Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shigofumi


Alternative Titles

English: Shigofumi: Letters from the Departed
Synonyms: Shigofumi: Stories of Last Letter
Japanese: シゴフミ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2008 to Mar 23, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Original
Genres: DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural, ThrillerThriller
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.521 (scored by 2598425,984 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1494
Members: 71,337
Favorites: 321

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2008
MaxwellLily (All reviews)
Upon reading the summary for this show, most would think it's just another episodic and unoriginal anime with silly stories and characters that have no depth. I, too, was one of those that wasn't expecting much of Shigofumi, but after taking my chances, I was thoroughly impressed.

At first we're presented to separate stories that revolve around the delivery of Shigofumi, the letter from the dead. But the themes and characters involved are a lot more serious than you'd normally see in shows like Jigoku Shoujo and Shinigami no Ballad, shows that follow the same basic concept of Shigofumi. Bullying, child abuse, teenage suicide, the list read more
Mar 9, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Shigofumi is a Psychological, Supernatural, Drama about a mysterious courier (Fumika) and her talking staff (Kanaka) that deliver letters from the dead. Even though they are the main characters, the series tend to follow the person/people related to the person in account (person who wrote the shigofumi). The short series is full of episodic stories, with each being different from the last but they all deal with the same issue… ‘death’. Each story varies in the levels of disturbing content so if you thought it would be a walk in the park then you are sorely mistaken but there are also plenty of heartfelt stories read more
Apr 11, 2008
leonmcnicol (All reviews)
First time I heard this series, I was hesitant to watch it due to the fact "shinigami" or other death-related themes are proliferative in the anime market these days but boy...was I wrong. :D

Story: 9/10
The story is well-made with "death letters" being the main dish. No beating around the bush since all storyline will end with each episode in the early parts. Although at first, it may be bit confusing, especially Fumika's story but will eventually be revealed later on.

Art: 8/10
Not as appealing or dazzy such as Shakugan no Shana but J.C. Staff made good use of the artwork and styling. Some episodes however are read more
Nov 17, 2008
seekster (All reviews)
For a series that is only 12 episodes long (at the time this was written I have heard nothing of any plans to make a second season) Shigofumi is an Anime with amazing depth and a very well written story. It is one of the best anime's I have seen in a long time, certainly one of the best anime series I have seen with less than 20 episodes.

Story - 9

As I said before the writing in Shigofumi is amazing in itself, even more amazing is the fact that it is presented gradually over the span of 12 episodes at a perfect pace. read more
Nov 30, 2008
Nequam (All reviews)
Shigofumi starts out with much potential as it deals with issues with sophistication while the brutal unpredictability which never ceases to convey a melancholy yet intriguing experience, however Shigofumi seems to go downhill from there as the short episodic stories thereafter lack the justification for behavior of the characters as the characters don't go beyond the superficial means (just evil and good) and the story writing becomes short of well-written plots because of the questionable disbeliefs by the audience. (ex : episode 6). The ending or major plot (episode 10-12) was quite mediocre but light-hearted nether the less. It could have been a brilliant masterpiece read more
Dec 2, 2013
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Shigofumi. A letter (fumi) delivered from the afterlife (shigo). Hence, Shigofumi. The final message left by one who's died. Letters from the departed. Strong feelings are required to be able to send a Shigofumi. Passionate love. Deep belief. And... hatred.

The above paragraph comprised of lines from Episodes 1 and 2 of this show, Shigofumi was adapted from the light novel series of the same name by Ryo Amamiya by J.C. Staff, known for other anime franchises such as Raildex, Shakugan no Shana, and Toradora! With direction by Tatsuo Satou, character designs, original and anime, by Kouhaku Kuroboshi and Tetsuya Kawakami, respectively, the series revolves predominantly read more
Jan 19, 2012
randompadley (All reviews)
Okay, first review on the site, I'm not really one for long essays, and I've only just recently got into anime so apologies if it's not very technical but felt I wanted to pass my view on.

When I first read the summary of the anime I was very excited, the plot semt really intresting and just the type of anime that I was looking for. It was also a short series therefore I completed it within 24 hours (barely) the opening couple of Shigofumi were really good, very nice. Kept me intrested until 3am in the morning and that is a task all on its read more
Jul 24, 2019
Maneki-Mew (All reviews)
Overall Grade: 8
Story / Pacing: 7
Art / Animation: 8
Sound / Music / Voice Actors: 7
Character: 7
Enjoyment: 8

MINOR SPOILER

WORDS: ca. 850


ART & MUSIC

Personally, I really like the art style and color scheme. It's not too striking and shiny, but also not too grim dark. It looks pretty good and appealing in my eyes. The color tone fits the story content and plot very well and adds a lot to the atmosphere.

To me, the character design was outstanding and striking. I really liked similar character designs as well (for example Tegamibachi / Letter Bee) and they are very appealing to me. In Shigofumi, I liked that it's read more
Feb 22, 2018
Scientiiaa (All reviews)
--Additional information--
Shigofumi: Letters from the Departed, Shigofumi: Stories of Last Letter, or simply Shigofumi is a Japanese anime television series, which was created by Tomorou Yuzawa and produced by Bandai Visual and Genco. It aired in Japan on Chiba TV and other networks between January 6 and March 22, 2008 and contains twelve episodes. An original video animation episode was included with the final anime DVD volume released on September 26, 2008. A light novel series was originally adapted from the anime's premise set by Tomorou Yuzawa, featuring story composition and illustrations by Ryou Amamiya and Poko, respectively. Four novels were published by MediaWorks under read more
Apr 22, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Shigofumi was created by Yuzawa Tomoro and written by Okouchi Ichiro under J.C. Staff Studio in 2008. How well does it hold up when compared to their other works? Let's find out.

Story:

Our heroine, Fumika, is a postman but not an ordinary one. She delivers Shigofumi, the final memento of the dead delivered to the world of the living, usually in the form of a letter. That's a good sign to start with. It is an intriguing idea and could make for a really good episodic title on the level of Petshop of Horrors. Unfortunately, the concept isn't taken full advantage of. A lot of the read more
Jan 14, 2020
Grusomhed_D (All reviews)
Shigofumi: Letters from the Departed, Shigofumi: Stories of Last Letter, or simply Shigofumi is a Japanese anime television series, which was created by Tomorou Yuzawa and produced by Bandai Visual and Genco. It aired in Japan on Chiba TV and other networks between January 6 and March 22, 2008 and contains twelve episodes. An original video animation episode was included with the final anime DVD volume released on September 26, 2008. A light novel series was originally adapted from the anime's premise set by Tomorou Yuzawa, featuring story composition and illustrations by Ryou Amamiya and Poko, respectively. Four novels were published by MediaWorks under their read more
Jul 13, 2010
Dorothea (All reviews)
Story. 8
Whether it's based in Japanese folklore or the author's unique idea, this is the first time I see a treatment of a shinigami-style character delivering mail for dead people to the world of the living. Whoever came up with it, it's a neat, compelling idea, and Shigofumi used it well. Although slightly episodic, nevertheless most of the episodes were thought-provoking takes on various aspects of life and death, from a bullied student deciding to commit suicide to a grown man learning he's dying of cancer. There was also a fairly strong central plot, involving Fumika, the "dead" girl delivering the mail, read more
Jul 9, 2010
kamuirsx (All reviews)
This was a weird anime. It starts out pretty decent but then the main plot starts to develop and things get weird. The ending could have been better but it wasn't too horrible.

Overall, if you've got the time, give it a watching. It's really hard to give a review on this one without putting in any spoilers but everything ties in together pretty nicely. I still wish the ending was better.
May 16, 2015
Markezzo (All reviews)
Shigofumi starts by grabbing your interest with its fresh and unique premise, the story of a postal worker that delivers the parting thoughts and feelings of the recently deceased. Each new episode focuses on a new character and their personal struggles, slowly working toward an ending where the main character Fumika eventually becomes the focus. A lot of the characters cross paths with each other, making the series feel more connected despite its episodic nature.

After watching a few episodes however, it became clear that Shigofumi was heavily inspired by other shows. Halfway through I felt that I was watching the cute little sister of such read more
Aug 30, 2008
MikariStar (All reviews)
Fumika is a mail carrier who delivers letters written by people who have passed away. Each episode holds its own story with Fumika meeting other characters who are most of the time only there for that episode. But it's not as episodic as it may appear to be at first. Each episode reveals a piece of the mystery surrounding the main character and her connections with others are slowly uncovered.

The anime is short but entertaining. Many of the episodes hold some kind of mystery or situation that can be solved, made worse, or only slightly affected with the arrival of a shigofumi, a letter from read more
Sep 13, 2018
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
Shigofumi’s atmosphere is very bleak and cynical; it reminded me of how I felt while watching Vampire Princess Miyu or Boogiepop Phantom with its retrograded aesthetic. This cult classic combines the aspect of cute girls with the morose subject of the dead and their wishes. Much like Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya, there are talking staffs and magical girls with thigh-high stockings, but imagine if Miyu from Prisma☆Illya had a revolver as a weapon and transported messages from the dead to the living as a Shinigami. That’s Shigofumi in a nutshell.

• Shigofumi was more than what I was expecting; conceptually it’s a bombshell that’s teeming with cool ideas. read more
Apr 24, 2011
faywan (All reviews)
This review may contain minor spoiler. Shigofumi is a great anime for anybody who's looking for a psychological show.

Story:9/10
In the first few episodes, the story doesn't involve much the main character but give us a sign of what to come. That being said, the story afterwards becomes more complexe which will captivate most and intrigue others. The plot showcases what pressure, abuse, misguided love... and many more can truly amount to. Shigofumi seems like a pessemistic show but in truth it isn't completely, It just doesn't follow most anime

Art:8/10
The character and the scenery are well drawn but the colors are sometimes odd not to read more
Jun 25, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Don't let the moe looking character design of Fumika and the energetic talking staff fool you in thinking this will be a light-hearted title. Shigofumi features a grim look into a number of touchy social issues faced by characters that Fumika delivers letters from the dead to and explores some tragic developments concerning Fumika's own past. This is a series that isn't afraid to explore the more harsher side of human society concerning the characters we encounter as subjects such as bullying, suicide, child abuse and pressures with conformity are delved into. The characters we are witness to are fleshed out enough where we have read more
Jul 4, 2016
ShamelessCritics (All reviews)
Anime rating: 7/10 , Deep,emotional, brutal reality Messages: 10/10
*I Don't usually give 2 ratings but when i do that means that the anime did something great !!*
Well at the start i though definitely this anime deserves more recognition... but then slowly came and saw its mistakes... It was just sad...Will explain shortly...
Firstly, will start with the magnificent sounds. There are only OSTs and 1 Ending song. That ending show is top tier. Just brilliant! The OST are touching and fitting. But really big credit to that Ed. It just sooooo gooood!!
Continuing with plot and story. The anime touches some really brutal, deep and harsh topics read more
Apr 27, 2019
YuukoDreams (All reviews)
We are dealing with another episodic show with a main character glueing them together. But just because you push the characters who change every episode through one drama cliché at a time doesn't mean that that's a good way to waste someone's time who has watched more than at least 30 anime's with exavtly the same plot twists and moralities. Now have cliché personalities play their part and the boredom is complete. Of course one shall not forget the dull animation and the forgettable, at times obnoxiously boring music.

Maybe this was an acceptable standard in 2008 but after Violet Evergarden I feel like we've ended read more