Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nanbaka 2


Alternative Titles

English: Nanbaka: Season 2
Japanese: ナンバカ 2期

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2017 to Mar 22, 2017
Producers: comico
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Satelight
Source: Web manga
Genres: Action, Comedy, Drama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.611 (scored by 29,165 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13632
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1514
Members: 61,909
Favorites: 248

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2017
thomasawesome55 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before you read this review, just know how I weigh each trait in anime:
Story: Weight 1.0
Art: Weight 2.0
Sound: Weight 1.0
Character: Weight 2.0
Enjoyment: Weight 4.0
Total weight 10.0

Oh, Nanbaka, Nanbaka, how I love you.

I love how this anime has so many colors, sparkles, funny moments, serious moments, and so much more all wrapped up in a cute little anime bow. Anyways, I know you guys don't want to hear me completely fangasm about Nanbaka and not really give it a review, so let's get serious! I'll only spoil episode 1 of the FIRST season, so don't worry. There won't be any spoilers... I hope.

Story: read more
Mar 22, 2017
Lelouch0202 (All reviews)
Nanbaka's second season starts off with an episode that restates a certain quote and reinforces the meaning of this quote multiple times during the episode - "Nanbaka is a gag anime", Nanbaka has always been at its best when it's portraying the daily lives of our eccentric innmates and guards of Building 13 in all their fun, frolic, heavily contrasted colors, sparkles and comedic glory. The occasional appearance of characters from other buildings adds some nice diversity to the regular formula delivering an overall fun and enjoyable experience. After a first episode that seemed to draw focus to the show's best element, it felt as read more
Mar 22, 2017
orkuncan (All reviews)
İts literally like 7.5 well i just voted 8 .

Story is not a story we usually see and it grows like you would expect , overall it might have been boring for most people but like this kind of shows .

To be honest for characters they really look cool ok but way too coloful and some of them are kinda gayish bro . While other people complain about harem and ecchi genre animes i think this one lacks screentime of female creatures in general :D but gotta give credits to head manager/warden and Hajime's meetings , it was fun

Art like i said was colorful read more
Mar 25, 2017
xisue (All reviews)
The second season of Nanbaka picks up right where its first season left off but I think in comparison to the first season its definitely lacking and has its flaws.

STORY: 6
Overall *probably a spoiler* the story never gets resolved in the end and instead we're left at the halfway point or even climax. In comparison to the first season's comedic interludes Nanbaka also changes drastically in tone to a more serious note, or it very much tries to. And while it still holds onto what makes Nanbaka, Nanbaka, most people will probably find the change a disconnect to what drew them in at first. While read more
Mar 25, 2017
TheBandOfTheHawk (All reviews)
Nanbaka is an absolute joke of a series. What I saw in the first half of the first season was absolutely discarded for a more serious but ludicrous second part. It is non-cohesive and fails to focus on backstory and explanation. Not to mention, the comedy is pretty much nonexistent They throw in Gokuu's older brother for the sake of having an enemy. They could have made anybody the bad guy, hell, even Hajime's brother could have turned bad and it would have had the same impact. Gokuu and his brother have no chemistry when they collide, and even read more
Mar 1, 2017
HikiNEET021 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you like more Sparkles..... Kachingggg!!!

Well Step Right Up... Cause We like talk about more of this :

Hopefully the overall will be viewed since the last series

Since the 1st season started as a gag... until the upcoming event was been already started...

It's not bad actually but it lacks more of sympathy... and always.. focus on sidesteps in the story...

Yes it has a fight scene... It still lacks of a background until Juugo's past about the shackles... who transmutated him as a weapon

But this season.... Takes the dark turn...

No more Gag to ruined... For now
As It continues.. Settling Deadly Murderous Situations plus Seeing Nico rage... It's read more
Oct 20, 2018
Seregosa (All reviews)
Well, what can I say? I'm frankly appalled at how the author cold-heartedly butchered this crap. I'm let down and I want my time back as I feel pretty much tricked in a way. This was supposed to be a nonsense gag comedy, that's what it introduced itself as. Even in season 1, it wasn't THAT bad even if the author decided to introduce a lot of out-of-place serious drama/tragedy into a show that can't survive without being moronic. But in season 2, it was decided that being a gag comedy sucked and they wanted to, all too late, go the more serious shounen battle read more
Feb 19, 2019
2fast4dad (All reviews)
I have wanted to write reviews for awhile but never had the real motivation. Until I watched season 2 of Nanbaka. I will be mentioning season 1 a little bit as I think it handled things much better than season 2. (SPOILERS IN STORY AND CHARACTER)

Story: 4
Why you ask? Well, this is honestly my main gripe with the show. The start was amazing. I thought it would be great seeing as how amazing of a villain Enki started out being. But boy did it go downhill so fast. Enki broke out of a prison along with a few other inmates and a prison guard. They read more
May 19, 2017
cornflakegod (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

I'll begin by saying that I enjoyed the first season of Nanbaka. It wasn't brilliant, but it had a good amount of humor, and the art is very colorful.

The second season, however throws that all away (well, except for the color)

This season takes an incredibly dark tone shift, and it's really bizarre to see these goof-off clown characters thrown into a story as dark and edgy as an eighth-grader's fanfiction. The story seems like it wasn't planned out very well; the moment that finally shattered my hope for the series was when Upa's backstory was being explored and we learn read more
Feb 20, 2018
AmishaelMA (All reviews)
Yes, it’s true that it’s a major shift in tone away from all the light-heartedness of the first season. Yes, it’s true that the side characters are focussed on a lot more as opposed to Rock and Hajime who barely get any screen-time in the later episodes. And yes, it’s true that a lot of the sparkles are gone. But who cares? This is still an amazing anime.

Some of the secondary characters get such good development that I went from disliking them in the first season to cheering them on in the second. (Yep, that’s you Samon!) We got to see a lot more read more
Jan 6, 2018
GothicTrashBag (All reviews)
Preliminary
I loved Nanbaka until season 2. Sure, it had its flaws such as the main character having the least amount of personality, but hey, it didn't ruin the insane sparkle the show had. However, Nanbaka shot itself in the foot once they decided to give the story a dark and serious plot. The zany, brightly designed and over the top characters clashed with the plot they tried to introduce. I'm never one to abandon an anime just because I wasn't "wowed" by it, but eventually, I found season two simply dragging and had to say "R.I.P". I loved the first season, but then the read more
Jun 7, 2017
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

You know it's been a while since I have encountered a second season that was worse than the first and sadly it had to be this anime.
The story continues with our lovable Nanba inmates who are still causing trouble for the guards, but in the shadows a new threat has awoken.
Now I liked the first season, but what the hell happened to the story in this season it started off well with the usual comedic first few episodes, then it gets back into the dark thriller quick quickly then everything suddenly starts to drag a lot I mean there were a few cool read more