High School DxD Hero

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: High School DxD Hero
Synonyms: High School DxD Season 4
Japanese: ハイスクールDxD HERO

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2018 to Jul 3, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: AT-X
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Passione
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, EcchiEcchi
Themes: DemonsDemons, HaremHarem, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.261 (scored by 200925200,925 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #26052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #428
Members: 385,738
Favorites: 2,122

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 3, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
From the depths of fanservicy guilty pleasure of hell makes the return of High School DxD Hero. It’s been nearly 3 years since the last time this anime aired on TV and to be honest, it needed a break after the disastrous third season. High School DxD Born left a bad taste in my mouth after seeing how far the franchise has fallen. Is Hero a chance for the show to redeem itself?

The fourth season covers the volume 9 and 10 from the light novels. This didn’t come as a surprise as the franchise has a tendency to build more into the story with established read more
Jul 4, 2018
INFERNAL_FURY (All reviews)
Highschool DxD's 4th Season ended with a promo for the next season? Well! Only time will tell that possibility!

Now... for my review.

Art: 9/10
Most of the fans really liked the previous art where the TNK is the one who made that! I also liked that art style of TNK but there is some flaws of it. Like the animation for the fights in the previous seasons, Some of those fight scenes were like a GIF or something like those old anime fight scenes. The thing that I like in TNK's were the character design, They are absolutely stunning!

Now for the Passione, since they are the one read more
Jul 3, 2018
maartens31 (All reviews)
Boobies

Sweet, now I got your attention.

All right, if you are into High School DxD, you’re gonna like this. If you are not, then why are you still here? If you haven’t seen it, then go watch the other seasons first, otherwise you’re going to be clueless.

In fact, for those who have mostly forgotten, I’ll give a 4-sentence summary of what previously happened(Then I'll immediately get into the review.):

Issei has the Sacred Gear of Red Dragon Emperor DDraig. He has become a demon of the Gremory Household, most of which consists of girls who are attracted to him. Already he’s gone up against numerous read more
May 10, 2018
ta07 (All reviews)
Preliminary
hey readers
here's my review of anime adaptation of wonderful light novel series i try to keep my review very straightforward and short covering only reason why you should give this show a try and why this season is much better than previous season's which is ruining the adaptation by only focusing on fan service and other mainstream shits rather than story

story:(9/10)
dxd 4th season is adaptation of 9th volume of dxd LN Pandemonium at the School Trip
It has a nice plot and great characters that will attract you with their unique personalities its a wonderful story with wide no of different characters, setups and read more
Jul 4, 2018
PhoenixKola (All reviews)
As you all know just by the cover alone this is full of so much "fan service" it could write a book has every style of character from the provocative to the shy and every type between. As a story goes it has one that plays out in often times extremely comedic fashion enough to make me laugh with its wit and sometimes satistic manner. Yes it's full of lots of Opai of all sizes but mostly more on the curvatishios the animation and character design are well done and fit their character types some with more underlying hidden aspects then what is outrightly perceived.

The read more
Jun 7, 2019
ShaIIot (All reviews)
[Prologue]

I love High School DXD. It is easily one of my favorite anime franchises and has consistently been a good watch. Unfortunately, this is not the case for High School DXD Hero. After three years of waiting, I daresay that it would have been better for the series to have stayed dead. That's how bad it is.

["Too late. 3 years too late."]

First of all, let's discuss the smaller elephant in the room. This sequel took 3 years to be aired. I'm well aware of the complications that occurred during its production. Transferring a popular franchise to another studio must be a lot of work. Unfortunately, read more
Oct 25, 2019
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Repost: OPPAI

Another HSDXD Sequel has ended last year ago and it seems that funaimation decide to put up another sequel l has taken 4 steps backward? Now, ok , this sequel has a different studio and it's under studio Passione, it may have a new character designer but the thing about this sequel was instead of moving forward with Issei's relationship with Rias, it rather took a couple of steps backward. Also the relationship of the guy's harem has taken a new twist were the harem itself no longer competes for the guys affection.The only thing that hasn't change was the guy's read more
Mar 6, 2019
starfarts (All reviews)
Well this is a genuine surprise. I was so thoroughly disappointed by Born that I almost didn't even bother with Hero, and the new art style/character redesigns brought me right to the edge of abandoning ship five minutes into the first episode. But I endured, and I haven't been so glad of anything since I realized I can take concubines in CK2.

This art style suits the concept of DxD way better than the old one, although it took getting used to. Rounding of faces and the drastic increase in boob sizes are obvious changes right out of the gate, but improvements in movement frames, character read more
Aug 7, 2020
_cjessop19_ (All reviews)
Note: I watched this series in the English dub, I have read the light novels, and I’m taking episode 0 into consideration for this review.

Coming off the back of a 3 year break from the disastrous butchering that forced the author to retcon the events of S3 in his DxD DX series, High School DxD Hero is the fourth continuation of the light novel series. DxD is regarded as one of the best ecchi series out there with its raunchy ecchi scenes, great cast of characters and their dynamics, very good storytelling and worldbuilding to compliment it. Taking the helm of the anime’s production is read more
Jun 27, 2018
Bezzle (All reviews)
Preliminary
What's with the high rating here? This series has clearly fallen from its predecessors.
Issei still happens to be that "rash" MC which I've come to be annoyed by. If anything happens to his friends no matter how trivial, especially matters of the sexual-related sort, sends him off into a flying rage. Because, this happens to be his two states - "Oppai" or a " crazy-angry" nutter. Moreover, whenever he's bombarded with these "oppai" the other female characters undress and jump after him. These scenes used to be funny - not anymore. The charm and the reason I enjoy the ecchi genre is because of read more
Apr 6, 2019
XanderHowell11 (All reviews)
I loved this season new art style but got use to it I'll miss the old style but anyways in opinion this is my 2nd favorite season good story and the sound on this was good as well it's clear my enjoyment on this season was a 10 man the last episode made me so emotional but i was mainly happy it looks like Rias's and Issei's relationship's began to progress near the end of this season and if you saw what was after the credits it's very likely a 5th season is coming if your a big fan like me your hyped as well.
Jul 7, 2018
Reinier (All reviews)
I watched High School DxD Hero expecting to get the same kind of funny perverted comedy and sexy characters from the previous 3 seasons but I was sadly disappointed, this is a review from someone who owns Seasons 1-3 on Limited Edition from Funimation and really enjoyed this show.

It turns out that for Season 4 (Hero) the creator of High School DxD changed the studio that worked on the anime from Studio TNK (the one that did seasons 1-3) to a new studio named Passione because studio TNK changed the ending of Season 3 without the creators permission which led to the creator switching read more
Jun 20, 2018
Squiddzy (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you liked the "key" parts of the last 3 seasons,
-Boobs
-panties
-peeping
-boobs
-music
- p l o t
Then you will most likely enjoy this season tooo
The art is fantastic, as well as the music, and it follows up on the last 3 seasons stories, and just watching the MC (Issei) grow stronger and overcome his problems feels nice. Im also mad the he gets all the women and i cant get even one. read more
Jul 4, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
High School DxD Hero completely retcon's BoRN's ending for a different direction and thus continues the crazy fanservicey mythological adventures of Hyodou Issei.

Since this is LA's first review on MAL on the High School DxD series, LA might as well give LA's opinions on the series before tackling this installment of High School DxD. The first season was a good stepping stone to the series, applying all the world building as well as Hyodou's weaknesses to set us off, though the fanservice vs. tension did get in the way but nonetheless the first season was getting used to balancing it. "New" was dove in deep read more
Feb 26, 2019
Daiymo1 (All reviews)
I watched all the High School DxD's in 3 days, and I have to say that when I finished season 3 i was like " Hot damn now that was some fucking awesome story line, character development, hype, and action that I have seen" I hadnt felt that way since I saw Gohan go SSJ2 when i was 11. But this shit. Season 4, legit 180 turn in the completely wrong dimension. Here are some reasons why.

Reason 1: THE ACTUAL GOOD CHARACTERS ARE GONE FOR LIKE 4 EPISODES
- Rias and Akeno are my favorite, but I am forced to endure 4 episodes in a row read more
Jun 23, 2018
ninjaguy2511 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, I am a light novel reader, and I love how we get a great adaption, but this season could of been better and my closing notes will detail why.
Story 6\10
Before I get crucified, I find volumes 9-10 which this series was covering the most boring while reading. I was also getting used to all the changes because of a new studio so it was hard to be engrossed as well. Since season 3 was not fully cannon and missed a ton of important parts, they had to skip a lot so some things were skipped in order to keep cannon which confused every read more
Jul 12, 2021
brutus187 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I normally hold back from writing reviews, because I dont want people to get affected by my subjective opinion but; FUCK ME.

Never in my life had I thought I would be that highly disappointed. As mentioned its my subjective opinion and I know a lot of people love the new animation and character design but seeing the "new" Asia nearly made me cry.

How could they ever possibly fuck up that hard. The artwork from the previous 3 season was beautiful and now I cant even watch the first few episode without hating myself and this world. I am deeply ashamed to be called a read more
Dec 24, 2020
Rahat_Dpi (All reviews)
Season 4: Great Season

I’ll admit, the art style did change and the characters felt off at first. AT FIRST. I didn’t know what happened, so I was being ignorant and biased. I didn’t like this season at first. But after rewatching it, it started to grow on me. When I learned about the studio change, I was able to accept season 4 more.
This season is actually better than season 3 in terms of plot, source material, and development. Art style, it’s debatable with who you’re talking to. I like the designs on most of the characters. Rias, Xenovia, and Kiba took some time, but it’s read more
Jul 4, 2018
kokuborou (All reviews)
Beautiful, Brilliant, Epic and Emotional! Season 4 is outstanding and before watching this I didn't have big expectations but how foolish I was to think like that...

Studio Passione despite changing the art style managed to give this show some substance, created a fitting emotional atmosphere for exposing the character's bonds, a better presentation for the characters and managed to give more screen time to one of the most badass characters Azazel. Another reason to check this season out beside Azazazel is Sairaoug and goddam he is one of the manliest characters from this show! Why? Because like others who rely on sacred gears and read more
May 15, 2018
Mr_Floppy_Donkey (All reviews)
Preliminary
While the story is terrible compared to the three earlier seasons, it is still a barrel of laughs. Not because it has good or clever jokes, but just the sheer amount of stupidity.

It brings back memories from the first season, which I absolutely loved. It was just excellent. It was so stupid, but it didn't matter, the show made you laugh either way.

This season manages to catch this feeling very well. Albeit at the cost of emotional moments. While the emotional moments are often ruined, it feels kinda nice to just take a step back, and watch it just to have fun.

Though this read more