Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru: Washio Sumi no Shou


Alternative Titles

English: Yuki Yuna is a Hero: The Washio Sumi Chapter
Synonyms: WaSuYu
Japanese: 結城友奈は勇者である -鷲尾須美の章-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2017 to Nov 11, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: Studio Gokumi
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 9,188 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2662
Members: 27,746
Favorites: 128

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 10, 2017
Manpig (All reviews)
Oh, WaSuYu has a TV Version now, I guess it’s as good of a time to rewatch it…again.

Now before I begin this review, I need to make a disclaimer. This show is meant to be a prequel series to Yuuki Yuuna is a Hero, or Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de aru. If you have not seen YuYuYu, do not watch this show. This show was made to be watched as a prequel, and needs context from the original YuYuYu to be understood entirely, as well as to know aspects of the story for more of an effect. Due to this, I will assume you’ve read more
Nov 11, 2017
AlaskanWeeb (All reviews)
If you liked Yuuki Yuuna, you'll probably like this. A little history to Mimori's character, why she had more faeries than the other girls, why she seemed to have more going on than the others in the first season.

That said, it doesn't exactly do anything new. It's just an earlier iteration of the cycle that was established to exist in this world: girls are gifted powers to fight Vertexes, girls get pushed to their limits and realize that there are sacrifices to be made. Almost all of the actual explanation for why Mimori is how she is is in season 1 is done in read more
Nov 15, 2017
SpaceWhales (All reviews)
Washio Sumi's Chapter is a prologue to Yuki Yuna is a Hero that serves as both a redefining experience and as a unique universe addition. Its goal was to sit somewhere been essential world-building and narrative, or simply being an extra story to flesh out the main series.

I say this because there's 2 ways to experience the Washio story. Released originally as a light novel, chapters were coming in between episodes and thus were made in such a way as to not spoil the original series and should probably be watched (or read) alongside the original series... to a certain extent. If you haven't already read more
Nov 10, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
The Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru series is probably one of the only "dark magical girl" animes since Puella Madoka Magi Magica to stand on it's own whilst still having it's dark underlining themes as a result and not be made a ripoff of, see Genei wo Kakeru Taiyou for the latter.

Seeing Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru: Washio Sumi no Shou which is a prequel already got LA under some skepticism as to how this prequel mini series was going to pan out. From this even being a prequel it was already going to get dealt with the "inevitability" and "knowing what's gonna read more
Jul 11, 2018
Tringapore_98 (All reviews)
Anime Review: Yuuki Yuuna Washio Sumi no Shou(cos im too lazy to type the full name FITE ME)

If Yuusha de Aru made me shed tears, Washio Sumi no Shou made me cry buckets, because it's freaking sad, especially the part where Gin died and they did her funeral. Wa i cant tell you how sad those scenes were. The sad music made it even worse. Considering that this is part of the Yuuki Yuna anime franchise, i'll keep the review short and only talk about the important parts.

Story: The story is almost the same as Yuusha de aru, but the most striking difference read more
Dec 22, 2018
krishnaWijaya (All reviews)
i just want to said , i really enjoy this Washio sumi series especially all the

backgroud song when the battle begin they are really good and giving you

goose bumps of excitement and reminded me of NIER AUTOMATA

background song which is really good to hear .

the character looks appealing but the i dont really like the animation when

they transform it's too excessive for me, the story is pretty good and make

you wanted some more. the main character depiction looks good and fit

for them, Tougou, Mimori is nobel and stuborn girl but calm, Nogi,

Sonoko is easygoing and read more
Dec 26, 2017
Dark_Pride (All reviews)
Rating: 4/10

Do note that I binged through the first season of this show last Fall 2014. Note that there will be spoilers for the show.

Maybe, it could be that I already know the conclusion of the first part of the sequel that I am not really that emotionally invested in the characters. And hey, the way the show is presented in the beginning there is no attempt to hide the fact that this part of the sequel will not end on a good note. Maybe my sensibilities changed through the years that I might have been tolerant of some of the anime tropes back then. read more
Jan 9, 2018
5syu (All reviews)
I don't usually write reviews, but I really do feel quite a need to express a few views. Aight here we go......

First off, I'll start with a few problems:
It's been about a year or two since I watched the first season, which I thought was pretty good. Going into this, my memory was rather rusty (having forgotten most if not all the rules/guidelines for the 'heroes'), I expected WaSuYu to at the very least provide a slight refresh to the world and guidelines but what it actually did was to immediately throw us (the viewers) into the world with no explanation whatsoever. This makes it read more
Sep 1, 2019
Decretum_558 (All reviews)
Honestly? This wasn’t half bad.

I’d pretty much say that it was okay, which is weird considering that this is a Yuki Yuna work. Although this one was adapted from a light novel, so perhaps that’s the reason why.

Anyways, Washio Sumi Chapter (Eh, who cares. I’m just gonna call her Togo).

ANYWAYS, Togo Chapter is your pretty standard prequel to the series, focusing on the group of heroes that came just before the ones from the original series. Unlike last time, however, these three girls have been trained by their families for this responsibility, and will ultimately do whatever it takes in order to defeat the vertexes read more