Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Citrus


Alternative Titles

English: Citrus
Japanese: シトラス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2018 to Mar 24, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Passione
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.791 (scored by 85,888 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #44752
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #450
Members: 200,766
Favorites: 1,726

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 28, 2018
ISwearImNotSad (All reviews)
Preliminary
Citrus is another one of those school shows that go out in mass every season, is the adaptation of a relatively recent manga that is being posted until today, do not expect the anime to have a closed end or even a second season, the anime has nothing beyond being a HOMOSEXUAL ROMANCE, and this is also becoming something more common in fiction. If the show is so normal and mundane, why should I care?

The answer is simple, you should not.

This anime has a story that feels forced on several times and that no one would see for itself, what people really want here is read more
Mar 24, 2018
AltoRoark (All reviews)
There is far, far more to Citrus than a fanservice lesbian romance. It seems to me as though when a show like this starts airing, it becomes easy for people to write off any element in the story as a tool to arbitrarily wring out some voyeuristic lesbian action, rather than stopping to think of the purpose it actually holds for the narrative. When a sexual assault occurs, viewers assume that it’s romanticizing such an action and therefore condones it. When an emotional barrier props up, it’s assumed to be nothing more than a tool to pile on more drama. These misconceptions miss the point read more
Jan 28, 2018
ZimSan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Citrus challenges today's anime standards by introducing interesting topics like "How cringy can character dialogue become in an anime until I drop it?" and "Is it sexual assault if I kiss my step sister without consent...and get away with it?"

This is by far the worst anime I've seen this year and I'm just 4 episodes in. Dialogue doesn't feel natural at all, exposition is thrown in my face every second and characters don't make any sense.

The pacing of Citrus is way too fast and we never get any real sense of knowing how to feel about a moment. There is a scene where Mei kisses read more
Apr 11, 2018
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Tinseltown has been coming under fire as of late. Celebrities' misdeeds are being exposed publicly on a weekly basis like a new sporting event. The #MeToo movement giving a platform to voice sex scandals that have gone unnoticed for far too long. Scrolling through your timeline, plastered on the TV screen, announced over the radio during daily commutes, the subject matter of countless memes, the focal point of water-cooler conversations; no matter where you turn, there it is. Accusation after accusation. Transforming popular figures into pervert pariahs overnight. Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey, Bill Cosby, Louis C.K., Dustin Hoffman, Brett Ratner, James Woods, Bryan Singer, Casey read more
Mar 24, 2018
Pipe (All reviews)
Some spectators consider themselves sophisticated, modern and avant-garde. However, when they become aware of some social taboos, they change their mind and create a disapproval towards some topics. One example, the lesbian romance. Citrus has potential but fails with some distasteful scenes as described below.

The Ugly: The story mistake love with rape and forces affection from a lame sexual assault. In this world, Weinstein’s behavior would be considered romantic and not the act of a sick predator.

The Good: As the plot progress you can observe the protagonists’ insecurity, problems, and feelings.

The Bad: Unrealistic begin. Some characters are not well developed because the time read more
Mar 24, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
If I got a dollar every time this show featured a kiss scene, I’d probably be filthy rich now. No, not really but you have to admit, there’s almost an absurd amount of kissing in this show known as “Citrus”. To me, this show is a modern example of a trashy soap opera made with the intention of cash grab.

Adapted by the manga of the same name, Citrus is one of the few series in recent years that decided to take on the idea of lesbianism and turn it into a modern day drama. In anime form, it’s defined more as yuri/shoujo-ai. As someone read more
Mar 4, 2018
Hematospermia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Potential spoilers for the manga below...

First - ignore all the hate directed at Citrus online. Give it a chance and make up your own mind. Other reviews and discussions will mock you for enjoying something they call trashy and melodramatic. They mock you for being entertained by something they have deemed so basic and depraved. And yet, after you've watched a few episodes you're thinking, 'why do I like this so much and why do I want to see more if everyone says this is garbage?'

It's because Saburouta is punching WAY above her weight on Citrus. It's like someone took Jane Austen and plonked her read more
Jan 31, 2018
rukiyukari (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will write my review shortly, just read and thinking.
I don't know, the way how people think about this anime, but i love it, very much. I've been waiting this anime show up for years. And buuf, it show up, and you couldn't know how happy i was, so i come to this website, see people leave reviews here.
Some person "very" do not like this anime, and they said this is HOMO, oh wow, now life is very very modern and i don't think we "need" to hate the LGBT, they're human? right? Like we? so why we need to hate them? read more
Jan 27, 2018
k4nr4 (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's still pretty early which is why this isn't much of a review yet as it's more of a first impression for the people interested.

The reason I'm writing this is because I'm really satisfied with how well the adaptation came out. Don't get me wrong, I'll evaluate it as an anime not as an adaptation but I just want to say that it really stood out to me how the anime made the setting pop out more than what the manga did. I never really felt the surroundings in the manga and I'm really glad with this since it holds an importance in the read more
Mar 24, 2018
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review is intended for those that have already finished watching Citrus and while care has been taken to minimise story related spoilers there may still be spoilers within character analysis. You have been warned.

When sisters meet unexpected sparks fly and an unlikely romance blossoms

Based off a popular manga series of the same name Citrus is a Shoujo and romance anime that takes place within a school setting and gives us the opportunity to see what will happen if you not only find yourself welcoming in a stepsister into your family from your mothers new marriage but also the actions that read more
Feb 2, 2018
Peachii_Bear (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're a queer woman looking into this anime and hoping for some decent representation like queer men got with Yuri on Ice!, then I would suggest not even watching the first episode of this, because it's not just a disappointment, it's a goddamn disgrace.

Just the first episode alone contains multiple scenes of sexual harassment and assault, and even worse, the way they're played off is always either comedic or fetishized! (Not to mention that the two main characters are step-sisters, which makes all of this even more disgusting). I didn't expect much from this show, considering all I'd heard about it was from read more
Jan 29, 2018
CitrineTsuki (All reviews)
Preliminary
I just love how people always react in such manner regarding Yuri anime, like, the same people who would be supportive regarding this plot if it was Yaoi, but it's okay.

I understand people who haven't read the manga to be shocked by the first episode and just be like ''wtf is going on'' but I don't understand the hate you'd be giving the anime when you're not even trying to give it a shot, writing a big review, trying to look as educated as possible when you only saw one episode, or even just two.


This anime is really fun and good in my opinion and read more
Feb 24, 2018
EspRyan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Garbage.

From a director who brought us such great hits as, Creepy Rape Hentai, and the abysmal, So, I Can't Play H!, comes an adaptation of the manga Citrus. (He also did Spice and Wolf).

Citrus tells the story of Yuzu Aihara who starts attending an all girls school. There she meets Mei, a girl who is the complete opposite of her. While Yuzu is a fun, impulsive person, Mei is humorless and takes everything serious. Yuzu returns home one day to find that Mei is in her house. Her mom has gotten remarried and forgot to mention that Yuzu now has a stepsister, as read more
Apr 11, 2018
NickDen (All reviews)
“We can’t because we’re sisters!” x ∞: The Anime

Is it sexual assault if it’s with your sister? ’Tis a philosophical quandary that has plagued scholars across the globe for centuries now. But fret not for Citrus is here! That’s right, I’m talking about one of the most hyped-up anime from this past season that features the budding romance between two high school girls who have just become step-sisters!

I wanted to like Citrus, I really did. Much praise was being sung about it from the manga readers and for some time now I have longed to see a good shoujo ai (for gay representation of course…not read more
Jan 28, 2018
Emerson_Stone (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is okay if you leave out some major plot points. I don't count this as a girl's love anime, I think there's a little too much rape like moments for it to be counted as a genuine relationship.
I understand that Mei is really screwed up and mentally ill, and that Yuzu is a closeted lesbian, but it still seems rapey. Like Mei is just pissed off and letting out her pent up emotional frustrations by trying to have sex/whatever with Yuzu.
It's not hot, it's mental illness. I do love yuri anime, I really do, I'm gay myself but this does not read more
Mar 17, 2018
Pas9816 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I try to complete it. Citrus is just hard to watch. The characters act without any thinking, consent is not even existing, I think. The dialogues are often cringy and contribute nothing to the story. I don't know the original source, so I can't compare it, but the Anime itself is according to my thinking: a trainwreck, which tries too hard to be relatable in some sort, but fails horribly.
The art is mediocre, nothing too special, but still good to look at.
I wouldn't recommend it, especially to those, who prefer story over fanservice yuri scenes.
I'm actually disappointed. I expected nothing and still - Disappointment
Feb 7, 2018
Botan-Chan45 (All reviews)
Preliminary
MAJOR SPOILER
Alright this is a serious review and my first review, but let me say I have read the manga before. Another thing is I don't review this like an idiot who thinks after reading Beserk, Stein, Monster, FMA:B, or any other "masterpieces" that they have the philosophers hammer and the alchemist stone. I also rate mostly on enjoyment primarily. All right lets begin.

Act 1; The Story:8
The story accomplishes what it set out to do, and that is a dramatic story about two lesbian lover who are now sisters. Now let me say this, don't expect this to be a masterpiece in terms read more
Jan 27, 2018
EmiyaRin (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime seems to not have decided what it wants to be. Either just the yuri fan service show or a romance drama. Typically romance anime's load themselves with misunderstandings but not this show, this show has ascended past such silly tropes. Because this show only can further the plot with sexual assaults. For example Momokino has supposedly been friends with Mei for over 10 years but only decides to do anything sexual with Mei when Yuzu starts being friendly with her. She also goes from being a stuck up bitch to immediately ok with doing that in school grounds. All because her best friend read more
Sep 19, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Citrus is a yuri romance manga that started in late 2012 and just recently ended. Although it looks like a second manga called Citrus Plus is planned. I don't know if it's going to follow the same characters nor have I read the manga. Early this year the studio Passione, also behind Rokka no Yuusha, aired a twelve episode adaptation to cover the first part of the story. So, let's see how that went. 

Story:

Aihara Yuzu finds her life turned topsy turvy when her mother suddenly remarries and the pair relocate, forcing her to enter a new school. Things turn awkward immediately when she unknowingly breaks read more
Mar 4, 2018
CrimsonNavy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yuzu, which is the name of main protagonist, means a type of citrus fruit in Asia (for all of you wondering what the title means.

Story (5/10): You probably should know that Citrus follows a girl to girl relationship. If that bothers you, fine you can skip and miss out on a romance that many current animes have forgotten. Yuzu, the gal-looking one, gets enrolled in an all-girl high school. Breaking the rules on the first day, she meets the student council president, Mei, who not only turns out to be the school chair's granddaughter and her newly adoptive younger sister. From here, Citrus presents read more