Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Pokemon Sun & Moon


Alternative Titles

English: Pokémon the Series: Sun & Moon
Synonyms: Pocket Monsters Sun & Moon, Pokémon Sun & Moon
Japanese: ポケットモンスター サン&ムーン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Nov 17, 2016 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.861 (scored by 11,071 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2116
Members: 34,532
Favorites: 282

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 15, 2016
BossOfGames (All reviews)
Watching the subbed version.

Satoshi finally came to the Alola Region and boy is this fun to watch. Trying not to watch this series with nostalgia goggles, let's get down into my ratings.

STORY: 6-10 (so far)

Right now, passing through Ep 7. There has been a primary focus on the starters. Each starter had their own dedicated episode. We are already 7 episodes in and we have not broken out of the school phase yet. I was expecting for him to move onto his journey to do the island challenge (at least that was the indication given to me in Ep 2).

ART: 10-10

Ok, why did I give read more
Feb 28, 2017
jeikobu11 (All reviews)
May contain very minor spoilers that won't affect your watching experience. If by any chance you didn't like it then message me and I will edit it out.

First up the Story is more or less the same, about a 10 year old boy named Satoshi aiming to be a Pokemon Master. Usually Satoshi collects gym badges and enters the league, but this time it's different . Satoshi's new adventure is on a island with new pokemon and new friends. I'm not going to explain the plot anymore because I don't want to ruin anyones experience. The story improves significantly in time, but you have to read more
Mar 18, 2018
pancake_monster (All reviews)
If what you value in anime is a tightly written plot, fleshed out and well-developed characters, or strong, resonant themes, than I am sorry to say that the Sun and Moon anime will likely disappoint you.

The plot is generally episodic, with the "main" story only advancing sporadically, often seemingly at random, and sometimes, you may question what the plot's even supposed to be.

The characters are used inconsistently, with some receiving far more attention than others. Some will develop a lot, others not at all, despite them all having just as much potential.

And on the whole, after you've caught up to the show, you may read more
Jul 4, 2017
duyhung2h (All reviews)
Once XY(&Z) was ending, they started releasing trailers for Sun and Moon, I was looking at the optimistic side of things. Through my eyes I saw Sun and Moon trailing off of the XY series as a sort of "calm before the storm" if that makes any sense. After all the action that was brought by the previous season, the drama, the development, all the characters acting as one and thinking about the others, I felt Sun and Moon would be about Ash and him preparing for his next journey and learning what he could before his next big step into a new region and read more
Feb 6, 2018
s3rlrules (All reviews)
After 60 episodes I'm starting to think Lillie has more character development than ASH THE MAIN CHARACTER FOR OVER 20 YEARS! When 11 episodes when some of them are in an entire arc of the series SHE GETS MORE TIME TO FLESH OUT HERE CHARACTER THAN ANY OTHER CHARACTER IN THIS ANIME! I don't even know where to begin on how to explain why Ash is being such a kid. Go watch Pokemon XY and Pokemon XY&Z look at how mature he is how much he has grown over the 20 years we have know him. Now come back to Pokemon Sun and Moon where read more
May 2, 2018
donnyderp (All reviews)
Now I dont think ive ever been more annoyed to watch something that is so dear to me.
Lets jump right into this dumpster fire

The story is an 8/10. This is the only part of sun and moon that I actually enjoy. I think the story of alola was one of the best ones (at least by the game standards) and having it animated was slightly exciting. UNTIL I SAW THE ARTSTYLE

1/10 is complementing. This is just gross to look at and its not even all the characters, iTS JUST ASH. He looks like atrocious in every way. The other characters and pokemon look great read more
Jun 19, 2018
Dante012 (All reviews)
As a '90s kid, I have watched Pokemon since Episode 1 of season 1. I have seen almost all of the hundreds of episodes that have been released. Sometimes I loved it, sometimes I hated it.
One thing about the Pokémon anime : we actually CAN'T talk about it as a single show. Each "cycle" has its own art style, its own atmosphere, its own style of storytelling.
Sometimes it's a hit, sometimes it's a miss. None of these shows are perfect but some of them are huge fails and some of them really are surprisingly good.
What about Pokémon Sun&Moon, then? I'll be blunt : imo, it read more
Nov 20, 2017
Cetais (All reviews)
Once you get used to the artstyle, you'll see a really great Pokémon series.

It sure is mostly comedy, a real change of pace compared to XY(&Z) Minus the pokémon names jokes, it's usually nice comedy.

Where Sun & Moon shines the most, it's through it's characters. The cast is vibrant, full of personality.

The show really shines when it tries to be serious; there's a whole episode dealing with death (which is something almost never talked in Pokémon) another one about family issues; and more recently, the episodes focusing on Lilly's trauma.

As of episode 50, lots of things actually happened, and it was by far the most read more
Apr 11, 2017
rdrajrock12 (All reviews)
[Watching the subbed version.]

So yeah, this is Pokemon...and the reason you love it? Mouse with red cheeks? Cute looking creatures? Well that is the reason why pretty much most people got attracted to Pokemon GO and now it's dying. But seriously, I am not going to weep over the art style like the entire Internet. This is a legit non-salty review so give it all the hate you want.

Story
Oh, there is a story? Despite removing the gyms and making something more complicated like trials? Well that is a pretty stupid reason. There is little to no plot in this entire thing except fillers and more read more
Feb 11, 2018
jmac857 (All reviews)
I remember being really upset when I first saw this. XY and XYZ were amazing and I was just so attached to it. Sun and Moon proved me wrong and showed something else I failed to see.

The story is really good. I love how each episode is unique. Each episode shows the main focus of this anime: Alola. The region shines here and is just not "another" setting. No, my friends. This anime puts the region up front. Alola and its culture were amazing in the games but here we get to see it even closer. Each episode shows a cool new facet of read more
Apr 22, 2017
raineh-chan (All reviews)
My own review, since I'm enjoying it so much! Warning for sorta-ok English, since it's not my native tongue. I've only watched up to episode 22, so this review is relatively a work in progress.

I'm an avid fan of Pokemon, though I skipped out of the BW/XYZ seasons. That kind of flare wasn't for me, and I found the show rather lackluster and a little disappointing, and I just didn't really care about the show anymore at that point.

SM came along and blew my mind away. I got immersed in every aspect of the show! I haven't watch the dub (probably won't touch that at read more
Nov 21, 2017
Veromaye (All reviews)
This will be probably the most underrated Pokemon series. Specially considering the whole new dynamics and style for older characters.


Is it bad? Not really if you consider that the anime ( even the games ) have been repetitive for approx 20 years.
Is it good? For the whole concept of the anime and the audience that is mainly targeted, yes it's a pretty good change.

Now I'm not saying this season is childish, and in fact this season is NOT a downgrade at all. By any terms this is the best upgrade so far for the pokemon anime.

Why you say? First and best read more
Oct 20, 2018
Zezin96 (All reviews)
People are very harsh on this but usually it’s based on first impressions. I think if people gave this a solid chance they’d realize it has a lot to offer.

Let’s get the elephant in the room out of the way first. Yes, the animation quality took a hit. The animation is kind of underwhelming and choppy at many points. It’s probably the hardest part of this new generation to get over. But there is another angle to it, being that this is the first time the show hasn’t looked like a generic shonen and it feels like it has an actual identity of its own read more
Sep 17, 2018
kalaniballer22 (All reviews)
Pokemon Sun & Moon, highly regarded well amongst those who enjoy anime for its difference from the previous plots of the other previous seasons of Pokemon, yet highly hated (and seen as a disappointment) by fans of the long-running series.

TL;DR: You'll enjoy it if you haven't kept up with the series and are coming back after watching only the first couple of regions (Kanto & Johto). You'll probably find a lot of faults with this series and may come to hate the anime if you've kept up with the series through the Kalos region.

This review will be based on the point of view of read more
Mar 28, 2017
Toxapex (All reviews)
Pokemon's "freshest" reboot yet to date. Why did I use "fresh" to describe Sun and Moon? First, Sun and Moon completely removed the default concept of Ash's Traveling routine all throughout the past 6 Generations. Second, the supporting characters around Ash give the anime a new fresh feel, apart from the stereotypical feel that the past generations gave. Third, the new concept of Pokemon competition, where Gyms are removed and Trials are introduced, along with the concept of Z-Moves, all refurbished not only the anime, but the game too. Lastly, the ART, which triggered a lot of people, actually gave room for better facial reactions, read more
Jan 9, 2017
ContactGamer (All reviews)
Ok, last time my review freaking got deleted due to some rules..... (Fak u Mal... jk) :p

Story: 8
After watching somemore episodes after my previous review..... Its getting a bit weird and stuff since I am so used to Team Rocket blasting allll tthhhee wwayyy (jacksepticeye reference... hehe, k) and gyms but surprisingly I am not so bothered about it like all other weird anime fans..... You get what i mean right? No.... uhm okkkkk?

Art: 9
Good stuff to talk about this, well the animation is going to remind me of Dragon Ball Super.... (Recommended but art is definitely shiet.....)
The other characters look like the previous read more
Feb 6, 2018
iGPLTV (All reviews)
If I am being honest, the show is actually pretty good. However I would prefer to start with the animation, a slightly over discussed topic I know.

The animation can be looked passed, although Ash's style is a bit more childish, it isn't all that bad. It can be looked past once you get in to the series a bit more, I don't like some of the faces Ash makes though, a few of them are gross in my opinion. However the Pokemon look great, and the 3d effects they seem to have added into the battles look really nice. The lines are a little soft read more
Jul 29, 2017
_Kouhaku_ (All reviews)
Sun & Moon is a stark break away from the previous XYZ season, and it's definitely a welcome change. With the new animation technology this season, Ash is more involved than ever in each episode plot and daily adventures of his pokemon. His character animation is lively and rarely has any repeated animation (looking at you XYZ pokeball throwing Ash you can literally line them all up side by side for each battle and there's about a total of like 3 different throws) and he does more than just standing like a cardboard cutout and talk. And I personally enjoy the comedy aspect of it; read more
Jul 28, 2017
CantfindUsername (All reviews)
Watching it subbed.

Pokemon Sun and Moon is by far the most different Pokemon anime, unlike the rest of the seasons it went from the adventure genre to a more slice of life like show. Not only that but the art style changed drastically.

At the current moment (ep 34) we're not in the main story yet but we have quite a few characters introduced that seem important to the plot, mainly Gladion.

The art style, altough different, personally got quite better, it fits the overall theme of S&M way more than the static art style from the earlier seasons and it allows the characters to express read more
Jun 9, 2017
RayaTheImmortal (All reviews)
Watching the subbed version.

First off, I didn't really plan on watching this anime because of the sudden art change. Of course, its prequel left me disappointed. But then again I decided to give it a chance and I never regretted, first episode is hilarious, so I kept coming back for more.

Now, the anime has over 20 episodes and it kind of broke the typical storyline where Ash will lose his first battle against a gym leader or in this case the Kahuna. Strangely enough, this doesn't follow how the game went, seeing Satoshi's classmates are supposed to be the captains of the second island. read more