Vatican Kiseki Chousakan


Vatican Miracle Examiner

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Vatican Miracle Examiner
Japanese: バチカン奇跡調査官

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2017 to Sep 22, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Novel
Genres: MysteryMystery, SupernaturalSupernatural, DramaDrama
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.391 (scored by 1279612,796 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #63292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2446
Members: 39,663
Favorites: 77
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 24, 2017
Plasmatize (All reviews)
The fierce orange glow of lit candles shatters the cold darkness of the night. A group of strange hooded figures circle around the Ouija board, put forth their hands and begin their chant. Suddenly, a guard picks up on the sight, boldly confronting them with a blinding blue flashlight as they run off. “Damn brats! Playing demon rituals again, huh?” The guard continues his work. Craving a drink, he enters the large, creaky door of the chapel.

He gasps.

DRAMATIC MUSIC rings out as he stands at the entrance gawking at something-or-other?! Several awkward seconds pass before the cameraman remembers he’s supposed to be showing what read more
Sep 23, 2017
GMoney84 (All reviews)
This is actually my very first review so bear with me.
-No spoilers in this review

Vatican Miracle examiner is quite unique for an anime in that it explores Christianity, and more specifically Catholicism. There are a few other I won't bother naming, but this one does it quite well I think. It manages to present interesting plot arcs and stories that explore the idea of holy miracles but at the same it doesn't to shove it's religion in your face. What I mean is that anyone who isn't Christian can enjoy this show without ever feeling uncomfortable or offended.

Story-8
The show has a few distinct read more
Sep 24, 2017
PaladinAlchemist (All reviews)
Vatican Kiseki Chousakan is a guilty pleasure watch. It’s wildly fun and falls somewhere between “so bad it’s good” and “better than it deserves to be.”

Before I start picking Vatican apart, I want to say up front that, despite all the faults, it’s a lot of fun to watch. The eerie atmosphere and easy-to-like lead characters help make this anime more enjoyable, but what really makes it stand out (for better or worse) is the crazy plots and break-neck pace.

Anime often flirts with Christianity, usually through very liberal use of well-known imagery or characters (like the devil), but hardly ever in a semi-realistic read more
Jul 28, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
Preliminary
A birth by god, or the devil.

Two vatican investigators are sent to check on claims of a virgin birth, and stumble upon a dark mystery, least how the first arc goes.

Story: not sure where it will go from there, but I enjoyed the first arc, even if it went a bit overboard campy, but in a good way, I'm curious to see where it will go. It so far seems to be handling the catholic stuff well, nothing that offends me or I think is bothersome.

Art: Nice use of shadows and art to give the feel of horror and read more
Dec 23, 2019
Deanaka (All reviews)
Story: 3/10
Agatha Christie on crack. The misteries albeit interesting have poor resolutions. The plot on every arc goes bonkers in a very unexpected way. It’s a mess all around

Art: 8.5/10
It looks pretty. I enjoyed watching the catholic imagery that would appear every now and then.

Sound: 8,5/10
Dramatic soundtrack. Quasi-orchestral music that would appear every now and then. It was very pleasing to the ears.

Character: 5,5/10
The protagonists pretty much saved it from being a disaster. Although they’re written as the ideal christians, they’re not perfect as each have their own flaws. Said flaws aren’t explored a whole lot throughout the anime though. Every other character has read more
Sep 23, 2017
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review is intended to be read by those that have finished watching Vatican Kiseki and while care has been taken to minimize story related spoilers there might be minor spoilers in character analysis.

Intro and premise

The church and by extension the Vatican is not something that you see often within anime due to their complexity and the difficulty in creating a story in which they can be effective at. This makes this anime even more interesting because of it. By its nature the church will always be concerned with Miracles when they happen and here lies the story that read more
Sep 23, 2017
Nurguburu (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS
Story: 8/10. We have the main characters,Hiraga and Nicholas, and they need to investigates the "miracles" around the world. The first arc and thrid arc are puzzling and even frightening to some degree. The second arc is more character development than mystery but is good anyway. The episode five and the ending may have you think that they are filler but nope, they are interesting and you have to consider.
Art: 8/10 The art is very good overall despite some background characters in some episodes.
Sound: 8/10 The soundrack is good, I love the opening and the ending is fine. It have perfect read more
Sep 23, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
As the name would suggests, Vatican Kiseki Chousakan is an anime that uses religious themes while it presents the mysteries in the plot of the show. Overall I thought the anime was good and it managed to maintain a decent balance when it came to the aforementioned religious elements and the story. The various mysteries throughout the course of the show were interesting and well written for the most part. The art was very good and when it needed to be, the same can be said for the animation. The way how the soundtrack was utilized was superb and many of the songs were perfect read more
Aug 18, 2017
Rosquat (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show falls into a very specific niche for me in anime that I really like. So my enjoyment is way more than it might have any right to be based on other qualities. For starters this show so far falls more into a more horror, psychological, thriller genre than a fantasy or supernatural show. So it has a lot of the things you might expect when you think horror conspiracy and Christianity or Catholicism. The talks of religion or philosophy can seem a bit shallow and possibly grating, it feels unnecessary like it was added in because they figured they priests should do read more
Dec 29, 2017
phingsurada (All reviews)
***This review may contain a little spoiler

If you are not the type of person who enjoys harem, romance, characters who only know how to burden others, nor the beautiful side of religion, this anime is a must try!

This is a very rare type of anime with its interesting and impressive plot. It bluntly reviles the dark side of religion. This anime might make Christians feel uncomfortable watching it since it might make you doubt the existence of God.

I love how this anime makes almost every miracle happens in the story solved by scientific reasons. Honestly, it makes me feel smarter after watching it.

The read more
Sep 24, 2017
Blaufisch (All reviews)
Hands down the best comedy of the season.

Do you like the davinci code? Would you like to see what it would be like if mashed up with scooby-doo? Then this is just the show for you!

Story (1/10)

two priest hve to check wether reported miracles are actually true, yet all they find are drugs and evil secret societys. It's very ofer the top, each case ending in a conspiracy theory that makes the x-files seem like a research paper.
And they play everything straight. Always serious. The characters just accept everything that's thrown at them. Not that they would have any time to process it; the show read more
Sep 28, 2017
TrashDax (All reviews)
In the name of God, impure souls shall be…oops, wrong anime!

Story:
The premise of Vatican priests checking possible miracles on their authenticity is a very interesting one with tons of possible ways it could have played out. The most obvious choices would have been to either make it like a detective story or to go all out and into the supernatural. Vatican Miracle Examiner leans more towards the former, though the possibility of a supernatural (or in this case divine) explanation for the phenomena is always kept open for as long as possible. The religious belief of the main characters makes the whole thing a lot read more
Sep 29, 2017
blackdragon88 (All reviews)
I thought about breaking this down, but let me leave it at this.

This series was supposed to be about vatican miracle inspectors, right? So I went in with the assumption that maybe there'd be 4-5 cases with some over arching theme to build up the suspense and tension for a season two. I was so wrong. There were TWO cases, and episode 13 was some awful filler that had no relevance to the series or story line, plus only served to confuse the viewer. Plus, it felt like there were a lot of 'OH! How convenient, I'm already here to figure this out, or witness read more
Sep 3, 2020
harushin (All reviews)
An anime about people uncovering the truth behind allegedly miracles with science? Well, sign me up; that was my first thought. Now that I finished it, I wish I just hadn't signed up for this at all.

The first problem to point out is the opening and ending, I don't why someone thought that mixing animation with real footage would be a good ideia because it turned out so bad that I'm not even sure how to say anything about this, so let's move on to another problem: how the miracles are solved. They're supposed to use science to solve them and they kinda do read more
Jul 24, 2020
chicaotako (All reviews)
This is my first review.
Gosh I got to say that I am not a religion person, but this anime really got me, I really liked the animation, the story and the investigations, It's like the "religion" thing It's not the important thing, It's how the events really happened to know if it was a miracle or not.
I simply love it! When I wanted to know more about at the end of every episode. This anime is so undervalued!
I don't know why the note is less than 7 when this need a 8, really good.
English isn't my first language so I'm sorry if you didn't read more