Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Room Mate


Alternative Titles

English: Room Mate
Japanese: Room Mate

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2017 to Jun 28, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:40 (JST)
Producers: Smiral Animation
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Typhoon Graphics
Source: Original
Duration: 4 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 4.881 (scored by 5,020 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #105732
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3490
Members: 15,371
Favorites: 29

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 11, 2017
Sonal1988 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don’t get why this anime has such a low rating. I mean, yes, it isn’t of FMAB quality, but exactly what do you expect from a 4 minute-per-episode anime that’s obviously geared at a female audience? Intense emotional scenes, breathtaking action sequences or perhaps, some fanservice for their eternally parched eyes??

Room Mate is an xViewer anime (my first, I’ll be honest). I didn’t even know such a thing existed – I was only aware of this trend among fanfics and doujinshi. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised when I stumbled across this anime. Within the first 4 minutes, the personality of each male read more
Aug 7, 2017
YakuKikyo (All reviews)
 In short : For people wanting to stare at good looking guys exclusively.

I’m a straight woman.

There, now that this is settled, I can delve in this review without people crying at me that I’m voting it down unfairly because I’m a straight man or something.

First of all, I’d like to point out that I do wish for more equality in terms of fanservice, however, it isn’t at whatever the price. And this short Anime is a perfect example of that.


Story :

And actually I shouldn’t have this category to begin with. Because….it actually fails at delivering the most elemental point of a fiction : read more
Oct 2, 2018
Dashie14 (All reviews)
I'm a straight male who believes One Room and One Room Second Season are the epitome of great short anime (OK, slight exaggeration but I still love it so much). Seeing how they also made one where all the MCs are Guys, I decided to see what was on the other side.

It is completely different from One Room. One season of One Room is divided into 3 non connected parts with characters getting 4 episodes each. With each episode, it is always the main character that interacts with the viewer. I thought it'd be the same with Room Mate but boy was I wrong.

All the read more
Jul 1, 2017
Denisecvo (All reviews)
Roommate was one of those guilty pleasure shows for me. Well okay, I don’t exactly like it but I don’t exactly hate it either!
First we start with the story, “you” are going to be living with 3 boys as the manager of the place they live. The story is all about how these characters interact with you and soon fall in love with you. With this anime being geared to a female audience that sounds about right. I see nothing wrong with the story and for 4 minutes per episode you really can’t expect anything more.
Now let's talk about characters, each character read more
May 12, 2017
Jebus_Kreist (All reviews)
Preliminary
First person should stay in visual novels and games, where the first person perspective is capable of giving "personal depth" to your choices while keeping the main character ambiguous in appearance to keep the viewer as connected as possible to said character. With non-interactive media it just comes off as lazy and forced by simply removing a character and everything associated with them. Especially when inexplicable and unexplained events happen that have no context or real confirmation of whats happening.

In the end there's nothing here except average sound and art, when it is actually present.

Any rating over a 5, if you absolutely adore it, is read more
Jun 7, 2017
Orechama (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the type of anime that you do not tell your real friends about, for an obvious reason >>

but hey in all seriousness... No dammit i can't.
I mean what did you really expected, tbh the characters you could say that they're kinda likable and less cringy than others anime like (daki makura.. oh god the memories came back) they're NOT original what so ever, but they're entertaining, I laughed almost the whole way through.. mostly because of the cheesy and clished situations.

you really can't blame them for not creating original or interesting theme and story, because all of the "otome" games or stories play read more