Ghibli. Like every anime adaptation of a novel its best to think this as its own thing not as a replacement for The Little Broomstick by the Scottish Mary Stewart. This film is because an introduction to determine if this studio in the right direction they took read more
Apr 22, 2018
Ameonna93 (All reviews)
I think Mary and Witch's Flower is a solid film, and I'm glad Studio Ponoc started out strong. I hope their second film will be just as good.

Some people are calling Studio Ponoc the new Ghibli, and I can see why. Like most Studio Ghibli films, Mary and the Witch's Flower is based on a British kids' novel rather then a Japanese novel, manga, light novel, or game. (Not that there's anything wrong with that.) Plus, it has a similar art style. This gives the film a similar feel to many Ghibli films. Not to mention Studio Ponoc was founded by a producer from Studio read more
Mar 19, 2018
ArtyWolve (All reviews)
In short, there is nothing bad about this film.
While it is a visually and audibly well made film, I found it was lacking in any kind of "wow" factor.

This is a pleasant film to watch, but even without the unavoidable comparison to Ghibli, there was nothing that made this film stand out or feel special, so it seems like a bit of an unfortunately missed opportunity for Ponoc's debut. At the end of the film you might think "ah, that was nice" and then forget about it, and continue with whatever you would otherwise be doing - this film didn't leave any particular impression read more