Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Grancrest Senki


Alternative Titles

English: Record of Grancrest War
Japanese: グランクレスト戦記

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2018 to Jun 23, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 50,445 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #739
Members: 146,577
Favorites: 626

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
I can't say for sure what convinced me to stick with Grancrest Senki until the end, but it became a surprisingly good JRPG inspired action-adventure series.

Record of Grancrest War is, in my opinion, a shining example of how a story can be brought to life remarkably with a talented director. The director Shinichi Omata previously perfected his craft with Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, he’s proven by now that he’s capable at adapting a good source material; plenty of his visual storytelling quirks are visible in the political drama this series offers. Grancrest is quite different from the drama oriented Rakugo in that its story is read more
Jun 22, 2018
Yasaal (All reviews)
***Caution: This review contains spoilers (the specific spoiler discussions will be clearly marked for you to see) so if you can't predict a cliched anime’s cliches, skip the spoiler sections I've marked. Also, do not read this review if you are a Grancrest diehard because it'll probably trigger you, unless if you're objective. If you're neither of these parties, read on with a free mind!***

Grancrest was the first seasonal I picked up in 2018 (not saying much since it released in Jan 6 anyway) and unfortunately my 2018 mean fell right off the bat. Grancrest stumbled out of the gate and fell flat on its read more
Jun 22, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Fantasy-genre shows, often times, have the dilemma of getting too caught up in their own facade, resulting in an omission of the basic rules of adequate storytelling (i.e. developing realistic characters and a coherent plot). Grancrest Senki not only fails on the latter account, it also doesn’t concentrate enough effort on the fantasy itself, instead opting for, rushed, battle scenes with insufficient background knowledge to know why certain events are taking place. Needless to say, the viewer is left in a state of confusion, wondering why events seem disjointed from one another, and what the purpose of the show is as a whole. read more
Jun 22, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
War isn’t so bad but it’s what and how it leads to it. It seems in fantasy war stories these days, we rarely encounter a story that isn’t saturated with the most generic tropes possible. Romance, tragedy, revenge, politics. You name it. It’s there. What does that say for a show like Grancrest Senki (Record of the Grancrest War) though?

To be fair, I’ve never read the original light novels before. It’s written by a guy named Ryo Mizuno who created the Record of Lodoss War series. Even as an anime original viewer, it felt like a series that was easy to jump into. The read more
Mar 4, 2018
Draco16 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have one word for the creators of this show: PACING!

I don't think I've ever seen a show that had so little grasp of how pacing should be done in a form of entertainment. One episode we're watching a full war scene where every detail is being focused on with flashy fights, decent choreography, and plenty of magic. The very next will have any battles just skimmed over as "yeah some people died, here's a 5 second clip of people dying." One episode will go deep into the politics and bonds present in the show, then it switches to either skimming over read more
Jun 22, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
If there an anime studio that I hate the most it would be A1 Pictures. Not because of Digibro with his 12 part Asterisk Wars sucks series. I hate A1 pictures is because the way they constantly ditching out garbage left and right as well not learning from the mistakes. Some people way say that Toei and Pierrot are the worse but least at times they can actually ditch out some quality and enjoyable projects every now and then compare to A1 Pictures where almost all the anime that were done by A1 are either mediocre or steaming pile of shit that shouldn’t exist. In read more
May 15, 2018
Xeryxoz (All reviews)
Preliminary
This may very well be my first ever review for any anime; made an account simply because of it.

There are several things that need be noted about Grancrest Senki, first of which is a personal one - I've never seen such level of butthurt from viewers as I did here, and I will explain at the end of my review.

-Story (8/10) - Very Good
The story is pretty solid, not something we haven't seen, but the unique twist that brings in politics and actual intrigue to the mix warms my heart. The way it is portrayed is not what you would regularly see in animes, in read more
Mar 3, 2018
Shirenist (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm giving 2/10 just for the sake of art and sound.

The Anime showed some potential on how characters and story can grow in the first couple of episodes. But then everything went down the hill in my opinion.

It was going too fast but I still had the feeling that can still turn into a masterpiece, believing the potential in it.

But After a couple of episodes, whatever the way characters or story turned out in this anime, (currently on 9th) diminished my will to continue watching it.

Basically : No Connection between actions,
read more
Mar 18, 2018
tnguye3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll be honest here. When I started watching this show, couple episodes in I just kinda dropped it off. The art was nice and all but the pacing was all over the place, and I initially thought this was just going to be another one of those ecchi, harem run off the mill senki animes.

I eventually found the time to give this series a chance and oh boy. As I kept watching the show just made me turn a complete 180 and now Grancrest Senki is one of the few shows that I look forward to with each passing week this season.

The Good:
+Art is great.
+Characters read more
Feb 26, 2018
Juliagam1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Having only watched 8 episodes of this I have to say that the show feels rushed. It's only 6 or 7 eps in that it finally has enough set up for it to really tell its story.

The male MC is a typical commoner-with-a-will. Past that and he is quite flat for some time, ep 5 is where he actually starts to make his own plays.

This show is not a battle show, the rushed first 4 epis are to get the MCs into a political location where they have enough there to have stakes in that arena. That being said, I am finding myself read more
Mar 17, 2018
Metazoxan_Dexal (All reviews)
Preliminary
Warning: this series turns into something else entirely at episode 9. Prior to episode 9 I gave this series a solid 6. Nothing great but a fun story that was nice to kill a little time.

Even before episode 9 the anime really fit into one of those awkward spots where it's not bad... but everything is done just a little bit wrong.

For example the action is good... except since we rush through every battle it's hard to be invested into most of it so it's actually a bit boring except for the occasional badass moment but even that's a bit wasted by the pacing.

The read more
Jun 26, 2018
Infi- (All reviews)
I have watched almost 200 anime. There were better and worse ones. I have few that are my favourites but when I finished Grancrest Senki yesterday I was super happy that I had a chance to watch this one.

Overall I can say that it was amazing story, full of action, magic, battles, creatures and romance. For me MC and his mage were really nicely done (however Silica should have more screen time) along with a lot of other characters like Shadow, twin werewolves, valkyrie, vampire lord, black witch and few lords. Draw style was really nice, music was good but not superb.

What I also read more
Jun 22, 2018
TennoujiYuuri (All reviews)
tbh. theres nothing special about this series.
-the settings is pretty much similar with the other typical Advanture-Fantasy series. bringing peace to the land or saving/changing the world from a certain condition, advanture party, magic-user,non-human being existance and some "trademark elements" in this series its the "Crest".
-the plot is proceeding toward the partial cases that will lead to a certain happy ending(theres nothing wrong with the happy ending, the audience/fans/readers etc deserve it).
-you probably could guessed out most of the plot since its not confusing at all instead its pretty much straight but just to alert yourself of some unexpected twist(since we dont know what read more
Apr 15, 2018
Asunakob (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just another typical anime , add a pretty low score to that and you get grancrest senki But (and this is a big one) it kinda feels like something that is trying to be different yet does it succeed or not ?
First let me say that there are some controversial views on this show the reason being what happened halfway through but to be honest they should've added the gore genre to the list so that people knew what they were getting in to.
That's right it has some elements of the gore genre , to be precise some lots of it and if read more
Mar 5, 2018
Tatakin (All reviews)
Preliminary
The art is no doubt good backed by A-1 and nowadays making anime is a lot cheaper and easier than before. This show started off decent, but it was rough and seemed like it could take it somewhere. I read another review about the pacing being too fast or too slow at parts, that comment is totally true. The show starts up and the first 4 episodes go crazy fast. You think the directors and authors are pulling a Samurai Champaloo thing where the main characters are already op (maybe not the best comparison but thats all that came to mind), but it moves faster read more
Jul 1, 2019
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
I didn't really enjoy this anime. It bored me out when I was half-way through the anime. The story was weak, the plots are cliche and weird. I just couldn't understand the story at all. The only thing that kept me to watch this series until the end is probably the relationship of the protagonist and the heroine. Although their development together doesn't really exceed my expectations. I guess(?) it's okay.

This anime was pretty disappointing in my opinion, there were so many cliches that left me unimpressed with the series up until I had to hold it and watch around 20 more anime before read more
Jun 22, 2018
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
(WARNING: a bit of spoilers up ahead)
So this is another generic, medieval-like fantasy show with the usual dense male protagonist and everything basically rigged with comedy and awkward RPG-like vibes, as well as the cliché transitions of the mc easily making companions throughout the journey. This is the kind of series that usually just starts okay, progresses badly, and ends awful, for the most part.
Well…for the first 6 or 9 episodes, it seemed that way, at least. However, for me at least, it actually turned out to be a lot more than what meets the eye. Granted, this series still had its flaws in terms read more
Jul 17, 2019
KnicePerson (All reviews)
Grancrest Senki was a magnificent political drama that I enjoyed watching to the end. Both story and setting were excellently crafted and character development was very well done. This anime poses deep ethical questions on the morality of decisions made for other people instead of oneself. The ending is rather abrupt but it still provides a wonderful conclusion to the 24 episode series.

Story: 9 - Elaborate and Pragmatic
Grancrest follows the duo of Theo and Siluca on their quest to instigate rapid political change in the interest of the commonfolk. They find themselves with many allies and many enemies who (mostly) all will play a vital read more
Mar 4, 2018
Charliex4 (All reviews)
Preliminary
AHHHH!!!

One word: Roller-coaster.
Two words: Bullshit.
Three words: Read the LN.

Anime does not follow the source content well. WARNING!

Pacing:
Where do I begin! The pacing of the anime is horrendous considering that this anime is projected to have 24 episodes. The story line moves so fast that you won't be able to remember what is going on.

Summary of Plot:
The story is alright. It revolves around a young knight, Theo who tries to retake his homeland with the aid of a mage.

Characters:
Some of the worst and dumbest characters you will ever see. One does not have sex with other people they don't read more
Mar 2, 2018
TheEarlofBronze (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I've kept up with Gancrest Senki on a weekly basis as it's been released. And from what I've seen many of the reviews are of the first 2-5 episodes or so. And simply put, these reviews are not fair.

The story has a VERY odd start. Which seems to be the cause of many of the poor reviews. Yes the pacing is weird, and characters seem a little, everywhere... sometimes. But I've honestly been super interested in how the story has developed. There is a large cast so far and it has been an odd mix of supernatural (vampires, were-wolves and chaos demons), military, and read more