Pokemon Sun & Moon


Pokémon the Series: Sun & Moon

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Pokémon the Series: Sun & Moon
Synonyms: Pocket Monsters Sun & Moon, Pokémon Sun & Moon
Japanese: ポケットモンスター サン&ムーン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 146
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 17, 2016 to Nov 3, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, KidsKids, FantasyFantasy, SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.931 (scored by 1698716,987 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #38222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1931
Members: 57,324
Favorites: 477
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 3, 2019
Tyumace (All reviews)
I remember seeing the first few episodes of pokemon Black and White on TV when they were first coming out over here and I was rather upset about them. My biggest gripe was with Ash’s character design, which was made to look younger. So I can totally understand the mindset behind the people who are upset about the change in art style the show has made, which is much bigger in contrast than it was in Black and White. Yet I’m not on their side this time. In fact I really love the new art style and how colourful and round it is. In fact read more
Mar 18, 2018
pancake_monster (All reviews)
Preliminary
If what you value in anime is a tightly written plot, fleshed out and well-developed characters, or strong, resonant themes, than I am sorry to say that the Sun and Moon anime will likely disappoint you.

The plot is generally episodic, with the "main" story only advancing sporadically, often seemingly at random, and sometimes, you may question what the plot's even supposed to be.

The characters are used inconsistently, with some receiving far more attention than others. Some will develop a lot, others not at all, despite them all having just as much potential.

And on the whole, after you've caught up to the show, you may read more
Feb 6, 2018
s3rlrules (All reviews)
Preliminary
After 60 episodes I'm starting to think Lillie has more character development than ASH THE MAIN CHARACTER FOR OVER 20 YEARS! When 11 episodes when some of them are in an entire arc of the series SHE GETS MORE TIME TO FLESH OUT HERE CHARACTER THAN ANY OTHER CHARACTER IN THIS ANIME! I don't even know where to begin on how to explain why Ash is being such a kid. Go watch Pokemon XY and Pokemon XY&Z look at how mature he is how much he has grown over the 20 years we have know him. Now come back to Pokemon Sun and Moon where read more
Feb 28, 2017
jeikobu11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
May contain very minor spoilers that won't affect your watching experience. If by any chance you didn't like it then message me and I will edit it out.

First up the Story is more or less the same, about a 10 year old boy named Satoshi aiming to be a Pokemon Master. Usually Satoshi collects gym badges and enters the league, but this time it's different . Satoshi's new adventure is on a island with new pokemon and new friends. I'm not going to explain the plot anymore because I don't want to ruin anyones experience. The story improves significantly in time, but you have to read more
Nov 4, 2019
Sour258 (All reviews)
Pokemon Sun & Moon is a weird story, its simultaneously widely hated and widely loved, so much so that its existence itself divided the Pokemon community into two halfs, "SM Stans" and "XY Stans".
Personally while I love and appreciate the XY Series as well, Sun and Moon is just on a whole another league for me.
After 20 long years of being on air, the Pokemon anime found itself a formula that it applied on every series, whenever the games came out, Ash went to the region said games are set and, traveled around the region, made friends, caught new Pokemon, collected badges and lost the read more
Nov 3, 2019
ESER10 (All reviews)
Here's the thing with Sun and Moon. If you're going into this after watching XYZ, and expecting it to be similar in any way. Don't. This show isn't anything like that. And to be fair, it isn't TRYING to be anything like that.

For this season (or region, or whatever), the show takes on a more slice of life style, and as a slice of life show, it is decent. You have some likeable characters, each with their own personalities, and they're all in a school. Why is Satoshi (Ash) in a school? IDK, but don't question it.
Now, although the characters are decent to begin with, read more
Jul 4, 2017
duyhung2h (All reviews)
Preliminary
Once XY(&Z) was ending, they started releasing trailers for Sun and Moon, I was looking at the optimistic side of things. Through my eyes I saw Sun and Moon trailing off of the XY series as a sort of "calm before the storm" if that makes any sense. After all the action that was brought by the previous season, the drama, the development, all the characters acting as one and thinking about the others, I felt Sun and Moon would be about Ash and him preparing for his next journey and learning what he could before his next big step into a new region and read more
Nov 5, 2019
BanditLynx (All reviews)
Man, this anime has been a fun ride for me. Initially, I hated the anime the moment I saw how Ash was designed which was like 3 years ago, then I thought let's give it a shot. After like 10-15 eps I gave up the anime for a really long time because at that time I was more into shonen anime and SuMo anime wasn't my cup of tea. I had questions also like why would Ash want to go POKEMON SCHOOL after travelling 6 REGIONS wherein he won 48 gym badges (8x6, do the math) and competed in 6 Pokemon Leagues and why wouldn't read more
Apr 3, 2019
OminousWrex (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pokemon is becoming like that drunk brother you keep hoping would get sober someday, but never did, so you stuck with him for years like a fool. Then one day you realize that things will never change.

Even with its best season, Pokemon XY, I was still reminded constantly of just how little substance there was in the plot. It could be summed down to, "Bad things happen. Protagonist doesn't give up. The power of hope and love wins." Basically, every typical shounen plot, ever. The repetitive formula became even worse when mixed with the slow-paced slice-of-life genre in Sun & Moon, a genre which doesn't read more
Sep 16, 2019
ImRingo (All reviews)
Preliminary
I told myself not to do this but I'm going to do this anyways. When reading this, please keep in mind the following:

I've skipped around a lot with what episodes I watched. I did however watch all of the last 30ish episodes. All my current thoughts are directed towards the ending of the league and how I feel about it versus what happened/should have happened (imo) with XYZ and D/P.

So due to that, obvious spoilers for D/P, XYZ, and Sun and Moon incoming.

I'm part of that group that really feels like the writing ruined Pokemon as a whole with not only the conclusion of XYZ read more
May 2, 2018
donnyderp (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now I dont think ive ever been more annoyed to watch something that is so dear to me.
Lets jump right into this dumpster fire

The story is an 8/10. This is the only part of sun and moon that I actually enjoy. I think the story of alola was one of the best ones (at least by the game standards) and having it animated was slightly exciting. UNTIL I SAW THE ARTSTYLE

1/10 is complementing. This is just gross to look at and its not even all the characters, iTS JUST ASH. He looks like atrocious in every way. The other characters and pokemon look great read more
Jun 19, 2018
Dante012 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a '90s kid, I have watched Pokemon since Episode 1 of season 1. I have seen almost all of the hundreds of episodes that have been released. Sometimes I loved it, sometimes I hated it.
One thing about the Pokémon anime : we actually CAN'T talk about it as a single show. Each "cycle" has its own art style, its own atmosphere, its own style of storytelling.
Sometimes it's a hit, sometimes it's a miss. None of these shows are perfect but some of them are huge fails and some of them really are surprisingly good.
What about Pokémon Sun&Moon, then? I'll be blunt : imo, it read more
Apr 11, 2017
AblaZe_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Watching the subbed version.]

So yeah, this is Pokemon...and the reason you love it? Mouse with red cheeks? Cute looking creatures? Well that is the reason why pretty much most people got attracted to Pokemon GO and now it's dying. But seriously, I am not going to weep over the art style like the entire Internet. This is a legit non-salty review so give it all the hate you want.

Story
Oh, there is a story? Despite removing the gyms and making something more complicated like trials? Well that is a pretty stupid reason. There is little to no plot in this entire thing except fillers and more read more
Nov 20, 2017
Cetais (All reviews)
Preliminary
Once you get used to the artstyle, you'll see a really great Pokémon series.

It sure is mostly comedy, a real change of pace compared to XY(&Z) Minus the pokémon names jokes, it's usually nice comedy.

Where Sun & Moon shines the most, it's through it's characters. The cast is vibrant, full of personality.

The show really shines when it tries to be serious; there's a whole episode dealing with death (which is something almost never talked in Pokémon) another one about family issues; and more recently, the episodes focusing on Lilly's trauma.

As of episode 50, lots of things actually happened, and it was by far the most read more
Feb 11, 2018
jmac857 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I remember being really upset when I first saw this. XY and XYZ were amazing and I was just so attached to it. Sun and Moon proved me wrong and showed something else I failed to see.

The story is really good. I love how each episode is unique. Each episode shows the main focus of this anime: Alola. The region shines here and is just not "another" setting. No, my friends. This anime puts the region up front. Alola and its culture were amazing in the games but here we get to see it even closer. Each episode shows a cool new facet of read more
Jun 9, 2020
Duckielover151 (All reviews)
I've been going around in mental circles for a while, trying to figure out how I wanted to do this review... Because the thing is... This IS a good season. It was just-- by a wide margin-- not my favorite season.

There were a lot of things it did well that just weren't for me. But I kind of knew that would be true as soon as I saw the trailers for it when it first came out all those years ago. Everyone kept telling me I would get used to the art style. I still hate it. It looks fine on all the new read more
Jan 16, 2019
Owlyy (All reviews)
Preliminary
To start off before I get into my personal review; I think Sun and Moon gets a lot of hate for the wrong reasons. I personally believe that this show isn't given enough credit and that honestly bums me out. I'm gonna try to break it down nice and simple, to give you my thoughts of why I think this anime is actually quite good, and deserves a lot more praise. I put very little spoilers in here as I possibly could, so if you dont want ANY whatsoever. I suggest not to read.

Story - Honestly. It is so refreshing to see that Sun & read more
Oct 20, 2018
Zezin96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
People are very harsh on this but usually it’s based on first impressions. I think if people gave this a solid chance they’d realize it has a lot to offer.

Let’s get the elephant in the room out of the way first. Yes, the animation quality took a hit. The animation is kind of underwhelming and choppy at many points. It’s probably the hardest part of this new generation to get over. But there is another angle to it, being that this is the first time the show hasn’t looked like a generic shonen and it feels like it has an actual identity of its own read more
Apr 22, 2017
raineh-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
My own review, since I'm enjoying it so much! Warning for sorta-ok English, since it's not my native tongue. I've only watched up to episode 22, so this review is relatively a work in progress.

I'm an avid fan of Pokemon, though I skipped out of the BW/XYZ seasons. That kind of flare wasn't for me, and I found the show rather lackluster and a little disappointing, and I just didn't really care about the show anymore at that point.

SM came along and blew my mind away. I got immersed in every aspect of the show! I haven't watch the dub (probably won't touch that at read more
Jun 29, 2019
Samoubyt (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you would like some casual entertainment that's full of energy or just like seeing pokemons being cute, this is the anime for you!

STORY
While it doesn't follow the same plot as the other pokemon animes, it's still as entertaining or even more if you like an anime that focuses on the characters themselves more.
There's no more 'lets become a champion' or 'I want to catch them all!' It's just a group of friends doing lots of different activities, and there's also pokemons in it.

If you're wondering if there's any actual goal in this anime, the answer is that there is! Surprisingly!
But the show barely has read more